Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Louise O Neill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Those columns she writes with the "guttural screaming", if this was in mainstream American media, south park wouldn't be long taking the piss out of it.

Seems like a nice, level headed lady to listen to, but the language she uses...I ended up laughing more than anything at the dramatics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

The article about apologising is utter daftness! I don't know many people who are constantly apologising, but those whom I do know, can be male or female (ditto those who are self assured and forthright). The most constantly apologising (to an unnecessary degree) person I know is a guy.

And putting women in the same category as the disabled?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Thoie wrote: »
    It wasn't proved to be 100% false. No evidence was found, and it was dropped. These are not the same things.

It's as if everyone is pretty sure who broke into my house, but no evidence was found, so no-one was ever charged with it.

Technically its more akin to "someones house, somewhere (no one named) was broken into. Theres a gang of lads who are a bit rough, so they must have done it. Theres no evidence that any actual crime happened but sure its a rumour so it must be true and hence theyre guilty"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Debil

darkdubh wrote: »
    "All of my detractors on Boards AH were men."

I think she is already talking about the thread on twitter.

Edit: You're all terrified of strong women apparently. And it's troll centre here. AH is "notoriously sexist"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 855 ✭✭✭TSMGUY

Debil wrote: »
    I think she is already talking about the thread on twitter.

stupid men..... thinking they're allowed to have opinions in 2016. Typical entitlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

According to her Twitter, her sister rang her in floods of tears about this thread, and she doesn't understand why people are such mean trolls.

Disliking someone's agenda makes you a mean troll now?

And seriously, her sister is in floods of tears? Lol ok sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

According to her Twitter, her sister rang her in floods of tears about this thread, and she doesn't understand why people are such mean trolls.

If that is true then I think we can expect an article on the perils of the internet peanut gallery for feminist journalists who write their opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Ah, setting up as the victim again so...

"Those bad men shouldnt be allowed disagree with me. Misogyny! Patriarchy! Im educated so it must be true......"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

tritium wrote: »
    Ah, setting up as the victim again so...

"Those bad men shouldnt be allowed disagree with me. Misogyny! Patriarchy! Im educated so it must be true......"

Oh man, you should see the responses. All about how us here at boards are afraid of strong independent women who aren't afraid to fight the patriarchy and how we're all horrible people and cowards.

Are you not allowed disagree with an opinion anymore without being insulted?

Oh man, you should see the responses. All about how us here at boards are afraid of strong independent women who aren't afraid to fight the patriarchy and how we're all horrible people and cowards.

LOL! The term troll has really just become a catch-all insult to dismiss anyone who doesn't mindlessly lap up the absolute ****e some professionally offended moron has spewed out for money.

If you're rigorous and use statistics and reason you get called a mens-rights activist.

If you say something succinct and flippant you're a troll.

If you say nothing you're "part of the problem" according to her.

Basically, if you don't agree with me, you're a troll or a terrible person is her message. Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I'm sure there will be some visceral screams about the thread in her next article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Yes, I was very struck by that admission and her lack of embarrassment for it. And also, she expresses her dismay at when she thinks men view women as sex objects, yet chose to pack "bondage" underwear to look sexy for a date when nobody made her do so? Surely if she is concerned about being "objectified" she would wear underwear that is not of the bondage variety. No doubt she would say she felt forced into it, but how can that be, when she is a strong, independent feminist? Or is it a victim? I just do not know anymore! :)

Being concerned about the portrayal of women in the media is different from wanting to feel sexy for yourself or a partner. Do you have to wait for someone to 'make (you) do so' before you will do something that to you is sex positive. You sound like a monk. Again the whole argument is if women don't want to be objectified they shouldn't wear that short skirt etc., not even if they like wearing it or find it fashionable because de menz can't help themselves and isn't she a slut etc., :rolleyes:

some guy tweeted at her

just remember how miserable their existence must be if they're that insecure about a woman expressing herself.

LMAO! Apparently if you disagree with a woman it makes you insecure and miserable. Good to know.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sand wrote: »
    She does sound like the sort of person where everything is "la-la-la" or "I hate you. Its your fault daddy didn't buy me a pony!" with no in-between. Christ, she hears some ultimately false rumour about students in a university and spins it into believing her grandfather was a woman hating misogynist who despised her. There may be a survivors group out there.
    Nailed it. I've known a couple that fell out the exact same mould.
    tritium wrote: »
    This is the same hypocritical loon who basically shamed a (presumably real) ex boyfriend in a national newspaper while at roughly the same time raging about a fictitious story about men sharing details on ex partners.
    Well of course T. Hypocrisy is built into the very bedrock of current feminism. When a government funded(IE by us) think tank on the issues facing Irish women bleats on about the Pay Gap, but sneakily hides their own stats that show the average 30 year old Irish woman is more educated and paid more than the average 30 year old Irish man. Yep. *Michael Caine voice* Not a lot of people know that.
    It wouldn't surprise me. Modern feminism in it's own crazy and crazily ironic way is trying to turn women back into victorian ladies, delicate, emotionally reckless flowers with no agency, nor responsibility that need "safe spaces" free from "triggers" and constant protection from wrong think and men. Ironically again they seek this protection from men.
    Christ no. Not when such opinions are now written in the feminist and sadly increasingly cultural stone. Patriarchy, Pay gap, Health gap, Education gap, Rape culture and the other tenets* of the Feminist Church have become dogma. The overriding commandment is Women are always victims and men are always victimisers. Pretty much every single argument of modern feminism boils down to this.

