The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Took the grab bar off today. the previous owner used a hack saw to remove the mounting points for the blanking plates, probably to fit a tail bag so I had to do a bit of messing.

Got a stud remover (rugby boots yoke) cut it in half, hammered it into shape, used a bit of mechano to connect the blanking plates to it and it's done. Not the cleanest bit of work ever but I'm happy enough. (I added zip ties after just to be sure if they got loose they wouldn't go flying)

Proper bodging. Good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

pudzey101 wrote: »
    Picked up this stuff in dealz today , cant really go wrong for 1.49 ,

nmdb.jpg

just gave a really quick rinse down , sprayed the solution and let it sit for 5mins , scrubbed + brushed the really mucky areas and rinsed off :) As good or if not better than muc-off IMO :)

TxfJ97v.jpg

Just to add the bike was destroyed in sh!te before i washed it i never took before pics :(

Its fantastic stuff,I bought several bottles of it a few months ago.Muk Off is way over rated and way over priced,when you consider the Dealz stuff does the same job.

S1000RR smoked rear LED tail light with built in indicators is winging its way to Ireland right now from a company called Hornig in Germany.
    Dont like the clear coloured one on the back of the Beemer.

Brake/clutch lever guards are here,they got lost in the post.:(:pac:
    They came from a German company called Pro-Brake.
    Maybe they are rebranded chinese ebay levers,I genuinely dont know,but they feel like better quality than the ebay chinese jobbies and seem to have more adjustment in them.They seem well made.:)

20160802_115454_zpstp5cit5k.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Only use the brake lever guard!
    Guards on both sides looks crap!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

blade1 wrote: »

IYO.........;)

blade1 wrote: »

They look good on the R1 though.:)

For me personally,it gives it some symetry and also protects the clutch lever when filtering through city centre traffic and traffic jams and drivers who try to squeeze you in.Taxi drivers are the worst IMO.
    Also equal balance and bar end wight on both sides.

But I could be talking sh!te though.:pac::D

DSCN4399_zpsm5y5qemc.jpg

20160517_221104_zps24m78x8b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

IYO.........;)

IYO its IMO!!:P

@stewy that's your OCD kicking in!:pac:

They look good on the R1 though.:)

For me personally,it gives it some symetry and also protects the clutch lever when filtering through city centre traffic and traffic jams and drivers who try to squeeze you in.Taxi drivers are the worst IMO.
    Also equal balance and bar end wight on both sides.

But I could be talking sh!te though.:pac::D

DSCN4399_zpsm5y5qemc.jpg

20160517_221104_zps24m78x8b.jpg

..and at least youre protected from those wide ass BMW make -up boxes........:p

Speaking of BMW............horn,abs and traction control switch gear parts arrived from Germany today.:)

20160802_153228_zpsavphrsay.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Lads just a word on caution on the stuff from Dealz.

Its brilliant, I think I posted about it here when it originally came out ~ BUT there's a cautionary tale to go with it... Its bloody corrosive!, so be very careful using it near loose or chipped paint and be sure to rinse it off really well (and don't leave it on too long either, I've had paint stained by it).

Its a great chain cleaner too!.

Sorry to be a party pooper.. I still use it, its really good but be very careful with it too.

Lads just a word on caution on the stuff from Dealz.

Its brilliant, I think I posted about it here when it originally came out ~ BUT there's a cautionary tale to go with it... Its bloody corrosive!, so be very careful using it near loose or chipped paint and be sure to rinse it off really well (and don't leave it on too long either, I've had paint stained by it).

Its a great chain cleaner too!.

Sorry to be a party pooper.. I still use it, its really good but be very careful with it too.

Yeah..i got that car wheel cleaner stuff in aldi a while back, all was going great until a mate rang me mid wash..when i went back to it one wheel had gone matt...no recovery from this unless i respray the wheels..:(

Maybe theyre coming up with alternatives that actually clean stuff properly..remember when you didnt need to scrub when using Gunk or Jizer ?...happy days...:o

Picked these up in Tesco for 3 quid each.Reduced from 9 quid each.:D

Snow Foam is very good,its what Brian from Motorcycle Valet uses to clean down the bikes at 1st.:)

20160803_101748_zpsbpobzy9c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭millingmachine

Snow Foam is very good,its what Brian from Motorcycle Valet uses to clean down the bikes at 1st.:)
    He uses snow foam alright but it ain't that cheap stuff.

