Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

Doesn't matter who we play in semi-final - out of our control really but I understand that hurling has been poor this past few years outwith a few cracking games.

Really hard to know what to do about the sweeper/defensive system. It's endemic in club hurling all over the country and how it will change, i don't know.

I suppose a lot of people will hope Wexford will beat Waterford tomorrow and Galway will beat Clare but whoever wins will be probably justified in saying that their style is working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

dubcat51 wrote: »
    Hoping for hurling sake wexford and galway win on Sunday. Especially hope waterford fail as their system is terrible on the eye..

Don't Wexford use a sweeper as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

2 things after today:

1 - I'll be very disappointed if we somehow lose to this Waterford team. Incredible talent there but not a brain between the lot of them. Should be a replica of last year - a tight game with them shooting from everywhere while under pressure and Murphy x2 cleaning up the loose ball.

2 - If one of Joyce, Fogarty or Fennelly don't break Gleeson in half during one of those runs up the middle I'll be gutted. He's obviously quality and it's hard for anyone to keep into him hence why he keeps doing it but **** me someone just ****ing level him.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

2 - If one of Joyce, Fogarty or Fennelly don't break Gleeson in half during one of those runs up the middle I'll be gutted. He's obviously quality and it's hard for anyone to keep into him hence why he keeps doing it but **** me someone just ****ing level him.

Your a classy guy looking for someone to crease an amateur sportsman in that way . Is it OK with you if someone creases TJ because he is a quality player

Contact sport lad. If someone is marauding straight down the middle of my defence I want my centre back meeting him head on and letting him know he's not welcome. Would I expect the player to get a card? Absolutely and it would be completely deserved. I still want him to take it. Not asking him to break his hand or his leg or go head high, a simple shoulder to the chest will suffice

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Contact sport lad. If someone is marauding straight down the middle of my defence I want my centre back meeting him head on and letting him know he's not welcome. Would I expect the player to get a card? Absolutely and it would be completely deserved. I still want him to take it. Not asking him to break his hand or his leg or go head high, a simple shoulder to the chest will suffice

I doubt Joyce, Fennelly or Fogarty would lower themselves to your level of thinking.

You honestly think an intercounty defender isn't thinking - I'm going to level him if he runs through the middle?
    2009 - Jackie Tyrell on Seamus Callanan - that's what I want.

But you're right... the thought would never cross their mind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

No win situation for waterford they done what they had to do the only thing is the high number of wides and no goal threat continues.wexford are a limited enough side but they fought hard...any word in our injuries?will shane pender get back at number 4?hogan should be fit to start but instead of who?lester has being hurling well enough and colin was carrying a injury the last day,hopefully larkin gets up to speed....fair play to galway today I think the criticism they got after playing us was unfair

brookville wrote: »
    No win situation for waterford they done what they had to do the only thing is the high number of wides and no goal threat continues.wexford are a limited enough side but they fought hard...any word in our injuries?will shane pender get back at number 4?hogan should be fit to start but instead of who?lester has being hurling well enough and colin was carrying a injury the last day,hopefully larkin gets up to speed....fair play to galway today I think the criticism they got after playing us was unfair

Galway were well up for it today. Deserved their win but there was a big game in them esp. after all the criticism. They used it to spur them on. The question is whether they'll be up for it V Tiiperary. I suppose it all depends how Tipp handle the 6 weeks layoff.

It's the same semi-finals as last year but i don't think the quality is any better. Waterford will have the hunger but they'll need goals which they seem to befinding hard to get.

Hopefully all the injuries will have cleared up and all of the lads will be ready for action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

Would hate to see a Kilkenny player deliberately striking another player with intent i.e. to go out with that in mind.

I believe that Galway have it in them to beat Tipp and are in no way inferior to Tipp. Tipp are more than somewhat untried and Galway are true and tested now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Galway were well up for it today. Deserved their win but there was a big game in them esp. after all the criticism. They used it to spur them on. The question is whether they'll be up for it V Tiiperary. I suppose it all depends how Tipp handle the 6 weeks layoff.

It's the same semi-finals as last year but i don't think the quality is any better. Waterford will have the hunger but they'll need goals which they seem to befinding hard to get.

Hopefully all the injuries will have cleared up and all of the lads will be ready for action.
    All the injuries have cleared up and everyone has a clean bill of health as far as I know. Unless we pick up any on raining this week we should have a full squad to pick from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

All the injuries have cleared up and everyone has a clean bill of health as far as I know. Unless we pick up any on raining this week we should have a full squad to pick from.

Is james maher back training?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

brookville wrote: »
    Is james maher back training?

I don't know tbh

Darragh Joyce away to St. Kilda - Best of luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

Good luck to him. Super opportunity

JJ Delaney doing a Bord Gais Legend's Tour of Croke Park on Saturday week, 6th August, the day before the semi-final. He 'takes' the audience on a tour around Croke Park. What a legend!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭Motivator

You probably stood up and applauded Gerry Quinn in 2004 did you? Contact sport etc.

The way Gleeson is built today is different to the way he was built last year. Kilkenny can throw what they want at him, he'll break fellas up himself. Hope he does it now.

Motivator wrote: »
    You probably stood up and applauded Gerry Quinn in 2004 did you? Contact sport etc.

The way Gleeson is built today is different to the way he was built last year. Kilkenny can throw what they want at him, he'll break fellas up himself. Hope he does it now.

How is what you said any better?

Anyway if he thinks he can "break up" Joyce, best of luck to him giving it a shot. Are they allowed go beyond the opposition 45 though? Or does the system forbid it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

What Quinn incident? The GAA investigated it thoroughly at the time and the report concludes that nothing happened. Of course the problem for me is that I was there and saw him digging his Hurley twice into Sheffs face. But if the GAA officially concluded that it never happened I have to be blind!

Anyone know why we don't have more 7s competitions? Was in Lisdowney yesterday for the U13s and it's a brilliant competition. No idea why that's the only competition of it's type in the county. Personally think it should be done at all age groups. You only need a couple of weekends to run it off

I see training is open on Wednesday and Friday night in Nowlan Park. Not every team would do this!!

If, as expected, everyone is fit, does anybody think that there will be any chances to the team or will the management go with the same team again?

It only seems like a few months since last year's semi-final V Waterford - how time flies by!!

unrealtime wrote: »
    What Quinn incident? The GAA investigated it thoroughly at the time and the report concludes that nothing happened. Of course the problem for me is that I was there and saw him digging his Hurley twice into Sheffs face. But if the GAA officially concluded that it never happened I have to be blind!

It's a man's game & the GAA concluded that nothing happened yet you have the teachers pet Shefflin still crying about it all these years later.

You're some hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

What would big Dan say of he was poked in the eye?? Front page of the mirror or the daily mail I reckon.

Topcat32 wrote: »
    What would big Dan say of he was poked in the eye?? Front page of the mirror or the daily mail I reckon.

Have a look at some of the treatment Dan, Mullane & a few more Waterford lads got down the years. Never once a word said about it & that's a fact. They got on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Jumping fist pump followed by a badge kiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Have a look at some of the treatment Dan, Mullane & a few more Waterford lads got down the years. Never once a word said about it & that's a fact. They got on with it.

They don't make em like they used to so they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

What?? Apart from trying to kill Brian Murphy??

Murphy went looking for it & he got it. They shook hands after the match & did so for every league & championship game for years after. Did you ever see Murphy crying to the newspapers about that incident? No, he moved on & isn't crying about it 12 years later.

Why do I get the feeling we'll be listening to this obvious baiting right up until the semi final and then not a word out of you again after? We've had your ilk on this thread in the past.