Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

tang1 wrote: »
    He's the Whitey Bulger of Boards!!!

Piper Chapman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Junior Soprano ?? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Yesterday: plan called for 4/5 miles easy double. Was wrecked after a day's meetings so decided I'd lie down to get a hours kip after work, didn't get up till 5am today!!! No run.

Today: had an early breakfast out on a terrace overlooking the harbour just as the sun was coming up, was really spectacular. Today the plan called for 3 mile wu/cd with 5 x 5 mins @ 6.20 pace off 3 mins recovery.

Did this on the same route as I ran on Sunday, and again the weather was great, crisp and sunny with little to no wind. The knee is hopefully on the mend, I think the pain was been caused by tight quads, the muscle just over the knee was rigid and very sore when pressed, spent ages rolling and icing it and it was much better today, still not 100% but hopefully getting there.

Found the reps today ok, was tiring for the last bit on them all and the last rep was a bit of a struggle.

Rep Paces:

Packing up and heading off again tonight.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Cool, good man. Great to see you back so now you can pick me up:

https://starbuckscitymugs.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/auckland-and-new-zealand-de.jpg

xx

Today: plan called for 4/5 mile easy double. Flew from Auckland to Singapore on an overnighter, the 10.5 hour flight ended up being 11.5 coz of strong head winds. Today's a public holiday in Singapore so the airport and roads were quiet. Staying in a decent hotel near Marina Bay and after a quick check in and a light breakfast I got the gear on and headed out for some easy miles.

A warm up here consists of stepping outside and the blast of humid air soon has you sweating. I ran around the Garden by the Bay and then the marina twice, it was very nice apart from having to run on concrete slabs, fat lads like running on concrete slabs about as much as French unions like the thought of a longer working week! I'd forgotten how clean, efficient, and modern Singapore is, the place is spotless. The humidity was starting to get to me after a couple of miles and I was gasping for a drink, got caught in a torrential downpour that had rivers of water running along the paths and made it a bit more bearable.

7.5 miles easy @ 8.29

Got a chance to get out again this afternoon headed off in the same route but had to cut it short. Without the rain running in this humidity is unbearable, I was sweating buckets and had to stop two or three times to catch my breath. Felt like I was gonna pass out. Don't think I'll run outside tomorrow as that was one of the hardest 5 miles I've run. How the hell do people live here!!

5 miles @ 9.38

Total for the day 12.5

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭aero2k

I'm loving the continuing travel reports! If you're in Singapore again the Botanic gardens is a nice place to run if you don't mind some loops and hills - they have wonderful, spotless toilet facilities. It's just as hot and humid as elsewhere but at least that feels normal as you are running in a tropical rainforest - one of only two in the world within city limits.

Do you keep track of your air miles?

Today: plan called for 4/6 mile easy double.

Woke up this morning with severe hangover like disorientation. Head and body all over the place. Had meetings all day and as the first one was only 5 mins away I walked. In hindsight that was a stupid idea as by the time I got to my meeting I was soaked through and would have been 5 star accommodation for a colony of Zika carrying mosquitos! There wasn't exactly a rush to sit beside me.

Was been taken out for dinner this evening so I'd only about 70 mins free to get any run done after work. I'd usually never take the treadmill option when I can run outside but after the mental and physical shock of yesterday's foray into the furnace I decided to make an exception. Hit the hotel gym that was on the 35th floor with views over the harbour and I passed the time watching the ships come and go. Happy enough to get 7.5 miles done with the last few at 8 min pace.

This evening I was brought to Raffles hotel and had a Singapore sling (mocktail) in the Long Bar (pretty overrated TBH) before having an Indian buffet in the hotels Tiffon Room restaurant. The food tonight was all from the Rajasthani district and for a bogger that's used to "hot & brown" cuisine and plenty of it, this was somewhat of an exotic experience. Enjoyed it but I was burping up spicy repeaters that were fogging up the gym window later.

