Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Brilliant stuff from everyone this morning; just goes to show what can be achieved when sticking to the plan and correct pacing.

Got my 15 mile LSR done and dusted by 1015 this morning; great way to start the day.

Enjoy the Bank Holiday weekend everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Annoying LSR there as my phone couldn't find a GPS signal for the second time this week. I roughly knew the 10m mark and went from there. Put the route into map my run and wasn't too far off 14.2m @ 9:46.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Went out today on my first post injury LSR (well sort of LSR - 7 miles as I need to build up the distances over the few next weeks) and felt great both during and since. Really pleased. To celebrate I just booked myself an entry to DCM 2016. Hope I didn't jinx it :-). No going back now. Looks like tomorrow is the last day to get the €70 entry fee. Goes up to €80 tomorrow until end of Aug and then €90 until Oct 1st.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Radio bulletins about bank stress tests was enough incentive for me to get out the door...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

To celebrate I just booked myself an entry to DCM 2016.

I just did that yesterday! Felt really, really amazing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Antodoran136

Just want to say thanks to a few of you on here for the motivation during the week about my knee injury advising me to go to the physio I went in today in fear of bad news and after alot of work on it and alot of pain he has giving me some great exercises to strengthen up specific muscles that strengthens the knee area. I'm back on track hopefully and plan to get out tommorrow for 15miles lsr .. by the way just a little advice I done this injury on my hill sprints having previously been a footballer I was used to full out sprinting in which my form must have been all over the place my physio said to just go above your marathon pace in a stride keeping your form good and high knees. I'm afraid to tackle them again after this ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Just want to say thanks to a few of you on here for the motivation during the week about my knee injury advising me to go to the physio I went in today in fear of bad news and after alot of work on it and alot of pain he has giving me some great exercises to strengthen up specific muscles that strengthens the knee area. I'm back on track hopefully and plan to get out tommorrow for 15miles lsr .. by the way just a little advice I done this injury on my hill sprints having previously been a footballer I was used to full out sprinting in which my form must have been all over the place my physio said to just go above your marathon pace in a stride keeping your form good and high knees. I'm afraid to tackle them again after this ...

Out of interest did the physio elaborate on particular muscles that were issue? (quads or Glute medius/TFL)

Personally I would scale the run back a bit tomorrow if you are only back on your feet as you run the risk of another injury. Scale back to say 10/11. You will still get benefits aerobically but there will be less of a risk of re-injuring

With hills or any sort of interval reps I would always say to follow the blow pattern in terms of effort:

1st 1/3 of reps - ease in should feel relatively comfortable
    2nd 1/3 - starting to get a little bit uncomfortable
    3rd 1/3 - having to work hard to maintain splits

During marathon training your should very rarely be "all out" in any session and generally should always come out of a session thinking that you could do 1-2 more reps if you really needed to.

It's about becoming more controlled at higher intensities rather than going balls to the wall in the hope that will make huge gains in your running (99% of the time it won't)
    nop98 wrote: »
    I would say that's okay - much better than twice-a-day at least, unless FBOT or Myles overrules me...?

I hope this week is going better for you? Not too many missed runs?

Running evening and morning is fine just be sure to listen to your body and err on the conservative side. If you have a short window of recovery between runs make sure than this is offset by longer recovery till the next. Some coaches actually use back to back hard days but ensure that it's taken into account with how easy they have after them (remember the recovery period is where fitness improves from the sessions it's half the formula to getting faster/fitter (alot of people forget that and just hammer away at training till they break down)
    tipping wrote: »
    Fascinating post again Myles. Have added S&C into the routine but I have a few questions for you/anyone on the squats as I seem to struggle with them and am not sure that I'm getting out of them what I should be.

What makes a good squat technique wise?
    What muscles are you trying to work out? Should you feel a burn and if so where?
    Is it aimed at strength or flexibility or both?
    What number of reps should you be doing before adding weights?

In terms of squats you should have good ankle and thoracic (spine) mobility. If either is restricted you are going to find it hard to get into proper position (may have to put plates under heels for stability). You want to come down just below paralel (many people don't get enough depth and end up doing a quarter squat which is gonna load your quads and knees more than you want) keep knees roughly shoulder width apart and engage the traps to make a shelf for the barbell.

Ideally if you have any concerns a PT session can be worth its weight in gold to assess you form and correct it.

You want to be feeling it in your glutes for the most part there are other muscles which come into play but these are the big ones you are focusing on. Your glute max is the biggest muscle in the body yet one of the most under utilized in distance runners so the benefits from getting them working can be immense.

