Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Would any of ye have liked to live in a communist country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

mzungu wrote: »
    You would still be waiting for it now.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Its a great idea if humans were mindless drones with no ambition. However humans always want something better then everyone else and will not be happy to have the same as their neighbors.

All that communism does is allows the corrupt to profit greatly and the masses to be equal. And equal at a **** level.

My wife is russian and her mum tells stories of what it was like. Yes you got an apartment for free (eventually). One of her friends got married and they applied for an apartment, they eventually got issued with a 2 bedroom apartment 16 years later at which point they had 4 kids and were living with her mother.
    You queued in hundreds for basic goods and got your allowance. New clothes were in very very high demand and there was never enough for everyone. Black market was a big thing.

To look at people in capitalist society and conclude that human nature is egoism, is like looking at people in a factory where pollution is destroying their lungs and saying that it is human nature to cough.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

chuck norris vs communism is a fascinating documentary on life under communism in Romania. Grim, totalitarian and even more corrupt than a FF tent at the Galway races. Available on netflix amongst others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Fleawuss wrote: »
    No. I always think of them as cold, grey, boring, with sad people trudging through slush watched by pig eyed secret policemen. And cabbage. People gnawing on cabbage. So no.

Are you describing Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,788 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The problem with communism is that trade is a fundamental part of human behaviour. Trading is hard wired into just about everything we do, it's how our brain works, and has worked since before the homo sapien came along. Any ideology has to take into account that people will resort to trading over the simplest things. It even crept into Christianity when we saw the church allowing people to pay for spiritual services and even buy off sins.

For me the bottom line is there's no set ideology that will work all the time. Communism might work well in one place but be completely unworkable under different conditions. If communism works today, it might not work tomorrow after some new technology is created. The fundamentals of trade always work. Capitalism is crude but at it's most basic it works best with our trading deposition. Socialism is also fairly fundamental to humans, as much as we like to see ourselves as individuals we're about as individual as ants. All our greatest advancements have been brought about through social groups.

Ideologies are great starting points, good guides but they're always going to fall short if they don't allow adaptation to our environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,641 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

To look at people in capitalist society and conclude that human nature is egoism, is like looking at people in a factory where pollution is destroying their lungs and saying that it is human nature to cough.

I can understand you to some extent about environment but it's fanciful to the extreme to suggest that all that is holding back some people from gamboling into a collective, caring future is that they've been brainwashed into false consciousness.

It brings me to mind of my time in socialist politics in the 80s and 90s and how (invariably middle class) revolutionaries used to despair over the proletariat stubbornly opting for football, bling and political incorrectness and thinking they were like a mysterious, inert machine that could, with just a little tinkering, be wired up to their true destiny as the engine of class struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

No, civilisation is driven forward by the premise that others have things that you want. Be it money, power, posessions ,comforts. People must innovate and work hard or be creative in order to achieve the things they want and society continues to develop.
    Maybe communism would create an equal society, but I think it would be a boring society personally.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The problem with communism is that trade is a fundamental part of human behaviour. Trading is hard wired into just about everything we do, it's how our brain works, and has worked since before the homo sapien came along. Any ideology has to take into account that people will resort to trading over the simplest things. It even crept into Christianity when we saw the church allowing people to pay for spiritual services and even buy off sins.

For me the bottom line is there's no set ideology that will work all the time. Communism might work well in one place but be completely unworkable under different conditions. If communism works today, it might not work tomorrow after some new technology is created. The fundamentals of trade always work. Capitalism is crude but at it's most basic it works best with our trading deposition. Socialism is also fairly fundamental to humans, as much as we like to see ourselves as individuals we're about as individual as ants. All our greatest advancements have been brought about through social groups.

Ideologies are great starting points, good guides but they're always going to fall short if they don't allow adaptation to our environment.

