Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pulp Fiction is overrated...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

The OP also claimed the Red Hot Chili Peppers were underappreciated in another thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ardent wrote: »
    Top, top movie. Thank you OP - you have reminded me to watch this masterpiece again.

On True Romance -
    Another classic. That scene between Dennis Hopper (RIP) and Christopher Walken remains my ALL TIME favourite scene EVER from a movie!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3yon2GyoiM

It's great but the fight scene between patricia arquette and james gandolfini is even better

"This is it baby, moment of truth"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

The OP is right, it insists upon itself.

Damn you I was scrolling down to say the same thing.....

Anyway, nonsense IMHO. its pretty much the perfect film I think there are any number of films that I could get on board with being overrated such as Slumdog Millionare (like you I thought it was a good film I just don't see the love in).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

The OP also claimed the Red Hot Chili Peppers were underappreciated in another thread...

Depends on the context. Obviously they're a hugely successful band but there are times when I think their instrumentation is written off by people precisely because they've become so commercial. I would say the same about some of U2's guitar work.

ziedth wrote: »
    there are any number of films that I could get on board with being overrated such as Slumdog Millionare (like you I thought it was a good film I just don't see the love in).

But WHY for Christ's sake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

/discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

tomofson wrote: »
    Why is it overrated? Because its made out to be better than it actually is. Don't know how to make it more simpler than that.

One of the most stupidest responses I've read on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Citizen Kane is overrated.

Sunday morning lie in's are overrated.

The smell of petrol is overrated.

Jesus was overrated.

The key question is why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I liked Reservoir Dogs more than I did Pulp Fiction. After that I can take or leave Tarantino to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Just realised OP is the after hours guy, moving on.

Pulp Fiction is up there with my greatest movies ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

I liked Reservoir Dogs more than I did Pulp Fiction. After that I can take or leave Tarantino to be honest.

Jackie Brown is arguably his best film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'm the opposite. I found most of Reservoir Dogs to be a borefest. I loved Pulp Fiction and a few more of his movies. Kill Bill for example is just brilliant in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Pickpocket wrote: »
    I notice from another of the OP's posts that he's 24 years of age (I normally hate snooping but I had a 'hunch'). I just wonder if a person of that age has trouble appreciating just how fundamental Pulp Fiction is in terms of the trajectory of contemporary cinema, and even TV? For example, the OP wouldn't even have been old enough to watch Breaking Bad when that series first aired!

I can appreciate why you would think that but believe it or not I actually like older films better. If I made a list of my top 100 favourite films I'd say maybe 10 would be post 2000. I do appreciate older films a lot better my favourite decade of film would be the 80's followed closely behind by the 90's.

zoobizoo wrote: »
    Have to say that at the time it blew everyone in the cinema away...

.................. apart from the two people sitting behind me who couldn't understand how someone who was dead re-appeared

...................... because they couldn't understand the time jumps.

As has been said before, it was like nothing we'd ever seen before at the time.

Friend of mine heard a couple behind him talking about the same thing, went as follows!!

"What's yer man doin back alive, sure he was just shot by bruce willis in the gaff"

Boyfriend response, I kid you not!!
    " ye bleedin thick, he was obviously wearin a ****in bullet proof vest"

Class!!!!!!

smash wrote: »
    I'm the opposite. I found most of Reservoir Dogs to be a borefest. I loved Pulp Fiction and a few more of his movies. Kill Bill for example is just brilliant in my opinion.

I still think Pulp Fiction is great mind. And the likes of Kill Bill, Django, Inglorious etc are all fine, very watchable films, and I love Tarantino's knowledge and passion for movie making, but there's just something about most of those films that stops them short of greatness in my opinion. I see what he's trying to do, but it just doesn't quite come off for me in most cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

It is a great film but I do wonder if it would have been better if it followed a traditional narrative structure instead of it being a series of interlinked short stories..

