People on boards, are you also on reddit and which one is better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I'm on both, I use reddit for particular subjects I'm interested in as it usually has a lot of traffic of people who are interested in similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Reddit is far better. Boards is slowly dying by death of a thousand cuts from the people in charge and Mods who want to look busy and be sycophantic. I tend to notice a lot of cringey posters offering out life advice which is spoof.

Can get links to stream sports without the Mods having a heart attack.
    Loads of porn subs
    Funnier threads.
    Funnier gifs.
    Funnier photos.

It's not difficult to get into at all and anytime someone says it's confusing is just an idiot.

I actually like the way the comments are sorted by most up voted especially for news events or an interesting photo or whatever.
    The info you want is just there without having to wade through 10 pages of 2 lads fighting here.
    Pretty much agree with all that! Although the reddit layout isn't as obviously as boards, after 10 minutes you be grand.
    You can't even say shít on boards without trying to bypass the swear filter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I don't like the upvote system on Reddit and rarely agree with what's considered a "good" comment. When it comes to news, current affairs and political discussion I think many of the most insightful comments are buried by populism. I don't feel I need to be saved from "crap" comments by depending on the opinion of anonymous masses. In that regard I think boards is superior. Changing the view to chronological does not fix the problem when the majority of other users are viewing it as best first and ignoring half the content.

But I prefer reddit for other reasons to do with openness, wider content allowed, less restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

lawlolawl wrote: »
    I keep meaning to actually have a decent look around reddit but literally all I know about it is that it has a bunch of weird **** on it like legit subforums for furries, bronies and MRAs.

I use the Something Awful forums more than anything else. Their userbase is tanking and it is very early 2000s in style/look but they have really good, informative threads about pretty much any topic you can think of.

All easily avoided and can block subreddits. I have all the American politics blocked and it's clean. I have never come across them and I have been to the weird parts of reddit. There is some weird subreddits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've tried reddit but the layout did my head in. And I didn't find the people or topics very interesting. Each to their own I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I've just had a quick look. The first thread is talking about how long they spend taking shîts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

biko wrote: »
    I've tried reddit but the layout did my head in. And I didn't find the people or topics very interesting. Each to their own I suppose.

Thats a werid statement. With the sheer volume of subreddits if you never found anything interesting, you either stuck with a couple of default subreddits, or spent 5 minutes on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

biko wrote: »

Been on boards for 12 years with 50k posts and can't find something interesting on one of the biggest content driven sites?

Gonna have to call bollox on that one.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Have used both, prefer here TBH. I find reddit far more prone to be an echo chamber. Of course the irony is boards is accused of that more. Eg if thanks were up votes here all you'd read unless you went digging would be the very opinions Boards is slagged about, IE liberal handwringing.

I do think people, society is moving towards more echo chambers. Society is becoming more polarised on a few topics and if you look at forums or reddit or arsebook you tend to find the same people reading/posting the same opinions that already agree with them. Upvoting the "correct view" whether that be purple haired feminists hissy fitting or Trumpers going on about cucks.

Perception is everything of course and Boards is perceived a certain way(often inaccurately. QV the Your ma ref above) and the moderation can be an issue. More especially the management have really dropped the ball in the last year. The strong perception is now that Boards.ie is sinking. It's hit the berg, the lights are still on, the boilers are still running but she's listing fast and the lifeboats have been lowered.

Here's a thought… add picture tags to After Hours. It's utterly bloody nonsensical in 2016 that they're disabled. Though let's face and going by experience here such a debate would require endless nonsense in the background and still wouldn't be implemented. :rolleyes:

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

On both but i spent more time on reddit and prefer it more than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

I've tried Redit but can never get responses to topics I start, and zero views

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Not on Reddit. Should I sign up? Is Reddit the thing with badly-formatted walls and walls and walls of text or am I thinking of something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

alb wrote: »
    You can sort by 'new' if you want to view chronologically, you can also sort by 'best' 'top' etc.

I know but I was talking about the default.
    The reason more liked comments are top is so that crap comments fall to the bottom and don't waste your time. Generally it's more important that a comment is good than what time it was posted.
    So comments are "crap" if they are not well liked and it would be a waste of time reading them?? Ah come on.

Can you imagine how that would go down on Boards, if threads were sorted by 'most liked' by default? Some of the biggest load of tripe ever posted on Boards (no offense Boards) has received a ton of thanks here. Also, discussions can start off with a lot of comments getting well thanked but ultimately the user will be shown to be incorrect within a few hours (sometimes a few days). Boards can seem like an Echo Chamber at times already and so I dearly hope they never follow suit and default sorting of posts by their popularity. No problem with that option being available though (well, it is already but it's just a very convoluted process).

Also, you ignored by point that often top posts on Reddit will be referencing other posts that have not been liked and so how the hell can any user know if what is being said in the well liked post is true or not. I have often been on reddit and then had to go hunting for posts which I had read being referenced in those top posts. Highly irritating. Discussions should flow and be read as they take place. It's really not a good reflection on today's society that people only want to see what the consensus says is good. Fcuk the consensus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Not on Reddit. Should I sign up? Is Reddit the thing with badly-formatted walls and walls and walls of text or am I thinking of something else?

