Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Louise O Neill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Zxclnic wrote: »
    American bookstore was it.......at least have to wit to alter the spelling after you copy & paste.:D
    No, auto correct changes it to the american spelling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

No, auto correct changes it to the american spelling

Oh...and you can't change it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

but if her writings make one girl or boy think about their treatment and behaviour of each other then more power to her.

All it seems to do, as far as I can tell, is promote the notion that women are constantly being victimised and that men are inherently untrustworthy. I'm not sure that's such a great thing.
    With the paranoia that the night can bring I start to think of all the men that I have known.

I think of when I was three, cuddling into my Granddad Murphy’s lap as he stroked my hair and told me I was the best girl and I wonder did he really think that, or did he secretly hate women too?

I think of my uncles and my male cousins and my male friends and how kind they all seem, and I begin to fear that their smiles might hide their sneers, that they might think I’m a stupid bitch who needs to stop complaining.

I think of my ex-boyfriends, how I stood naked before them and I wonder if they thought my body was something to be talked about with their friends, if they too thought female sexuality was something to be laughed at.

The part about the grandfather, who I presume has now passed on, is particularly odious imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

All it seems to do, as far as I can tell, is promote the notion that women are constantly being victimised and that men are inherently untrustworthy. I'm not sure that's such a great thing.

But you see women and girls have to go about their lives thinking that men are inherently trustworthy. If I am getting off the bus late at night, I have to keep an eye out for any strange men around, I can't walk home from the pub on my own, it's even risky to accept a lift from a man I know. If I did these things and something happened I would be expected to shoulder some of the blame because I supposed to know that some men can't be trusted not to rape you.

Now I know men suffer at the hands of cruel women all the time, I have made a few suffer in my time but they certainly weren't in fear of me!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

darkdubh wrote: »
    Louise O Neill herself has tweeted that she hasn't read it.
    Well there's a huge shock. These eejits, just like their "red pill/manosphere" muppets are very prone to go full hysteric without actually reading and digesting the source of their ire. It's almost a given with both groups.
    Zxclnic wrote: »
    Well, I think you're moving the goalposts there a bit in talking of socio/economic class divisions.....with which I agree by the way.
    Current feminism when looking at the gender "privilege" does this all the time. When comparing men to women they compare a minority of elite men(ignoring the elite women) to the average woman. When one looks at the actual facts in Western societies which gender as an average lives longer, is more educated, earns more, has far fewer accidental deaths, fewer successful suicides with more medical and social support? And these divides are growing. I'll give you a hint, it isn't men. This isn't a Poor men angle either, though the feminist reaction to Facts, is to suggest it is. It's merely an illustration of the bullshit a lot of people are waking up to with this dishonest ideology.

Oh and before the again usual "not all feminists…"; this is not hardline insaniacs blogging about castrating men and all sex is rape, this is mainstream current feminism. Hilary Clinton felt comfortable in saying war affected women more, because as well as directly being affected they lost sons and brothers and fathers and husbands etc. Imagine now if some fcukwit was to claim rape affects men just as much because they lose daughters, sisters, fathers and wives to it. A rightful what the ever living fcuk would ensue, but that's Hilary, likely the next prez of the US of A, not some dribbling nutter on Tumblr.
    Yes Louise o Neill has a voice, that she used (uses) to vocalise her thoughts and feelings, does she represent a generation? No. does she represent women? No. does she represent herself, Yes.

but if her writings make one girl or boy think about their treatment and behaviour of each other then more power to her.

Livedadream, if I may paraphrase your bit above as a thought experiment?

Yes Milo Yiannopoulos* has a voice, that he used (uses) to vocalise his thoughts and feelings, does he represent a generation? No. does he represent men? No. does he represent himself, Yes.

but if his writings make one girl or boy think about their treatment and behaviour of each other then more power to him.

OK, L, how would you react if someone wrote that? They're both running with a kernel of truth wrapped in onions layers of bullshit and panic mongering, but whose ideology gets more leeway?