Personally I'd rank it behind, Jackie Brown,Inglorious Bastards and Reservoir Dogs.

I haven't seen it in a few years so I'd like to watch it again and see if my mid has changed.

I can appreciate why you would think that but believe it or not I actually like older films better. If I made a list of my top 100 favourite films I'd say maybe 10 would be post 2000. I do appreciate older films a lot better my favourite decade of film would be the 80's followed closely behind by the 90's.

Of course, and that's why it was merely speculation on my part. I'm the exact same myself. I'm 31 but I've always been more interested in older films.

It is a great film but I do wonder if it would have been better if it followed a traditional narrative structure instead of it being a series of interlinked short stories..

Personally I'd rank it behind, Jackie Brown,Inglorious Bastards and Reservoir Dogs.

I haven't seen it in a few years so I'd like to watch it again and see if my mid has changed.

I've heard there's a fan edit doing the rounds that places the scenes in chronological order. I can't see the attraction though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

i'm not having this! Bring out the Gimp!:pac:

Talk about everyone ganging up on the one guy with the difference in opinion...

Of course, and that's why it was merely speculation on my part. I'm the exact same myself. I'm 31 but I've always been more interested in older films.

There's some of us here wish when we talked about "older" films that we were talking about the 80s ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Nah Pulp Fiction isn't overrated, it's a great film.

If you want something that's ridiculously overrated try The Lord Of The Rings trilogy, it's some of thr most boring shíte I've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I've heard there's a fan edit doing the rounds that places the scenes in chronological order. I can't see the attraction though.

I wouldn't bother with that if it's anything like the 'fan edit' where someone 'fixed' Memento.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Pulp Fiction remains the only film I ever saw multiple times in the cinema. When it came out I remember that everyone was talking about it a way I cannot remember any movie before or after. It was just so different, quirky and had so many great talking points. The sound track also really helped.

I watched it again recently on Bluray and it is still my all time favourite film.

...so no definitely not overrated especially if you first saw it in 1994 at the cinema.

BailMeOut wrote: »
    ...so no definitely not overrated especially if you first saw it in 1994 at the cinema.

Fair enough point, I never got that opportunity to view it in the cinema when it first came out so that is one thing I genuinely can't appreciate for its value...

Maybe its partly because I was hearing everyone go on about how great it was for a long time before I eventually seen it was the reason I didn't enjoy it as much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Talk about everyone ganging up on the one guy with the difference in opinion...

I think people just want you to explain about how you've come to that conclusion.

Okay, you think it's overrated. Fine. Why do you hold that opinion?

Is it unsatisfying dramatically? Are the performances not up to standard? Is it too contrived? Has it dated? Does the dialouge not work for you? Is it uneven? etc, etc....

I'm always up for hearing someone make a good case for a differing opinion, but when a person starts a thread about how you think the film is overrated, when it's widely held to be one the defining films of the last thirty years, and then don't flesh out their criticisms past the inital statement stage - Well, then, people are definitely going to start asking you to explain where you're coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Same. I think Reservoir, Jackie Brown and (maybe oddly enough) The Hateful Eight are far better films than Pulp Fiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

The only real problem with Pulp Fiction is the slew of lesser, painfully trying to be hip-movies that came in its wake. Always thought Jackie Brown was his best work, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

I never got the hulabalo over this movie. I saw it once, it was ok! I guess because it was a bit different at the time hence its popularity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Fuzzytrooper

I really didn't like Pulp Fiction. While I do think it is well made, I have never been a fan of Tarantino's style. Then again my opinion probably doesn't count for much. I liked Battle LA. Reminded me of my old FCA days...battling alien invaders from the sea. Ah memories.... But seriously, I think it's his deliberate over the top, super cool style that bugs me. Again I can appreciate it and I think it's exactly the effect he is going for but I much prefer more realistically styled films. I did just mention a film about an alien invasion but I think you know what I mean.