Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Marathons are directional - did you put them on the right way? :D

Very feckin' funny :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Chuchote wrote: »
    Very feckin' funny :eek:

He's correct! I had a bike shop put on one in the wrong direction when I got them first. When I got another bike shop to service the bike they spotted it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,535 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

yep, if you put them on the wrong way, the bike goes backwards when you pedal. though the biggest issue is if you've one on the front which is mounted correctly - so it goes forwards, and the rear wheel goes backwards. the bike can tear itself apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,285 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Ah, thanks.

Got the effing thing on in the end. Couldn't push it on, so used the tyre lever. I know that was vewwy, vewwy wrong, but feck it, it worked.
    Tyre levers for Marathons isn't wrong, they're a tough tyre.

Tyre levers are like shoe horns for a wheel. Or something.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,911 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Is that advisable? I've always put a tyre half on, then slid the tube inside?

With the wired ones I find easier to put the tube in the tyre, doesn't really work with folding ones so well. First time on for marathons, I use tyre levers, once they've been on the bike a bit they come on and off more easily.

A really weird, unprecedentedly bizarre thing happened; when I checked I found I'd put the tyre on in the correct direction. Rode down to the local Lidl (infested with upper-class boys on expensive mountain bikes) and it rode lovely, not at all as chunky as I was expecting.

I wonder why tyre levers come in twos. I always need three, two to hold the tyre in different places, and a third to skoosh round under the rim.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,535 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i can't see the direction the tyre goes on making any difference, except perhaps aesthetics. they don't need to clear the water the same way a car tyre does.

Incidentally, what does one do with old tyres, now that the Twalfth is past, like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

A really weird, unprecedentedly bizarre thing happened; when I checked I found I'd put the tyre on in the correct direction. Rode down to the local Lidl (infested with upper-class boys on expensive mountain bikes) and it rode lovely, not at all as chunky as I was expecting.

I wonder why tyre levers come in twos. I always need three, two to hold the tyre in different places, and a third to skoosh round under the rim.

You need practice! One is plenty!

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »

Hah! No effing way!

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    i also need three for my ribmo tyre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

What can the offences have been? No bell…?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

What can the offences have been? No bell…?

Wrong sock height

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,244 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

RobFowl wrote: »
    Wrong sock height

White socks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Aug'tober is seriously p1ssing me off at this stage. Rule 5 and all that but come on ffs.

Bleedin' gale force Gusty McWindy around Firhouse. The rain is bad enough, but those gusts...

Some handy French cycling terms:

https://www.lawlessfrench.com/vocabulary/cycling/

Incidentally, what's a 'cycling vigilante' as cited in this thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057637408

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Who was doing hill repeats/intervals today !

(It wasnt Lenny ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

Damn right it wasn't lenny! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,912 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Incidentally, what's a 'cycling vigilante' as cited in this thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057637408

I follow Shane Hogan on Twitter. I don't know what his YouTube activities are, but I think the people in that thread are referring to him posting pictures on Twitter of cars illegally parked on cycle tracks. The "personal information" they refer to are the licence plates. The Garda Traffic people insist that this is in contravention of data privacy laws, which is why they've blocked him, I think. They've never explained what bit of law it contravenes though, and I suspect it's not true.

He seems fine to me, based on Twitter. Few people are as dedicated to complaining about motorists as he is, but I can't think of anything outrageous he's done or said. Maybe it's different on YouTube.

Una Mullally on the crisis in Dublin Bikes http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/una-mullally-dublinbikes-scheme-hits-the-brakes Odd that the Corpo didn't time-limit the deal with JCDecaux – even if they're not financing bikes any more do they still get the billboards?

Yeah, that could end badly, alright.

Una Mullally on the crisis in Dublin Bikes http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/una-mullally-dublinbikes-scheme-hits-the-brakes Odd that the Corpo didn't time-limit the deal with JCDecaux – even if they're not financing bikes any more do they still get the billboards?

I've given up on the service and won't be renewing my subscription. Also how on earth does it cost €1.9m to run it annually

Mmm… repairing bikes and keeping them in order, ditto the electronics in the bikes and the parking yokes, trucks to carry bikes from one parking zone to another, wages for the drivers of those trucks, admin? Assumedly it's audited, as a public service.

Dunno about here, but according to a Wiki on Velib', replacing a bike costs " $500 per vandalised bicycle, leading to expected costs of up to 2 million euro per year". Why dollars? Who knows!

if the service employs ten people, that's probably at least half a million alone in payroll.

Average wage of €50k?

Also I can only imagine how tenders go in there

Tyres for €30 each? Tell them we'll pay €60 if he gives me a personal bonus of €15 cash for each one bought

Would payroll include PRSI, benefits etc. on top of basic wage? So 50k each plausible, I think?

yep, it's often claimed that the cost of employing someone is usually at least one and a half times their gross pay.

I'm still not in agreement that Payroll would average out at €50k. if the lads driving the van and the call centre operatives are on more than €24k basic I'd be hugely surprised

Yes, but you can imagine management is on a good bit more than 50k. Median salary in Ireland is about 35k, I think, so 50k total cost per employee, assuming DublinBikes is a microcosm of Ireland.