You can trade personal items in a communist society. Although most things you need would be provided through the way the economy is set up, so there is very little need to trade. I could imagine some people trading some personal items. That type of trading would obviously be fine, but most items you could get in fully developed communism. In the lower stages, when you're paid according to the quantity and quality of work, I would imagine a lot of trading happening. As we develop the means of production, increased automation, efficiency, etc, there would be no need to trade very much. If you want to trade though you could, although I think it would be rather silly for most items since you could just go get such item from the "store".

Tabnabs wrote: »
    chuck norris vs communism is a fascinating documentary on life under communism in Romania. Grim, totalitarian and even more corrupt than a FF tent at the Galway races. Available on netflix amongst others.

Irish people can be hilarious sometimes.

I'm not a communist, but most of the descriptions of communism in this thread are very simplistic, or even false; especially the false belief that communism requires gulags or opposes diversity.

I think a lot of people confuse communism, as a political & economic philosophy, with the 'queuetopias' of the U.S.S.R., which is a bit like likening capitalism to 18th century England. It's simply wrong. Show you a country in the world in which communism has been a success? Well, I can't, no more than you can show me a country where Capitalism has been a success, and capitalist modes of have been established for a lot longer. The world's first communist country only opened its doors less than 100 years ago.

My favourite exponent of communism, as much as I disagree with his politics, is the French philosopher Alain Badiou, and this quote in particular:
    “I don’t think it is absolutely necessary to keep the word communism. But I like this word a lot. I like it because it designates the general idea of a society and of a world in which the principle of equality is dominant, a world no longer structured by classical social relations – those of wealth, the division of labor, segregation, persecution by the state, sexual difference, and so on. That is, for me, what communism is. Communism in the generic sense simply means that everyone is equal to everyone else within the multiplicity and diversity of social functions… There is no reason why a street sweeper should be hounded by the state and poorly paid while intellectuals in their libraries are honored and at peace – and generally well paid. It’s absurd. What I call communism is the end of this absurdity… It’s in this sense that I am a communist”

Again, I'm not a communist (although, I think it's ridiculous that the word still carries any stigma, as if somehow incriminating). But I'd say I'm about as sympathetic to communism as I am to capitalism. Both have legitimate arguments to make, and neither is necessarily the correct one. There probably isn't a 'correct' answer to the problems that are created by man's existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

You can trade personal items in a communist society. Although most things you need would be provided through the way the economy is set up

Who would decide this though? What people wanted? Say I fancied a new type of cracker on which to put the latest artisan cheese produced by the socialist utopia. Who would produce that? Could you the controlled economy producing 3 different types of computer console to meet the desires of its citizens?

You can trade personal items in a communist society. Although most things you need would be provided through the way the economy is set up, so there is very little need to trade.
    It's not about need, it's a behaviour, as much as people like to listen to music trade is as much a fundamental part of their psyche. To suppress it is the same as trying to suppress art. We can see this in communist countries now where people will turn to the black market even if they're getting everything they need.
    My favourite exponent of communism, as much as I disagree with his politics, is the French philosopher Alain Badiou, and this quote in particular:
    “There is no reason why a street sweeper should be hounded by the state and poorly paid while intellectuals in their libraries are honored and at peace – and generally well paid. It’s absurd.”

I'd sort of agree with what he's saying. If you're looking at humanity from a purely capitalistic monetary point of view, and see humans as machines to be used in production. You have one human being paid millions to run a company, that's obviously a valuable and productive machine. If a human has that potential it makes no sense to put another one sweeping floors. There's obviously some incredible waste going on there.

But that's just a thought, in reality the real world cripples ideologies rapidly.

Ah now, Comerade, you should have put quotation marks around that you old scallywag!

Fantastic line, all the same.

Bloody commies, eating the fruits of another's labour!:pac:

It's not about need, it's a behaviour, as much as people like to listen to music trade is as much a fundamental part of their psyche. To suppress it is the same as trying to suppress art. We can see this in communist countries now where people will turn to the black market even if they're getting everything they need.