You could be thinking of 4Chan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Reddit can be interesting and is definitely funnier than Boards but it definitely has a serious hive mind problem which means to actually get a balanced picture you have to browse two opposing forums.

Its also got some structural problems IMO, look at the way mods can go completely power mad and the deliberate poaching of sub-reddits to shift ideologies, some pretty blatent censorship goes on there too at times, look at the treatment of the Orlando shooting, look at the way groups of sub-reddits have bot that auto ban users because they have contributed to certain other forums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Tried Reddit. I also find it to be an echo chamber. Opposing views are just downvoted out of the conversation. I also find the format annoying.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Reddit is not just sorted by most liked. The comments can be replied to which creates separate comment chains which allows for discussion. It actually works as you can read the comment threads if you like or collapse them and move on if it's not. Is hard to explain but quite intuitive. RES is really useful for filtering out the terrible subs too.

All in all its just much better in terms of content and, depending on the sub you're on its much better to read. There's also much less active moderation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Distilled Media needs to stroll down to Boards.ie HQ and clean house, only hope for this place now is clear the lot of them out. Just how many 1000s post feedback threads with the same problems being brought up over and over going back half a fupping decade can they ignore.

People complain about the workings of Reddit on here...you're doing it wrong. You just need to spend abit of time and figure it out. It's easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭anothernight

I prefer Reddit. Boards is ok for an Irish perspective but these days that's its only real selling point and it's less relevant to me as time goes on.

Reddit is much more americanised, but there are more (and livelier) discussions on topics that interest me. I find that the "hive mind" issue happens on Reddit and Boards, just in different ways. I don't like r/Ireland though because it has a weird vibe of resentment towards Boards. Plus it's kinda boring, just like Boards without activity in the more obscure forums is boring.

I miss old Boards.ie.

I want to like Reddit, but I just can't cope with the layout. I'm probably just thick, but I find it impenetrable.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Distilled Media needs to stroll down to Boards.ie HQ and clean house, only hope for this place now is clear the lot of them out. Just how many 1000s post feedback threads with the same problems being brought up over and over going back half a fupping decade can they ignore.
    Good luck with that T. Nobody's listening. Oh sure, every so often one of the staff will make a pronouncement that they're listening, but nothing changes, or very rarely, so it's mostly platitudes. They're still pushing the utterly stupid "responsive site", the only allowance to the mass WTF over it was to keep the legacy site going for a little longer. The category rejig which killed the site stone dead is still in play unless you go back to the old legacy. Looking at the site now, it comes across as a knock off donedeal, a turnkey help desk system for Irish business(which doesn't like complaints) and a "topics" menu. Go back to the legacy layout and be shocked how big the site actually is. Or was.
    I miss old Boards.ie.
    Yep and one way they could have kept the place ticking over for the future is with a nod to nostalgia and comfort. I know these are unknown words to corporate nerds but it could have worked. With some imagination in play.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I don't like r/Ireland though because it has a weird vibe of resentment towards Boards.

It's odd, because it seems that the majority Boards users seem to at the very least use Reddit, or completely prefer it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

It's odd, because it seems that the majority Boards users seem to at the very least use Reddit, or completely prefer it.

Not necessarily r/Ireland though. I use and like Reddit but agree r/Ireland is awful.

Patww79 wrote: »

Use a mobile app. That's how my girlfriend got I to it and now she has no problem with the full site. RES helps a lot as well.
    And anyways, the fact that it looks craps but is one of the biggest sites in the world is a testament to how good it actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I don't like Reddit at all. A huge amount of the subreddits are full of edgelords and neckbeards jumping on anything that they disagree with and sending out the batsignal. The design of it is awful (although I fully admit I'm a firm believer in the forum layout.) Even some of the specialised forums are full of eejits.

I get most of my interaction online via other forums that aren't as big, or from IRC/Slack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭curiousoranje

Reddit looks crap but is at least functional and intuitive (if you take 10 seconds to figure out how to filter comments.) Boards has gone through 'upgrade' after 'upgrade' and has gotten worse each time.

It's crazy because the youth of today aren't bothered with forums, so boards is driving away it's only user base (late 20s+) with these changes. Hiding away useful forums and replacing them with useless 'talk to ' forums where every thread consists of a question and a reply of "pm us" or hypocritically selling out to gearbest. Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I like different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Never tried Reddit, clicked on a few links to view a topic but couldn't figure out the layout so gave up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

The drift to Reddit no surprise, for every poster who was banned on boards over the last few years, another dozen lost interest. How come a certain poster, a very engaging well educated gentlemanly individual, but nobody's fool, reached over 13,000 posts before he was given several long bans ? He didn't bother contesting it, he just left. The particular forum flat-lined ever since. Some posters you don't pick up at the side of the road - some mods and those further up the food chain would do well to cop themselves on.