Explosion in bar in Ansbach, Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭unseenfootage

There's still no info on why he wasn't deported back to Bulgaria who originally granted him asylum before he started to wander further west and seemingly were willing to have him back . Bit of a cock up there by the Bavarian state who are responsible for deportations from their region.

Deportation orders can drag on for years particularly in the case of someone with mental issues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Selected quotes from the link you posted:

Looks like i was wrong afterall, modern women living the life they choose. Girlpower!

Well, let's see what some Muslim women themselves say about wearing various scarves/head garments:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-life/11120588/Muslim-women-reveal-why-they-wear-the-veil-burqa-school-debate.html

https://detroitinterfaithcouncil.com/2014/09/01/why-do-muslim-women-usually-wear-hijab-head-scarf/

http://edition.cnn.com/2009/US/08/12/generation.islam.hijab/

http://www.slate.com/articles/life/faithbased/2008/05/loving_and_leaving_the_head_scarf.html

http://www.csmonitor.com/World/Middle-East/2009/1213/Behind-the-veil-Why-Islam-s-most-visible-symbol-is-spreading

So it seems according to these articles, and to the women interviewed or mentioned therein, that the wearing of the hijab is completely voluntary. They admit that there are cases where women are pressured by over zealous male family members to wear it but pretty much all of the women in the above articles wear it by choice and love it for differing reasons. Some wear it for several years, then decide to not wear it if they change their minds, other go for years without wearing it and then decide at some point to adopt it for their own reasons.

But the bigots will also speak for muslims as if they know everything about their customs and that everything is negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

weisses wrote: »
    Now read that out loud in front of a mirror

School yard tactics, well done sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

I dont read French .. I know he apperantly pledged himself to ISIS but i did not see any sources saying ISIS claimed this

Well I just posted one? (French largest paper - not a random site)

"L'État islamique revendique l'attentat suicide survenu hier dans la ville bavaroise d'Ansbach, en Allemagne, annonce l'agence de presse Amaq."

ISIS claims responsibility for yesterday's suicide attack in the Bavarian town of Ansbach, Germany, says the AMAQ press agency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Deportation orders can drag on for years

Plenty of case here exactly the same many just happen to have a team of barristers , human rights lawyers and others to aid from been deported at tax payers expense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

HensVassal wrote: »
    Well, let's see what some Muslim women themselves say about wearing various scarves/head garments:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-life/11120588/Muslim-women-reveal-why-they-wear-the-veil-burqa-school-debate.html

https://detroitinterfaithcouncil.com/2014/09/01/why-do-muslim-women-usually-wear-hijab-head-scarf/

http://edition.cnn.com/2009/US/08/12/generation.islam.hijab/

http://www.slate.com/articles/life/faithbased/2008/05/loving_and_leaving_the_head_scarf.html

http://www.csmonitor.com/World/Middle-East/2009/1213/Behind-the-veil-Why-Islam-s-most-visible-symbol-is-spreading

So it seems according to these articles, and to the women interviewed or mentioned therein, that the wearing of the hijab is completely voluntary. They admit that there are cases where women are pressured by over zealous male family members to wear it but pretty much all of the women in the above articles wear it by choice and love it for differing reasons. Some wear it for several years, then decide to not wear it if they change their minds, other go for years without wearing it and then decide at some point to adopt it for their own reasons.

But the bigots will also speak for muslims as if they know everything about their customs and that everything is negative.

This really is some impressive level of wriggling, who was on about the hijab?

The ninja get up is the issue, as well you know. Frankly the opinion of the wearer is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Deportation orders can drag on for years particularly in the case of someone with mental issues.
    yea, its probably the reason as mental health care probably isnt as well funded (even just to provide translators) as in Germany

There was an issue with Roma coming to Germany for a bit of a medical holiday/ hibernation, which then was an extended holiday if they were suitably sick, so yes, health does seem to be a blocker on shifting people on.

RGDATA! wrote: »
    You quoted a statistic and said one only had to look at "any image of migrants arriving to verify this". That hardly seems like a scientific or sound way to verify a statistic like that.

Ignore my platitude so, the statistics on the matter should suffice.

Bambi wrote: »
    This really is some impressive level of wriggling, who was on about the hijab?

The ninja get up is the issue, as well you know. Frankly the opinion of the wearer is irrelevant.
    well the lad who blew himself up almost definitely wasnt a woman nor wearing a head scarf !!!!

Nor was he a halal butcher for chickens or beef, nor did he start the iraq or syrian war.

Should we expand the tangent to the participation of Bangladesh in the olympics seeing as it has a vague muslim connection ???????????