*I picked that yahoo as he seems to be current example of the Red Pill Right. Another baiter and stirrer. Worse as he's more cynical about it. I suspect Ms O'Neill believes her own BS. I suspect Milo doesn't. Insert any manosphere ****e stirrer of your choosing.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

The part about the grandfather, who I presume has now passed on, is particularly odious imo.

to be fair, the bit about ex boyfriends is something i can relate to, i do wonder when these stories come out have my boyfriends talked about me in the hateful way that some of the lads here speak about women, have they said she needs a good ride about me when im stressed or complaining about a lad at work, have they said ''ah shes playing the victim'' or ''she deserved it sure'' when ive been assaulted on a street. have they sent photos of me and dissected it with their friends?

yes the thing about the grandfather is weird, but, ive certainly heard my dads friends make pass remarkable comments about women that have made me wonder does my dad think the same way, one instance in particular is about the Stanford case, one of them said something about drinking too much and she was flirting with him, i was sitting there thinking are you demented,,, what if it was your daugther or granddaughter?
    also the way my dads old boss used speak about the secretaries and receptionists was down right abhorrent, so did he think the same way about his own daughter?

it does cross your mind, not in as dramatic a way as she described but id does creep in.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,521 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Lux23 wrote: »
    But you see women and girls have to go about their lives thinking that men are inherently trustworthy. If I am getting off the bus late at night, I have to keep an eye out for any strange men around, I can't walk home from the pub on my own, it's even risky to accept a lift from a man I know. If I did these things and something happened I would be expected to shoulder some of the blame because I supposed to know that some men can't be trusted not to rape you.

Now I know men suffer at the hands of cruel women all the time, I have made a few suffer in my time but they certainly weren't in fear of me!

Would you not think that it's a bit sexist to see every man as a potential rapist?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

But you see women and girls have to go about their lives thinking that men are inherently trustworthy.

No, we don't.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Slight problem there. A man walking home from the pub is far more likely to be physically assaulted than you are to be sexually assaulted. Yes by other men, but the majority of men walking home from the pub aren't in a constant state of fear of assault. That's being a paranoid in the face of objective reality and it's all too damned common and muppets like these online rabble rousers with their 1 in 4(or 5, or 6, depending on the wind) are raped stuff* rev this fear up. Americans seem to live in fear of what's beyond their doors and we're catching up.

I had links to Irish and UK stats, but apologies I can;t find them, but here's a Canadian government study.

In 2008, overall rates of police-reported violent victimization were comparable between men and women, but the nature of their victimization differed.

In that year, men were more likely than women to be victims of the most serious forms of physical assault (levels 2 and 3) and have a weapon used against them.

Men were almost twice as likely to be the victims of assault level 2 than women (215 versus 114 per 100,000);

Though aggravated assault (level 3) occurs much less frequently than the less serious forms of assault, the rate of aggravated assault for men is over three times greater than that of women (18 versus 5 per 100,000)

Young men under the age of 18 are 1.5 times more likely to be physically assaulted than young girls.

Male victims were most often physically assaulted by a stranger or by someone else outside of the family. In 2008, men were the victims of 80% of all reported attacks by strangers.

Men were more likely to be robbed than women. They were victims in 65% of robberies in 2008.

Male teens aged 15 to 17 reported the highest robbery rates among all child and youth age groups and nearly 1.5 times higher than the rate for men aged 18 to 24.

Men were more likely than women to be a homicide victim, accounting for almost three quarters (74%) of homicide victims during a 5-year period between the years 2004 to 2008.

Men were 2.5 times more likely to be sexually assaulted in an institutional setting (school, non-commercial or non-corporate area) than women.

*the 1 in 4 is a provable nonsense statistic BTW. If you want I can.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I keep myself to myself when walking home from the pub and keep my eyes open for potential trouble as well from people around me. I've been assaulted twice before in my life walking home so I'd be sketchy. As a bloke, I'm realistic in terms of being careful of arseholes out there. There's no point in trotting out the 'not all men' line because it ends up going down a rabbit hole.

The problem I had was that she was looking at the nearest and dearest men in her life (her Da seems to get off the hook there) and ponders how much do they hate women and think she's a bitch even though they seemed to be never anything but kind to her. Do you think that's healthy thinking in a person? If I was a male relation of hers, I'd be pretty pissed off reading something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

We do not have to go around thinking men are untrustworthy.

