Hostage situation in French church

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

_oveless_ wrote: »
    Ugh who cares what their nationality or religion is could we just not for once? Look its over now can we just put it behind us? It’s not like Christianity never did anything bad look at the crusades and Spanish exposition terrorism has no religion ugh its over now just drop it please we need to rally around the innocent Muslims who will be made to feel uncomfortable now I hope there are security operations in place around local Mosques so they arent attacked by racists.

If this were any site (other than thejournal.ie perhaps) I'd assume that the above post was designed to wind people up.

Sadly I think it was meant sincerely. :rolleyes:

Duggy747 wrote: »
    A lot of these people just claim allegiance to ISIS like a random hacker would to Anonymous, they also have done things that ISIS would've killed them for like drinking / eating pork / drugs / etc.

Those 2 killed a priest and caused a stir in the news so ISIS will have no problem claiming the attack. They're not the most consistent of folk when it comes to details.
    It is utterly irrelevant. It matters not one bit whether ISIS organized it directly. The salient fact is that ISIS has commanded followers of their version of Islam to commit these acts, and that these attackers are inspired by that ideology.

ISIS isn't an organisation with a direct grassroots structure like the Fianna Fail cumainn. Anybody who takes comfort in that fact, or dismisses ISIS for that reason, is kidding themselves. The unpredictable nature of ISIS-inspired attacks makes ISIS as an ideological force in the West all the more invisible and erratic, and more dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Europe is at war.

One of the few posts with any sense of reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Its not that.
    People are more interested in pursuing their agendas, then to #prayforfrance, #prayforgermany, #prayfor________

I think it is a bit of both.

Also there has been too many of these attacks lately and people don't want to accept them as some type of unpreventable natural disaster any-more, they want to discuss root-causes and action plans rather than mourning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Probably uninformed ISIS fanboys, who ISIS are now claiming for themselves. The whole 'Daesh is a huge insult' line is a politically correct misinformation campaign by progressives to make use a term that doesn't involve 'Islamic'.

Don't you think if you were going to kill and die for a movement you would know a little bit about them? And please don't just make stuff up. Like probably this, probably that. None of that explains it.

And it was David Cameron who urged Britons to refer to ISIS as "Daesh" as it was derogatory. Nothing to do with political correctness or progressives. So the question again is why would ISIS shout an insult to themselves?

I'll probably be told to fuck off the the CT forum for asking that question but then again that's the usual retort one gets when simply searching for the truth if one's question strays slightly from the official narrative or points out the slightest anomaly or contradiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

I don't think Europe is extremely dangerous nor would I be averse to travelling to Germany and France. I'm saying though that the majority of posters here are tired of what is now becoming daily terror attacks in continental Europe from Islamic extremists. People want solutions, rather than the usual routine of writing 'JeSuis...' and changing their Facebook avatar.

Everyone knows that the chances of dying on the road or getting cancer etc are far, far higher than by an IS member or IS fanboy. But that doesn't mean they should just accept the status quo, especially when it's becoming deadlier day by day.

And I agree with that, so I'm not sure why you are coming after me.

HensVassal wrote: »
    Don't you think if you were going to kill and die for a movement you would know a little bit about them? And please don't just make stuff up. Like probably this, probably that. None of that explains it.

And it was David Cameron who urged Britons to refer to ISIS as "Daesh" as it was derogatory. Nothing to do with political correctness or progressives. So the question again is why would ISIS shout an insult to themselves?

I'll probably be told to fuck off the the CT forum for asking that question but then again that's the usual retort one gets when simply searching for the truth if one's question strays slightly from the official narrative or points out the slightest anomaly or contradiction.

Conspiracy forum >>>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

It is utterly irrelevant. It matters not one bit whether ISIS organized it directly. The salient fact is that ISIS has commanded followers of their version of Islam to commit these acts, and that these attackers are inspired by that ideology.