Is there any evidence that people NEED to trade, biologically/psychologically? We trade because that is one of many ways of allocating resources among society, we didn't do much trading in primitive communism (most of human history) so there is no reason to suggest we need huge amounts of trade as humans. And I said you can trade stuff with people if you want. However, you won't need to trade in the sense of a market, but you can trade if you'd like.

People do not trade for the sake of trading, it's to get resources of some kind. If a person has most of the stuff they need, like food, water, house, hygiene products, phone, computer, etc, they will not trade for the sake of trading in and of itself. Do you personally trade for the sake of trading in and of itself, or is it because that's how resources are allocated in our market society? There might be items you need to trade in communism, like personal items or something very very rare that can't be mass produced in any way, but the allocation of most resources would be taken care of by the economy I've described before. Trading is necessary in any type of market economy. That's how resources are mostly allocated.

In primitive communism, there were no markets, everyone hunted and gathered. They didn't trade much because everything was collectivized. It's not that trade must be the way we allocate resources, its just that it's efficient compared to primitive communism because there was no good way of planning, no technology, and no specialization during that time due to low developed means of production, and everyone had to get food all day otherwise people would starve. There is trade/exchange in the sense that everyone works for society and then is able to receive from society, but less traditional trade. So in that sense of needing trade, you would need it but would be present also.

People listening to music is a silly comparison to trade. Of course both are behaviors, anything you do is a "behavior". It's just that this behavior (traditional trade) is present because the allocation of resources in our present society requires this, while listening to music is not dependent on our material conditions. Obviously material conditions would impact the type of music, what we listen through like live, CD, iPod, etc, but the listening to sounds is the base of what we are going for, unlike trade which it's base is to allocate resources among society, you know what I mean? So there are fundamentally different ways to allocate resources than markets, but not fundamentally different way to hear sounds (music). Sorry if I'm confusing or redundant, it's hard to explain perfectly by typing.

What do you define trade as? Because if you mean that in the sense of trading similar to markets, then it will be similar to what I described with less and less need for it, but still small amounts if necessary, because the real thing we humans NEED is to allocate resources, not necessarily market type of trading. If the concept of working for society and therefore receiving from society is some sort of "trade", then that would be sufficient except the few personal items that people would and could trade anyway. Also, if you're "getting everything you need" and want (when communists say according to their needs usually means your wants too within reason), what would you possibly go to a black market for? I find it odd how you think if you had all of your needs and wants met, you'd still go to a black market. For what would you go there for? You said communist countries, there are no communist countries, so they will obviously have black markets. Communism is an international movement, not just national. There is no money in full communism, there is some is less developed communism, but we have never reached either of them for many reasons. If you consider the USSR, China, etc communist because they call themselves communist, you need to think a little deeper. I am a communist, if I claim I'm a republican, I am not a republican, I am simply a communist who calls himself a republican. Works both ways. Actions speak louder than words.

It's very possible some people will participate in black markets for illegal and dangerous things. That always happens, but there is always a black market for dangerous items. It's just obvious that this depends on what's illegal, how well law is enforced, and how most people's needs (and wants) are met.

Ah now, Comerade, you should have put quotation marks around that you old scallywag!

Fantastic line, all the same.

Bloody commies, eating the fruits of another's labour!:pac:

Cannot steal intellectual property comrade, it belongs to everyone ;)

Scumlord wrote:
    It's not about need
    Is there any evidence that people NEED to trade,

It's a behaviour that has been with since hunter gatherer times. There's plenty of evidence that early humans trading extensively, it's likely why two groups of humans could meet and get along when two groups of neanderthals would start killing each other on sight. A human might be able to meet his needs with what he can find but through trade he can trade what he has for high quality supplies and have access to resources throughout a vast area. We trade everything from items, to technology, to culture, always have and always will. It's part of our nature.

It's likely how domestic animals like cattle and sheep ended up in Ireland 8000 years ago when they're in fact native to the middle east, along with crops like wheat. They had to get here somehow and there's no evidence that Irish people went on a conquest across Europe and took all these things home. It's not enough to say they stole them either, there would have had to have been some education involved which shows cultural ties.