To stay in the school yard

You started it ;)

How so? I've verifiable statistics to support my opinion, you have immature taunts and childish half truths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,858 ✭✭✭weisses

Gatling wrote: »
    Expecting have you reported your self to the authorities as your civic duty replies

Nehh way to much fun blowing stuff up ... Only realizing later how lucky we were sometimes

It just shows you dont need to be a bombmaker to create something lethal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Its also a question as to how someone can build a bomb in an asylum seekers centre. I know its not a prison, but jesus there surely is some sort of security in there.

The fear of offending has takin over logic and common sense.

I don't have to peddle it, its correct :)

Nothing unusual about it, officers tend to die in larger percentages than soldiers

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-25776836

http://www.express.co.uk/news/world-war-1/458751/Death-of-our-best-and-brightest-Eton-Rifles-may-have-been-built-for-slaughter

"Some 12% of the British army's ordinary soldiers were killed during the war, compared with 17% of its officers. Eton alone lost more than 1,000 former pupils - 20% of those who served."

What an utterly shite example of infantile statistics.

So a brigade of say 200 led by a captain and a lieutenant go "over the op" at the Somme and are subsequently mown down by machine gun fire so that Captain Smithers and Lieutenant Walters-Smythe are killed alongside 50 privates and corporals. The rest of the unit make it back to the trenches many badly wounded.

According to your cretinous stats, 100% of the officer class was killed but only 25% of the lower level conscripts or enlisted. Please. :rolleyes:

Are you including muslim men in that attempt to spread a net so wide that you have a leg to stand on?

No I'm not. I'm talking about Muslim women. Maybe you're trying to be cutesy.

I assume you're writing that post in the same country as I am, where the majority of the people have previously rejected the right to access divorce. I'm not even 30 and that happened the year I was born.

40% of Irish voters once voted to impede women from accessing information on abortions, and a similar amount voted to impede women from leaving the country to access abortion.

i don't know how many of those voters were women, but I have no doubt a substantial number of them were. God knows what they were thinking, but they certainly weren't behaving in favour of their own liberty, and I have little hesitation in saying the same thing about well-educated Muslim women.

Many people in conservative societies are their own jailors, that is a well-established phenomenon.

We shouldn't ban Islamic hijab, but we have every reason to object to it on civil liberties grounds, especially for the sake of those women who claim to be content with that ridiculous get-up which covers their entire face.

How so? I've verifiable statistics to support my opinion, you have immature taunts and childish half truths.

Of course I am the one with the half thruths

Remember who was the person spouting this crap below ?
    They're all imbeciles.. Yes, every last one of them. Being black is not a choice, being gay is not a choice, to prejudge people on these traits is indeed bigotry, but yet being Muslim is a choice (apart from those beautifully civilised nations where apothasy is punishable by death). So to believe in the teachings of a murderous tyrant, to believe he and only he has a monopoly on the afterlife, to believe in a millennia old text that by its design must never and will never be amended to include tolerance for those who do not obey, is absolutely moronic, so yes, Muslims? Eejits one and all

The fear of offending has takin over logic and common sense.
    nah, its a german thing with being very sensitive to allow asylum seekers privacy and to not make people feel like they are in a prison and all that.
    Similarily they are also ultra sensitive on data protection and its a bit of a backlash maybe to the over invasion of privacy by the east german Stasi back in the pre unification days.So it all fits into a "privacy must be respected" type of attitude.

As an example of how these centres are ran, there was Morocan lads involved in the Cologne attacks who were in Germany illegally (no claim for asylum as they knew it was pointless), but just bunked in with acquantances they met on the street in asylum centres and nobody noticed the non asylum seekers in there.

Its a pure sham some of the stuff that has happened over the past year, but I dont think 2 attacks is the beginning of a pattern of an attack every couple of days or anything.

Venom wrote: »
    Nothing as their harmless twats.

When Goths start blowing up pubs, running over people in trucks, stabing women and girls over how their dressed, killing gay people in nightclubs and shooting people in shopping centres we can look into the serious Goth problem in the west.

But we're not talking about what people do. We're talking about what they wear. The poster that I responded to wants to prohibit people from wearing what they want because he doesn't like it. Instead he wants to deport them back to some country where thay can "live a 14th century lifestyle".

What an utterly shite example of infantile statistics.

So a brigade of say 200 led by a captain and a lieutenant go "over the op" at the Somme and are subsequently mown down by machine gun fire so that Captain Smithers and Lieutenant Walters-Smythe are killed alongside 50 privates and corporals. The rest of the unit make it back to the trenches many badly wounded.

According to your cretinous stats, 100% of the officer class was killed but only 25% of the lower level conscripts or enlisted. Please. :rolleyes:

You might want make sure that you understand there's massive difference in the population size of the english upper class when compared to the working class, so yes stastically one officer from oxbridge is statistically more significant to the upper class percentage than 50 privates from the great unwashed. That's how percentages work.
    Otherwise you'll just look silly :o

Of course I am the one with the half thruths

Remember who was the person spouting this crap below ?