Got back to the hotel and given that I'm shipping home tomorrow and I'll get nothing done I decided to get a few more miles done as the gym has 24/7 access. Found this more of a slog as it was too dark to see the harbour and the Indian food was making its presence felt.

Busy day so happy to get 12.5 miles done today.

I've to come back here in August but unless it snows I won't be running outside!

TbL

aero2k wrote: »
    I'm loving the continuing travel reports! If you're in Singapore again the Botanic gardens is a nice place to run if you don't mind some loops and hills - they have wonderful, spotless toilet facilities. It's just as hot and humid as elsewhere but at least that feels normal as you are running in a tropical rainforest - one of only two in the world within city limits.

Do you keep track of your air miles?

Tnx Aero. I'll be back in August so if I decide to brave the elements I'll give that place a go.

Don't usually bother with air miles apart from one carrier.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Don't usually bother with air miles

Whaaaaaaat :eek: ?

Yesterday: plan called for 2m wu/cd followed by 8 x 75 seconds hills off 2-3 mins recovery.

Due to travelling all day and half the night I got nutin (as UM would say) done!

Today: plan was for some easy miles but I decided to do yesterday's session instead. Not very summer like weather in the West today and it was very windy. Found a decent steep hill near the house and after the warm up I got started. I used to like trundling over hills but I really don't like these sessions. I didn't bother timing the reps but I doubt I got the full 75 seconds in but the hill was steep, my belly was within touching distance of tar on one part of it!! Was also kind to myself on the recoveries as I took the full walk back and needed it all. Faded badly on the last few reps and I felt like I was going backwards but at least I finished the session.

7 miles for the day.

TbL

Today: plan called for 12 miles easy. Due to family stuff I only had an hour to run. Got 7 miles done @ 8.14.

Another disappointing week, have decided to pick San Sebastián as my sub 3 attempt on 27th November.

Gonna try and pick up a PB or two over the shorter distances over the next few weeks before starting a marathon specific cycle.

49 miles for the week

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,793 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Decent mileage for the week you had, fair play. Good to have a marathon to focus on too. All the best with the next phase.

Today: plan called for 4/5 mile easy double. More travel for the early part of the week but of the short haul variety, travelled to London today. I'm really hoping the travel eases off in August & September as its starting to get very tiring and eating into family time not to mention impacting my training.

No way to get a double done today so once I got to the hotel this evening I decided to head out and try and get a minimum of 6 miles done. Dreary auld evening for a run with scatterings of drizzle.

I'm staying in Nutfield near Gatwick and ran through Nutfield, Bletchingly and Godstone villages on narrow and sometimes cut up paths with the cars zipping by. Fairly uninspiring run and I'd forgotten that it gets dark earlier over here so I finished up with 9 miles @ 8.37 in fading light. Happy to have the miles banked though!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Any chance you would go back to the weekly table format? It is much easier for us compare plan v actual in that format :)

Tuesday:plan called for 20 mins easy with strides. Had a really crappy day at work yesterday that resulted in me having to stay another night in Nutfield. Was really pissed off and just lay on the hotel bed, festering away like an open sore on a baboons hole! Just before the hotel gym closed I got up off my ass and got 2.5 miles easy done, with no strides but a nice string of fcuks.

Yesterday: the plan called for me to race the Kinnegad 5k. Coz I didn't get home on Tuesday I'd to rearrange my flights and fly into Dublin even though my car was in Shannon!
    I arrived at Gatwick to catch the Ryanair FR123 to Dublin that was scheduled to depart at 14.50. We got called for boarding nice and early, the usual Ryanair efficiency, but from there it all went pear shaped. Without any reason we were told to reassemble in an hour, then there was a gate change and then we had to wait for check in staff! Went through boarding process around 15.30 and at this stage I reckoned I'd have to suck up the cost of a taxi from the airport to Kinnegad if I was going to make it but so be it. We were then informed that the inbound flight hadn't landed and it was 16.20 approximately before we actually started boarding. I still reckoned I'd a chance to make the 20.00 start but that was dashed as the plane engaged in the travel equivalent of delayed passenger water boarding as it inched slowly towards the congested runway. ****ity fcuk I knew I wasn't going to make it when we were still on the ground at 17.10. Decided I'd buy a big bag of malteasers and forget about running.