It's a behaviour that has been with since hunter gatherer times..
    So too have cancer, homicide and burst banjo-strings been with us since the dawn of civilisation.

The fact that something may be natural or instinctive, well, I've never really understood the relevance of that.

Organized societies may have prospered due to their trading, but that was in a time of limited resources. Resources probably aren't limited anymore. We can feed the entire planet, so long as we control the population. There are enough vegetables, cereals, loaves of bread, books, pens, nylon, clean underpants, fresh air, running water, blowing wind, shiny sun, condoms, tampons and sandcastles for everyone.

I'm not a communist, but most of the descriptions of communism in this thread are very simplistic, or even false; especially the false belief that communism requires gulags or opposes diversity..

I think the points made about gulags were more that all attempts to implement a communist society (as in expecting to work and exist for the communal good) quickly ends up with a vanguard having to 'safeguard' it.

I myself like the idea of a more socialistic society but I just don't think it's workable.

So too have cancer, homicide and burst banjo-strings been with us since the dawn of civilisation.
    Those aren't behavioral traits though.
    The fact that something may be natural or instinctive, well, I've never really understood the relevance of that.
    Well then, you should read up on instincts, animal behaviour because it plays a huge part in what kind of reactions you can expect to see from a living creature.
    Organized societies may have prospered due to their trading, but that was in a time of limited resources. Resources probably aren't limited anymore.
    Trading predates organised society by a few thousand years. It's likely one of the reasons organised societies could establish themselves. Farming isn't enough on it's own to survive, in many ways it limits what a tribe can achieve because they're no longer mobile enough to gather all the resources they need. But farming and trade allows them to all manner of things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,365 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The problem with Communism is human nature. Those in charge naturally will always feel more equal than everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

It's a doctrine of failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

I can understand you to some extent about environment but it's fanciful to the extreme to suggest that all that is holding back some people from gamboling into a collective, caring future is that they've been brainwashed into false consciousness.

It brings me to mind of my time in socialist politics in the 80s and 90s and how (invariably middle class) revolutionaries used to despair over the proletariat stubbornly opting for football, bling and political incorrectness and thinking they were like a mysterious, inert machine that could, with just a little tinkering, be wired up to their true destiny as the engine of class struggle.
    Reminds me of a bit in a documentary about the miners' strike, where some strikers who were single young lads at the time described their bewilderment at all these marxist women from nearby universities flocking to hang out in the mining villages in solidarity with such revolutionaries. Then their bewilderment turned into delight when they realised so many of them wanted to have sex with them. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

The countries that we call Communist weren't actually practicing the true Communist ideology, rather the Communist ideology was used a tool to enforce a tyrannical regime - if you were offering me the chance to live in a true Marxist, Communist country then yes I would give it a go but Lenin, Mao and Stalin can go f**k themselves

This is basically Chomskys view and I think he is right, the fall of the USSR was a small victory for socialism. So there never was a real communist country to live in in the firs place, just Lenins right-wing interpatation of Marxism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Those aren't behavioral traits though.
    Trading is no more a behavioural trait than homicide, these are merely individual expressions of a human traits (traits include the instinctive tendencies towards self-preservation, communication, production of offspring, whatever), and are not always to be encouraged.

A human being may have an instinct to eat and drink and keep warm, but that's not the same as having an instinct to trade. Trading is merely a pragmatic solution to limited resources, and in modern society, that limit on important resources can be overcome through automation, clean energy, scientific technology and population control.
    ScumLord wrote:
    Well then, you should read up on instincts, animal behaviour because it plays a huge part in what kind of reactions you can expect to see from a living creature.
    Okay, let me rephrase that.

Human instincts are not altogether devoid of relevance, but I am saying that as intelligent creatures, we are not destined to slavishly follow our instincts.

Human beings have broadly put-aside our instinctive physical and sexual aggression in favour of our instincts to leave in peace and self-preservation and increase our store of happines. Communism is perhaps the ultimate political & economic extension of those latter instincts.

