Things they banned while you were in school/work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Sure they always turned a blind eye to smoking when I was in school, long as you didn't do it in front of the main building or the headmasters face. Long as we were round the side of the buildings or off school grounds even in uniform we never heard anything about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

razorblunt wrote: »
    Well there's nobody that can scold you like you can scold yourself.

Scalding is a different matter! :D;)

Well done, I was wondering who would be the first to notice that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Clondalphian

For a while our school banned 2 litre bottles of water. A local shop had a special offer on them(2 litre bottle for 1 euro or something like that) but our principal decided that guys carrying bottles of water didn't look great. Never banned coke(of any size bottle) though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

When I lived in the states our office had a sign on the door advising employees that they could not take their guns to work. Just in case like!

http://s3.amazonaws.com/media.eremedia.com/uploads/2013/08/15175126/firearm-signs-industrial-43255bbvplyalu-ba1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

American football, Aussie Rules and Rugby were not allowed to be played on the grass.. So we played it on the tarmac. There's always a loophole, in this case it let to stitches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Fist-bumping. Because someone managed to break a finger in the act!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

mansize wrote: »
    I remember as well there was a line across the yard the junior classes couldnt cross- It was treated like the Berlin Wall - some mad young lad would make a dash for it, only for it all to end in tears

We had the exact same in my school. It was like a rite of passage that all must make. Run into the older boys territory, touch the far wall then make it back.

The older lads always got you. They we organised as well. Used to patrol in groups of 2 or 3 like the outside perimeter of a gulag.

Good times.

Anyway, for my one.

Footballs were banned in the yard long before I was there, so we used to all play football with tennis balls instead. There were usually several matches going on in different areas of the yard. Looking back it probably did wonders to develop our technique.
    One day a tennis ball rolled towards the teacher on yard duty, she went to kick it and, not blessed with the Maradona like skillz that I possessed, twister her ankle and fell on her hoop.
    She happened to be the headmasters wife. Tennis balls were banned the next day and my football skills went down hill. Probably the very reason I'm not at Real Madrid now,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

Corkgirl18 wrote: »
    I also have some weird memory of Sunny Delight being banned. Not sure if I'm making that up though..

it turned you yellow... a kid in my irish college drank so much of it over the three weeks his face looked jaundiced

things that were banned in my all girls catholic priomary and secondary school

deodorant- coz a girl had asthma
    nutella and nuts- for the allergys
    popcorn- the cleaners hated it
    lighters and spray bottle- because making fireballs was awesome
    hickies- no amount of make up will cover them, you were sent home
    smoking in uniform
    boyfriends picking you up after school
    tampons (coz then you wouldnt be a virgin anymore)
    sex ed
    religious education other then God is great Catholicism
    doing cocaine on weekend
    latin (do home ec its much more useful)
    running in the playground
    having a playground (they turned it into a teachers car park when i was in 5th class)
    heals higher than 2 inches
    coloured socks
    nail polish
    jewellery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,057 ✭✭✭✭josip

nullzero wrote: »
    There was a game we called IRA in primary school (80's) where one kid was given a word(info) to keep secret, then the other kids would knock the living sh1t out of them until they spilled their guts and gave up the word, for some reason it ended up banned.

Our one was called Don Tidey.
    Got banned one day after one of the kids didn't return from break.
    A search by the teachers found 'Don' gagged and tied to a tree in the woods at the back of the school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 problemnext

Principal used to come on the intercom on snow days and inform us that anyone who threw a snowball would be immediately expelled. Walked into the yard ten minutes later and got pegged by about 20 snowballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

In primary school:

Going helping with the silage - Farmer in the fields behind the school getting the last cut in September, being a nice day, a bunch of the bigger boys decided "Feck this, we're helping with the silage" and went and hopped the fence, and off into the field, and ignored the teacher shouting at them. They ended up missing the bus home, and their parents had to be called.

In secondary school:

In 4th year, football for some reason. We weren't allowed to play football at lunch, or before school started, or after it ended when we were waiting for the bus. The school team in the league went from being ****, to really ****. So we did what any normal school did, try to start a firm. That was also banned.

Elastic bands. Use to make pingers. Which went from being folded bits of paper, to having tape wrapped around them, to having paperclips inside them, to having thumbtacks in the end, while the elastic bands went from being cheap stationary items to industrial rubber.

Plastic bottles. When the pingers were banned, they were upgraded to poppers. The tops of plastic bottles with either a finger of a glove or balloon taped to the end, into which you put a BB, stone, snail, gob of chewed up paper, whatever, and fired at people. These were really vicious.

Those promo CocaCola yoyos. We had them come into the school and all, and a week later, banned. Why? Not because Nigel almost hung himself. Not because they were being used as weapons. Because the vice principal was a cúnt, and couldn't manage to nail Walking the Dog. It may have been the other 2 though.

The vending machines. They lasted less than a year. From putting thumb tacks into the dispensing tray, so that when you picked your drink, and it fell, it would immediately spray everywhere, to jamming the coin slots with paper, glue, whatever. Don't think the school could keep them right for a week.

That's all that I can think of at the moment, no doubt there was more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,680 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Red Pen

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,680 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Wish that was here in my school. You are forced to wear black socks in my school.

