Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA "off topic" thread - No discussion relating to FSA or Soccer - please read post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Yeah, I've used it in a similar fashion before and found it mediocre at best. Then my girlfriend advised of the bath trick and its like night and day. Best of luck.

cheers buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,083 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Suffer regularly with shoulder and back aches (lifting up to 5 or 6 ton of sand, gravel, blocks and coal would do that to ya i guess) and after being given all sorts of gels and things to try the best thing I could tell you to use for a dodgy shoulder would be the mint smelling udder cream for cows :D

You might laugh but it actually works :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

manual_man wrote: »
    Anyone recommend an alternative to deep heat? Something a bit hotter if possible! They don't make deep heat as hot as they used to...

I use Tiger Balm instead of DH, you'll get it in most pharmacies. I find it much better than deep heat. It comes in a small glass container but it'll last a lot longer, you'll only need a small bit of it to do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Suffer regularly with shoulder and back aches (lifting up to 5 or 6 ton of sand, gravel, blocks and coal would do that to ya i guess) and after being given all sorts of gels and things to try the best thing I could tell you to use for a dodgy shoulder would be the mint smelling udder cream for cows :D

You might laugh but it actually works :)

Cheno unction?

no idea what its called :D it just has a picture of a cow on it :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

no idea what its called :D it just has a picture of a cow on it :D:D

I love this forum :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

jimmii wrote: »
    If you're buying off the shelf there's always better value to be had but you normally have to put it together yourself which I'm guessing is not something you fancy giving a shot!

What will you be using it for? Unless you're doing some pretty technical stuff 700 probably means you're getting a lot of stuff you don't really need.

Just general work stuff. A lot of Excel and Word. We log into a cloud based system from home PC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Lemlin wrote: »
    Just general work stuff. A lot of Excel and Word. We log into a cloud based system from home PC.

Any set up should be able to handle that really if need be. Best just to spend what you want on it as the extras are really going to make little difference. You only really notice the extras if you're doing a lot of image stuff or gaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

What sports do ye like to watch when the Olympics roll around every 4 years that wouldn't normally be on the viewing agenda?

For me it's the cycling road race today, especially with Dan Martin in with a shout plus the BMX racing.

But top of the list has to be the canoe slalom. Eoin Rheinish always gave it a good rattle.

There's a few people from school in sports I wouldn't normally watch but keep an eye on. I normally stick the swimming on which I would never and would watch most of the events where GB are in with a good shout of being in the hunt. Definitely down for some of the canoe too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,253 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

The women's beach volleyball ftw. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Olympics (both) are great. I like many many sports and generaly enjoy most (if not all) of them (what you need is curiosity and a good commentator, e.g. I happened to really enjoy curling 2 Olympics ago 'cause we had a great pair of commentators on the French TV).

Since you asked about what we'd normally not follow, I'd say fencing, judo, mountain bike racing, gymnastics, rowing & modern pentathlon (fencing, swimming, riding, shooting, running).

Then, bar field hockey that I found ridiculous (yeah I know I'm totally biased since I played ice hockey (real hockey :p:D) for 12 years in my youth), I enjoy watching all team sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,095 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Watched the cycling today, great race if even a little scary at times with plenty crashes on the decents.

Dan Martin equalled Irelands best ever result with 13th place with Nico Roche 29th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Up Skibb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

spock. wrote: »
    Up Skibb!

I believe our own 'gas man' Mr Prodston isn't a million miles away from those two boys, something about the air in wesht Cork :pac:
    Brilliant achievement for two great lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Mike Ehrmantraut

I believe our own 'gas man' Mr Prodston isn't a million miles away from those two boys, something about the air in wesht Cork :pac:
    Brilliant achievement for two great lads.

Fair play to them, the interviews have been the best thing about the olympics, tis all over the t'interweb

Weird seeing your man on the electric bike leading out the track cyclists!

Bizarre end to the rowing there both given the exact same time and no one is sure if its a joint gold or whether one is going to end up with silver!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

jimmii wrote: »
    Bizarre end to the rowing there both given the exact same time and no one is sure if its a joint gold or whether one is going to end up with silver!

in the swimming Phelps got a silver along with 2 others!

manual_man wrote: »
    in the swimming Phelps got a silver along with 2 others!

In the womens swimming there was a joint gold too bizarre to have so many joint medals given how accurate the timing is now! In the rowing they decided to give one guy the silver seems a bit harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭Invincible

Another cracking game of hurling :-)

Lemlin wrote: »

Could be an idea to buy a laptop rather than a pc but connect it to a monitor and keyboard for work purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Dónal wrote: »
    Could be an idea to buy a laptop rather than a pc but connect it to a monitor and keyboard for work purposes.

You can get handy docking units to do this. This is what I have for work.

Signed off the Dole,today is a good day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

dahat wrote: »
    Signed off the Dole,today is a good day...

Well done pal, it's very strange and I may even have it wrong but I was driving through Clarecastle for the first time in years yesterday on the way to the fleadh
    (Clarecastle is bypassed for those not in the know) and I thought of the lad on Boards who lost his job, I assumed at the time it was in that place, delighted things have picked up, hope you were able to enjoy your 'break' somewhat.

Well done pal, it's very strange and I may even have it wrong but I was driving through Clarecastle for the first time in years yesterday on the way to the fleadh
    (Clarecastle is bypassed for those not in the know) and I thought of the lad on Boards who lost his job, I assumed at the time it was in that place, delighted things have picked up, hope you were able to enjoy your 'break' somewhat.

Actually got 3 weeks break as a group of us went back to finalise the last of production for the Liquidators.

New job is different from what i did before so looking forward to it plus no more shift work which is a little loss with my new found passion for cycling.

Had to post this :D

https://youtu.be/BB-J6QeAraw

Best of luck to the Mayo supporters in the replay today. If twas anyone other than Dublin they were up against, I'd be rooting for you myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Hoooonnnnn Mayo. Getting ready to head into it now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

We.
    Got.
    A.
    POINT!!

UTH...