Billionaire slags people off for wearing primark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Allyall wrote: »
    Where is his wealth coming from?

Wikipedia has him at €150 million. Sorry, but the F**king Boomtown Rats???
    Nope.
    Not even if they paid 100% Royalties on the Radio.
    Don't lecture to me You sack of crap.

I'm angry today :p

He would have indirectly made a tonne of dosh off LiveAid. It opened a lot of doors for him in the years that followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

He would have indirectly made a tonne of dosh off LiveAid. It opened a lot of doors for him.

How?
    (Not at you)
    Was that not for charity?
    Or did he take a lot of the money that was donated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

He went ranting on Twitter about it afterwards.

I know he's had very tough couple of years and feel sorry for him but he can't start berating people who paid a substantial ticket price to watch him perform. Seriously grow up Bob it's not the 70s anymore.

And you were always too posh to be a real punk anyways.
    What's his Twitter name? I can't find him. Could you post his tweets here what he said about today?

He went ranting on Twitter about it afterwards.

I know he's had very tough couple of years and feel sorry for him but he can't start berating people who paid a substantial ticket price to watch him perform. Seriously grow up Bob it's not the 70s anymore.

And you were always too posh to be a real punk anyways.
    What's his Twitter name? I can't find him. Could you post his tweets here what he said about today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

"Tell me why, I don't like Sir Bob"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

where else could you buy 7 t-shirts for €21 before going on holidays and just throw them away after youve worn them???

Bob your nearly as big a wanker as Bono and no one really cares what you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,304 ✭✭✭54and56

It's a storm in a tea cup. I'm not a Geldof fan boy but he's old school and whilst his Primark comment is being widely interpreted as a slight on working class people it could just as easily have been a simple (if tactless) comment on the fact that he wishes concert goers still dressed in a highly individual manner a la the 1970's and 1980's rather than the homogenised disposable fashion of today as represented (in his mind at least) by Primark.

Of course it may also have been some sort of statement about how we shouldn't be buying clothes which are made by child labour employing sweatshops.

Either way his comments whether misinterpreted or not do not out weigh the fact he got off his arse back in the day and made the biggest ever famine relief charity event happen which saved thousands of lives.

Why let a bit of perspective or truth get in the way of slating the "Billionaire"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,082 ✭✭✭✭unkel

When did he become a Billionaire?

He's a very successful artist, having sold hundreds of millions of records. That made him a billionaire, but most of his money went to pay his Irish taxes and to philanthropy*

*These 5 statements are all false

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How?
    (Not at you)
    Was that not for charity?
    Or did he take a lot of the money that was donated?

No he didn't do anything of the sort. The point I'm making is that LiveAid would have opened plenty of doors for him in his career going forward and provided him with opportunities to amass wealth.

It's a storm in a tea cup. I'm not a Geldof fan boy but he's old school and whilst his Primark comment is being widely interpreted as a slight on working class people it could just as easily have been a simple (if tactless) comment on the fact that he wishes concert goers still dressed in a highly individual manner a la the 1970's and 1980's rather than the homogenised disposable fashion of today as represented (in his mind at least) by Primark.

Of course it may also have been some sort of statement about how we shouldn't be buying clothes which are made by child labour employing sweatshops.

Either way his comments whether misinterpreted or not do not out weigh the fact he got off his arse back in the day and made the biggest ever famine relief charity event happen which saved thousands of lives.

Why let a bit of perspective or truth get in the way of slating the "Billionaire"?

Or he could have been in the best place in the world to be, at the right time, and met the right people.

I get that what he he was involved in and took credit for, is excellent. But He shouldn't be telling people on any level how or why they should wear clothes from a store.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

Nope.

he's a very astute businessman is our Bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

'Yeah, we're Irish, we're still in Europe'

He is Irish when he wants to be that lad! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Smondie wrote: »
    The usual gob****e, who is always telling us to 'give the ****ing money' to his little pet causes has slagged people off at his concert earlier for wearing Pennys clothes. People left the concert in thier droves.

What an obnoxious moron, it's time we dis owned him.

Bob, take a walk

typical Irish begrudgers - Geldof has done more for the world than 99.99% of people - his little pet cause was to help famine victims in Africa who were dying - may have been of the mark here , but it was tongue in cheek.

The Rats were a great Irish band that transformed Irish music and society - Geldof is a legend , but no billionaire

Midge Ure. FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Complaining his audience aren't "rock and roll"? When exactly was he ever 'rock and roll' to begin with?
    Where is his protest music for instance? F**k knows he could have written some the last few decades the way things went. The man is about as rock and roll as a salad sandwich.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

G'wan Bob ye mad baxtard!

Or he could have been in the best place in the world to be, at the right time, and met the right people.

I get that what he he was involved in and took credit for, is excellent. But He shouldn't be telling people on any level how or why they should wear clothes from a store.
    He made sure midge ure got as little credit as possible for ban aid or do they know it's Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He got Brexit over the line with his intervention on the river

Why not? It's a free country. If people don't like what he's done in the past or what he says don't go to his concerts, buy his CDs or support any of the businesses he invested in over the years including the original Chris Evans C4 breakfast show production company which IIRC made him a lot of money.

buried wrote: »
    The man is about as rock and roll as a salad sandwich.

he is a Rock legend who transformed Irish music - compared to some of the supposed Superstar rubbish today who are the real salad sandwiches.

Nope.
    Not even if they paid 100% Royalties on the Radio.
    Don't lecture to me You sack of crap.

I'm angry today :p

Think he got £40 mill from sale of the holiday website deckchair. All on the back of "give us your ****ing money" speech

Why not? It's a free country. If people don't like what he's done in the past or what he says don't go to his concerts, buy his CDs or support any of the businesses he invested in over the years including the original Chris Evans C4 breakfast show production company which IIRC made him a lot of money.

thebaz wrote: »
    he is a Rock legend who transformed Irish music - compared to some of the supposed Superstar rubbish today who are the real salad sandwiches.

Ha, will ya feck right off with that shoite

Smondie wrote: »
    He made sure midge ure got as little credit as possible for ban aid or do they know it's Christmas.

I am very much aware of that.

I'm also aware that Midge Ure did more for that campaign and song than Bob Geldof could've ever attempted.
    BG was just in the right place at the right time, and was extremely lucky that Midge Ure was more about the cause than the personal profit.

A lot of people that know him seem to turn to heroin. I wonder why. He'd would have been better off looking after his family and forget about saving all the africans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

thebaz wrote: »

You'll have to enlighten me further with that statement. When and where did this happen?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Everyone will buy Primark/Pennys for his future concerts now.

He will become a billionaire via promoting brands....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

One hit wonder knobend.

We're all idiots for paying attention to him.

vicwatson wrote: »
    Ha, will ya feck right off with that shoite

**** right off - the man is a legend - done more than anyone in Ireland - good riddance children