Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

My girlfriend was in Lidl yesterday and walked past the marathon gear, so she just bunged a load of it into her trolley. I now have more gels than I could ever possibly use, along with a big tub of whey protein, a new foam roller and a new bag for runmutes. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

I did the RnR yesterday. June and July didn't go as expected so I needed 'good news'. Met some of the girls at 6.45 for car pooling, got the Phoenix Park and took the shuttle. It was packed but not bad. We got seat ;o)) Then we walked to the Jury's hotel for a loo stop and then head down to the bag drop area. I was surprised the amount of people at the hotel sitting there in the sofas. I thought they were going to be late! Trying to meet the rest of the gang was not the easiest but we managed. My truck for bag drop was second last and in a hurry did not realise I was still wearing my glasses. I asked truck 1 if they could hold it for me. Lucky me I knew them.
    And into the corral (Corral in Spanish is the same purpose but for animals only... everytime I say it I try to think what type of animal I am, a chicken or a cow ;o))))))) Anyway... into the corral... usually panic... some went to toilet again and again.... and BOOM off we went!
    For some weird reason, I had the feeling everything was flat except Christchurch (but that one is short) until the Park. WHAT WAS I THINKING!!!!!! This is not my first time doing the RnR! That threw me back completely but anyway I kept going. One of my friends stayed with me all the way to make sure I did a PB. This was not a training run for me... I needed something else. It was a training run for her though. Loved the music, the people, the BBQ ;o)) He did say before he was going to put out a BBQ for anyone who wanted a sausage along the way and he did.
    I stopped at every water station... I do not like River Rock but it tasted delicious to me yesterday. I drank everything I could find except the Gatorade that I only took a sip.
    My most hated road in the world was longer than ever however doing it the other way around didn't feel that bad. The 2.15 pacers passed by us and I thought, that is the end of a PB. Anyhow, kept going and into the park. Home territory... but still, the hills are not very kind to us ;o) and the last stretch arrived! Saw some familiar faces and stormed off to the finish line. 2.15! WOOHOO HOOO HOOOO.
    Good! 2 mins off. Got the medal! Went to the baggage area to collect our stuff,... my glasses.... and met the rest of the gang.
    I was really happy. Found it extremely tough. I certainly think that I have to drive or walk or something the marathon route to get a better idea.
    Got my beer ;o)) I wanted to have that beer! I am not a beer drinker but I did not think it was the nicest. Drank it though ;o)
    And home!
    Best news is.... when I went home, I put the Garmin into Strava and it said that it was 380m longer than HM and HM time is 2.13!!!
    Everyone got longer than the HM... so in my eyes and world, it was 2.13 HM time, and 2.15 RnR race times ;o)))
    Then into Dundrum to sort out the school books and uniforms as we go on holidays on Wednesday!
    Oh I am happy. I feel OK today as well.... legs a bit tired but I thought it was going to be worse.
    Happy days and well done to everyone who did RnR or long runs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Slightly belated weekly update.

31st July - 6th August
    Sunday - Rest
    Monday - 6 miles w/ 10 x 400m @ 10k pace
    Tuesday - 5 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 10 miles w/ 2 x 3 miles @ MP
    Friday - 3 miles easy
    Saturday - 20 miles aerobic

Delighted with Monday's session. I struggled with 8 reps the last time I attempted this, so was not feeling optimistic about doing 10, but it went fine. Felt like I could have managed a couple more, which is a big improvement.

Legs were feeling a little tender on Tuesday, though I think this was a late reaction to doing some hill sprinting on Sunday while I was out for a walk. Not my finest idea. Anyway, kept things very easy and felt better after.

Running 10 miles after work on a Thursday is absolutely no craic, and I'm finding it harder and harder to psych myself up for these MP sessions as the weeks go on. The running itself was okay, but I was pretty tired in general after it. Cancelled my plans for the rest of the evening, and glued myself to the sofa instead.

