Men doin yoga

• 19-08-2016 11:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭

I've just visited a Physio and he has recommended that I start doing yoga as an injury prevention, I'm a little apprehensive about starting as I don't want to rock up and be the only lad in a room of women, which doesn't sound bad but just want them tinking here's some weirdo. Anybody else been to a class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

My dad does yoga. He's never mentioned anything about being the only man there, or about his gender being an issue. I think my brother does it sometimes too. Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

A lot of male runners do pilates . I do it myself most weeks I'm not the only male in the class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭lc180

I used to do Yoga a few years ago. Really recommend it! We had an instructor come into the office (I work for yanks with notions...) so it was mostly men.

Bit of advice - don't do a class on a Monday after a weekend on the black stuff. Guinness farts + Yoga is not a nice combination!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Idon't like the naming of postures in yoga (salute the sun, my hole) but I must sat Pilates can be a serious work out.

My elderly grandfather practises yoga and meditation daily and has done all his life. At 91 he had a fall recently and was taken to hospital. It was almost unheard of for someone his age to fall and have no broken bones. He can still touch his toes and is more flexible than his son, my dad.

I do yoga myself, though I did slack off once for about a year and the decline in my flexibility was really noticeable, but as soon as I got started again it came back really quickly. I intend to stick with it for life.

Even if you are the only man there - and you won't be - it'll be well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You won't be the only guy. Also, you'll find it's not in the least bit 'girly'. You'll shake, you'll ache, and you'll come out sweaty.

Yoga rocks. Go for it.

Edit: Also. Stay to the back of the room. Your body isn't used to that twisting. There will be at least one yogafart. Best to aim it at the rear wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

There's an open air yoga session in Dartmouth Square on a regular basis, look up a crowd called Happenings, they organise it, lots of men and women at it.

Ryan Giggs credits it with prolonging his career by 3-4 years so tell any women you got the idea off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

Yoga is very beneficial and I would recommend anyone to try it. Male or female it's irrelevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Do it.....then you might get to look like the sexiest man on the planet.

If you do end up looking like Michael Franti....give us a call please. Hubba hubba.

:p
    Witchie wrote: »
    Do it.....then you might get to look like the sexiest man on the planet.

If you do end up looking like Michael Franti....give us a call please. Hubba hubba.
    Very impressive, but, does he not look a little bit.... insane...?

endacl wrote: »
    :p
    Very impressive, but, does he not look a little bit.... insane...?

Not in real life when you are dancing beside him on stage at a gig in Whelans or he is greeting you like an old friend with hugs and kisses outside a gig in San Francisco! :D

Most beautiful man physically and is such a down to earth "celeb" and caring guy. Getting hot and bothered thinking about him. Its almost 2 years since I was up close and personal with him and I miss being in his orbit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Doing yoga?

Lost hardon this thread has made me.

He's about 853 years old sake fcuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

You'll see some places have 'broga', i.e. men's yoga. So that could be one option, although heading along to a regular class will be fine. Best of luck.

Witchie wrote: »
    Not in real life when you are dancing beside him on stage at a gig in Whelans or he is greeting you like an old friend with hugs and kisses outside a gig in San Francisco! :D

Most beautiful man physically and is such a down to earth "celeb" and caring guy. Getting hot and bothered thinking about him. Its almost 2 years since I was up close and personal with him and I miss being in his orbit.

Just checked him out. Seems a real nice fella.

Right. I approve the match. Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

You won't be the only guy. Also, you'll find it's not in the least bit 'girly'. You'll shake, you'll ache, and you'll come out sweaty.

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Couldn't see myself doing it.
    A bit too flaps everywhere.
    Would possibly have to dag out for a pedal and crank during the water break.

If a physio recommends yoga for stretching, fair enough, but I'd ask them to simply outline the stretching exercise. The whole meditation and spiritual side, it's just not for me. It's too like gym bunnies recommending mindfulness and chicken and kale because they've read a pamphlet on mental health and diet.

Doing yoga?

Lost hardon this thread has made me.

He's about 853 years old sake fcuk.

Who? Michael? He is 50 and doesn't look a day over 40! Now his bare feet do look 853 years old but that is coz he hasn't worn shoes in years.

Anyhoo, I am 842 so am not that much younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

This has been a revelation. I thank you both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I've been in heaps of different yoga places and the majority of the time there's a man or men in the class. People are usually too busy concentrating on breathing and postures to notice others though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Have some self confidence and take a class if you want to take it. If any woman is narrow minded enough to look down on you for being the only lad there then well don't take any notice, cause well she's a stupid bitch

I wish but he got married recently. Dammit.

Sorry for slight thread derail OP, but seriously he is one of the fittest, most flexible people I have ever met. He mixes yoga with his music and holds yoga sessions with his fans before loads of gigs.

He also led yoga sessions in AT&T Park before a big Giants game.

Oh and give his music a spin while yiz are at it. Personal favorites are 11.59 and Life is better with you.

EDIT: Jaysus.....decided to satisfy my lust somewhat and went to his website and he is in Dublin in October....ticket got. Now who is coming with me to dance, sing and absorb his amazing vibes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭rtron

There's plenty of yoga videos on you tube, you cud do it at home following the video.

rtron wrote: »
    There's plenty of yoga videos on you tube, you cud do it at home following the video.

Helpful to have a teacher in the beginning, to cast an eye over form etc.

Same as learning anything from YouTube. It only really works if you already kinda know how to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

I'm female and started doing yoga about a month ago, and in every single class I've been to, there have been at least two guys there. Sometimes three or four. I'm enjoying it so far and would recommend it for flexibility. And if it turns out you are the only man there, so what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I did some hot yoga and was the only guy there.

It did not bother me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Fairly sure Roy Keane did yoga in the last few years before retirement. Wonder if anyone questioned his masculinity about it..... and if they are still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,086 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

pot p wrote:
    I've just visited a Physio and he has recommended that I start doing yoga as an injury prevention, I'm a little apprehensive about starting as I don't want to rock up and be the only lad in a room of women, which doesn't sound bad but just want them tinking here's some weirdo. Anybody else been to a class?

If they are there why would they think you're weird for going to the same class as them?

I go to classes in my local gym. Sometimes im the only fella. The classes are tough so I don't care.

Go to yoga if you want to.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Pickpocket wrote: »
    You'll see some places have 'broga', i.e. men's yoga. So that could be one option, although heading along to a regular class will be fine. Best of luck.

Is that where you keep your shoes on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

I do yoga and I'm the only guy there about 50% of the time. Doesn't bother me at all, nobody cares.