Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did Gardai destroy possible burial site of Irelands longest missing child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 evancostello

I think Collins never altered his position. All he said in the documentary was that there was a call received from a Politician who asked none of a particular family be made suspects. Thats it. He was never asked whether this interfered with investigation or whether there was any cover up by the Senior guards. It was the next Man who said it took the sting out of the investigation. I think thats the scenario. Collins is not saying one thing different now than he said in the documentary. He was not asked the question in the doumentary or indeed maybe he was and the answer just didnt fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

whilst we are on the subject of superintendent Murray I just remember another thing that struck me as odd from his archive interview on the doc he said on the day Mary went missing it was a cold "Evening" and this was one of the reasons Mary turned back .. yet it was early afternoon was the time she was said to have disappeared

just a small thing i noticed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    whilst we are on the subject of superintendent Murray I just remember another thing that struck me as odd from his archive interview on the doc he said on the day Mary went missing it was a cold "Evening" and this was one of the reasons Mary turned back .. yet it was early afternoon was the time she was said to have disappeared

Yes, but guards were not called for 2 and half hours (he said) and it was after 6 pm in March when they were at house, so it would have been evening....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

maybe not cold evening but cold day would not surprise me. The 18th of March in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Sorry to reply twice to your post but I've just reread what oranbhoy has posted:

"He said that phone call comments emanated from the hearsay of a station orderly, who would not have even been an investigating officer into the Mary Boyle case.

“That phone call had nothing whatsoever to do with the investigation that was going on at that time or subsequently. It was never ever mentioned again,” he said.

He is denying now that the phone call had anything to do with the case!!!!!!

This is getting very strange.

That's front page news for any journalist;)

Methinks someone has gotten to our garda! Too bad for him that he was
    recorded saying the opposite of what he is saying now. Technology is wonderful, lol!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I think Collins never altered his position. All he said in the documentary was that there was a call received from a Politician who asked none of a particular family be made suspects. Thats it. He was never asked whether this interfered with investigation or whether there was any cover up by the Senior guards. It was the next Man who said it took the sting out of the investigation. I think thats the scenario. Collins is not saying one thing different now than he said in the documentary. He was not asked the question in the doumentary or indeed maybe he was and the answer just didnt fit.

Yep, film gets edited. If they edited out Collins comments and made it seem he was agreeing pressure was put on, he's right to make an issue of it. People might not agree with him but he has a right to his view.

The commentary after the thread and in the papers was 2 former Gardai allege a cover up, so he's right to be a bit pissed off!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

Yes, but guards were not called for 2 and half hours (he said) and it was after 6 pm in March when they were at house, so it would have been evening....

A lot seems to have been made of that 'delay'.
    I saw nothing unusual at all in not calling the Guards earlier ..... in fact it caused me to wonder why they were called so soon.

It was not the way of things back then.
    People did not run to the guards ..... they asked neighbours for help in the first instance.
    I would not have been surprised if the guards were not called in until the following morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

K-9 wrote: »
    Yep, film gets edited. If they edited out Collins comments and made it seem he was agreeing pressure was put on, he's right to make an issue of it. People might not agree with him but he has a right to his view.

The commentary after the thread and in the papers was 2 former Gardai allege a cover up, so he's right to be a bit pissed off!
    if they did gemma is not being honest

A lot seems to have been made of that 'delay'.
    I saw nothing unusual at all in not calling the Guards earlier ..... in fact it caused me to wonder why they were called so soon.

It was not the way of things back then.
    People did not run to the guards ..... they asked neighbours for help in the first instance.
    I would not have been surprised if the guards were not called in until the following morning.

I did not think the delay unusual either. In the 70s we children ran wild...even at young ages, and could be gone for hours.

So, why did he mention the phone call at all if he did not think it relevant? Surely, the point of saying anything
    about it was to illustrate that someone was attempting to put pressure on the investigating gardaí? Did he follow
    it up by saying that they DID question the family members? I don't recollect his doing so.