So I return to my skepticism that the history of trading is important. Capitalism is probably as expendible as that idiotic 'paleo' diet. Just because we did something in a particular way 10,000 years ago, does not make it either necessary, instinctive, or even remotely clever.

I think the points made about gulags were more that all attempts to implement a communist society (as in expecting to work and exist for the communal good) quickly ends up with a vanguard having to 'safeguard' it.

I myself like the idea of a more socialistic society but I just don't think it's workable.
    Is capitalism?

I can't think of a single capitalist society that can be described as truly capitalist.

No theory or ideology is 100% implementable.

Christians, Muslims and Jews don't abandon their religion just because 'nobody is doing it exactly right', or because there is no State currently implementing their values with perfect loyalty to the ideology.

The important thing, as always, is to strive towards perfect implementation. It's never going to work out exactly perfectly. I've always felt that arguments about the fact that communism won't be a 100% success are a little impotent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭The_Mac

People here probably sitting on their nice comfy chairs, with their big computer or laptop, ranting about how great communism would be, I just can't understand ye. Do ye think that ye'd have those items in a communist state? Do ye think ye'd even be allowed type out anything against communism?

Is capitalism?

I can't think of a single capitalist society that can be described as truly capitalist.

No theory or ideology is 100% implementable.

Christians, Muslims and Jews don't abandon their religion just because 'nobody is doing it exactly right', or because there is no State currently implementing their values with perfect loyalty to the ideology.

The important thing, as always, is to strive towards perfect implementation. It's never going to work out exactly perfectly. I've always felt that arguments about the fact that communism won't be a 100% success are a little impotent.

Agree in theory but when the experiments invariably seem to end up as totalitarian states, it's a little more problematic than tweaking the formula. :pac:

Re: True capitalism, people have already pointed out that the political system that seems to best suit the majority of people is varying strains of social democracy where you essentially have a mix of capitalist and socialist ideas.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

A human being may have an instinct to eat and drink and keep warm, but that's not the same as having an instinct to trade. Trading is merely a pragmatic solution to limited resources, and in modern society, that limit on important resources can be overcome through automation, clean energy, scientific technology and population control.
    It may not be at the level of hunger and sex and shelter, but it seems trading is one of the major things that marked us out when compared to every other human that went before us and those we shared the planet with for a time. Go back 100,000 years long before farming or any of that and we, that is modern humans look pretty much identical in behaviour to other humans around at the time(neandertals etc). Where we stand out is the appearance of trade, of larger networks of same. If you find a preserved campsite and some of the materials come from large distances away then that's "us", if they're exclusively local then that's "them". This is external to the local resources, limited or abundant. Even after contact with us, they don't seem to have quite understood the concept of trade. It seems to have been alien to them. IMH the three biggest innovations of man were fire, art* and trade, the last being exclusively our innovation.

So yeah I'd say trading is a behavioural trait of humans. This doesn't mean an automatic capitalist "utopia" of course. Trade doesn't just mean the obvious stuff, goods/time in exchange for cash. We could get away from that model while keeping our "instinct" for trade, for being part of human society active. People volunteer for unpaid work all the time and I know quite the number that very much prefer it to their 9 to 5 driving a beige cubicle. They also often work harder at it. The average cubicle job while 9 to 5 could probably be taken care of in an hour or two of actual applied graft.

*I'd add religion within that. Religion leads to philosophy, which leads to science. All methods we sought to explain reality. The fact we wanted to find out in the first place makes the diff.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

I'm living and working in Frankfurt at the moment. Quite a few of my colleagues would have grown up living in East Germany. It sounds like an appalling place to have grown up. Even worse than rural East Galway. At least we had the Commodore 64 and no threat of being wrenched out of school because Dad spoke ill about the Government over tea break.

Even today you can spot the former East German in the wider German society. It's especially true if they have made some money. A propensity towards vulgar looking Swiss watches set with diamonds and gold, low end Italian supercars, a second home in the French riviera.

венн ду дас лезен каннст, бист ду кеин думмер весси