First things first, if you're afraid walking home from a bus stop at night in case you're attacked, youre fearing the wrong men. Youre far more likely to be raped by someone you know, so keep an eye on male friends and relatives instead.

As for living in fear - I've been there, in that what you fear has happened, I've been the victim.

I still don't fear men. Men aren't rapists. Rapists are rapists. Gender is irrelevant, any gender can have bad morals and decide to attack someone because they're a twisted basterd.

Stop living in fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

to be fair, the bit about ex boyfriends is something i can relate to, i do wonder when these stories come out have my boyfriends talked about me in the hateful way that some of the lads here speak about women, have they said she needs a good ride about me when im stressed or complaining about a lad at work, have they said ''ah shes playing the victim'' or ''she deserved it sure'' when ive been assaulted on a street. have they sent photos of me and dissected it with their friends?

yes the thing about the grandfather is weird, but, ive certainly heard my dads friends make pass remarkable comments about women that have made me wonder does my dad think the same way, one instance in particular is about the Stanford case, one of them said something about drinking too much and she was flirting with him, i was sitting there thinking are you demented,,, what if it was your daugther or granddaughter?
    also the way my dads old boss used speak about the secretaries and receptionists was down right abhorrent, so did he think the same way about his own daughter?

it does cross your mind, not in as dramatic a way as she described but id does creep in.

And yet the only one who i could definitively point to as having dissed and ridiculed an ex would be Louise O'Neill, in a national newspaper....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I am a bloke and these two would be the same for me. And I'm guessing a number of blokes.

I have been assaulted twice in the same circumstances as the above. Once getting off the bus by two lads coming up behind me after getting off the bus. The other walking home from the pub on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I am a bloke and these two would be the same for me. And I'm guessing a number of blokes.

I have been assaulted twice in the same circumstances as the above. Once getting off the bus by two lads coming up behind me after getting off the bus. The other walking home from the pub on my own.

I wouldn't be walking around in fear at night, but I'd certainly be keeping an eye on my surroundings in case I need to scarper. I was attacked viciously, a couple of times in my younger years. Each time it was by a group of people who had drink taken so I'd be wary like.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Livedadream, if I may paraphrase your bit above as a thought experiment? [/I]

the one outstanding difference is, i have yet to see Louise O Neill publicly abuse a person racially, or attack as a single entity.

Yes is comes across that she hates and distrusts men.

While i do not agree with maybe, 80% of what O Neill writes, i can say i 100% disagree with Milo and his views on everything to Islam, Women, Gay rights,rape culture and his action in general. and his ****stirring.

While O neill is definitely a product of her generation -the all men are rapists and bad if they think differently to me snowflake ideal, i do have to make the point that as another poster said, as a female i am and have to be more careful of my surroundings than a male would be (in general).

I have refused to accept lifts, drinks, offers of a date, have been followed off the tube by a convicted rapist, not because i am a first class hottie but because i am a woman, and sometimes bad things happen. i will not walk home alone at night though the city, i will make sure when i get a taxi that i dont hail it off the street. i do not use Uber. There are a million different ways i have changed my behaviour because of fear.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    OK, L, how would you react if someone wrote that? They're both running with a kernel of truth wrapped in onions layers of bullshit and panic mongering, but whose ideology gets more leeway?

id react in a way that says yes he does, he is entitled to his opinion, as is everyone. its the way he airs it is the issue.

However when you are disparaging someone because of their race or how they spell or any number of the millions of things he had attacked people about there lies the problem.

and id love if Milo made a boy think jesus i hope i never grow up to think like that, the same as i hope young girls look at O Neill and think, jesus thats a bit extreme, ill be more careful of myself but accept that not all men are waiting around a corner to rape me.

the one outstanding difference is, i have yet to see Louise O Neill publicly abuse a person racially, or attack as a single entity.

Yes is comes across that she hates and distrusts men.

While i do not agree with maybe, 80% of what O Neill writes, i can say i 100% disagree with Milo and his views on everything to Islam, Women, Gay rights,rape culture and his action in general. and his ****stirring.

