Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Interesting article in the Examiner here.

Seán O’Halloran who is the PRO for the Clare County Board, gives his take on Cork Hurling.

Basically saying we need to have patience in developing players which is correct but haven't people being saying we need better structures in place for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Hopefully Cork will be appealing that Loughrey red card!!
    Why? He clearly punched him. Not a particularly venomous punch, but a punch nonetheless. Straight red card all day long. Pointless appealing it.

Well maybe its just me but I think it definitely should be appealed.

They haven't made their mind up yet tho according to the Examiner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭clerk

Interesting article

Interesting article, he talks an awful lot of sense, not suprising for a fellow who has actually gone through the process himself.

I sometimes wonder if people outside of Cork realise how serious the hurling situation is in Cork, maybe a few hardcore observers do but l suspect most of the GAA country don't fully realise the extent of the issue. Say another 10 Years of no hurling All-Ireland will bring us to 20 Years and counting. At least 10 Years is the projection of any Cork GAA fan I talk to who has an idea of where Cork hurling is at, forget about anything in the next 5 Years for starters unless JBM comes back and performs his latest miracle or attempted miracle.

They haven't made their mind up yet tho according to the Examiner

It was a silly, petulant dig. He deserves to be banned for the sheer stupidity of it and if he isn't banned he should be dropped for letting his team go down to 14 men.

They're heading into a serious **** storm in 2 weeks time after beating 2 teams they should be beating and the discipline needs to improve massively from that nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

I never said they wouldn't appeal. I just said it was pointless appealing.
    What's the defence here? Ah it was only a small punch!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Ht Sars 3-09 v glen 1-07

Ft Sars 4-12 v Glen 3-17

Some turn around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,353 ✭✭✭zetecescort

still no sign of inter county standard defenders?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

We don't have many in the county. The days of thou shall not past defenders are long since behind us. Classy and skillful defenders also.

We were blessed for years in having sully, Sean og, Gardner, Curran etc. We don't have players of that standard at the moment .
    Teak tough defenders are hard to come by. Ours seem soft. There's tough defenders in a lot of the inter and junior clubs but not intercounty level.
    You would think 6 or 7 fellas would be easy to find, but apparently not.

We are down at the moment, but the only way is up from here surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

I see on FB that the Junior B county final is off on Friday due to Histon being called into the Cork team for the weekend.

Surely this is a sign that Healy is giving new faces a chance. Possibly means Cadogan and Walsh will be played?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Where is TTM we are lost without him ! love or hate he/she was the best on any forum .

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Where is TTM we are lost without him ! love or hate he/she was the best on any forum .

Fantastic knowledge of the game.

If he could have learned to post in a 100 words or less it would have been nice. He preferred to write a book rather than a synopsis which was a pity. A lot of people didn't like his opinionated style but without opinions, this place would be even quieter.

John McLoughlin dropped as well which would explain Histon being called in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭thesultan

We need ttm back

Alright lads, thats the second time someone asked for TTM to come back after my posts... i get the message. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

thesultan wrote: »
    We need ttm conversation about the club championships back

FYP

TTM is being looked back upon with rose tinted glasses here in a big way folks - what's being missed is the content - club championships, how players are going etc. the topic seems to constantly be inter-county panels, which is understandable as it's the countys main focus - but there's a severe lack of knowledge re: club scene in Cork being expressed here

The normal response to my criticism is to be told I'm not offering much myself or 'why don't you change it' arguments. I was playing in the PIFC last weekend so I couldn't tell you a dickie bird about last weekends games barring one and to be honest - I really don't want to discuss it!

D'Agger wrote: »
    FYP

TTM is being looked back upon with rose tinted glasses here in a big way folks - what's being missed is the content - club championships, how players are going etc. the topic seems to constantly be inter-county panels, which is understandable as it's the countys main focus - but there's a severe lack of knowledge re: club scene in Cork being expressed here

The normal response to my criticism is to be told I'm not offering much myself or 'why don't you change it' arguments. I was playing in the PIFC last weekend so I couldn't tell you a dickie bird about last weekends games barring one and to be honest - I really don't want to discuss it!

I take it ye lost?

My club Delaneys, won a great match last night in Ballinlough. 2-10 v 2-09 v Nemo in the semi of the JAFC. We won it last year for the first time since the tvs were in black and white, back to back finals is a huge achievement for such a small club.

Really looking forward to the Donegal game, I think we have a really good chance of a win. Croke Park will suit our forwards an we are going in under the radar a bit, a nice way to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I take it ye lost?

My club Delaneys, won a great match last night in Ballinlough. 2-10 v 2-09 v Nemo in the semi of the JAFC. We won it last year for the first time since the tvs were in black and white, back to back finals is a huge achievement for such a small club.

Really looking forward to the Donegal game, I think we have a really good chance of a win. Croke Park will suit our forwards an we are going in under the radar a bit, a nice way to be.
    We did, deservedly so I might add, not at the races for 3/4 of the match

That's a massive achievement, well done on beating Nemo, am I right in saying they've Masters, Dylan Mehigan and one or two other former Senior starters playing junior this year? Could have been a friendly but our Junior team played them recently I believe and they said Nemo had fellas playing junior who'd walk onto their intermediate team.