What stuff does he use then?
    Brian just mentioned the snow foam to me as a 1st wash down,as I was leaving his workshop,so I presumed it was the Carplan stuff?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

Most Valet places will use proffessional grade snow foam and then even add in their own bits to tailor it. Seen a few places add in some lemon extract and other stuff for a better effect.

Well between the Dealz stuff the that Carplan stuff,I will probably end up like this,along with the bike.:pac::p:D

Hornig smoked LED rear light and indicator unit arrived from Germany today.
    That was quick.:)

20160803_145514_zpsrbinol1o.jpg

All I need to do now is get the bloody S1000RR back from Joe Duffys and fit all these parts.:pac:

:D:D...know a guy wh did car valeting a few years back..he had all those expensive Autoglym bottles on display but they were filled with the cheapest stuff he could get..cleaned up, literally...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Vikings

A friend of mine told me Brian uses stuff from this place:

https://www.reflectautocare.ie/

I've recently bought this stuff which I think is what he might use.

I've attached a progress shot of using it :D

393450.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Vikings

And mostly dry afterwards

393451.jpg

Vikings wrote: »

393451.jpg

Now thats a sweet ride.:)

Finally have the S1000RR back.And everything on it works now.:)

Let the fun n games of modifying it begin.:pac::D

Home made satnav lead installed.Much easier than the R1 to take parts off and put them back on.The Germans make it easy to take a bike apart.:)

20160803_173159_zps7aw1sqz2.jpg

20160804_095732_zpsitvrb5yt.jpg

20160804_093810_zpsiep5ewz1.jpg

Frame and fork crash protectors fitted along with GB racing casings.

20160804_165327_zpsmmg2gkw7.jpg

20160804_173859_zpsorqvquxo.jpg

20160804_182000_zpsouql3s1t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Nice!!! I really like the charging port to USB adapter. That would work great on the Harley as I could run it into one of the saddle bags and charge my USB devices in route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Stewie, What do you think of the white bobbins? They seem a little low down for the paint job, can you get blue ones? or dye them blue? Lovely lookin bike otherwise :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭millingmachine

Vikings wrote: »

393451.jpg
    That's a fine looking machine. ;)

Nice!!! I really like the charging port to USB adapter. That would work great on the Harley as I could run it into one of the saddle bags and charge my USB devices in route

Got it for 10 euro from AKB out in Swords.:)
    I made up the SAE battery lead with some bits n bobs that were in my garage.

If you leave it plugged in over night then it does drain the battery down a wee bit.

I only use in when the bike is actually moving,to use the satnav or google maps on the phone.:)
    Have the same setup on the R1.

DSCN4930_zps4mdubere.jpg

d3159b4a-f2ed-4d12-860c-9d0c21b79a6f_zpsle5cvh2m.jpg

Stewie, What do you think of the white bobbins? They seem a little low down for the paint job, can you get blue ones? or dye them blue? Lovely lookin bike otherwise :)

Bike came with them on it,I kinda like them,they look nicer in the flesh.
    Maybe black or blue would look good,but sure we will see.:

Next thing to go on are some adjustable rearsets and all the carbon bodywork.:)

20160804_191039_zpstmddvpug.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

20160803_173159_zps7aw1sqz2.jpg
    Where is your number plate stewygriffin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Here's a pic of mine. I have done nothing to it (previous owner did everything). I was thinking of putting some crash protectors but I hate the look of them so I didn't bother. And I'm going on track on Sunday...

Mod I'm thinking about: Brembo M/C. Anybody done it on a S1000RR yet?

Or I may sell it and get a 2016 model... We'll see!

393613.jpg

393614.jpg

393615.jpg