Strength is focus but this will also help with flexibility to a certain extent (not gonna go too much into stride here)

In terms of reps like anything should be progressive:

Phase one: Body Weight 2-3 x 20 reps (functional strength to work on correct form)
    Phase 2: 2-3 x 14-16 reps, low weight (muscle and tendon loading prep phase)
    Phase 3: 3-5 x 8-12 reps, medium weight (Muscle Mass Development)
    Phase 4: 4-6 reps, heavy weight (Force/Power Development)

Should never aim to max out on lifts and even heavy weight should be about 80-90% of your absolute max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,005 ✭✭✭long_b

Have to give up on DCM 2016.
    Very disappointed but am having a recurrence of a non-running related medical issue.

Awaiting diagnosis but told not to run in the meantime.

Best of luck to ye all - will be thinking of ye on the day !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

long_b wrote: »
    Very disappointed but am having a recurrence of a non-running related medical issue.

Sorry to hear that, I hope you get it all sorted out. There's always next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Really sorry to hear that. I hope everything works out for you and that it's not too serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

spaceylou wrote: »
    I just ran the longest I have ever run, in my entire life and it felt pretty okay!! All going well, that's a statement I'll be making several times in the coming weeks and months!!

Yay !!! its such a great feeling to accomplish the mileage you have never done before, wait till you cross that 20 miles mark no greater feeling, I actually gave a shout out I was just so chuffed with myself. Well done keep up the good work, its getting serious now.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

So sorry to hear that B its so hard to have to give up, but this far into the plan is even harder, best to take the advise and await the outcome, I know its not what you want to hear but there are plenty more races and when it comes to your health you gotta choose that first. Hope you get good results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Sorry to hear that long_b......there will be loads more marathons to do when you are back to full fitness.

Take care of yourself and get things sorted
    .....here's hoping to a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

long_b wrote:
    Have to give up on DCM 2016. Very disappointed but am having a recurrence of a non-running related medical issue.

Really sorry to hear that. Hopefully it is 'nothing' and you will be back very soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Very sorry to hear that, long_b. I hope you will recover well and that 2017 might be your year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

aceygray wrote: »

Anyone tried out the Fingal 10k gel belt yet? I used it on my LSR today (working the weekend so moved it forward). The gels kept slipping out, I ended up carrying them most of the way. Very annoying!

I tried mine out today on my lsr, Bearing in mind your experience yesterday when I put the belt on with the gels in place I folded the gels back over the belt and tucked them in between my body and the belt, They never budged and all felt good.

I wore the gel belt insted of my usual flipbelt as I also had a water belt on, I didnt want to have 3 belts. I put my phone in the gel belt pouch and It was moving around quite a bit with the weight of the phone it never moves in the flip belt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

I tried out a hydration backpack on my lsr this morning, the Vango sprint 3. I added 1.5 litres of water and 2 Hi5 iso tabs and it was brilliant. Probably overkill for Ireland, but I didn't notice any weight on the run and literally had fluids on tap.
    I did start wondering if anyone has used one during a marathon or would you look/feel a bit of a tool lining up at the start with one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

kin9pin wrote: »
    I did start wondering if anyone has used one during a marathon or would you look/feel a bit of a tool lining up at the start with one?

There's plenty of water stops on the marathon route, you shouldn't need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Sorry to hear that long_b, wish you the very best in your recovery. Health, particularly long term much more significant than any race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭GOOSEPAUL

My right knee is very sore all week. Knee did not feel right on my Tuesday 3 mile. Have not run all week. I have R&R Half Marathon next weekend so hopefully the Physio on Tuesday tells me I'm OK to run. Just hope the knee is OK as I don't want to drop out again.

Some great reading and milestones so well done all.

Sorry to hear long_b and I wish you a speedy recovery. There are plenty of other races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Antwerp

Name|Planned Pace|Distance required
    nop98|any|
    Firedance|10:30 to 11:30|6-8
    aceygray|9.30 - 10 min/mile|14 miles
    The Muppet|11 to 12 |any
    A Neurotic||
    Antwerp|11:00-12:00|14miles
    FITZA|10.20+|14m
    Pomplamousse|10:30-10:45min/mile-ish|14 miles
    kin9pin|10:00-11:00|14 miles
    The Black Oil|11|12 miles

Apologies as I messed up the LSR table for 13th August, also my attendance is now 'tentative' as being in PP for 9am might be a tall order but hopefully will get there just trying to juggle family life. Booked dates ages ago for the Race Series so they are ok. Failing PP will substitute MP

Long-b sorry to hear DCM is off the cards hope you get better soon

Enjoy bank holiday all

GOOSEPAUL wrote: »
    My right knee is very sore all week. Knee did not feel right on my Tuesday 3 mile. Have not run all week. I have R&R Half Marathon next weekend so hopefully the Physio on Tuesday tells me I'm OK to run. Just hope the knee is OK as I don't want to drop out again.

hey Goosepaul, hope your knee is better soon, physio will be able to guide you. Suppose will all increased intensity of our running pattern it's bound to put pressure on our bodies, hopefully your knee issue is not too serious. My right foot is playing up every now and then on some runs since last LSR (1wk ago) might be looking for a physio too!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭tipping

)

In terms of squats you should have good ankle and thoracic (spine) mobility. If either is restricted you are going to find it hard to get into proper position (may have to put plates under heels for stability). You want to come down just below paralel (many people don't get enough depth and end up doing a quarter squat which is gonna load your quads and knees more than you want) keep knees roughly shoulder width apart and engage the traps to make a shelf for the barbell.

