Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Keep your togs on. :D

As you probably all know already, I hate most things.

But that line does make me smile. Heh. Togs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Talking of togs and it's a TV Ad rather than a radio one but this one cracks me up: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mT8cgTkIz2A

I even have it added on my insane YouTube channel. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Talking of togs and it's a TV Ad rather than a radio one but this one cracks me up: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mT8cgTkIz2A

Tropic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

Love it. The little fella in the cowboy outfit just watching the whole thing makes me laugh too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭ArthurG

Off on me holliers. Love it.

Hehehe

Love that one too.

Down dere for dancin'

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,262 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

jca wrote: »
    Love it. The little fella in the cowboy outfit just watching the whole thing makes me laugh too.
    For all the many many times I've seen that ad (and loved it, btw - "gonna be tropic" :D) - I never, EVER noticed the kid sitting on the countertop :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    For all the many many times I've seen that ad (and loved it, btw - "gonna be tropic" :D) - I never, EVER noticed the kid sitting on the countertop :eek::eek::eek:

There ya go, just goes to show what different people see. I love the ad too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,094 ✭✭✭✭flazio

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Another rare good one - the "take the train" ad for IE makes me laugh every time!

"not my new handbag" :D:D
    The bit where the Public Service announcer says not to overload the car. Ironic for anyone who's been on the 16:00 service to Galway.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

flazio wrote: »
    The bit where the Public Service announcer says not to overload the car. Ironic for anyone who's been on the 16:00 service to Galway.
    ]
    That take the train Ad is quite atrocious. Why not go the full hog and have the car crash and little Johnny go out through the windscreen. Some IE buffoon signed off on paying an Ad company for that rubbish. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

The new right price tiles ad with the shaft background music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Mc Love wrote: »
    The new right price tiles ad with the shaft background music

I'd file this in the "Could have been good..." category.

But they decided to go down the route of "Oh-ho, let's do a stereotypical culchie accent as a juxtaposition to the song we're using's origins!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

There's an awful ad (there's a surpise) for the Mater Private (of course),where this ubiquitous posh oul wan addresses her husband.

" Are you alright, Dear"
    "Ah, I'm fine, just a little tightening of the chest and a few palpitations, that's all, nothing to worry about"
    "You should get yourself checked"
    "Ah shure I'm grand"

Hope he left it at that so we won't havta hear this ad anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭Trebor176

There's an awful ad (there's a surpise) for the Mater Private (of course),where this ubiquitous posh oul wan addresses her husband.

" Are you alright, Dear"
    "Ah, I'm fine, just a little tightening of the chest and a few palpitations, that's all, nothing to worry about"
    "You should get yourself checked"
    "Ah shure I'm grand"

Hope he left it at that so we won't havta hear this ad anymore.

I heard that today. He sounds quite relaxed for someone with chest pain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭DubTony

jca wrote: »

Excellent ad. But I can't believe I never noticed the kid sitting on the counter before. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Huhuhuhuh, it's Friday! (Cue Rocky music) Play the Lotto.

I've always hated that guys voice (does every fecking ad) but this new lottery advert drives me to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Trebor176 wrote: »
    I heard that today. He sounds quite relaxed for someone with chest pain!

Last (and only) time I was in a cardiac overnight unit because of chest pain that was nothing more than muscular, I was surprised by the number of middle-aged guys who looked healthy enough, who'd been persuaded or firmly driven into the hospital by wives and /or offspring because they'd had a bit of a twinge during golf or gardening, etc. Almost without exception, they all told me, "Ah sure, I thought it was nothing."
    In every case, it was a real cardiac event - I was the only one without a heart condition; although, having said that, I'd like to point out, the pains I had were real enough. That's what comes of lifing a fecking huge iron welder into a van by yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

"Siiiiir......you did not invent the Sleeping Bag!!!"
    "That's what O'Meara camping WANT you to think"

WTF...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

"We started small and now we have 60 employees. How did that happen?"

I hope you come up with better answers than that when the Revenue audit the company after hearing that commercial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,214 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Unsurprisingly, the Dublin Horse Show ads are snootier than Fionnuala O'Carroll-Kelly. You realise you really don't belong there when you don't understand why the woman says, "It's two-step!" at the end. :o

Oh, and Expert Hardware...just who the hell thought "to-done" is grammatically correct? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Turn Right, NOW!"
    "There isn't a feckin' right!"

Take the train.

I like that one.

Of course, it will be done to death and I'll end up hating it.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    There's an ad at the moment which I can't quite decide whether I like or hate...

Can't remember the product, think it's some car company, and it starts off with a sound technician saying "[Product name] advert, take one!", then a kid reading the script, followed by the technician sighing and saying "Next!".

The more I hear it, the more it irritates me for two reasons:
    1) Kids on the radio generally annoy me
    2) It's starting to infuriate me that there isn't a "Take 2!" featuring a real upbeat "Wahey! Wazzul Wazzul!" VO artist, similar to those you'd have for ads for Oxegen back in the mid-00's...

If they'd done the thing where they had one ad at the start of an ad break and another at the end this could have been a really funny campaign...

I heard a new one today featuring an older man reading in a hip-hop style voice.

It was still "Take 1."

Could they not have got the VO artist to say a few other numbers while he was at it!?

F*ckin Cirque Du Soleil b*llocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I heard a new one today featuring an older man reading in a hip-hop style voice.

It was still "Take 1."

Could they not have got the VO artist to say a few other numbers while he was at it!?

Each persons first go is always Take 1 for them.

L1011 wrote: »

Fair point! :pac:

Seriously. Cirque du Soleil.

I've heard it about 1,000 times today, it's louder than everything else and as a show it sounds like absolute hell on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,214 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I am sat at my desk absolutely dumbfounded that someone at DID Electrical approved that abomination of an ad that was just on Newstalk about a minute ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

"This is Harry, Barry and Gary".

ffs, can the not even write an advert with proper grammar any more. Does it have to be both ridiculously f**king stupid and grammatically incorrect?

It was still "Take 1."

L1011 wrote: »

Yeah. It should be "NEXT !!!"

"This is Harry, Barry and Gary".

ffs, can the not even write an advert with proper grammar any more. Does it have to be both ridiculously f**king stupid and grammatically incorrect?

I don't think I've ever heard anyone be grammatically correct in that situation. The way some things are said incorrectly are just acceptable. ;)