Felt much better on Friday's recovery run, but kept the pace very easy as usual. Enjoyed this one.

Managed my first ever 20 mile run on Saturday. After having some mixed results with long runs recently, I felt I was due a good one, and it was a great end to a very good week of running for me - just shy of 45 miles in total - which is a good place to be with only 7 weeks till Berlin.

Well done to everyone who raced yesterday - enjoying the reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭GOOSEPAUL

Well done Kab. Not an easy race and congrats on your pb

GOOSEPAUL wrote:
    Well done Kab. Not an easy race and congrats on your pb

Thank you ;0)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Done the R&R today, ran the whole thing with the 2.30 Pacers and came in at 2.27. Seriously questioning if I can run 26.2 miles in October at a faster pace than today's half?!!

This is a common feeling (had similar going round myself). The reason you have an 18 week build up is that it takes time to build up. Not all fitness boosts are linear and normally take about 4-6 weeks to bed in so you will see noticeable jumps in fitness every so often so with 12 more weeks to go I still plenty of time to kick on don't worry at all.
    What was wrong with the conditions? I found the wind was very tough at times. And because it wasn't a loop, we were running against the wind more often. It was so annoying being stuck in phoenix Park afterwards. Had to walk for ages and get a taxi back to the car.

I managed to do it in 1:48. Happy enough for my second ever HM. I did the last one in March in 2:05.

Wind was tough and as it was a point to point course there was very little reprieve throughout the race. That coupled with the fact that this is not a particularly fast course (climbs coming late in the race are always gonna compound the hurt you are feeling)

Well done on the PB though if you can manage that there is definite more to come from you next time you toe the line at the distance. Take huge confidence from this and kick on with your training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

aceygray wrote: »
    Ok, I did the RnR half today, and I'm feeling very confused. I intended to run it as my long slow run. I got there early and did a 2.5 mile jog (to bring my total up to near 16 miles).

I was running with my sister, who also wanted to take it easy going around. So we were chatting the whole way, and I really enjoyed it. Soaked up the atmosphere, enjoyed the bands, I even stopped at two of the water stations so I could drink properly. I definitely didn't feel spent by the end.

I finished in under 1.55. This is faster than my planned marathon pace. But going by how I felt, or by the talk test, my pace was ok. And I feel fine now, if a little sleepy.

So do I need to rethink my LSR pace (I have been aiming for 9.30 - 10 mins, and have usually been hitting the lower end of that)? Or do I just chalk it up to race day adrenaline etc?

If it's relevant, I did my only other half marathon in just under 1.45, and would be hoping to do the the Dublin half marathon in around that or slightly faster.

Talk some sense into me, wise mentors!

Hi aceygray, I have been comparing your LSR times to what I ran myself last year, and the verdict is to stick to your training paces for now. Your times and mileage is comparable to what I had coming in last year, I booked similar paces last year for my LSRs and FBOT01 (with many more years of running experience) admonished me for running too fast.

It's great to hear you ran comfortably for a 1h55 half on a tough enough course. It suggests that your training is working very well and you should take great heart from that.

I would suggest you stick to doing what you've done to date to book these improvements. It's obviously working. The reason to urge caution is that a comfortable half marathon doesn't guarantee a comfortable 26 miles (.2). Running your long runs at a comfortable pace won't dent your chances for a good marathon on the day, in any way, shape or form. And, we're early. The bulk of the training is still to be done and there will be more check-points along the way (e.g. the HM in the PP). If all continues to go well, you may well adjust your plans and ambitions for the day accordingly... but I don't see the need to do that just yet...

kabuxa wrote: »
    I did the RnR yesterday.

Oh I am happy. I feel OK today as well.... legs a bit tired but I thought it was going to be worse.
    Happy days and well done to everyone who did RnR or long runs!

Well done Kabuxa... Enjoyed your report. Take it easy for a day or two.
    tailgunner wrote: »
    ... only 7 weeks till Berlin.

