Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Louise O Neill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

JRant wrote: »
    Well if she can't stand the heat she should get out of the kitchen then.

Good god, don't mention a woman being in the kitchen, unless you want to be the next on the author's misogynist list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,271 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Good god, don't mention a woman being in the kitchen, unless you want to be the next on the author's misogynist list!

Ah jaysus, that must have been some sort of Freudian slip :) Didn't even think about the misogynist angle. I'm obviously not doing this internet thing correctly.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

File that one under 'blame the patriarchy!' :pac::pac::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Some of the comments by her supporters on her Twitter feed are mindboggling

"They're scared of losing their white, male privilege and think attacking you might save it. Arseholes."

(Don't know how to embed tweets here)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

darkdubh wrote: »
    "They're scared of losing their white, male privilege and think attacking you might save it. Arseholes."
    That such individuals miss the monumental irony of themselves being almost certainly white and mostly middle class men and women is beyond staggering. Though not surprising. Again the narcissism running strong. Like Narcissis himself, they have fallen so in love with their selfie reflection in the shallow puddle of their ideas that they have rooted themselves to the spot.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Its amazing. She revels in any sort of opposing opinions and if a guy disagrees with her on anything, she screams #notallmen and derides him as misogynist.

However when sycophantic guys agree with her she is very fast to retweet it and post a lovely thank you. She does not enter into reasonable debate as she knows she is incapable of it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

gimmick wrote: »
    Its amazing. She revels in any sort of opposing opinions and if a guy disagrees with her on anything, she screams #notallmen and derides him as misogynist. However when sycophantic guys agree with her she is very fast to retweet it and post a lovely thank you. She does not enter into reasonable debate as she knows she is incapable of it.
    Just as there is BroScience(™) there also exists ChickThink(™) and she is a very good example of it. Neither withstand much debate, both are binary in thought and both are summed up by the line she herself appropriated "if you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem". Basically more imported from loony leftie American campus safe spaces "gender war" them V us ballsology.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

If everyone posting here is full of white male privilege, I must be doing something wrong because last time I checked, I was female. So I obviously, according to her ilk, cannot have white male privilege because as a woman, I'm not privileged.

Now I'm confused. Maybe I've been brainwashed by the patriarchy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,521 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

If everyone posting here is full of white male privilege, I must be doing something wrong because last time I checked, I was female. So I obviously, according to her ilk, cannot have white male privilege because as a woman, I'm not privileged.

Look at the brightside, you can call out any homeless man who dares ask for money or food by shouting that he check his privilege.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

You're a gender traitor PT. A woman white knight. You're just looking to get laid by all the menz :D There is likely a label for you. Just like the fcukwits in the "manosphere" these perpetual students of the Church of the Holy Hysterics bloody love labels. To be fair the manosphere guys pip the "feminists" to the post with their impenetrable jargon.

I dunno about the subject of this thread, but I have found many of this type to suffer from oppression jealousy and a near orgasmic delight in seeking out "offence". They get off on the latter and are slightly saddened and forever grateful they're not a Black lesbian single mum in an ISIS slave camp. In a wheelchair. They get off on all that victim stuff. Maybe they should get gimped up and go for an all out BSDM session or somesuch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Its almost like the people commenting didn't read the thread and are assuming because it is a discussion about their beloved heroic Louise, it is all penis wielding maniacs who are reveling in #rapeculture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

That Twitter place sounds like a lefty looney asylum. Kinda like boards. Lol. What happens when two leftie looneys institions collide. Oh this is going to be fun. I'm getting the popcorn for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Internalised misogyny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

kupus wrote: »
    That Twitter place sounds like a lefty looney asylum. Kinda like boards. Lol. What happens when two leftie looneys institions collide. Oh this is going to be fun. I'm getting the popcorn for this one.

I see way more people on here complaining about boards being overrun by the looney left than actual people posting anything looney left on the site.

Well, apart from the shinnerbots but they're everywhere…

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Ah yes, the white male privilege chestnut. Not just any male either, the worst kind, he's white! A bit of an unhealthy fascination with skin colour IMO. Of course amidst the groupthink these folk conveniently miss the fact that on average the men will earn less, be less educated, die younger, more likely to be involved in serious workplace accidents, more likely to be assaulted and there is the grossly high suicide rate to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I see way more people on here complaining about boards being overrun by the looney left than actual people posting anything looney left on the site.

I'm pretty sure that if you don't love guns, don't think that unbridled capitalism is perfect and don't possess surety that everything was better back in the industrial revolution; you qualify as a left loony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

mzungu wrote: »
    Ah yes, the white male privilege chestnut. Not just any male either, the worst kind, he's white! A bit of an unhealthy fascination with skin colour IMO. Of course amidst the groupthink these folk conveniently miss the fact that on average the men will earn less, be less educated, die younger, more likely to be involved in serious workplace accidents, more likely to be assaulted and there is the grossly high suicide rate to boot.

It's so tough being a man.

