Hostage situation in French church

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

No one said we dispose of anyone and you know full well. You don't like the anti immigration opinions so you scream racist and nazi and holocaust. it's the same stuff from the regressive left.
    Explain again where the **** you saw anyone post anything that you could link to the holocaust.

Once again, please read the post I responded to. You will find it there. I'm not going to quote a post that condones genocide again but it was on page 3 I believe if that helps you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

I love this new internet trend of someone saying something horrible, and then when a more reasonable person compares then to Hitler, which is far from an unfair comparison, the original poster or someone else jumps in to take the moral high ground and call Godwin without acknowledging why the person made the Hitler comparison in the first place (i.e. comparing refugees to biscuits to be "binned").

Well, sometimes Godwinning is apt, when people display the same contempt for certain groups of people that Hitler did.

Well from what I understand in this case the poster was basically saying in a fairly harsh way they would refuse asylum for any applicant from the middle-east.

You can disagree with that (I do), but are you really saying it is indeed worth a comparison to Hitler or gas chambers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Lovely. When can we restart those gas chambers of good aul Adolf's? Might need to build a few new ones to fit 22 million in.

What do you make of a Catholic priest and a nun being hacked to death because of their beliefs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

If the refugees are the biscuits in the analogy, what do you think binning the biscuits refers to?

Probably pertains to not importing a million into the EU without any checks of any kind..... but you will take from it what you will.

Your faux outrage isn't working & it won't escape readers that your phoney outrage doesn't seem to extend to the perps who murdered a priest and slit another's throat!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Musketeer4

Reports on social media that the attacked had uploaded footage to liveleak. I can't locate it yet.

Johngoose wrote: »
    What do you make of a Catholic priest and a nun being hacked to death because of their beliefs?

Terrible. I certainly don't see disposing of 22 million Syrians as a rational response though. Do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Yes, let's leave 22 million Syrians fleeing war to rot because of the actions of a few.

Exactly. Fcuk them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

You can't believe RT. It's a Kremlin propaganda outlet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

No one said we dispose of anyone and you know full well. You don't like the anti immigration opinions so you scream racist and nazi and holocaust. it's the same stuff from the regressive left.
    Explain again where the **** you saw anyone post anything that you could link to the holocaust.

You don't have to look and further than the post right above yours.

Regressive left? Since when does no kowtowing to terrorist scum and giving them exactly what they want make someone a leftist? There's plenty here hell-bent on giving these bastards what they want that like to call themselves right wing, but I'd have a few other choice words to call them.

I certainly don't see disposing of 22 million Syrians as a rational response though

Hang on....

Who is murdering 22 million Syrians?

links please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It is an attack on the Catholic Church, just as Orlando was an attack on gay people.
    So much hate in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Musketeer4 wrote: »
    Reports on social media that the attacked had uploaded footage to liveleak. I can't locate it yet.

Wouldn't surprise me, in the age of streaming + live feeds and how fast people can upload clips I'm surprised we haven't seen more of these yet.

Even if they were to have just recorded themselves killing the priest that would have a massive effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Europe has been ruined because of a picture of a dead child on a beach. Merkel has flooded europe with scum and lunatics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

Once again, please read the post I responded to. You will find it there. I'm not going to quote a post that condones genocide again but it was on page 3 I believe if that helps you.

He didn't condone genocide. He used an analogy of a jar of cookies to respond to someone questioning what would we do with 22 million Syrians, let them rot?

Pure hyperbole bull****. Now everyone who thinks we shouldn't have to take in more refugees from that country is Hitler who wants to gas them?

Again, pathetic attempt to just shout down other opinions with the old racist/Nazi argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I see the apologists have seized on an analogy that could be interpreted in a sane way by sane people and used it to drag the thread away from discussion of why priest slaughtering loon bags have been able to form a hobby group in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭timmyntc

If the refugees are the biscuits in the analogy, what do you think binning the biscuits refers to?

If you know that even one of the biscuits is poisonous, its safer to bin them all so as not to kill yourself by eating a poison biscuit.
    Similarly, If you know that even one of the however many refugees trying to enter the country are going to kill innocent people, its safer to not take any into the country.

