Things they banned while you were in school/work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

mzungu wrote: »
    Never heard of that one. Just as well, sounds dangerous.

This is it:

Don't try this at home, kids. It's really not cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

RayM wrote: »
    Does anyone remember that game where you'd deliberately hyperventilate and then your friends would press your chest until you pass out? And then they'd catch you (unless they didn't, in which case you'd split your head open off the edge of a radiator).

They banned that in primary school, the miserable fuckers.

10 breaths...take 9 deep ones, then take the tenth, hold it, they'd push on your chest, euphoria sets in and then wallop, you wake up with your head planted on the pavement because the dopey bastards catching you went left as you were falling to the right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

There were these white lines in my primary school yard that werent to be crossed. If you did you went to 'The Box' for the rest of the play time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Does anyone remember that game where you'd deliberately hyperventilate and then your friends would press your chest until you pass out? And then they'd catch you (unless they didn't, in which case you'd split your head open off the edge of a radiator).

They banned that in primary school, the miserable fuckers.

It was called The American Dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

There were these white lines in my primary school yard that werent to be crossed. If you did you went to 'The Box' for the rest of the play time

Is that how Keith Duffy found his contestants? :eek:

Pokemon cards.

Lol remember Pokemon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

1984. Had a few Asian kids start at our school in Glasgow. All of a sudden we had no more religious assembly. Was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Metal compass got banned for a week as well as myself when I was in 3rd year.

Smart arse in the class decided it would be funny to stab me in the arm one day during a engineering class.(I was the smallest by far in the class for years)

Poor **** never screamed so loud when I decided it would be fun to drive my compass through his hand and into the wooden table when he wasn't looking.

Suppose i shouldn't be too proud of what I done but people knew not to try it again after that incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

My best friend and I were caught doing the American Dream in 5th class. We were killed by the principal and what made it worse was my father and my best pals mother were both teachers in the school. I cringe when I think of it now that I'm on their side of the desk, they must have been humiliated altogether.

I let my class play British bulldog the odd time and I'm always think, jbj you're only a hairs breath from someone snotting themselves here, da **** are you at. On the flip side I think a few knocks and falls are good for kids, they are gone far too soft nowadays. Can't cope with things going against them at all these days.

it was Tipp-ex thinners that was banned at our school.

Was gonna say the same thing.

We were also banned from leaving the school grounds at lunchtime as there were a good few other schools in the area and fights would happen. Our school start and finish time changed because of fights too, we started and finished way earlier than the other schools so that we wouldn't encounter them on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭youngblood

Has anyone mentioned Wedgies.......

def banned but happened regularly

Also gettin jocked......your pants/trousers being pulled down and then either being pushed or fall down.......

Also remember those side button tracksuit bottoms...dont think we had a name for it but they would be opened very fast by 1/2 students who would then leg it....

Also, in corridor, lads (mainly lads) would grab your trouser pocket and pull till it ripped down your leg......

All these seem clothes related, was I the only school where all the lads were obsessed with trouser destruction????

Oh the craic was only ninety in our place.............

said noone ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

This is it:

Found it as well, never knew what it was called, light as a feather, stiff as a board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Facial hair. I remember the headmaster kept disposal razors in his office, if you weren't clean shaven the second day after he'd told you about it, he'd march you into the bathroom and give you a razor with no shaving cream and make you get rid of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Pogs.

And skipping ropes.

Fun in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

Went to a convent secondary school so everything was banned. If any trace of makeup at all was worn you'd be told to go to the Principals office and get a wipe.
    Necklaces were only allowed if they were a cross and chain.
    Popcorn was banned probably because its a bitch to clean up.

Anyone else remember trading stickers? Our sticker books were eventually banned.
    I also have some weird memory of Sunny Delight being banned. Not sure if I'm making that up though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

'Smigins' as the teachers would call them, chin beards basically. They were unkempt. Banned in secondary school for a short while. Writing on front of copy books, other than your name, put an end to 'person x woz ere'. ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,703 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Moved into a newly built school in 2nd year. Fully carpeted. So a strict ban on chewing gum. Expulsion if caught.
    Also everyone had to walk on the right of the corridor. If caught walking on the left you were put up against the wall and bet around the head. I always walk on the right of corridor to this day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Exiled1

Was a boarder in secondary school in early seventies. Each Tuesday morning a notice would appear on the main board for compulsory haircuts. A barber was brought in (willingly I presume) from town and you lined up for a short, back and a sides. Irony that the Dean of Boarders sported a bad comb-over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

While in secondary school I noticed a gap in the market for someone willing to take bets on soccer. It wasn't a sport that particularly interested me, but I saw that men would head into the bookies to fill out coupons trying to predict the outcomes of the weekend games. It didn't take a rocket scientist to work out that I could copy the betting sheet from the bookies, cut the odds on each game, then offer out the modified betting sheet in school to those interested in having a punt on the games taking place on Saturday and Sunday. I knew that the bookie/house wins, and that my odds were less than generous.