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Stasi 2.0

Grandeeod wrote: »
    banned while I was in National school.

Homosexuality.

Surely any kind of sexuality isn't something one wants to be happening in primary school :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Alcohol
    Work as captain of an offshore vessel,we have 0 limit on alcohol and have regular check ups from a nurse,unannounced.
    Before we had the 8 hour limit,where you could atleast enjoy a few,and keep it within the margins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭childsplay

At primary school we had this colonnade with benches along it. We used to play a game called squash. The aim was to squeeze as many people as possible on the bench. It got banned when people started fainting.... Wimps ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

A friend of mine told me that the headmaster in his primary school was a priest and used to ban anything and everything. He got sent home from school once because he was wearing a Zig&Zag tracksuit when he was 9.

do you mean a zigzag tracksuit or an actual tracksuit for zig and zag??? If its the latter I never knew they had zig and zag merchandise to that extent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Laxatives and going to the post office were both banned while I was in secondary school.

The laxatives because some unknown soldier managed to get into the staff room and lace the burco . He was actually caught with his parents agreeing to enroll him in a new school the following year.

The "post office " ban was because some headbanger ran into it one afternoon with his school tie wrapped round his head shouting "this is a stick up".

Man , everyone felt sorry for him.. everyone had a go of him Gardai , local priest , his parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

We moved schools while ours was being redone. So the school we were left with was 20 minutes away and we got a bus.
    About a month in, getting on the bus unsupervised was not allowed because someone decided he'd rather not go in today so he took off running down the road.
    Small chubby fella ran about 5 km down the road only stopped when Gardai Cornered him by setting up a road block on a small country road and by following down behind him.

Putting on seatbelts was also banned because people in the seat behind would grab it and pull with their legs pressing against the seat basically pinning the person to the seat unable to breath for a few seconds.

Tyres were another thing banned. The old school was used as a dumping ground for tractor tyres so the students decided to make use of them.
    The playground was covered in rabbit holes and it was sloping down to a wall at the end. Some brave soul got in the Tyre and others ran and pushed him down the hill, the people pushing nearly broke their ankles in the rabbit holes and the person in the tyre recreated a car crash by hitting off the wall at the end while in the tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭HiJacques

Office beers on the last Friday of the month. Cans of beer would appear about 3pm, there'd be awards for stuff then back to work for another few hours slightly buzzed. I moved abroad in the mid-noughties when I came back a few years later it had gone the way of smoking in the office. If you hadn't seen it you wouldn't believe it was ever allowed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

In secondary school they wouldn't allow us have a soccer team "as it was a foreign sport",within a fortnight they had a school rugby team (vice principal played the game)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭childsplay

zerks wrote:
    In secondary school they wouldn't allow us have a soccer team "as it was a foreign sport",within a fortnight they had a school rugby team (vice principal played the game)

My husbands school was the same! Place had 6 or 7 Gaa fields but no room for soccer as it was a foreign game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

When I in school they decided to make the halls a one-way system, disastrous. Fancy signs on the walls and floors. Teachers, staff would abuse it, some teachers didn't care what direction you were walking, some would. Most halls had lockers so that plan wasn't thought out well at all.

Worst was going literally next door one teacher made us do a lap of the school in instead of a 5 second walk.....The rule was eventually dropped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

We also had one of those Berlin Wall style white lines in CBS Primary in Limerick which separated the 2nd-4th class students from the 5th and 6th class students.

WWF Wrestling was all the craze back in the early 90's there. We used to have wrestling fights in the yard until I gave my classmate an Undertaker style tombstone piledriver in the yard. He got a concussion and I got a horrendous bollicking from the headmaster. There was no more wrestling after that :(

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

In primary school cereal bars were banned as were grass fights that used take place during the fine weather in June.
    My secondary school was fairly okay regarding stuff being banned once we didn't kill one another. The principals main concerns were you wore black shoes and wore you tie some way presentable he also had a thing about people wearing hoodies/tops around the school as did the vice principal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Wheelchairs. Unless you actually needed it. There was a room in our school for the wheelchair users, and a little closet full of 6/7 wheelchairs. You'd go in on break and grab a wheelchair and bash into each other and do races etc. There obviously wasn't enough wheelchairs to go around so some people would borrow more from people who actually needed them, and just leave them on the floor. In fairness they all thought it was hilarious.

Oh God does anyone remember those 'funny message' post it notes? They sold them in the gadget shop in dundrum I think. Anyway, during night study we put some on teachers desks. They said things like 'i think I left my underwear in your car last night ;) or I know you're cheating on your wife... Jesus :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

In secondary school - long hair (all boys school)
    Denim and leather jackets
    Tippex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Kick the can. All the classrooms in the school would be locked and the corridors were pretty narrow. After lunch you'd have 100 or so lads lining a corridor, bored and waiting for the teacher. We'd put the can down in the middle of the hall and any poor unfortunate who touched it got the ****e kicked out of them down the hall.

Also, rafters. Our common Hall had exposed steel rafters on the roof. The older lads would stand on a table, jump up and grab them and have gladiator style kicking matches until someone fell off. Banned after one chap fell and broke his arm and several teeth. Good craic all round.