Assuming the poster means genocide is just absurd. It's leaping to massive assumptions because that's what you want to see.
    Or maybe yknow, I'm wrong and you are right - he is actually literally Adolf Hitler and he wants to rev up the gas chambers again! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

ricero wrote: »
    Europe has been ruined because of a picture of a dead child on a beach. Merkel has flooded europe with scum and lunatics
    Your curtains must be falling down with all the twitching they do.

Hang on....

Who is murdering 22 million Syrians?

links please?

For feck sake. Are you being deliberately obtuse? Read the post I responded to initially for your answer. This is the last time I am going to entertain this nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I see the apologists have seized on an analogy that could be interpreted in a sane way by sane people and used it to drag the thread away from discussion of why priest slaughtering loon bags have been able to form a hobby group in Europe.

It's obviously our fault. We should build special beheading stadiums for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Do the government of Europe not realise thety are driving people , rational people towords the right , PEGIDA , UKIP , The Front national etc... by victim blaming , trotting out the same tired lines about not all muslims and islam as a religion peace , making excuses or covering up the criminal activity of migrants and indigineous muslim commintys. the sex attacks across Germany on New years eve and the padeophile rings in Bradford and Rochchdale were in particular very disturbingly brushed over by the establishment political parties and the media.

Action is needed , rational non extreme action like reinstating proper border controls and cracking down on radical mosques and hate preachers or else we risk Europe sinking into a very dark place indeed.

For feck sake. Are you being deliberately obtuse

I'm quoting you buddy.

Who is murdering 22m Syrians?

Be honourable enough to back your statement with evidence.
    Don't act shocked is people call you out for your hysterical hyperbole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,106 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Someone needs to get Dan Brown to stop publishing books and giving folk ideas.

Once Trump is elected we will officially be in 'end of days', if ye are looking for me that day I'll be heading for the hills with a smack needle and Pink Floyd's greatest hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

He didn't condone genocide. He used an analogy of a jar of cookies to respond to someone questioning what would we do with 22 million Syrians, let them rot?

Pure hyperbole bull****. Now everyone who thinks we shouldn't have to take in more refugees from that country is Hitler who wants to gas them?

Again, pathetic attempt to just shout down other opinions with the old racist/Nazi argument.

Well, once you're over your outrage, could you impart your idea of what we should have done instead?
    The choice was and is letting them rot in countries utterly unequipped to deal with any number of refugees, or letting them move on to countries who could reasonably shoulder the burden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I don't know why I click on these threads. I know that discussion is allowed but FFS a bit of decency. People are dying, and all most people care about is pushing their agenda for welcoming/refusing refugees!

RIP to the priest, and hopefully the nun recovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

On CNN they have said that about 18 months ago a man with a gun was on his way to carry out an attack on a Catholic Church in France and he accidentally shot himself before he reached the church.
    Must have been evidence where he lived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Ronald Wilson Reagan

We should be very selective in who gets in, minorities such as Christians and Azeris should get first dibs. Probably sounds totally callous; but refugees should be rated by the UN in a similar manner as the IUCN rates endangered species.

Saipanne wrote: »
    It's obviously our fault. We should build special beheading stadiums for them.

So you HAVE read the legacy plan for the Euro 2016 stadium investment programme! :pac:

I'm quoting you buddy.

Who is murdering 22m Syrians?

Be honourable enough to back your statement with evidence.
    Don't act shocked is people call you out for your hysterical hyperbole.

I already gave the explanation to another poster. Feel free to read the thread again for all the information you need. I'm not going to hold you hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Samaris wrote: »
    The problem with the biscuit analogy is that you can't just "bin" a load of people and then get another packet from the store.

People are not biscuits.

No ****, sherlock.

The thing about analogies is that you don't take them literally. Similar to how you substitute biscuits with people, you can also substitute binning for, I don't know, deportation? Refusal to take them in in the first place? Or, in certain posters eyes, gas chambers and genocide.

Anyways it's a tangent from the topic of the thread and not that important.