Zxclnic wrote: »

Not what was said at all. What i said was that the notion of 'privilege' (as propagated in certain circles) is based on untruths and is largely a load of baloney. As regards 'tough', well that is completely an individual matter (for both sexes) and can't be conveniently categorised into catch-all buzzwords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Ah yes, the white male privilege chestnut. Not just any male either, the worst kind, he's white! A bit of an unhealthy fascination with skin colour IMO.

Almost a fetish .

I have no idea what gender the other posters are so I'm interested to know why she came to the conclusion and what explanation she would offer if she knew the comments were from women .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Yes i think its fair to say that a majority of irish men will have it tougher than university educated Louise O' Neill, from a nice middle class background, whose had opportunities to travel live and work abroad. Im sure the irony of her relative privlige to those men is something she is fully aware of.......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Almost a fetish .

I have no idea what gender the other posters are so I'm interested to know why she came to the conclusion and what explanation she would offer if she knew the comments were from women .

Most of the Twitter outrage comments seem to be from people who haven't read the thread.Louise O Neill herself has tweeted that she hasn't read it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

tritium wrote: »
    Yes i think its fair to say that a majority of irish men will have it tougher than university educated Louise O' Neill, from a nice middle class background, whose had opportunities to travel live and work abroad. Im sure the irony of her relative privlige to those men is something she is fully aware of.......

And was it not an Irish white male that helped give her at least some of this privilege?

tritium wrote: »

Well, I think you're moving the goalposts there a bit in talking of socio/economic class divisions.....with which I agree by the way.

My point is that a man bellyaching 'cause he's a man, is as bad - and as daft - as a woman criticising a man for being a man.
    If we go back to mzungu's post, he seems to me to be comparing men with women generally rather than comparing the lives of men with the experiences of Louise O'Neill specifically.

Originally Posted by mzungu:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Whats the difference between a feminists and a gun?
    A gun only has one trigger

Why do sumo wrestlers shave their legs? So people can tell them apart from feminists.

Whats the difference between a feminist and a knife? The knife has a point.

Of course, mzungu could be female......if so that would still make it puzzling!

Whats the difference between a feminists and a gun?
    A gun only has one trigger

Why do sumo wrestlers shave their legs? So people can tell them apart from feminists.

Whats the difference between a feminist and a knife? The knife has a point.

What's the difference between a misogynist and a comedian?

The latter is sometimes funny, the former is never funny.....but think's he's hilarious.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

What's the difference between a misogynist and a comedian?

The latter is sometimes funny, the former is never funny.....but think's he's hilarious.:)
    How do you know you're in a feminist bookstore? There's no humor section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

its one of those things,

ive read both her books, the idea and the plot is good but her writing doesnt do anything for me, i think someone else references 50 shades, similar, terribly written but a good story.

her 'asking for it' book certainly made me think about Ireland and our attitudes to women getting raped or attacked.
    the 'only ever yours' was creepy to me, but again a good point about how women can view themselves and others.

in general i dont read her articles because i dont think they are very well written. but she does have a point in them.

as a white, straight, women, how grew up privately educated etc i do accept that i grew up to be (and i hate this word) privileged in respect of lets say a black african girl.

the comments of many of oh check your privilege is used as an insult, when it should be used as i am either a victim of circumstance or lucky and should be aware of that. i was lucky to be born to a family that had money, connections and lived in a nice part of the developed world.

the same cant be said for a Muslim woman born in syria.

HOWEVER perspective is a wonderful thing.

i do not claim to be worse off as a white women in Ireland than lets say a white man in Syria

a white man born in cork, and a black man born in the Congo show not be compared.

Yes i'm a feminist in that i think we should be equal but not at the expense of men.

the man hating and woman hating is just as bad as each other, men who say a women is an ugly fat lesbian because she says she is a feminist is just as bad as the woman who says men should check their privilege and shut up and listen.

Yes Louise o Neill has a voice, that she used (uses) to vocalise her thoughts and feelings, does she represent a generation? No. does she represent women? No. does she represent herself, Yes.

but if her writings make one girl or boy think about their treatment and behaviour of each other then more power to her.

Well, I think you're moving the goalposts there a bit in talking of socio/economic class divisions.....with which I agree by the way.

My point is that a man bellyaching 'cause he's a man, is as bad - and as daft - as a woman criticising a man for being a man.

Except that is not what was being said. I think you knew that though!
    If we go back to mzungu's post, he seems to me to be comparing men with women generally rather than comparing the lives of men with the experiences of Louise O'Neill specifically.

Originally Posted by mzungu:

All is not what it seems to your good self :D

I refer you to my follow up:
    Not what was said at all. What i said was that the notion of 'privilege' (as propagated in certain circles) is based on untruths and is largely a load of baloney. As regards 'tough', well that is completely an individual matter (for both sexes) and can't be conveniently categorised into catch-all buzzwords.

I was simply pointing out the reasons why I think these notions of 'privilege' are flawed. There was no attempt at direct comparisons between men and women and how tough they have it (or don't) which was clearly stated in my post. My point being that catch-all buzzwords like male privilege etc completely miss the nuances involved in everyday life.

Please refrain from trying to strawman me in future. Thanking you kindly.

How do you know you're in a feminist bookstore? There's no humor section

American bookstore was it.......at least have to wit to alter the spelling after you copy & paste.:D