Well done to everyone who raced yesterday - enjoying the reports.

Well done TG - how do your next few weeks look like training wise? You can regale us with some taper-madness stories. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 crogerso

A tad slow in posting my update for last week.
    Mon: Rest
    Tues: 5 m easy @9.57 min/m
    Wed: 7m; really did not enjoy this run. The wind was at my back going out which of course was great but once I turned for home with 3.5m to go I was facing into a serious wind. Legs were so wrecked after it. I kept my pace at PMP which looking back I probably should have relaxed it a little bit, but I was more concentrated on just getting home
    Thurs: Rest. Missed the recovery run but I felt like the legs needed it
    Fri: Rest
    Sat: 16.2miles. Better than last weekend. Legs were shattered but in general the rest of my body coped fine, and no hunger issues this weekend which was a big plus! Went for an hour in the pool after which was amazing. Definitely gonna try factor a swim in more often after my LSR's, great to properly relax.
    Sun: Rest. Got out for a short walk, that was about all I could facce, just generally v tired.

Happy enough with the week overall. Obviously not ideal missing the recovery runs but felt like my legs and brain need a few days rest. Ready to go for this week again and looking forward to the run up to the FD 10m!

Well done to all who ran in the RnR, sounded like a tough race. Szilvike sorry to hear about the injury, fingers crossed you'll be back running in no time. And everyone as always thanks for the advice and posts. Best of luck for the week ahead!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Great to read the reports and updates. Impressive.

Week 6, HHN1

Tues: 3.07 mi. Time: 28:26. 9:16 min/mi, Avg Pace
    Weds - 5.30 mi. Time: 50:11. 9:28 min/mi, Avg Pace. Encountered two dogs and my legs briefly became entangled in one. Thankfully, it was not aggressive and seemed mostly confused by my presence.
    Thurs: 3.04 mi. Time: 27:42. 9:06 min/mi, Avg Pace
    Sat: 7.49 mi. Time: 1:21:58. 10:57 min/mi, Avg Pace. It was a bit warm out there alright. Tried a different gel this week, one from Lidl's stock. Didn't like the texture of it compared to others I have, mindful of recent posts - will stick primarily to water, I think. Enjoyed running up near the castle again, the fields nearby are a nice golden brown - tempting to go in an lie down in them.
    Sun - Solved the mystery of the missing 1,000 mile sock! :mad:

Week 5
    Week 4
    Week 3
    Week 2
    Week 1
    Why the fup am I doing this thing?

Hey all - a reminder of the LSR meet-up in Phoenix Park next week. Anyone wishing to join, please let me know!

We'll meet at 9am on the Chesterfield Avenue / North Road roundabout. This is the roundabout nearest to the Castleknock Gate. There's usually plenty of parking on that last stretch of the Avenue. I'm hoping to be there early and will wear my DCM 2015 finishers shirt for the occasion :)

The plan is to do a 7M loop along the lines of the attached map. This will take in a good stretch of the FD10 route. Those of you looking for 14M can do the loop twice. :eek: Those of you looking for 12M, I'll show you a shorter way "home" for the second loop if you're interested.

We'll go in two groups, something like this:
    • FITZA, kin9pin, aceygray and myself at 10 min/mi
    • Pomplamousse, A Neurotic, The Muppet, TBO kittyclaws and Firedance at 11 min/mi

Rumour has it we might get some company from other boardsies, too. Can you please let me know if you won't be able to make it, so we won't wait around too long. Antwerp and scotindublin - you're down as tentative, please let me know :cool:

Name|Planned Pace|Distance required
    aceygray|9.30 - 10 min/mile|14 miles
    kin9pin|10:00-11:00|14 miles
    nop98|9:30 - 10|8ish
    FITZA|10.05+|14m
    Pomplamousse|10:30-10:45min/mile-ish|14 miles
    A Neurotic|10:30 - 11|12 - 14
    Firedance|10:30 to 11:30|6-8
    The Muppet|11 to 12 |any
    Antwerp (tentative)|11:00-12:00|14miles
    The Black Oil|11|12 miles
    kittyclaws|11|any
    scotindublin (tentative)||

Oh, hours of fun can be had: "Are you a neurotic? No, I am the muppet, that's a neurotic over there"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I bought a pair of Asics Nimbus 17 back in November, €125. They, or the next model, are now €180 (clicky). Eh yeah...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

nop98 wrote: »
    Hey all - a reminder of the LSR meet-up in Phoenix Park next week.

Oh, hours of fun can be had: "Are you a neurotic? No, I am the muppet, that's a neurotic over there"

:D:D looking forward to this, always great to meet new boardsies. We can use the code words 'boards meet-up group' very original I know :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Hi guys, I haven't checked in for a while. Went for my first run in 10 days today. I've been out of action with a bad dose of the flu. Didn't want to push it too much after been off for a while, got 12 miles done.

I got what I thought was just a sore throat around 2 weeks ago. Kept up the running when I should have taken a day or two off. I've learned my lesson the hard way. Listen to the body.

Not sure whether to do the Frank Duffy 10 now as I've fallen a bit behind. My longest run was a 14 miler a few weeks ago. Maybe another 16-17 mile LSR would serve my better.

Used my flip belt today for the first time, very happy with it.
    I have been thinking of getting one of them. Can I ask which one you got and how much stuff you got in it? I don't carry much, just a key and some fuel for long runs so they look ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 ClaireBristol

Hi all.
    I have not kept up to date with adding my training in but I am following the Hal Higdon 1 plan. My first issue was increasing to 4 runs a week which, thankfully, I have managed to do consistently for the past 6 weeks. Stuck to all the distances except for one were I did more than planned.I was back in Dublin and couldnt resist my favourite running spot, along clontarf coast out to howth and back...15miles, longest run so far!
    Anyways, last week I was not 100% and had to drop out of planned runs..I had hoped to pick up by the weekend but still felt ill, no diagnosis just faitgued/lack of energy etc.. so i took the week off. I had not planned to but just couldnt get the energy to go out. So I went out for a slow 3m tonight and struggled, which is way off my norm. I am not sure what to do for the rest of the week ...try to do my 4 runs?? Accept that i might need to walk a bit?? Reduce number of runs?? Should i stick with the plan or go back to last week that I missed?? Any thoughts..

jameshayes wrote: »
    This is a really long post, I don't expect anyone to read it - but it felt great getting it off my chest.

Well what a strange day.

Today was my first Half Marathon and the day started great. I woke up about 5 minutes before the alarm which was perfect so I started to get ready, I was pretty happy because differing to my normal routine of running around the morning of a run to find my gear I had it all neatly laid out including a prepacked flipbelt and my race number pinned to my shorts.

I left the house and cycled up to Houston station with the plan of getting the luas up to the Point; the cycle was grand and almost completely downhill, I'm a pessimist so I was thinking ill thoughts of having to come back up the hill after the run but I was only running at training pace today anyway so I should be fine - I thought. So bike parked and a short walk over to Houston to get on the luas, a quick 5 minute wait and I was on a fairly busy luas with the plan of getting to the point in 10 minutes - this is where the day started to turn.

At the next luas stop another large cohort of runners crammed onto the tram and it was like something you'd see in a third world country. I misplaced my headphones the other day - they would have been ideal for blocking out the irritations of public transport; pony tails in my face, people talking about their breakfast and general ramblings of how fast they planned to run today - completely normal conversations but I was easily irritated for some reason.

