Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Come west of the Shannon and have a gander sometime. They don't call it the sunny south east for nothing.

I know the area well. Have great friends in Clare snd more in Mayo. Different world altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭GY A1

Could ye run a leveller or power box on the road to level it a bit when dry. Them wheel tracks will always hold water and it'll never dry out and will always be soft.
    Base price wrote: »
    Saw the pics of the shiny new twin axle trailer. Well wear and best of luck with it.
    As you probably know from previous posts, the biggest issue that we have is the ROW/access outta the bog and our neighbours son ploughing up same hauling half saved sods home :mad:
    I eventually "encouraged" ;) OH to have a chat with his Dad a few weeks ago about the stupidity (my words) of bring wet turf home and driving on the pass when it was not fit for tractor & trailers. The jury is still out on the outcome.
    Oh and I both remember (as youngesters) loading turf in hard frosts in Winter cause that was the only time the pass was suitable to drive on.
    Two pics. The first from last year which was a temporary pass that the contractor made cause the young fella fecked up the ROW the previous year. The pic shows the aftermath of the young lad ploughing through it before we even thought about drawing our turf home.
    Second pic is the ROW pass that he fecked up the previous year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭GY A1

Got the last of our turf home last week end.
    It was cut during the heat wave so was was bone dry fairly quick.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Base price wrote: »
    Saw the pics of the shiny new twin axle trailer. Well wear and best of luck with it.
    As you probably know from previous posts, the biggest issue that we have is the ROW/access outta the bog and our neighbours son ploughing up same hauling half saved sods home :mad:
    I eventually "encouraged" ;) OH to have a chat with his Dad a few weeks ago about the stupidity (my words) of bring wet turf home and driving on the pass when it was not fit for tractor & trailers. The jury is still out on the outcome.
    Oh and I both remember (as youngesters) loading turf in hard frosts in Winter cause that was the only time the pass was suitable to drive on.
    Two pics. The first from last year which was a temporary pass that the contractor made cause the young fella fecked up the ROW the previous year. The pic shows the aftermath of the young lad ploughing through it before we even thought about drawing our turf home.
    Second pic is the ROW pass that he fecked up the previous year.

http://frabz.com/3g3f :eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I have another yoke watching me today, young cormorant I think? Dunno what he's doing in leitrim but he doesn't look very impressed :pac:

v7d5SO4h.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Grueller wrote: »
    I think ye are all stone mad. We have no turf in the south east here and nobody dies of hypothermia.

Ya softie

Kovu wrote: »
    I have another yoke watching me today, young cormorant I think? Dunno what he's doing in leitrim but he doesn't look very impressed :pac:

v7d5SO4h.jpg

Ya sure it's just not you he's not impressed by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

v7d5SO4h.jpg

It's a cormorant alright. More and more of them turning up on the Inland lakes.
    One thing for sure, they won't be there unless there's plenty of fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

GY A1 wrote: »
    Could ye run a leveller or power box on the road to level it a bit when dry. Them wheel tracks will always hold water and it'll never dry out and will always be soft.
    Turf contractor cleared the bushes and some of the trees on one side of the pass when he cut the turf. He also levelled it with the digger.
    Its much better than it was and able to dry. Will see how it holds up this year when we start drawing the turf. We had lots of rain in the last few weeks so it will be a while before we get it home.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ya sure it's just not you he's not impressed by
    It's a cormorant alright. More and more of them turning up on the Inland lakes.
    One thing for sure, they won't be there unless there's plenty of fish.

Ah Reggie, every so often someone is happy to see me!! :P

That lake is packed with fish, just walked past it and Mr Cormorant has his wings spread drying them, the pool area is mad with little fish jumping so he was probably in for his tea.

Ah Reggie, every so often someone is happy to see me!! :P

That lake is packed with fish, just walked past it and Mr Cormorant has his wings spread drying them, the pool area is mad with little fish jumping so he was probably in for his tea.

Would that be the AI man :P

Nah he only has eyes for the cows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Years ago- a fella at the Mart wasn't making the price on a heifer- dad asked him what would he do now. "I'll take her home and bull her myself" was the response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

:eek::eek:, bad for business that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

FIL tried to tax his Tractor last week, sent off cheque & paperwork.
    Got it returned telling this tractor can now be taxed as vintage for 1/2 the amount, he's worried if it's vintage that he'd not be able to do farm work or travel the road with it.
    Is there any T&C for vintage tractors?

Farrell wrote: »
    FIL tried to tax his Tractor last week, sent off cheque & paperwork.
    Got it returned telling this tractor can now be taxed as vintage for 1/2 the amount, he's worried if it's vintage that he'd not be able to do farm work or travel the road with it.
    Is there any T&C for vintage tractors?

They can be used for agri use no problem just state it to the insurance crowd FBD and it's like €75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Just like Brian :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Don't see the army in there anywhere :D

Neither do we 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I have another yoke watching me today...

His words or yours? :D

Some amount of deaths on the roads in the last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'd say Brian would have the roof of his tent straighter than the lad with the blue camper .

Bullocks wrote: »
    I'd say Brian would have the roof of his tent straighter than the lad with the blue camper .
    Thats so the rain can run off

Supposed to be like that to let water flow off it. Otherwise it could pull the the roof off the camper

whelan2 wrote: »
    Thats so the rain can run off

Good girl whelan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Supposed to be like that to let water flow off it. Otherwise it could pull the the roof off the camper

I'm talking about it being lower on the right than the left , or is that to let it off to the right instead of all down the front ?

Just to sound like a real Caaavan man..

Serious money there in those camper vans... The difference in buying a caravan and camper is unreal, friends have a 2006 camper same year as our caravan and it cost €15k more than we spent on the caravan.. And your driving a FIAT :o

Lets be kind and say the pitch must be very uneven... :p

Its, also just to be pedantic - its an Awning, tents are for boyscouts (and Reggie's crowd) :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I'd rather drive the Fiat then either of those Dacia Dusters.....