Wasn't the whole subject of the film the fact that political intervention stymied the investigation, i.e. the main suspect
    could not be questioned after the phone call? Didn't Collins know that when he agreed to participate in the film? I
    would love to know why he did agree, bearing in mind his present denials.

this old lie rearing its ugly head again

CnOui4LWIAAoFju.jpg:large

Unbelievable! Why do I have zero faith in this 'review'? :mad:

As I have said earlier in this thread communications between me and Gemma broke down before the documentary was aired and I wasn't privy to anything that was going into it I saw it at the same time as everyone else

I am of the opinion now personally that some clever editing has went on- i may off course be wrong

still no taking away that Collins acknowledges there was a phone call to the station and Murray says he thinks it affected their whole investigation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 evancostello

It like a jigsaw, you only put in the pieces that fit. I wonder whether the other Detective will go rogue.

maybe not cold evening but cold day would not surprise me. The 18th of March in fairness

oh I know

the thing I'm getting at is she didn't go missing during the evening

as I said just a small thing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Yes, but he's gone much further now by saying that call had nothing to do with the investigation:

Today:
    He said that phone call comments emanated from the hearsay of a station orderly, who would not have even been an investigating officer into the Mary Boyle case.

That phone call had nothing whatsoever to do with the investigation that was going on at that time or subsequently. It was never ever mentioned again,” he

That doesn't tally with what he said in the doc:

In the documentary he said that a phone call was received at Ballyshannon Garda station, by a politician, saying that none of a particular family should be made suspects in Mary's disappearance.

It's at around/just after 31 minutes in.

Either he's saying a phone call about the case was made by a politician looking for preferential treatment for someone or he's saying a phone call was made but it had nothing to do with the case??

He can't be saying both, regardless of anything else.

Does anyone have a transcript of the documentary?

if they did gemma is not being honest

I presume Collins saw the film before it was broadcast? If so, why did he
    wait until now to say anything about how his statement was presented?

brooke 2 wrote: »
    So, why did he mention the phone call at all if he did not think it relevant? Surely, the point of saying anything
    about it was to illustrate that someone was attempting to put pressure on the investigating gardaí? Did he follow
    it up by saying that they DID question the family members? I don't recollect his doing so.

Wasn't the whole subject of the film the fact that political intervention stymied the investigation, i.e. the main suspect
    could not be questioned after the phone call? Didn't Collins know that when he agreed to participate in the film? I
    would love to know why he did agree, bearing in mind his present denials.

I think he was asked if there was a phone call so naturally he answered the question. His point is the phone call didn't deter the investigation. If he said that on tape, the makers wouldn't put it in as it wouldn't fit their narrative.

We don't know what he was told by the film makers. We're assuming it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Yes, but he's gone much further now by saying that call had nothing to do with the investigation:

Today:
    He said that phone call comments emanated from the hearsay of a station orderly, who would not have even been an investigating officer into the Mary Boyle case.

That phone call had nothing whatsoever to do with the investigation that was going on at that time or subsequently. It was never ever mentioned again,” he

That doesn't tally with what he said in the doc:

In the documentary he said that a phone call was received at Ballyshannon Garda station, by a politician, saying that none of a particular family should be made suspects in Mary's disappearance.

It's at around/just after 31 minutes in.

Either he's saying a phone call about the case was made by a politician looking for preferential treatment for someone or he's saying a phone call was made but it had nothing to do with the case??

He can't be saying both, regardless of anything else.

Does anyone have a transcript of the documentary?

I think what he is saying is the phone call did not affect him or the investigation.

He doesn't dispute the phone call happened, it's the effect of it he does.

It's a difference of interpretation, not facts to me. A transcript would be handy all right.

Fro what I can see in the documentary the Gardai (Collins) quoted in the article above never said specifically that there was interference from a politician or from other gardai ..

looks like very clever editing to me .

something which I think this documentary could have done without personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 DonegalTech

We know these are only "rumours" of a politician making a call to a Garda Station and asking that either members of a family or a specific member of a family not be questioned in relation to this case. It was not implied by either of the former Gardai in the documentary that there was hard evidence of this, nor did they disclose who received the actual rumoured call or if they knew who received it. So lacking hard physical evidence such as a sworn witness or a recording, it will always be hearsay.

Now I'm not an investigator, but If a politician were to call a particular Garda Station, in order to influence an ongoing case, I would doubt he would speak directly to a receptionist or whatever. It would more likely be a case of a receptionist receiving the initial call, putting him through to a senior officer and then maybe overhearing his conversation with a Senior member of the force and later telling somebody else what they had overheard. The two people actually directly involved are unlikely to ever admit to such a thing, so evidence is never going to obtained, unless the person who overheard where to come forward.