It was a roaring success and I was cutting out about a 25% margin each week. Even more if Manchester United were beaten. I used the profits to buy a set of golf clubs. I was on the way to saving enough money to buy a 486 PC when the principal caught wind of my illegal gambling club. I was hauled before him and his sniveling underkick and given two months detention. This didn't matter as I was keen to study further, and it didn't extend to playing for the senior hurling team. Priorities as I said to him after the leaving cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I remember when I were in year 7, we weren't supposed to leave school grounds before the end of the day, but there was a massive hole in the fence and teachers would turn a blind eye long as you didn't take the piss with it. Then a big group of kids from year 9 got themselves arrested for trying to rob home and bargain, and the fence was all sealed up the next day and being off school grounds without permission was immediate suspension.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 47 lilka

Brute Ball.... i.e. blast the football as hard as possible as close to someone else's a*se or inner thigh on a cold day...anywhere that'd hurt and leggit before they recovered to get ya back , conveniently our school was right beside a field with cows so naturally there were bonus points on offer to dip the football in a pile of cow sh*te beforehand; additional points on offer if you managed to hit them somewhere with enough boucebackability so that the ball would return to you so you'd get another crack at them...it was feckin awesome; the entire school joined in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

While in secondary school I noticed a gap in the market for someone willing to take bets on soccer. It wasn't a sport that particularly interested me, but I saw that men would head into the bookies to fill out coupons trying to predict the outcomes of the weekend games. It didn't take a rocket scientist to work out that I could copy the betting sheet from the bookies, cut the odds on each game, then offer out the modified betting sheet in school to those interested in having a punt on the games taking place on Saturday and Sunday. I knew that the bookie/house wins, and that my odds were less than generous.

It was a roaring success and I was cutting out about a 25% margin each week. Even more if Manchester United were beaten. I used the profits to buy a set of golf clubs. I was on the way to saving enough money to buy a 486 PC when the principal caught wind of my illegal gambling club. I was hauled before him and his sniveling underkick and given two months detention. This didn't matter as I was keen to study further, and it didn't extend to playing for the senior hurling team. Priorities as I said to him after the leaving cert.

I take it he wasn't a business teacher. Fair play to you I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I'd imagine this has been mentioned many times already, but I haven't had the chance to read the whole thread, so I'd choose corporal punishment.

Just googled it and it turns out it was banned before I started school, but was not policed in my experience anyway:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

When the age for buying cigarettes went up from 16 to 18, my secondary school finally banned smoking and done away with the designated smoking room. I'm deadly serious. You had to have a note signed from your parents to say that it was ok for you to smoke, then you'd get access to the room and be allowed to puff away to your hearts content alongside your fellow students and teachers.

Funnily enough, once they banned smoking in the school, they also banned students from doing it anywhere at all while in uniform, and if you were caught you were fined €20. Bloody hypocrites.

I went to school in the UK and you could be suspended for smoking in uniform. You could be 16 (old enough to smoke legally at the time), and miles away from the school, but if someone spotted you and grassed, you'd be suspended.

5th years (15/16 year olds) were allowed leave the premises to go 'up town' at lunchtime, if we had a permission letter from our parents, but we were banned from buying food in a cafe/chipper/shop etc. Absolutely retarded rule imo. We HAD to eat our school dinner first before we were allowed out, and if we were spotted in a cafe, we would be banned from going out for a week.

Platform shoes, like the ones the Spice Girls wore (heeey, it was the mid 90s.... Twas the schtyle at the time!!) were banned after some girl fell off hers and broke her ankle.
    Thing was, it happened late on a Friday night in a park after she'd necked 2litres of cheap cider. Nothing at all to do with school, yet they still banned the platforms. If the b1tch was sitting down sober in maths class, it probably wouldn't have happened......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

Trees, they banned trees in my national school. We used to have 'wars' which basically meant we had 2 teams with sticks run at each other full tilt across the pitch and flake each other with sticks. That went on for years until one lad jumped out a tree and punctured his kidney on a branch so the trees were all cut down over the Easter break.
    Oh and wire cutters but that's another story..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Padster90s

The Vics vaper inhalers were banned in our primary school. It had become a bit of an addiction epidemic though at one stage. We used to trade sweets for a go with one. Some kids traded those milk cartons we all got for a go, if you traded a milk carton you got an extra go!
    Anything to do with fish for lunch was banned at work. A new fella microwaved fish every second day on his first week. The following Monday there were signs everywhere saying any type of fish was no longer allowed. Nearly everyone was happy with that ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I used to work in place where they banned bringing coffee out of the canteen.
    It happened because some ballbag scolded themselves outside whilst having a cigarette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Your Face wrote: »
    I used to work in place where they banned bringing coffee out of the canteen.
    It happened because some ballbag scolded themselves outside whilst having a cigarette.

Well there's nobody that can scold you like you can scold yourself.

Scalding is a different matter! :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

School:

* We had a grass area that people used to play Bulldog, we were only in 2nd class for two weeks and it got banned after some fella got turned inside out by a swinging forearm clothesline

* This progressed to not being allowed onto the grass at all

* No football in the yard in 3rd class, this was navigated by kids using the water run off holes in the wall as "goals" and made a game where you kick corks into it for various points based on the distance

* That cork game progressed to penalties where the goal was widened to the size of the wall between the corks, this game lasted for years and leagues were setup and everything, the best cork you could get would be a Country Spring white one with the brown lucozade inside it. Failing that a brown Robinsons one with a 25p bottle cork inside it, these would great for "curling" your shots

In secondary school then they banned brown shoes, pretty strange really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Patrick_Swayze

Someone in my year had a nut allergy so Nutella was banned from our school, a consequential witch hunt ensued I can confirm