20 minutes later we arrive at the Point, a really slow journey hindered by the luas doors not closing due to excess passengers. I didn't bring a bag so I went straight for the port-a-loos and the queue was *mental* so I abandoned that plan and told myself I'd use a port-a-loo on the route - sure I'm only running training pace. I'm standing in my corral looking for the 2hr pacers, I can see the 55 10k pacers but no sign of my group then I realise I put my predicted time of completion as 1:55 so I'm one corral ahead of my group and just as I was about to move I heard the announcer say that if you don't start in your assigned corral your time will not be counted - a scare tactic no doubt but I really didn't feel like taking the chance.

I weighed up my options and convinced myself that I should just run it at a reasonable pace. Bang - off we go! The gun actually gave me a little fright! Off we set and I'm running along side this woman with a San Francisco marathon top and I thought she would be a great pacer for me, we were together for the first 5k and she stopped at a water station - thanks lady.

KM 1-5 (Mile 1-3)
    These we fine, the weather looked like it was about to turn and we got a small bit of rain which was welcomed. The turn up Christchurch hill was just put in for sh!ts and giggles, a huge number of people had a bad time of it and ended up stopping at the top.

KM 6-10 (Mile 4-6)
    I really enjoyed the run through Kilmainham Hospital and it was the first of the light-hearted RnR signage that I had noticed saying "only 10 bands to go" - I'm like count-Dracula from sesame street so this was great, from there on in I counted down the bands as I passed them. I grabbed a cup of water at the water station here and nearly died trying to drink it, most of it went on my shirt - grabbed a poweraid too, only took a few sips and it was launched into the bin (what a waste, surely they should have it in smaller bottles?)

KM 11-15 (mile 7-9)
    It got hard here, the wind had picked up and it felt like an eternal slog up the road but I knew what was coming next so I tried to bank some time with the wind mostly on my back. I wanted to give up here, especially after seeing the 10k'ers heading into the park - how easy would it be to stop! - look, I parked my bike just there I could just run straight instead of turning into the park and go home! Then I got spit on.

KM 16-21 (mile 10-13)
    These 5k went by pretty quickly considering. I grabbed a gel on my way into the park so I downed that and carried on around the park - 'I know these roads, I have ran them before' I kept repeating. I was passing more people than were passing me so I was happy with that too. We approached the uphill section at the magazine fort - I think this is more daunting than it should be because you can see the runners in front of you winding up the hill... Head down and laugh at the sign at the top "Its a hill, get over it". Up ahead was another water station, I cant remember exactly where it was but I was wondering why there was one so close to the finish. I didn't need water so I tried to go through the middle and just as I was passing a huge gust of wind came down from the hill and blew all the cups from the table - instincivly I jumped over these flying cups and ping. That ping was my calf about to go into cramp. I was a little worried about it so I tried to change my stride, it seemed to loosen out.

KM19 was where I had intended on speeding up a small bit for a finish - the watch beeped saying 18 done and I sped up only to be slowed down straight away by the calf looking to cramp - when my calves cramp they are not right for days so I really didn't want it to happen. I kept trying to go faster but I just couldn't - each time I was shot down by impending cramp and now this time it was both my hamstrings and both calves. I felt like I struggled over the line with a limp - delighted it was over.

Back on the bike 20 minutes later for a cycle home - I had anticipated the uphill battle but I didn't plan for the headwind all the way home.

1:52 finish which was faster than I had thought I could do but I'm not happy with the physical effort it took. After a few hours of reflection, Rome wasn't built in a day so I just have to keep trucking and stick to the plan.

Highlights:
    *All the participants from around the world, crazy how people travel specifically for this event - Failte Ireland should really get on that bandwagon.
    *The bands - they were great, specifically the band at the bottom of the magazine fort.
    * The starting system - really good in comparison to runs I've been at in the past where you've slower people infront of faster people - there was very little shoving

Lowlights:
    * the weather - too hot at one stage and incredibly windy throughout
    * getting spit on
    * nearly dying by drowning on a glass of water
    * the excessive hills
    * the route not being a loop
    Great report....That's awful someone spat on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭All or nothing

ToriV wrote: »
    I have been thinking of getting one of them. Can I ask which one you got and how much stuff you got in it? I don't carry much, just a key and some fuel for long runs so they look ideal.

