Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Louise O Neill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 855 ✭✭✭TSMGUY

"You are either part of the solution or you are part of the problem."

LOL! Anytime someone says that my mind just switches off, even if it's a cause I support like climate control. It's just so patronizing and self-righteous. I haven't actively done anything to stop ebola or the spread of AIDS - that hardly means I'm part of the problem.

Also, the only thing that offended me about the article is how much of a ****e writer she is! Weak, transparently exaggerated polemic-ism designed to go "viral" once again. Yeah right, I believe you were "stunned" for literally days. She seems to be the Lena Dunham type who thrives on attention so no point telling her she's wrong lest she construes it as men telling her to "stay in her place":rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Seriously though, terrible, offensively bad prose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,696 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

A typical white middle class whiny SJW who loves to act the victim, if this one actually went to the third world it might open her eyes to real hardship that women face, anyone who tells me Irish women are an oppressed class in 2016 can feck right off, The stuff she rambles about is unimportant and shows someone who clearly faces no real problems, She's an idiot and people who buy into her brand of feminism are idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭1eg0a3xv7b82of

according to her latest article she is seeing a therapist about her penis envy so thankfully she is seeking help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Never heard of her until she appeared in an RTE show recently. Think it was called I Am Irish.
    Complained about growing up in a heteronormative environment despite being straight.
    Lost all respect instantly. Real oppression Olympics stuff there.
    Had a gander at her FB page. All rape culture rubbish but then not a word on Cologne.
    So basic the quintessential SJW loon that hates white men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

cloudatlas wrote: »
    I think you mean the College Tribune could have waited, she didn't publish it.

no
    because something is in the media esp a half baked rag like a college newspaper doesn't mean we all break down and wail over it until more information comes out.
    The college rag even had it as a rumour with no evidence attached.

and yet before anybody proved anything this woman was in the throes of pain and panic over it coupled with being unable to function.

that's hysteria and the sign of somebody who is unwell.

It's a modern times moving statue behaviour..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

arayess wrote: »
    no
    because something is in the media esp a half baked rag like a college newspaper doesn't mean we all break down and wail over it until more information comes out.

and yet before anybody proved anything this woman was in the throes of pain and panic over it coupled with being unable to function.

This is the same hypocritical loon who basically shamed a (presumably real) ex boyfriend in a national newspaper while at roughly the same time raging about a fictitious story about men sharing details on ex partners.

Neither got an apology

A delusional hypocrite of the highest order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,753 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Ted111 wrote: »
    I'm impressed.
    She's from Cork.
    And she can read and write.

Not sure about the latter. Perhaps she supervised dictated to mammy?

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

fullstop wrote: »
    What a ****ing arsehole. Her point about work emails is beyond stupid, it's actually mind-boggling :rolleyes:

I'd assume anyone who wrote a mail in that tone was being passive aggressive. I don't believe it's a regular occurrence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 GottaLaugh

I sit there in stunned silence for minutes, hours, days.
    Most risible part of the first article. Chuckled aloud at the melodrama.

Topped off with
    I get up, then sit back down then get up and scream; it is guttural, visceral, this scream is coming from some part of myself that I never even knew existed.

It reads like expert satire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I think you mean the College Tribune could have waited, she didn't publish it.

no

She wasn't the only one who thought that it was happening. Nobody was named or accused. Nobodies good name was muddied but you would think reading this thread that there were reputations destroyed over this.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What's a guttural scream exactly? The sound Gollum makes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

She's writing a weekly column under the pressure of a deadline - you can't expect poetry every week. And, YES, she's overwrought in the first article.
    But those saying, puh - a few weeks in *oppressive regime of choice here* aren't engaging with the issues that she raises, that young Irish women are living in a culture in which they are both sexualised and scorned for being sexual beings (by both their male peers and older women).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

mrsdewinter

Adverts | Friends
    She's writing a weekly column under the pressure of a deadline - you can't expect poetry every week. And, YES, she's overwrought in the first article.
    But those saying, puh - a few weeks in *oppressive regime of choice here* aren't engaging with the issues that she raises, that young Irish women are living in a culture in which they are both sexualised and scorned for being sexual beings (by both their male peers and older women).

Is that really happening and even if it is why in the name of god would young Irish women care what others think about them.If they feel like that, it's purely their own fault for paying too much heed to other peoples opinions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Arghus wrote: »
    People who think women have had it easier than men down through the years are living in cloud cuckoo land.

Edit: While I wasn't really too impressed by the quality of her articles I do think there's an irony in page after page of people laying into her, and then making out she's got nothing to complain about regarding male attitudes - the stupid woman, over dramatic diva etc, etc.

No one likes a drama queen whether they're male or female.Shes been given a platform in a national newspaper and uses it to churn out self indulgent codswallop on a weekly basis.Of course women have had it difficult in Ireland down the years but compare how it was for an Irish woman in the 50s with how it is today to see how much progress has been made.Also I don't get what point she and many contemporary social justice activists are trying to make with this constant calling out of "white males".White males where?In the United States?Europe?Ireland?I'm sure all the homeless "white males" we see on the streets of our cities are all in on the opression of the disabled,brown people,women in the Third World etc.Maybe Louise and those of her ilk should turn their attention to the plight of women in the Islamic world if they want to do something constructive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭LuckyRoche

What's a guttural scream exactly? The sound Gollum makes?