Was annoyed though and started to think of options, put an SOS into Ecoli to see if he was around to pace me for a quickish 5k anywhere in the greater Dublin area. Talking about top quality service, he was up for it and we agreed to meet up near UCD. Quick warm up and we hit the faster stuff. I'd hoped to run three miles in 6.10 average pace but couldn't manage it, was getting stomach cramps (shouldn't have had those Malteasers :)) from early on. Was gonna quit after 2 miles but ground it out, and I'd a little malteaser puke at the end! Little disappointed with the pace (especially after my 5 x 5 mins session last week) but I'll bank the session and move on, still have about 19 weeks to SS so it's early days.

Splits:

6.10, 6.20 & 6.20

Ended up having to get a taxi from Dublin to Shannon airport to pick up my car and then drive home to Connemara.

Was it worth it.

Course it was, Tnx L.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Ended up having to get a taxi from Dublin to Shannon airport to pick up my car and then drive home to Connemara.

TbL

:eek::eek::eek: I'm sure one of us* would have put you up for the night

*when I say one of us, I don't mean me obviously but someone would I'm sure :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

You were obviously on a promise, only way a man would do that.........

tang1 wrote: »
    You were obviously on a promise, only way a man would do that.........

After stopping off for a quickie with a youngfella in UCD I am sure he was refreshed, full of the joys and happy to hit the long road west....his work was indeed done for the day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

FBOT01 wrote: »
    After stopping off for a quickie with a youngfella in UCD I am sure he was refreshed, full of the joys and happy to hit the long road west....his work was indeed done for the day :D

My innocence will not be stolen by the seedy side of this forum :p

That's not what Tang told me :)

TbL

That's not what Tang told me :)

TbL

Here leave my name out of it just cause AULDBOT stung you!!!

Can't remember the saying but it's something about protesting too much :p

If you truely are innocent then we take it you have now blocked his number :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Firedance told me that I am missing out on the funniest log on boards by not reading this ..... so had a read today and actually laughed out loud on the dart reading it .... Not laughing at your travel misfortune by the way..... Now I see what they all talk about ..... See my other half is behaving himself as well !!! Looking forward to following :)

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Firedance told me that I am missing out on the funniest log on boards by not reading this .....

Jaysis his ego is of gargantuan proportions already, don't be making it worse A!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Firedance told me

Famous last words!!! You've just landed me in a pile of sh*te with the yougfella now #jealousy ^^^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Firedance wrote: »
    Famous last words!!! You've just landed me in a pile of sh*te with the yougfella now #jealousy ^^^^^^

I always do what I'm told AM :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

have decided to pick San Sebastián as my sub 3 attempt on 27th November.

This has me thinking.
    I know you've done this race before - can you give me a quick synopsis of the logistics in getting there and also the course??

An additional 4 weeks might be just what I need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

This has me thinking.
    I know you've done this race before - can you give me a quick synopsis of the logistics in getting there and also the course??

Funny - just read your own log post and was going to suggest going to San Seb with this lad to take some pressure off the training load for the next month.

He has done lots of marathons but he hasn't done this one (nor Boston) - he was just getting my hopes up for 2 weekends but then didn't bother his bo11ix showing up :cool:

This has me thinking.

Other auld man company would be great A.

Have entered it before but the thoughts of spending a weekend with that Yifter fella made me pull the plug :)

I haven't looked at flights but I'm hoping to go Friday (or Saturday if possible) and come back Monday. Flights to SS from Dublin via Madrid or Barcelona are reasonable enough.

Paulie should be able to give you a full debrief as he's done it twice but I understand it's flat and the weather is usually nice and cool.