Hi ToriV,
    I got the ordinary black one. Went online to get it and ended up ordering from
    Run Logic in Temple bar (im based in Cork) as it didn't work out any more expensive than the likes of Amazon. I had my keys, money, gels. Plenty room for a phone if you wanted to bring one. I'll probably use it for DCM to carry my gels.You can just put loose change into one of the openings and it doesn't rattle around like it would in your pocket.

Hi ToriV,
    I got the ordinary black one. Went online to get it and ended up ordering from
    Run Logic in Temple bar (im based in Cork) as it didn't work out any more expensive than the likes of Amazon. I had my keys, money, gels. Plenty room for a phone if you wanted to bring one. I'll probably use it for DCM to carry my gels.You can just put loose change into one of the openings and it doesn't rattle around like it would in your pocket.

Thanks for that....going to order one tomorrow. I have read so many mixed reviews on them, it's nice to get feedback from someone in real life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

We'll go in two groups, something like this:
    • FITZA, kin9pin, aceygray and myself at 10 min/mi
    • Pomplamousse, A Neurotic, The Muppet, TBO kittyclaws and Firedance at 11 min/mi

Name|Planned Pace|Distance required
    aceygray|9.30 - 10 min/mile|14 miles
    kin9pin|10:00-11:00|14 miles
    nop98|9:30 - 10|8ish
    FITZA|10.05+|14m
    Pomplamousse|10:30-10:45min/mile-ish|14 miles
    A Neurotic|10:30 - 11|12 - 14
    Firedance|10:30 to 11:30|6-8
    The Muppet|11 to 12 |any
    Antwerp (tentative)|11:00-12:00|14miles
    The Black Oil|11|12 miles
    kittyclaws|11|any
    scotindublin (tentative)||
    paddydriver|Sociable Pace|14 miles

Think I'm in for Sat too.. Not heading off to Kerry until Sun afternoon after a kids soccer match. Looking forward to it!

This arrived this morning from Amazon..

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hydration-Running-EOTW-Jogging-Climbing/dp/B01F4S6YGQ/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1470695345&sr=8-3&keywords=hydration+belt

Really impressed with it and holds my big mobile phone so very happy. You can use your own bottle with it, probably a 500ml would fit OK. Well put together and good pockets in it.

Who's doing flapjacks for Sat.. or will I get the wife to do banana bread.. :D

nop98 wrote:
    Hey all - a reminder of the LSR meet-up in Phoenix Park next week. Anyone wishing to join, please let me know!

Won't make it as on holidays but such a pity! Enjoy it!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

I won't know if I can make the LSR meet up until nearer the weekend....work may get in the way. I will let you know by Thursday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Who's doing flapjacks for Sat.. or will I get the wife to do banana bread.. :D

I'm afraid you can't ask questions like that Paddy that's now official Paddys wife is making banana bread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Week 14, Irish Runner Plan.

Quick weekly update, since I've been online moaning after every run anyway! :o

Monday: Delayed LSR from previous week, 14 miles (11:55 pace)
    Tuesday: Rest day (swim)
    Wednesday: 6 miles - should have been 8 but took it back a bit because of sore quad. (11:30 Pace)
    Thursday: Rest day (swim)
    Friday: Rest day
    Saturday: Rock n'Roll 5k. This race was a test to see if the quad would be ok for the half marathon, I decided if I felt any pain or even a niggle I'd skip the half marathon. I took it very easy and felt fine, so pushed the pace a bit for the last 2.5k. (10:20 pace) (Then couldn't find my car so wandered round for an hour!)
    Sunday: Rock n' Roll Half marathon. Warm-up from O'Connell St to the start line, quad was a bit achy so spent a half hour stretching and making sure I was well warmed up. Still a bit sore when the race started - but from the 3 mile mark I was running pain-free. I won't repeat the report again! All went to plan, I stayed close enough to the 2:30 pacers and finished in 2:27, (11:10 pace)
    The 'Fun' Run afterwards was delayed by half an hour, where I was stuck in the corral. By the start I was freezing cold and my legs had completely seized up - so I struggled round at a 12 min pace.