While O neill is definitely a product of her generation -the all men are rapists and bad if they think differently to me snowflake ideal, i do have to make the point that as another poster said, as a female i am and have to be more careful of my surroundings than a male would be (in general).

I have refused to accept lifts, drinks, offers of a date, have been followed off the tube by a convicted rapist, not because i am a first class hottie but because i am a woman, and sometimes bad things happen. i will not walk home alone at night though the city, i will make sure when i get a taxi that i dont hail it off the street. i do not use Uber. There are a million different ways i have changed my behaviour because of fear.

id react in a way that says yes he does, he is entitled to his opinion, as is everyone. its the way he airs it is the issue.

However when you are disparaging someone because of their race or how they spell or any number of the millions of things he had attacked people about there lies the problem.

and id love if Milo made a boy think jesus i hope i never grow up to think like that, the same as i hope young girls look at O Neill and think, jesus thats a bit extreme, ill be more careful of myself but accept that not all men are waiting around a corner to rape me.

I posted earlier on this, but the likes of Yiannapoulos et al are monetising identity politics to the nth degree. They amp up their views to stir up controversy to sell books, get clicks online and do their lecture tours.

Whether they believe half the guff they spout is debatable.

its irrelevant though, do you really think the 12 year old lad sitting at home reading his drivel thinks, ah yeah but he doesn't really think all feminists should be raped. hes only joking like.

and sure, the black women really does look stupid and like a man and ''fat and ugly,ugly,ugly, fat,'' its okay to say that coz he's only joking.

no he doesn't, he thinks its okay to joke about rape, and call a women fat and ugly and stupid over and over again because Milo does it and loads of people agree with him.

and its not.

Yes it comes across that she hates and distrusts men.

Her Twitter description reads 'Author. Feminist/Misandrist depending on the day.'

A bloke would be absolutely skewered if their Twitter description read 'Men's Right Advocate/Misogynist depending on the day.'

Her Twitter description reads 'Author. Feminist/Misandrist depending on the day.'
    It's clearly an allusion to the ire she receives from those who describe her as a 'misandrist', and it's obviously intended ironically. Any male using the term in a similarly ironic way would not, or ought not, be criticised for that. It's a nonsense criticism.

its irrelevant though, do you really think the 12 year old lad sitting at home reading his drivel thinks, ah yeah but he doesn't really think all feminists should be raped. hes only joking like.

and sure, the black women really does look stupid and like a man and ''fat and ugly,ugly,ugly, fat,'' its okay to say that coz he's only joking.

no he doesn't, he thinks its okay to joke about rape, and call a women fat and ugly and stupid over and over again because Milo does it and loads of people agree with him.

and its not.

No it's not. Both Militant, Radical Feminists and Anti-Feminists are making money from poisoning minds. Both are making money out of division. Both have a vested interest in widening that division.

The only way to stop them making money is to ignore them.

A bloke would be absolutely skewered if their Twitter description read 'Men's Right Advocate/Misogynist depending on the day.'

i agree. positive discrimination exists, the same as good old fashioned discrimination exists.

like i said i dont agree with alot of what she says, i find her overly dramatic, sensationalist and her writing poor.

however and its interesting that this happened last week but i attended a meeting with an intern of mine i'm 30 and a woman and he's jesus about 24? and a man.

the person who initiated the meeting is an older man who asked me why i wasnt taking notes/minutes of the meeting and couldnt hide his shock when i told him I was the ops person of the outside org not the intern.

This was after he had shaken hands, had him tell everyone in the room his name, introduced him as as HR Ops from so and so company, offered him a cup of coffee etc etc, and then had the intern tell the room my name.

its 2016 people.
    and this is not the first time its happened.

No it's not. Both Militant, Radical Feminists and Anti-Feminists are making money from poisoning minds. Both are making money out of division. Both have a vested interest in widening that division.

The only way to stop them making money is to ignore them.

can you show me the posts where radical feminists are asking for men to be raped?

in general anyone who can be described as ''Militant, Radical'' is bad.
    unless its i'm a radical cupcake maker and eater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

With the paranoia that the night can bring I start to think of all the men that I have known.