Think of the noise you make when you get a wallop of a football on the thigh playing for the under 13s on an icy cold December Sunday morning.

That.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

fullstop wrote: »
    You don't think she's malicious, when she publishes an article in a newspaper basically ****ting all over her ex boyfriend? If roles were reversed in who wrote that article, what do you think the reaction would be?

Michael Harding (the writer) has had his overwrought essay columns in the Irish Times for years, in which he often speaks about women in his life, women in general, his fixations etc - I can't imagine him getting 7 pages of hate about that, it's what writer dudes do and he has an interesting observation or two to pick up sometimes.

This thread really feels like one of these "online comments on a phenomenon justify this phenomenon's existence" scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Is that really happening and even if it is why in the name of god would young Irish women care what others think about them.If they feel like that, it's purely their own fault for paying too much heed to other peoples opinions.

Well, yes - ignoring what other people think is 1 response - but it depends on a young woman having the confidence (read: self-esteem built up over a period of years in the context of a supportive family, peer group) to withstand the social forces.
    But that's on a individual, woman-by-woman basis. Why should young women be faced with that? It's yet another thing to be negotiated.
    You know who don't have to think about these issues at all? Young men.
    But still, yeah, it's the fault of young women themselves. Silly young women.

Replace "Irish women" with "Irish men" and "sexualisation" with "depression" and check if by any chance you're not being a d*ck about it. Society puts us all under huge pressure of different types and it's not enough to tell people to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Well, yes - ignoring what other people think is 1 response - but it depends on a young woman having the confidence (read: self-esteem built up over a period of years in the context of a supportive family, peer group) to withstand the social forces.
    But that's on a individual, woman-by-woman basis. Why should young women be faced with that? It's yet another thing to be negotiated.
    You know who don't have to think about these issues at all? Young men.
    But still, yeah, it's the fault of young women themselves. Silly young women.

its called being an adult, everyone judges everyone else , I cant actually figure out what anybody wants, there are millions of people out there with their own opinions.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

mhge wrote: »
    Replace "Irish women" with "Irish men" and "sexualisation" with "depression" and check if by any chance you're not being a d*ck about it. Society puts us all under huge pressure of different types and it's not enough to tell people to cop on.

Depression is an illness and it's a hell of a lot more serious than feeling supposed pressure from society to be a certain thing.

Most of this supposed pressure on women comes from women themselves.

Depression is an illness and it's a hell of a lot more serious than feeling supposed pressure from society to be a certain thing.

Most of this supposed pressure on women comes from women themselves.

And most of bullying of lads comes from lads themselves, does it make it a non issue? There is plenty of ways in which we can work on such issues but not by dismissing them or telling people not to mind.

She wasn't the only one who thought that it was happening. Nobody was named or accused. Nobodies good name was muddied but you would think reading this thread that there were reputations destroyed over this.

hold on there buddy....

how many people do you think are in the Agricultural course/society in question?

It's a small enough number to be tarred with the accusation, if it was never proven to be 100% false the accusation would have followed the members of that group especially considering the rabid attitude of this lady, her ilk and the platform they have.
    There would always have been a question "was he one of them?"

so you are wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

hold on there buddy....

how many people do you think are in the Agricultural course/society in question?

It's a small enough number to be tarred with the accusation, if it was never proven to be 100% false the accusation would have followed the members of that group especially considering the rabid attitude of this lady, her ilk and the platform they have.
    There would always have been a question "was he one of them?"

so you are wrong...

There was an investigation, nothing was found, it was retracted. I don't care if you think I'm wrong or not. Those are the facts. She never mentioned Ag Soc. In fact someone on this thread previously mentioned a historical accusation. I didn't accuse anyone myself obviously if you read my posts. It was proven to be false within the realms of that investigation. If it was thought to be true the right response was to side immediately with the victims. Nobody was defamed. In a legal sense nothing you are talking about is actionable, I'm sorry but you sound as hysterical as you are trying to make out others to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

To be fair I can easily imagine it happening .

In a legal sense nothing you are talking about is actionable, I'm sorry but you sound as hysterical as you are trying to make out others to be.

I'm more flabbergasted by the fact she has not only a platform in mainstream media but she has a following for her nonsense.

but the truth me told I only bothered to articulate an opinion due to this thread .
    I am not upset enough to start my own thread or write a letter to the editor ranting about her and her warbling.
    so no I'm probably not as hysterical as you claim.

mhge wrote: »
    And most of bullying of lads comes from lads themselves, does it make it a non issue? There is plenty of ways in which we can work on such issues but not by dismissing them or telling people not to mind.

What does that have to do with depression.

Depression is an illness.

The only way to deal with most issues of external pressure is to actually ignore it.It's only an issue if you care what people think and a lot of these so called issues with expectation being put on women aren't really issues at all, they come from within.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭1eg0a3xv7b82of

she writes her articles as if she were living in 1950s ireland or apartheid south africa.
    i find her the very definition of a walking stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

she writes her articles as if she were living in 1950s ireland or apartheid south africa.

Or a small rural town in west Cork...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

You do all know this thread will form the basis of an article any week now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

You do all know this thread will form the basis of an article any week now?

"All of my detractors on Boards AH were men."