Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Open 2016 - Official Thread - Read OP before you go on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

can mcginley go a sentence without mentioning the ruder cup.

amazing day of golf from both men.

fair play to henrik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,596 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Have to say for all Sky's hype about the Open ,the picture quality on their SD Sky Sports was much inferior than Setantas .
    The HD picture was pretty poor too in comparison with Sky Germany and Canal + Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Is it just me or was the guy who announced the winner different this year? There used to be a different guy who had a very distinctive voice. Did he retire? I could be way off here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Break80 wrote: »
    I noticed it yesterday when Stenson was signing his card. He is lefthanded.
    The last pairing in this years open you have a left hander who swings the club right and a right hander who swings the club left.

Most left-handers will make the switch i think...doubt many do the reverse as Phil does though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Martin567

Break80 wrote: »
    I noticed it yesterday when Stenson was signing his card. He is lefthanded.
    The last pairing in this years open you have a left hander who swings the club right and a right hander who swings the club left.

Greg Norman & Curtis Strange, both former World No 1s, were also left handed.

Most left-handers will make the switch i think...doubt many do the reverse as Phil does though.

I do! I'd say quite a few Irish people do, certainly more than average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Stenson....birdies at 14,15,16, lipped out at 17 and another birdie at 18!

Martin567 wrote: »
    I do! I'd say quite a few Irish people do, certainly more than average.

YOu mean you're a leftie rightie? I guess I could be surprised alright, why do you think Irish people in particular would be more liable to do it?

stockdam wrote: »
    Stenson....birdies at 14,15,16, lipped out at 17 and another birdie at 18!

Possibly the greatest ever Major Championship round. Shot 63 in the final group with two three putts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Possibly the greatest ever Major Championship round. Shot 63 in the final group with two three putts.

Honourable mention to Padraig in 2008 who went -4 on the final 6 holes on a course that was playing so difficult that +3 won it for him, and by 4 shots. That was one of the most impressive finishes I've seen.

YOu mean you're a leftie rightie? I guess I coulddon't surprised alright, why do you think Irish people in particular would be more liable to do it?

For me it's a hurling thing. I'm right handed so my right hand has to be on top. My left side (backhand) was my stronger side playing hurling so that naturally follows to golf.

I wouldn't be able to hit a golf ball at all if I put my left hand on top and I don't have time to be a complete beginner again when I can play quite respectably as I am. I never think of myself as playing left "handed" since I feel it is still my right that is controlling the club.

If I play tennis (or even table tennis), my backhand is naturally much better than my forehand.

For me it's a hurling thing. I'm right handed so my right hand has to be on top. My left side (backhand) was my stronger side playing hurling so that naturally follows to golf.

I wouldn't be able to hit a golf ball at all if I put my left hand on top and I don't have time to be a complete beginner again when I can play quite respectably as I am. I never think of myself as playing left "handed" since I feel it is still my right that is controlling the club.

If I play tennis (or even table tennis), my backhand is naturally much better than my forehand.

Ah ok I think I get you. You don't play left-handed like Phil, but cross handed. I'm a cack hander myself even though I never played hurling competitively as a kid. A few people tried to change me over the years but it was too uncomfortable for me so always stuck with the right over left. I've played a few rounds in states when I visit the relatives and they look upon me as if I've two heads over there. Guys even call their friends over to have a look at me, like a circus exhibit sometimes!

No, I do play "left handed" like Phil. As a hurler, I can hit the ball from both sides (my right hand would always be on top). But my left side is my stronger side so that is how I play golf.

I was trying to explain that I don't consider what I (or Phil) does as being left-handed. It's more left sided. I find it a bit funny that I would be considered to be an orthodox left handed player as I'm completely right handed and my right hand does most of the work.

If I was to play golf right handed, I would do it like you as I wouldn't be able to do anything with my left hand on top.