I think Cork will lose tbh, I do think you're correct about the forwards, coming in a bit under the radar etc. - I expect a performance to give Cork football a shot in the arm, but overall, Donegal tend to manage big games well and close them out. They're difficult to beat unless you're very well organised - and I don't think Cork are that way inclined enough at the back

Talking to a load of what I would consider Cork GAA fans and the amount of Cork fans traveling to the match seems to be very low.

Most Cork fans l'm talking to seem to think Donegal will win (and of course the match is on the box!!).

I seem to be in the minority in thinking that Cork can win this one and trust me I would love to head up to Croke park for the Day out with the minors playing as well but can't because of family commitments.

Best of luck to the footballers tomorrow, win and avoid Dublin in the draw (if Mayo win also) and you never know.

Cork Senior Football Team

1. Ryan Price (O Donovan Rossa)
    2. Colm O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
    4. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    5. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
    6. Brian O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    7. Kevin O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    8. Alan O Connor (St Colum's)
    9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr's)
    10. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
    11. Paddy Kelly (Ballincollig)
    12. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    13. Colm O Neill (Ballyclough)
    14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
    15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
    Subs:
    16. Micheal A Martin (Nemo Rangers)
    17. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
    18. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
    19. Niall Coakley (St Jude's)
    20. Kieran Histon (Cobh)
    21. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
    22. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
    23. Donncha O Connor (Ballydesmond)
    24. John O Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    25. Sean Powter (Douglas)
    26. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

Minor team

1) Mark White (Clonakilty)
    2) Alan McCarthy (St Finbarrs)
    3) Aidan Browne (Newmarket)
    4) Liam O Donovan (Clonakilty)
    5) Sean Minehane (Ilen Rovers)
    6) Nathan Walsh (Douglas)
    7) Rory O Driscoll (Garnish)
    8) Cathal Foley (Kilmichael)
    9) Tadgh Corkery (Cill Na Martra)
    10) Chris Og Jones (Iveleary)
    11) Colm O Callaghan (Eire Og)
    12) Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven)
    13) Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
    14) Mark Buckley (Dohenys)
    15) Sean O Sullivan (Mitchelstown)

Cork Senior Football Team

1. Ryan Price (O Donovan Rossa)
    2. Colm O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
    4. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    5. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
    6. Brian O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    7. Kevin O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    8. Alan O Connor (St Colum's)
    9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr's)
    10. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
    11. Paddy Kelly (Ballincollig)
    12. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    13. Colm O Neill (Ballyclough)
    14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
    15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
    Subs:
    16. Micheal A Martin (Nemo Rangers)
    17. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
    18. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
    19. Niall Coakley (St Jude's)
    20. Kieran Histon (Cobh)
    21. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
    22. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
    23. Donncha O Connor (Ballydesmond)
    24. John O Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    25. Sean Powter (Douglas)
    26. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

Paddy Kelly from the start, Walsh and Cadogan on the bench. Noel Galvin gone from the panel altogether after starting the last day while the O'Driscolls remain :confused:

D'Agger wrote: »
    We did, deservedly so I might add, not at the races for 3/4 of the match

That's a massive achievement, well done on beating Nemo, am I right in saying they've Masters, Dylan Mehigan and one or two other former Senior starters playing junior this year? Could have been a friendly but our Junior team played them recently I believe and they said Nemo had fellas playing junior who'd walk onto their intermediate team.

Yeah, both of the above started, master got 3 or 4 points I think. Fine team. Could have went either way, super game of football.

Strange few changes, noel gone altogether? Injured?

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Yeah, both of the above started, master got 3 or 4 points I think. Fine team. Could have went either way, super game of football.

Strange few changes, noel gone altogether? Injured?

Injured

On a hurling related note, it was good to see Michael Cahalane return for Bandon last night after years out with illness. While nobody is expecting him to play with Cork it's good that he's back with the club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Minors were ahead by 6 points and end up losing by 6 with 14 men. Jesus god almighty.

1 up at HT. both sides very open, could go either way if neither improve defensively in the 2nd half. McBrearty keeping Donegal in it on his own and roasted Cadogan. Walsh on for injured Alan O'Connor just before half time

Cadogan is being shown up big time. We need another goal to have a chance, happy to be in it at ht and still looking dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭alphasully

Another year where cork don't make it past the month of July. We're now 5th in munster in hurling and 4th in football. But on a plus note we'll have a new stadium next year. I'm sure that's going to make all the difference.

25 mins is a long time not to score and we shot a fair few wides. Thought we had a great chance today and the way Donegal played, we certainly had.

We didn't send in a single long ball to the fowards. We could have mixed it up a bit more. Hurley and o Neill are well able to fight for their own ball and made some runs in front of their men but no ball came in.

Disappointing to be out, but they did stay in touch and played to the end. It was typical of Walsh to score a great point only to follow it up with a few very poor attempts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,658 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork gaa is a laughing stock

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

Cork gaa is a laughing stock

To be fair, we all knew that before today.