TbL

Thur, Fri & Sat: plan went out the window, was celebrating the parents 50th wedding anniversary with the family in a beautiful setting in Cong.

Sun: plan was to race the "Mullingar" 10 mile. I was told last week that I'd to travel to Paris on Sunday so I was lucky that I was able to squeeze this in. Was fortunate that I left the house very early for this. I don't do Facebook and there was very limited other info as to where the race actually started so I headed into Mullingar. Near the town centre I saw a line of cones on the road and a few lads milling about in high viz vests, sorted! Well not really, I parked up and sauntered towards the "start". Stopped and asked a steward where the registration was, got a look like I'd just asked to see naked pictures of his wife! "This is a classic car rally" he grumbled. "Ah feck it, do you know where the Mullingar 10 mile race starts"

"Not a notion". "Thanks you've been very helpful" say I, secretly hoping his classic car broke down on the way home! Googled the race and ended up at a school near Mullingar Harriers but that was deserted. Rang Double D and he sent me a screen shot of some directions that had me going back in and out of the town centre. Ended up ringing the law and got a mobile (phone) police escort to the start. Mother of god why do they call this the Mullingar 10, it's not in feckin Mullingar, it's like Ryanair telling you they are flying you to Austria and they fly you into flipping Slovenia and you're expected to make your own way to your expected destination! Collected my bib but they had no Fat Amy t shirts left so I took a medium. Who knows running crop tops might become fashionable.

Did just shy of two miles warm up with Double D, who's in great shape and glided gracefully along the road while I pounded along beside him like an over worked jackhammer.

Had notions of a sub 65 but lately, actuality and my notions strike a remarkable similarity to the England's soccer teams, aim high & crash in a spectacular if predictable fashion.

Hit mile 1 @ 6.24, average pace after 3 miles was 6.28, after 5 miles 6.33 but once we turned out of the breeze the sun took its toll and I overheated very quickly and died a death walking for parts. Very dejected finishing but I'm still mentally brittle and need to resolve this quickly. Just wanted to get away but DD cajoled me into a few miles cool down and I ended up with 14 miles for the day. Great to catch up DD and thanks for the encouragement.

Just shy of 14 miles for the day

Headed to Paris on Sunday.

Monday: plan called for 4/6 mile easy double. Today turned into a comedy of errors. Was supposed to fly from Paris to Athens after my meetings, they ran a little over so I was rushing out to CDG airport. Just about made it and luckily I've only hand luggage so I went straight up to security screening. Took my boarding card and scanned it, an audible bing and a red light! Security guy looks at my boarding card and tells me I've booked the flight for tomorrow night. Ffs, this can't be right but I bomb back down to Air France customer service and try and book for this evenings flight. Even if I had time the flight was fully booked, ended up checking in to a hotel beside Terminal 2f, after changing the flight to Tuesday.

Small consolation but at least the hotel had a gym, haven't been feeling the love since the Tullamore/Mullingar Classic car wreck show so I was very slow to get the gear on. Pulled the runners out of the bag and they were the wrong ones, same colour but I'd put these ones out to pasture ages ago and they were my "gardening" shoes. They have no orthotics and I have no recollection of packing them in the bag after the race. This nearly tipped me over the edge and I was starting to mutate into a geriatric Michael Douglas in "Falling Down". Away for a week and no runners ahhhh!

Decided to try a few miles in the smelly, dirt encrusted runners and if I felt any discomfort I'd pull the plug. Gym was small and warm and I hate running in front of a mirror as the sweaty marshmallow like reflection is a depressing sight!

Trundled along to 4 miles and kept going eventually hitting 7 miles. Happy with that TBH.

Got off the treadmill and behind it there was a small furrow of dirt, from the runners, that you'd plant turnips in :)

Finished with some auld man stretches.

7 miles easy.

Maybe like the old runners it's time for me to go out to pasture, either that or cop on fast!

TbL