*each of which is either extremely shaky, or demonstrably bullshite.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Nailed it. I've known a couple that fell out the exact same mould.

Well of course T. Hypocrisy is built into the very bedrock of current feminism. When a government funded(IE by us) think tank on the issues facing Irish women bleats on about the Pay Gap, but sneakily hides their own stats that show the average 30 year old Irish woman is more educated and paid more than the average 30 year old Irish man. Yep. *Michael Caine voice* Not a lot of people know that.

It wouldn't surprise me. Modern feminism in it's own crazy and crazily ironic way is trying to turn women back into victorian ladies, delicate, emotionally reckless flowers with no agency, nor responsibility that need "safe spaces" free from "triggers" and constant protection from wrong think and men. Ironically again they seek this protection from men.

Christ no. Not when such opinions are now written in the feminist and sadly increasingly cultural stone. Patriarchy, Pay gap, Health gap, Education gap, Rape culture and the other tenets* of the Feminist Church have become dogma. The overriding commandment is Women are always victims and men are always victimisers. Pretty much every single argument of modern feminism boils down to this.

*each of which is either extremely shaky, or demonstrably bullshite.
    Be careful Wibbs, Louise might set her twitter hounds on you for being mean. Great points. Feminism has almost devolved into a dependency cult that patronizes women and tells them they have no autonomy in anything other than abortion. I swear to God a lot of these feminists want there to be a pay gap so they have something to moan about. The Guardian's already shown that young UK women make more than their male counterparts but let's not let that get in the way of a good old whinge about men.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TSMGUY wrote: »
    some guy tweeted at her

just remember how miserable their existence must be if they're that insecure about a woman expressing herself.

LMAO! Apparently if you disagree with a woman it makes you insecure and miserable. Good to know.
    i know. Mad notion or wha?. Again a reading from the Gospel of the Perpetual Victim. Not surprising it finds some succour in Ireland. An echo of the vale of tears peculiarly Irish catholic joyless puritanism of victimhood focused on the Marian. These unvirgin Mary's of Irish media the new moving statues of daftness.

Unlike some who get wanky about "white knights" and all that imported fresh from Amerikay gender war bullshite, I don't blame men leaping to the defence, particularly younger men. It's a good and indeed decent instinct. Many have grown up in the Feminist Church of the Perpetual Victim, so naturally respond to any attack on it. Hell I would have myself not so many years ago.

But like any church it's when you actually read their holy books and beliefs with a logical mind that the questions come a flooding. I did that with "feminism" and it was found very wanting. Like reading the christian texts and realising "hang on you shagged your own mother to become you and your brother is a spectre??". Granted, it seems a logical mind is akin to satanism for the Feminist congregation, feelings and opinions matter far more.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,854 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Disagree against someone in 2016 = Troll

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭JRant

some guy tweeted at her

Just had a look, WOW the circle jerk is strong over there. I got up, sat down, got up again and and laughed me bollix off. It was a visceral, guttural laugh, like when you see a youtube clip of an old person starting to run down a hill and you know what's going to happen next.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Be careful Wibbs, Louise might set her twitter hounds on you for being mean.
    Bring it. Though I'm not on Twatter so…
    Feminism has almost devolved into a dependency cult that patronizes women and tells them they have no autonomy in anything other than abortion.
    Sadly that's much of it. All the benefits, none of the responsibilities. So loads of protestation about not enough women in finance, but eff all about not enough women in deep ocean oil drilling.

These are not the women I grew up with or knew and know today(and chose to be around). That's what boils my piss. It is setting up the image of woman of an easily triggered child in need of constant reassurance and protection from the big bad world. Usually from some "Daddy" or other.
    I swear to God a lot of these feminists want there to be a pay gap so they have something to moan about. The Guardian's already shown that young UK women make more than their male counterparts but let's not let that get in the way of a good old whinge about men.
    The education gap has gone the way of the dodo too so they quietly dropped that. The health gap is a nonsense too. The average white western woman is better educated, better paid, better served by healthcare and support services and will live longer than the average white western man. That's before we get into suicide, assault, work deaths and a host of other things. These. Are. *trigger warning* FACTS. This author and her ilk being a middle class white western woman has been born into one of the most protected and cosseted groups in history.

it always and I mean always comes back to this; Women are always victims and men are always victimisers. That's third wave feminism in a nutshell. Seriously, next time you read something that is from this group pass it through that filter and I near guarantee it will line up.

i know. Mad notion or wha?. Again a reading from the Gospel of the Perpetual Victim. Not surprising it finds some succour in Ireland. An echo of the vale of tears peculiarly Irish catholic joyless puritanism of victimhood focused on the Marian. These unvirgin Mary's of Irish media the new moving statues of daftness.