ISIS isn't an organisation with a direct grassroots structure like the Fianna Fail cumainn. Anybody who takes comfort in that fact, or dismisses ISIS for that reason, is kidding themselves. The unpredictable nature of ISIS-inspired attacks makes ISIS as an ideological force in the West all the more invisible and erratic, and more dangerous.

Exactly, that's why the media are fooling themselves when they try to pretend "the attacker had no direct links to ISIS" after every terrorist attack. Talk about completely missing the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

People using the car crash argument is beyond belief. These terrorists force it upon you. No one forces anyone to get into a car. It is the most daft argument possible.

How far do we want to go with the hysteria though?

We have a far greater chance of being killed by a knife or gun in this country by an Irish person, than by a terrorist attack.

http://www.thejournal.ie/knife-crime/news/
    http://www.thejournal.ie/gun-crime/news/
    Gardaí arrest teen over fatal stabbing of young man at Dublin flats
    Man rushed to hospital after being stabbed in Tallaght
    Fitzgerald: ‘We’ve no plans for a knife amnesty, gardaí are doing enough’
    Man in his late 20s shot in Dublin
    Man charged with threatening to kill woman who witnessed Limerick shooting
    Man due in court after Cork gardaí find gun and ammunition in car
    Three men arrested over fatal shooting at Limerick motorcycle club

Not all gang related. Plenty of innocent people have been shot and stabbed in this country in recent years. Not too much hysteria about it on here though.

Does anybody care? Or do some people only care when they can push a racist agenda?

Saipanne wrote: »
    Conspiracy forum >>>>>>>

Yes.

The simple explanation is: Deash is the most widely used term in France and those attackers would have heard it a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I've no idea if they shouted it or not. All we know is that some hostages said they did, and that ISIS has claimed responsibility. We can take the (limited) facts as they are, or we can theorize that they didn't say it, or were dumb ISIS fanboys. I can't tell you one way or the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Isis bringing its war to Europe, i expect it will get worse. If you believe the Russians Isis had 100,000 fighters, believe the Kurds they say 200,000. CIA says 35,000.

1000 men would cause carnage for years to come imagine they send 5,000 as sleeper cells?

Duggy747 wrote: »
    A lot of these people just claim allegiance to ISIS like a random hacker would to Anonymous, they also have done things that ISIS would've killed them for like drinking / eating pork / drugs / etc.

Those 2 killed a priest and caused a stir in the news so ISIS will have no problem claiming the attack. They're not the most consistent of folk when it comes to details.

Hmm......sounds a bit far-fetched to me. There were many IRA wannabes back in the day but none of them shouted "Up the Fenian Scum" when then threw a stone at a Saracen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

I sure hope that the Clonskeagh Mosque is under surveillance.

Cue.... WHY?

Well why not, given all that's going on at the moment.

Anyone know where they get their funding? I think it's either from Qatar or Saudi.

Who knows what goes on behind closed doors. We are afraid to ask.

But I'm sure our Secret Service has it all sorted.

Primetime did a (very cautious) special on Clonskeagh Mosque and it's links to the Muslim Brotherhood a few weeks ago. It's the first murmering I've ever seen by the Irish luvvies in RTE that all may not be well with 'moderate Islam' here in Ireland. It's was an interesting watch and clearly indicates that we are sleepwalking our way into the same problems that the continent suffers through sheer cowardice. Mr Halawa shoud be given the boot frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

dav3 wrote: »

We have a far greater chance of being killed by a knife or gun in this country by an Irish person, than by a terrorist attack.

Not all gang related. Plenty of innocent people have been shot and stabbed in this country in recent years. Not too much hysteria about it on here though.

Does anybody care? Or do some people only care when they can push a racist agenda?

So we shouldn't care about all the people living in Western Europe and coming every day who want to martyr themselves by killing as many innocent civilians as possible? No big deal?

Imagine after Kristallnacht, all the Jews saying to themselves "no need to worry about these Nazis, there's more chance of dying of cancer".

