Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Do ye think Pogba will go to Utd? Insane money being quoted and I dont think hes worth that kinda dough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

I don't get it. :P

You would say that.

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    David Ornstein said about a month ago that Higuain was our top priority and he's about as reliable as these twitter lads get but it could still be a load of old waffle.
    AdamD wrote: »
    Pretty sure he never said this
    wonga77 wrote: »
    Thats from 2013

So to clarify; David Ornstein has not said that Higuain is our top priority this summer. He said it 3 years ago. This ****ing thread.

Have a knock. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

What's the 8-10 years based on exactly? I'm assuming it's based on how many typically get freed up each year, i.e., a tiny amount. It would take a small economic downturn for that 8-10 years to become 1 year.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Gunners/comments/28odic/after_11_years_waiting_i_am_now_an_arsenal_season/

For an example - they waited 11 years, others see to be in the 8 year ballpark. Seems to be the general numbers anyway, from looking around. 80,000 in the queue - that's huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

Why are we posting old rumours. Bad enough we are posting new ones

DeclanRe wrote: »
    Why are we posting old rumours. Bad enough we are posting new ones

It's the rumour thread unfortunately it's in the name.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Gunners/comments/28odic/after_11_years_waiting_i_am_now_an_arsenal_season/

For an example - they waited 11 years, others see to be in the 8 year ballpark. Seems to be the general numbers anyway, from looking around. 80,000 in the queue - that's huge.
    Yes, it is. However some of those people will have moved away, had families, died, got married etc. How many of them would pay up tomorrow is the important thing. A downturn in the economy and results and there'll be a massive fall in that figure. Well, they'll probably turn down the ticket but remain on the list.

Surely we can agree that there's enough people in the waiting list that selling season tickets is nowhere near being a concern for the club, at least to not have to resort to pretending to sign players.

It does sound ridiculous, but our stadium is rarely full despite how difficult it is to get a ticket because apparently they're in high demand, but evidently not.

Grand, they're just incredibly awkward at signing players.

And if we dont?

I'd be bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Now this is something I could get on board with.

https://twitter.com/OliPriceBates/status/753905370637164544

It does sound ridiculous, but our stadium is rarely full despite how difficult it is to get a ticket because apparently they're in high demand, but evidently not.

The season tickets are still sold though. People not turning up is another thing.
    Grand, they're just incredibly awkward at signing players.

Won't argue with that :D

Now this is something I could get on board with.

https://twitter.com/OliPriceBates/status/753905370637164544

Don't know much about him but he averages over a goal a game so i'm on board!

Joel looking very happy for a guy who's been told to leave

https://twitter.com/Arsenal/status/753908043188842496

Don't know much about him but he averages over a goal a game so i'm on board!

Not sure about him either - but it seems like he scored 18 goals in 38 appearances for AC last year. And he is 30 in September.
    I think i'd rather see us go for Lacazette or someone.
    Although beggars cant be choosers, so he's for sure better than nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

I think Bacca would be a good option, he's nearly 30 but still has a few years in him, got a very good goal scoring record. He cost AC Milan 30 odd million last year

Yea and at £26M we could still possibly invest in a winger too

DeclanRe wrote: »
    Yea and at £26M we could still possibly invest in a winger too

That was my thinking too. Himself and Draxler could be good business.

Need a CB really bad as well lads

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Basil3 wrote: »
    Joel looking very happy for a guy who's been told to leave

Gab looks like he's thinking "If there weren't loads of cameras around, I'd deck you for that!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Apologies I'm not on twitter so the date didn't stand out to me, I Googled David Ornstein the other day and that tweet was the first result so now even Google are using click bait haha

Gnabry's in the German Olympic Squad

Good. A tournament in a different climate might bring him on especially if he can play well. I rate Gnabry myself but he's still a bit raw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭emmetlego

I see Wilshere has returned early from his holidays to join in Arsenal training, despite being allowed extra time off after being with England in the Euros. One thing we can't fault in that kid is his attitude towards the club!

emmetlego wrote: »
    I see Wilshere has returned early from his holidays to join in Arsenal training, despite being allowed extra time off after being with England in the Euros. One thing we can't fault in that kid is his attitude towards the club!

He's a real footballer, everyone else whinging because they only have a month off...

TBF he's hardly suffering from football burnout over the last year....

Fair play to him coming back but the lad only played 257 minutes for club and country last season. Not his fault but he has to have a decent preseason this year. Credit to him still though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,135 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

emmetlego wrote: »
    I'm sure he'll take extra holidays in the middle of the season to make up for it.