Clocked up 38.1 miles for the week (and four very glittery medals :D )

I've heard from a reliable source that the AAI are announcing on Wednesday that the closing date for marathon entries will be August 31st - earlier if the hit their quota. They expect a surge in entries after the announcement on Wed so best to sign up before then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

nop98 wrote: »

I would suggest you stick to doing what you've done to date to book these improvements. It's obviously working. The reason to urge caution is that a comfortable half marathon doesn't guarantee a comfortable 26 miles (.2). Running your long runs at a comfortable pace won't dent your chances for a good marathon on the day, in any way, shape or form. And, we're early. The bulk of the training is still to be done and there will be more check-points along the way (e.g. the HM in the PP). If all continues to go well, you may well adjust your plans and ambitions for the day accordingly... but I don't see the need to do that just yet...

Thanks nop98 :) I knew what the answer would be before I asked the question, I just needed to hear it from the boss! I'm looking forward to the long run meetup now, hopefully running with others will keep me on pace.

Hi all.
    I have not kept up to date with adding my training in but I am following the Hal Higdon 1 plan. My first issue was increasing to 4 runs a week which, thankfully, I have managed to do consistently for the past 6 weeks. Stuck to all the distances except for one were I did more than planned.I was back in Dublin and couldnt resist my favourite running spot, along clontarf coast out to howth and back...15miles, longest run so far!
    Anyways, last week I was not 100% and had to drop out of planned runs..I had hoped to pick up by the weekend but still felt ill, no diagnosis just faitgued/lack of energy etc.. so i took the week off. I had not planned to but just couldnt get the energy to go out. So I went out for a slow 3m tonight and struggled, which is way off my norm. I am not sure what to do for the rest of the week ...try to do my 4 runs?? Accept that i might need to walk a bit?? Reduce number of runs?? Should i stick with the plan or go back to last week that I missed?? Any thoughts..

Hey ClaireBristol -

Sorry to hear about your recent run of tiredness / fatigue. You're not the only one, there are quite a few similar reports on the previous dozens of pages.

Couple of things to keep in mind.
    (1) Write off last week. It's gone. Don't worry about it.
    (2) Jump back into the program, but don't put yourself under pressure. Run a mile away from home, if you feel good, keep going. If you don't feel the love, turn back home. At least, you have another 2 miles under your belt. If you need to walk a bit (e.g. on an incline), do. Given your very strong history (from your opening post), I am not overly worried about lack of fitness. You just need to get yourself back into the groove.
    (3) Try and analyze the tiredness / lack of energy. Are you getting enough sleep? How is your diet? Is anything else having a negative impact? If it doesn't improve with the week off, you may want to consider seeking medical advice from someone other than Drs Google, Boards and Bing :)

There's plenty of time left. Of course it's not ideal to miss a week but what's gone is gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

I've heard from a reliable source that the AAI are announcing on Wednesday that the closing date for marathon entries will be August 31st - earlier if the hit their quota. They expect a surge in entries after the announcement on Wed so best to sign up before then.

Can't get more reliable than one of the organisers who posted here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I'm still good for saturday, i'd offer to make Flapjacks but i'd be afraid i'd poison everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Yep, I heard this too while I was at the Chinese Take Away....erm I mean Gym, yeah that's where I was :rolleyes: on Sunday evening off a lady from a well known local Running club that it might close early this year as they were up on 15K entrants already.

Novices....get the credit card out and take the plunge to avoid disappointment!!