No, I do play "left handed" like Phil. As a hurler, I can hit the ball from both sides (my right hand would always be on top). But my left side is my stronger side so that is how I play golf.

I was trying to explain that I don't consider what I (or Phil) does as being left-handed. It's more left sided. I find it a bit funny that I would be considered to be an orthodox left handed player as I'm completely right handed and my right hand does most of the work.

If I was to play golf right handed, I would do it like you as I wouldn't be able to do anything with my left hand on top.

Ok I understand you now, sorry for the confusion. I've come across very few such instances but that doesn't mean it's not uncommon and I don't even know why I play cross handed, just decided to play that way when i first picked up a club and stuck with it. I never ever miss left is about the only thing I can say for it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Just seen a pic on Twitter of Keegan Bradley and Webb Simpson have gone out for another round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Offaly Exile

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Is it just me or was the guy who announced the winner different this year? There used to be a different guy who had a very distinctive voice. Did he retire? I could be way off here.

Are you thinking perhaps of the great Ivor Robson with the distinctive voice who was the starter on the first tee at the Open for over 40 years ? He retired last year. He was very much part of the Open tradition

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Am I wrong or is the British open usually broadcast live on BBC ?

No sign of any live golf this year on bbc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Some lads just don't speak well.

Ah he's great craic normally when interviewed. Very funny and witty. But a very formal situation, just after winning, kept it simple and straight down the middle. I'd say we'll see the good stuff from him in later interviews....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Am I wrong or is the British open usually broadcast live on BBC ?

No sign of any live golf this year on bbc
    Google that young man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,042 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Ah he's great craic normally when interviewed. Very funny and witty. But a very formal situation, just after winning, kept it simple and straight down the middle. I'd say we'll see the good stuff from him in later interviews....

His friend dying on Wednesday too, I'd say he was just trying to hold it together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Well 40 is the new 30! Yeah his interviews are really good and witty, just as you say the circumstances were not right.

Of course Sarah Stirk having the hots for him and giggling at everything he says helps too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Offaly Exile

It was also nice I thought to see his wife's low key and humble reaction compared to Dustin Jonson's partner's antics at the US Open (though I suppose the weather in Troon was not suitable for wearing a skimpy outfit !!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Was just thinking back to when Tiger was winning majors by 10-15 shots, both players today were pretty much at that level. A privilege to watch it unfold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

It was also nice I thought to see his wife's low key and humble reaction compared to Dustin Jonson's partner's antics at the US Open (though I suppose the weather in Troon was not suitable for wearing a skimpy outfit !!)

Sexist.

Women should be able to wear whatever they want.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

RikkFlair wrote:
    Was just thinking back to when Tiger was winning majors by 10-15 shots, both players today were pretty much at that level. A privilege to watch it unfold.

Imagine what Phil would've won had Tiger not been around!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Great stuff but couldn't break the 62 curse :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

That's why a lot of left handers who play right handed are good. They control the club with their dominant hand and their weaker hand doesn't over-power the shot. They have to use good body action to get power and their left hand keeps the club-face square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,042 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

stockdam wrote: »
    That's why a lot of left handers who play right handed are good. They control the club with their dominant hand and their weaker hand doesn't over-power the shot. They have to use good body action to get power and their left hand keeps the club-face square.

I'm a left hander who plays right handed and I would like to rubbish your theory ;)

Back to The Open, those rounds from Stenson and Mickleson were top quality. Mickleson's up and down on 12 was unreal, as was the one (his putt) on 17. It was great to see Stenson do it, it's an overused expression but his career does deserve one.

Watching the highlights on BBC, it was almost a shock to see Stenson walking off the first at -11. To shoot 63 from there, on the final day to win a Major is just spectacular. It wasn't as if it was a particularly good scoring day out there.

That 3 wood on 18 though, he'll be on cloud 9 but I'm sure he'll wake up in a sweat in the near future.... dreaming about it trickling in, leaving an almost unplayable. Keep the Jug on the bedside locker!