Ideally if you have any concerns a PT session can be worth its weight in gold to assess you form and correct it.

You want to be feeling it in your glutes for the most part there are other muscles which come into play but these are the big ones you are focusing on. Your glute max is the biggest muscle in the body yet one of the most under utilized in distance runners so the benefits from getting them working can be immense.

Strength is focus but this will also help with flexibility to a certain extent (not gonna go too much into stride here)

In terms of reps like anything should be progressive:

Phase one: Body Weight 2-3 x 20 reps (functional strength to work on correct form)
    Phase 2: 2-3 x 14-16 reps, low weight (muscle and tendon loading prep phase)
    Phase 3: 3-5 x 8-12 reps, medium weight (Muscle Mass Development)
    Phase 4: 4-6 reps, heavy weight (Force/Power Development)

Should never aim to max out on lifts and even heavy weight should be about 80-90% of your absolute max.

Thanks for the detailed reply Myles. Very insightful as always. I'll give this a shot and see how I get on.

Weekly update

Monday
    10.5 @ 7:27 including 5x6 mins @ 6:30 ish pace

Tuesday
    5 recovery @9:02

Wednesday
    5.5 easy @ 8:40 including 12x20 strides

Thursday
    10.5 including 2.5 warm-up, 5 mile race in 31:50, 3 mile cooldown.
    Felt like I needed a race so went to the local 5 mile in the evening.
    Splits for the race were 6:11, 6:19,6:31,6:28,6:17 on a fairly hilly route. Kept a little in the tank the whole way bar a push for the last mile up a long hill.

Friday/Saturday: Rest as we were away for a few days

Sunday:
    16@ 7:51 including 4 warm-up,10@MP,2 cooldown.
    MP splits were 7:27,7:26,7:28,7:24,7:25,7:21,7:30,7:28,7:34,7:16

Nice and comfortable the whole through although legs tired on the hills in the way home.

Really solid week with 47.5 miles for my highest mileage ever. Slightly above plan mileage with the race but legs feel fine and step back week coming up next week.

Sorry to hear this and best of luck with your recovery.

A decent week for me, tired leg's on Thursday , but they were grand on the LSR on saturday.

Day|miles|pace|Heart Rate|Time Minutes
    Monday Recovery|3.2| 11:12 |-|35:58
    Tuesday Easy|4.2|10:58|131|46:10|
    Wednesday Easy|6:13|10:31|133|64:27
    Thursday Easy + pilates|4:18|10:55|134|45:36|
    Friday Rest|-|-|-|-
    Saturday LSR|15.22|10:57|127|166:46 mins
    Sunday Recovery|3.03|11:59|-|36:36
    Totals|||35:96 Miles|06:35:33 Hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 crogerso

Been slacking in my running updates lately but have been keeping up with all the posts in the thread; feeling the tiredness as well the past week and a half, nice to see I'm not the only one!
    Trying to make sure I eat well and get enough sleep but every day life tends to get in the way sometimes. Saying that, I got all runs in as outlined in the boards plan so really delighted with that. Ran the furthest I have ever run yday completing the 15 miles. Absolutely delighted with that but I REALLY found it tough. Putting it mainly down to poor preparation. Couldn't do it in the morning as I had to work and didn't get home until 3 but had eaten very little and after mile 8 I started to feel hungry and fatigued. Took a gel around mile 9 and it did help. Had no issues taking it but from mile 11 I felt like everything ached.
    Luckily I had my OH with me to keep me going till the end but I didn't enjoy it all. I guess I should be happy that I finished it but a bit worried about how I'm going to run another 11 miles on DCM day. Putting it behind me now, I figure there's no point dwelling on a bad day. Got my 3 miles recovery in this morning, legs are fine which is a relief. 5 weeks down so well on the way now.
    Really find this thread helpful so thanks to everyone for posting their experiences.

crogerso wrote: »
    I guess I should be happy that I finished it but a bit worried about how I'm going to run another 11 miles on DCM day.

I think that's quite normal I certainly feel that way too after some of my LSR,s. We can only trust the plan and believe it'll get us to the start line with the ability to complete the distance.

Well done on doing your lsr after a days work that must make it even tougher, I'm lucky in that respect I can usually do my lsrs first think in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭sibeen99

Finished off the week with a nice even total of 40 miles. Very happy with this, legs are feeling good. I'm making a big effort to do plenty stretching and foam rolling and I try to do strength work 3-4 times a week, it seems to be helping.

Well done everyone on another week completed.