Unlike some who get wanky about "white knights" and all that imported fresh from Amerikay gender war bullshite, I don't blame men leaping to the defence, particularly younger men. It's a good and indeed decent instinct. Many have grown up in the Feminist Church of the Perpetual Victim, so naturally respond to any attack on it. Hell I would have myself not so many years ago.

But like any church it's when you actually read their holy books and beliefs with a logical mind that the questions come a flooding. I did that with "feminism" and it was found very wanting. Like reading the christian texts and realising "hang on you shagged your own mother to become you and your brother is a spectre??". Granted, it seems a logical mind is akin to satanism for the Feminist congregation, feelings and opinions matter far more.

Nah, he's a middle-aged guy, clearly in his late 30's or earl 40's. Checked his page and pretty much everything he posts is about gender politics. Some people never learn.....

A dudes gotta do what a dudes gotta do to get laid though.

Sadly that's much of it. All the benefits, none of the responsibilities. So loads of protestation about not enough women in finance, but eff all about not enough women in deep ocean oil drilling.

These are not the women I grew up with or knew and know today(and chose to be around). That's what boils my piss. It is setting up the image of woman of an easily triggered child in need of constant reassurance and protection from the big bad world. Usually from some "Daddy" or other.

The education gap has gone the way of the dodo too so they quietly dropped that. The health gap is a nonsense too. The average white western woman is better educated, better paid, better served by healthcare and support services and will live longer than the average white western man. That's before we get into suicide, assault, work deaths and a host of other things. These. Are. *trigger warning* FACTS. This author and her ilk being a middle class white western woman has been born into one of the most protected and cosseted groups in history.

it always and I mean always comes back to this; Women are always victims and men are always victimisers. That's third wave feminism in a nutshell. Seriously, next time you read something that is from this group pass it through that filter and I near guarantee it will line up.
    That's the thing really, as a working class guy it really pisses me off that all of the newspaper feminists are invariably middle-class gasbags with nothing to complain about. Most women and men who have real issues don't give a toss about identity politics - they're too busy dealing with genuine inequities to pen some cutesy faux-outrage piece.

Twitter is a wonderful tool if you use it the right way. I can't recommend it enough but it comes with one hoooge caveat, stay well clear of anything gender related on it as it is worse than a youtube comments section.

JRant wrote: »
    I know that's the usual explanation, but from my experience of the type it's far more about getting into this mindset/church young and surrounding yourself by like minded people, so by the time you're looking down the barrel of 40 you're living in a complete echo chamber. Any dissenting view is heard as a loud noise and is scary and is to be fought. It's not just feminism either, you get it with left/right politics in general and religion and other inwardly thinking groups. That was kinda fine pre interwebs as by adulthood you'd not be exposed to contrary groups nearly so much. These days those loud noises are much louder and more frequent, so the reactions are too.

Never mind that of the so called "white knights" I've known a goodly chunk of them were gay lads, so no interest in "getting laid".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

I heard her next book is called "Clit Power".

Not to be confused with Fr.Clint Power.

I know that's the usual explanation, but from my experience of the type it's far more about getting into this mindset/church young and surrounding yourself by like minded people, so by the time you're looking down the barrel of 40 you're living in a complete echo chamber. Any dissenting view is heard as a loud noise and is scary and is to be fought. It's not just feminism either, you get it with left/right politics in general and religion and other inwardly thinking groups. That was kinda fine pre interwebs as by adulthood you'd not be exposed to contrary groups nearly so much. These days those loud noises are much louder and more frequent, so the reactions are too.

Never mind that of the so called "white knights" I've known a goodly chunk of them were gay lads, so no interest in "getting laid".

IME the Internet has become a bastian for echo chambers and group think whereas in real life they are becoming less common thankfully.

The irony of a group of people on Twitter castigating a different group on another social media platform is completely lost on them.

McGruber wrote: »
    I heard her next book is called "Clit Power".

Not to be confused with Fr.Clint Power.

It's touted to be one of the greatest works of Cliterature ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

JRant wrote: »

yes indeed but in reality he won't get laid and there is a higher probability that the women he so nobly defended will shag one of the women haters( lol) on this thread.
    and thus the cycle will repeat itself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

Saw this tweet over on the PROC forum, could be concerning the thread here or the one on the PROC

Louise O' Neill ‏@oneilllo 2h2 hours ago
    My sister came across a really vicious thread about me and is genuinely so upset. She rang me in floods of tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Saw this tweet over on the PROC forum, could be concerning the thread here or the one on the PROC

Criticism is inevitable . Even the most talented of writers have had to put up with it. Essentially what most people seem to be saying is that she could tone it down a bit.