I think of when I was three, cuddling into my Granddad Murphy’s lap as he stroked my hair and told me I was the best girl and I wonder did he really think that, or did he secretly hate women too?

I think of my uncles and my male cousins and my male friends and how kind they all seem, and I begin to fear that their smiles might hide their sneers, that they might think I’m a stupid bitch who needs to stop complaining.

I think of my ex-boyfriends, how I stood naked before them and I wonder if they thought my body was something to be talked about with their friends, if they too thought female sexuality was something to be laughed at.

I'm 100% serious when I say that one of her family members should discuss this with her, maybe her sister or mother.

Maybe, just maybe she is right but I think it is far more probable and fair to say that these thoughts are irrational and possibly delusional.

I lived with a guy once that suffered very irrational thoughts, scary stuff, but I got him the help he needed (he unfortunately had no family to contact) and things turned around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Arturo Bandini

This is nonsense. When did he say anything like that? If Milo is such a bad person you shouldn't need to lie to make him look bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

If the point of harping about privilege is not to make people feel guilt and self loathing but only to make them be conscious of their luck (which I don't believe it is ) isn't it much like telling a depressed person that they are privileged not to have cancer and to check the privilege .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

It's clearly an allusion to the ire she receives from those who describe her as a 'misandrist', and it's obviously intended ironically.

I agree with you there in that it is meant ironically. Personally I don't give two hoots that she uses it. However, a double standard is at play. She believes sexist jokes are emblematic of 'rape culture'*. So therefore, by using misandrist in an ironic way she is contributing to what she believes is a real problem by using sexism as a joke. Having ones cake and eating it come to mind. But like I say, she can use whatever term she likes. It is the double standards at play that don't add up for me.
    Any male using the term in a similarly ironic way would not, or ought not, be criticised for that. It's a nonsense criticism.

I would not be too sure there. Were they not all decrying the shirt guy and Tim Hunt for their use of irony?

*I don't subscribe to it. My reasons were given earlier in the thread. If the professionals think it does more harm than good that is good enough for me. 'Rape Culture' is the product of an ideology and not based in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

I see way more people on here complaining about boards being overrun by the looney left than actual people posting anything looney left on the site.
    Well, apart from the shinnerbots but they're everywhere…

youre kiddin me right?

I still remember the immigrant threads that was breaking news all over the World. that got all combined and sent off to humanities. strange thing to be sent to a very quiet sub forum as it was called worldwide breaking news...
    the breaking news angle is BS as well, as the trail has been open for a very long time. but thats for another thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057629325
    this thread from yesterday was locked. I found it on another site that all mention of it is banned.
    And just to let ye know.... The only reason I found it, cos I clicked on a page about it on afterhours and when I went back all traces of it had disappeared. Vanished. Gone. So naturally that piqued my interest and so I found it.

Well I only read a couple of pages into the thread I linked and I see its locked. Because its political, but as far as I see it, its a personal thread from a guy living in germany.
    But it conveniently goes against AH charter so its locked.

Anyway
    What is the boards slogan? Now yere talking.
    Why not change it to Now yere talking about the things WE ONLY want you to talk about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

No problem with relationships with various men either despite the negativity she imbues men as a collective with.

If a guy was like that - having sex/relationships with various women and then badmouthing women, he'd be considered a PUA, chauvinistic womaniser.

Twitter is hilarious sometimes. Some guy called-out O'Neill because one of her characters is black, but the character on the cover of her book is a white woman

https://twitter.com/schayanriaz/status/760466471852052480

I thought she might respond to this criticism by pulling pulling the 'patriarchy' card, which everybody knows trumps 'non-white man on twitter'. Instead, O'Neill O'Neill is shocked to discover this manifestation of her 'white privilege'.

https://twitter.com/oneilllo/status/760467887018639360

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,655 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

One thing I can say for certain: she's incredibly unlikely to change her views (or what she expresses as her views at least). Particularly when she has a growing financial incentive to inhabit this role as it contributes to a growing personal profile.