SUMMARY OF WHAT WE KNOW
    A little girl was likely murdered near Ballyshannon, and everybody in the documentary seem to believe it was likely by somebody she knew. It is also mentioned that she grew up in the Rosses area of West Donegal, not in the Ballyshannon area where she went missing and her parents apparently didn't visit there very often. Surely the list of people she knew wouldn't be very long, and thus those people could be questioned quickly.

There was a rumour of a politician calling a senior member of Ballyshannon Gardai, seeking to stop certain person or person being questioned, 39 years later and many people directly involved in the case, including former Gardai believe the real suspect was never questioned "as a suspect" and only as a witness. This could suggest the rumour might actually have some substance to it, as why else would they not talk to a potential suspect. Failure to charge a suspect could be due to lack of evidence or witnesses coming forward, but the gardai could still have arrested him for questioning if they felt there was something there.

Why was the suspect not arrested? I would imagine questioning somebody as a witness, is very different to questioning somebody as a suspect. A suspect would probably be probed more aggressively, with detectives seeking to get the truth. It is clear that when questioning got tough for this witness, a superior tapped the detective on the leg, suggesting he ease off. There is no clear reason given as to why the suspect was not actually arrested, and that is why probably why the rumours have since taken hold.

I think what he is saying is the phone call did not affect him or the investigation.

He doesn't dispute the phone call happened, it's the effect of it he does.

It's a difference of interpretation, not facts to me. A transcript would be handy all right.

I'm just bewildered as to how he seems to be unable to express himself in a coherent sentence.

He's saying today that a call was received but it had absolutely nothing to do with the investigation that was going on at the time.

That sounds like he IS disputing that the call ever happened, to me at least.

Particularly when he also uses the word "hearsay" about what I assume is the provenance of it:confused:

Why couldn't he have said today that, yes, a politician tried to interfere with the case but as far as he was concerned it had no effect on the investigation??

Speaking in riddles.

I hadn't looked at that.

Seems poorly advised IMO.

I know they feel like their relationship with AGS is completely broken, but this has a danger of them being treated as nuisances or too confrontational going to GSOC about that.

Far better to be less confrontational and issue a statement outlining their concerns about not being kept informed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Shocked family complaining to GSOC about a journalist for getting a story that the case might be reviewed by the Garda cold case unit :eek:

Just let the cops get on with it and let the journalists do what they're supposed to.
    Talk about throwing a spanner in the works. :confused:
    I thought they wanted the media to get involved? The mind, it boggles.

I hadn't looked at that.

Seems poorly advised IMO.

I know they feel like their relationship with AGS is completely broken, but this has a danger of them being treated as nuisances or too confrontational going to GSOC about that.

Far better to be less confrontational and issue a statement outlining their concerns about not being kept informed.

well tough for them tbh , this case now is at its most prominent snice it happened and the mob in charge of the gards and the government dept of justice only seem to react when someone is being a nuisance , if they were doing their job right in the first place from day one then no one would have to be confrontational to them

I get the feeling from the documentary that Mrs Doherty is not being dealt with as the primary contact, and that her mother Mrs Boyle is who the garda contact in the evnt of developments. This would be fine and normal - she is Mary's mother, and glitches like this would not arise except for the estrangement between the two. This estrangement results in an unusual situation for the garda. How to keep both parties on side? Difficult. For all concerned. Emotions naturally run high.

This is the case, the mother -who refuses an inquest and has told them that she will put it in her will that she doesn't want one after she dies- is the official contact to the gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

Their complaint is not about the investigation ,it's about the guards giving the story to the press without informing them.
    i think they have grounds for complaining.
    They have been making a "nuisance" for 40 years without success

edit; I didn't realize the mother was the main contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Yeah but the journalist will be hauled in, his phone searched and sources less likely to open up in future. When, in fact we actually need journalists in cases like this to get info out there and raise awareness.

well tough for them tbh , this case now is at its most prominent snice it happened and the mob in charge of the gards and the government dept of justice only seem to react when someone is being a nuisance , if they were doing their job right in the first place from day one then no one would have to be confrontational to them

Yes, but piśśing off the cops right now might be counterproductive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 DonegalTech

Has there been any reason given for why the family are currently so split on this? Why are they estranged?

It seems to me that this split between the Mary's twin sister and her mum is seriously disrupting the communication process between the Government/Gardai and those who made or featured in the documentary.