Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

lennymc wrote: »
    Robfowl, Did you mean the location of the cake that ktb had hidden in his pocket?

Haha and cake is gone (now long gone ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

ronoc wrote: »
    there are plans for a greenway along the dodder all the way to Kippure. This would be a fantasic idea![/url]

A Mountains to the Sea route along the Dodder would be fantastic! It would change the whole feel of Dublin.

And if it would be possible to expand it northwards, you could cross the Liffey at the Sam Beckett bridge and follow the Royal Canal up a bit, then cross to the Tolka, follow that along to the Botanic Gardens…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Chuchote wrote: »

I'm completely blown away by the incredible kindness and gallantry of everyone here. I can't thank everyone here enough.

I 've found the cycling community to be one of the most generous, kind and giving. Since I 've started cycling my views have changed for a few things and whenever I can, I try to give back as well. Especially in here, I 've met some amazing people that will go above and beyond to lend a hand when needed, sometimes without even asking for help. I 've been involved into various communities through hobbies etc and I can say with certainty that the cycling one is by far the most generous I 've had the pleasure to be a part of, and I can't wait for my little one to grow up a little bit more so she can be involved in this as well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    And RobFowl should go back to being WayRoo also!

Wash your mouth out with soap !

#YNWA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

ford2600 wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=99651157&postcount=3038

Any mobility work in the middle of all that?

Sedentary job and train like that you better get used to physios/doctors.

Slow down, figure out why you got broken and build yourself up.

Once you are able I'd be spending money on good personal trainer to assess your weaknesses rather than spending it on doctors/physios when you get broken.

Did I say to slow down...

To be fair that was an unusually heavy week. Now I'm in the gym 3/4 times per week, 5-a-side on a Monday and about 250kms on the bike. Gym sessions are only 40mins each too.
    One of my gym sessions is now changing for a yoga session. The PT I'm with is actually known for being one of the best in the country and has people that travel from all over the country to train with him, I worked with him years ago so cuts me a deal. It is time for a full reassessment of where I'm at though and what I am able and not able to do.
    Fatigue and being on the tail end of a 3 day bender probably had something to do with the injury though!
    In saying that, new chain, new brakepads and in about an hour I'll also have new pedals. Gonna be hard to stay off the bike

Edit: All stuff has arrived

393476.JPG

Capture.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,733 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

having been able to pull out my bottom bracket cup on the drive side i fitted a yst threadless BB

bb_993.jpg

sofar so good 2hour spin today

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭koutoubia

RobFowl wrote: »
    Haha and cake is gone (now long gone ;) )

It was a scone and it was scoffed in the car on the way into town as I was running late 'cause we stopped to chat to Lenny who just wanted to talk about giant Aero bars (the chocalate kind) and chinese take aways.

buffalo wrote: »
    ooh, that's who koutobia is! Can we have a thread devoted to username changes. It gets very confusing... I'm awaiting Jep's next incarnation with bated breath.

If we did start a thread on those of us with 'identity crisis' it would probably have only 3 users contributing.
    Me, yer man Doyle from Lusk and Tonto Gamberdella.

koutoubia wrote: »
    If we did start a thread on those of us with 'identity crisis' it would probably have only 3 users contributing.

And Beasty, previously known as Slideshowbob....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

and nee

well it seems there maybe a need for a thread after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,094 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

..and Quality Mark/Chuchote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Eamonnator wrote: »
    and nee

Fresh back off the honeymoon.

For the record, and as you well know, I'm not from Lusk (thankfully)!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

b9bbb1c7d54c679252c5a278ee3d6840ecc00650606261e0a4fab093855c9bd5.jpg

Where is that place you live in ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Rush

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Lusk is equally relieved....

CramCycle wrote: »
    Rush
    Ah here! We're grand as we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Ah here! We're grand as we are.

Lovely place, funny people mind but a lovely place :pac:

They don't understand how to yield at roundabouts in Rush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭buffalo

Is that because they're always in a... hurry? :cool:

buffalo wrote: »
    Is that because they're always in a... hurry? :cool:

Probably but the amount of near misses I've had on the Remount roumdabout in Lusk due to them not yielding to traffic already on the roundabout is ridiculous!

Because there ain't no roundabouts in Rush! :)

My mother learned to cycle in Rush.

She had a tendency to sleepwalk when under stress, and sometimes her dreams would invade her ordinary life. Someone had given her a bicycle — a glorious and unprecedented gift in her dark life.

She had never been on a bicycle before.

She woke from a dream of flying along a road in a summer dawn, the bicycle and herself moving like one creature. And when she woke, it was so. She was going straight towards the pier; the tide was in; she couldn't swim. She didn't know how to stop. There was only one choice.

She told me, "I could never work out how I got down off that car."

Chuchote wrote: »
    ...She was going straight towards the pier.....
    Which one?

(We have two separate harbours - pretty rare as far as know!)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Was commuting in this morning, heading along the Lusk by-pass and approaching a roundabout

The road to the right was clear and there was no oncoming traffic. As I approached the roundabout I could see a car approaching from the left (the Rush Road:p). Thought I would put my foot down to get through. Felt like the car driver was doing something similar as when I was entering the roundabout they were not slowing - in fact it almost felt like they were accelerating!

As panic was setting in I realised I had no-where to go. My life was flashing in front of my eyes as I veered to the right only then to have to straighen due to the raised bit on the exit. Probably only missed that by less than foot as the car driver suddenly realised I was there (probably due to the screaming!!)

When everything ground to a halt I asked the driver what they were doing. "I didn't see you" was the reply. "You didn't look" was my retort. "Must be my eyes":rolleyes: I pointed out that I was predominantly dressed in white with white helmet, white bike and flashing red light on the back (even my valve dust caps were yellow!!)

Anyway when it had all settled I let her go on her way, only then to have my suspicions raised as I saw the L-plate in her rear window......

Which one?

(We have two separate harbours - pretty rare as far as know!)

I don't know, and can no longer ask her, alas, but from memory I think she talked of a long, maybe tree-lined, downhill stretch going straight to a pier. But this was in the 1920s; roads may have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Beasty wrote: »
    "I didn't see you" was the reply. "You didn't look" was my retort. "Must be my eyes":rolleyes: I pointed out that I was predominantly dressed in white with white helmet, white bike and flashing red light on the back (even my valve dust caps were yellow!!)

Anyway when it had all settled I let her go on her way, only then to have my suspicions raised as I saw the L-plate in her rear window......

I've seen lots of outrage lately over L-drivers driving alone. http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/letters/l-plate-drivers-and-deaths-on-our-roads-1.2742792