Lads, you're more likely to be hit by a car, so nothing to see here. These attacks scarcely even matter. Forget about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,565 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

When something like this happens here how will our largely unarmed Guards cope?

Call the armed response unit I would think.

You're correct that right now it's not Ireland's problem. We're very lucky in that respect. But people here are talking on a broad scale as to what the EU can do to limit its exposure to extremists entering the continent or being indoctrinated to extreme interpretations of Islam while citizens. It's still a valid concern that people can discuss without comparing to homegrown crime/road deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,492 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I caught sight of the story when my mam was reading about it on her smartphone around lunchtime.

I had to fully ingest my breakfast with a heavy heart when I read it though.

What a sick pair of bastards to do an attack like this in a Catholic Church. France is still in a state of emergency after the Nice promenade attack recently. The gravity of this attack is still shocking everybody in France left right and centre the rate of which are happening very regularly across Central Europe.

I express my deepest sympathy to the Priest's family. I do hope the hostages do survive this grave attack.

Seems a huge number of new regs in Jun and July 2016 posting in these ISIS/Terror/Muslim threads. One would swear an agenda is being pushed :eek:

Call the armed response unit I would think.

Probably their only option, but the longer response time would likely increase the dead count (in that case it cloud have meant everyone dead in the church).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Lads, you're more likely to be hit by a car, so nothing to see here. These attacks scarcely even matter. Forget about them.
    We don't want to know the odds, thanks.

Cheers for the heads up. But this thread is about the attack, so we're gonna discuss that and its implications, k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Hmm......sounds a bit far-fetched to me. There were many IRA wannabes back in the day but none of them shouted "Up the Fenian Scum" when then threw a stone at a Saracen.

Daesh is just an Arabic name for ISIS. It's not some sort of kryptonite catchphrase, or an insult to the group. It's their name.
    There was a push some time ago to get everyone to use 'Daesh' as the official name, rather than 'Islamic State', because 'Islamic State' contains the word Islam, and certain people were afraid it would lead to Islam having some negative connotations :rolleyes:

It's not some kind of government conspiracy or a false flag op, it's just some 2nd gen Arabs using Arabic - further proof that they are disenfranchised and see themselves as Muslims/Arabs first, French last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Seems a huge number of new regs in Jun and July 2016 posting in these ISIS/Terror/Muslim threads. One would swear an agenda is being pushed :eek:

School holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

So we shouldn't care about all the people living in Western Europe and coming every day who want to martyr themselves by killing as many innocent civilians as possible? No big deal?

Imagine after Kristallnacht, all the Jews saying to themselves "no need to worry about these Nazis, there's more chance of dying of cancer".

I just find it odd that certain people don't show the same level of hysteria about what is going on in their own country, compared to something that is going on thousands of miles away.
    More people will be killed by guns and knives in this country in our lifetime than by an imaginary bogeyman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

If there is a spate of road accidents on a stretch of road chances are the bend is straightened, speed limits are reduced, a speed camera is put up or speedbumps installed.
    If you want to play the false equivalence game then I guess your solution to those road deaths would probably be to increece the speed limits and then say, well a lot of people have been killed on this road but sure more people have died of old age in this area then on the roads this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Well ISIS promised a summer of terror and we're certainly getting it. Amazing that nothing happened during the Euros tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Bob24 wrote: »
    Probably their only option, but the longer response time would likely increase the dead count (in that case it cloud have meant everyone dead in the church).
    but, it shows that if you want to murder a large crowd of people, don't attack a midweek mass .

Thats 3 attacks in a week where at the end of it theres 4 times more attackers dead than "infidels".

I just find it odd that certain people don't show the same level of hysteria about what is going on in their own country, compared to something that is going on thousands of miles away.
    More people will be killed by guns and knives in this country in our lifetime than by an imaginary bogeyman.

I'm sure they are, in the relevant threads.