I stand by everything I said, it's your choice to believe in sky people and fairies, I won't condemn you for this but as I live in the free world I have every right to question your logic.
    Y
    I too can delve into a poster's history to try and discredit them, for instance, did you not state on another thread that the death penalty should be reintroduced to Ireland for cases of animal cruelty?

I love animals as much as the next man but I'm no fan of eye for an eye type justice, you are

Bob24 wrote: »
    Well I just posted one? (French largest paper - not a random site)

"L'État islamique revendique l'attentat suicide survenu hier dans la ville bavaroise d'Ansbach, en Allemagne, annonce l'agence de presse Amaq."

ISIS claims responsibility for yesterday's suicide attack in the Bavarian town of Ansbach, Germany, says the AMAQ press agency.

I did not say it was just some random site ... I did however not see and still don't see any other sources stating this

I stand by everything I said, it's your choice to believe in sky people and fairies, I won't condemn you for this but as I live in the free world I have every right to question your logic

Of course you do, I did not expect anything else from you and your ilk... But saying saying the below things to other people
    I'm not wasting any further time with someone who is obviously so entrenched in their opinion they won't be swayed by, I don't know, verifiable facts and figures.

Is just Hilarious man .... Please stop it you are embarrassing yourself

But please Continue to question my logic .... whatever that logic might be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

I did not say it was just some random site ... I did however not see and still don't see any other sources stating this

The Guardian have just mentionned it on their live feed.

Same as usual - official press release from the ISIS "news agency". Usually they don't lie about these as they want to preserve their credibility - and only claim when they are sure it is ISIS motivated.

Of course you do... But saying saying the below things to other people

Is just Hilarious man .... Please stop it you are embarrassing yourself

But please Continue to question my logic .... whatever that logic might be

Someone posted fabricated statistics attributed to the UN, I discredited this by posting a direct quote from a UN representative.

I feel embarrassed alright, embarrassed for those who are on the wrong side of the facts and can't or won't admit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I believe it had very little to do with it, would seem very strange to me that God very conveniently told him to invade Iraq ahead of anywhere else in the Muslim world.

I try to listen to as little 'news' from religious outlets of whatever persuasion as possible.

Also the bible is not the unchanging and final word of God, Judaism and Christianity have both thankfully gone through reformations that Islam has not and needs to.

I'd agree with Maajid Nawaz when he talks about the west's liberals and their 'bigotry of low expectations' of people from the Muslim world. People such as he are who the west's 'liberals' should be supporting but the fact is they're being ignored.

I find it hard to believe that God told a guy to blow up a restaurant over all the other possible targets. Maybe sometimes people just take the options they can. Just like Bush did.

The bible is the final unchanging word of god. I have't seen any updates in the last two thousand years. Interpretations change but that's the same in any religion. There's a huge amount of variation in the islamic world. You might not be aware but there's no central authority. Different Muslims grow up with different sects which have a huge range of social and theological thought.

Grayson wrote: »
    I find it hard to believe that God told a guy to blow up a restaurant over all the other possible targets. Maybe sometimes people just take the options they can. Just like Bush did.

The bible is the final unchanging word of god. I have't seen any updates in the last two thousand years. Interpretations change but that's the same in any religion. There's a huge amount of variation in the islamic world. You might not be aware but there's no central authority. Different Muslims grow up with different sects which have a huge range of social and theological thought.

Who told you the bible is the unchanging word of god? :confused:

Someone posted fabricated statistics attributed to the UN, I discredited this by posting a direct quote from a UN representative.

I feel embarrassed alright, embarrassed for those who are on the wrong side of the facts and can't or won't admit it.

Please stop quoting from "sources" when according to you ALL Muslims are imbeciles ejits and Morons ... You lost all credibility a long time ago bud ... It is embarrassing yes

Again with the blatant ignorance to statistics and verified facts.

**Slow clap**

If you're going to quote me quote the entire post, I believe anyone who believes in Gods, deities, and the hereafter is an illogical eejit, disagree if you wish, this is only my opinion, but to ignore the facts of the matter we're discussing is indeed embarrassing for you not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

your over the top faux-outrage is worse than him thinking people are stupid for believing religion in this day and age, hardly a wacky statement, and on boards.ie in catholic bashing ireland...

Again with the blatant ignorance to statistics and verified facts.

**Slow clap**

If you're going to quote me quote the entire post, I believe anyone who believes in Gods, deities, and the hereafter as illogical eejits, disagree if you wish, this is only my opinion, but to ignore the facts of the matter is embarrassing for you not me.

I did Quote it completely earlier

Second time I just posted the important bits and left out the incoherent waffle