Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Frank is certainly a major problem, people from the outside simply don't see it

People from outside? Ye are the ones who keep him in power. From outside we see plenty, and it looks totally farcical to be honest. How many years ago was it that he said he'd be stepping down in two years? Must be north of a decade anyway...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

People from outside? Ye are the ones who keep him in power. From outside we see plenty, and it looks totally farcical to be honest. How many years ago was it that he said he'd be stepping down in two years? Must be north of a decade anyway...

People on the outside simply don't get that that we don't Keep him in power he keeps himself!! He can't be fired. It's a job for life or until he decided to go himself, which will be when his number is up and not before. Farcical in the extreme but that's the way it is. There is no way he will leave of his own accord. And with the stupid cronies he has built up around him over the decades in charge , that will not change!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

I have to say that I am shocked at the Cork performance today - just when you think they have bottomed out there is another fall - and I would say there is a bit to go yet.

The goal, instead of energising Cork seemed to have the opposite affect - very strange...

Near the end one Cork forward ran in the wrong direction with the ball for about 10 yards, who passed to a colleague who then also ran away from the Wexford goal!!!! Sweet Jesus are they all that afraid to take on a man or get a belt? Or it could be that teams are so drilled not to give away possession they are afraid to take the ball into contact.

The Cork Jersey once struck fear into other counties... now it looks like fellas are afraid to wear it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

First of all congrats to Grueller and Wexford. Completely worth their win. Hope you keep the momentum going through the quarter finals.

Regarding the debate, it doesn't have to be an either/or between the players or Frank Murphy.

It's clear that the structures put in place for Cork hurling have been failing for some time now, leading to the current panel of players who are not up to the requisite standard. We've been poor at minor and U21 for the last number of years. Equally as importantly, we seem to have a real problem in how we develop/keep hold of the promising players from those minor teams when they get to between those ages. Other counties like Waterford and Clare seem to have interested them better, albeit they had much better minor teams. Looking at the players who have got proper game time in the last couple of years, the only young players who have established themselves recently are Cadogan, Cormac Murphy and Pa Collins, who hasn't gotten much of a look in. That's scandalous lads. Lehane is 24 sometime this year, he's not particularly young anymore. We should be able to develop more than that. There are players we've lost like Sweetnam, Cahalane and O'Callaghan for various reasons but I'm sure we're not the only county who can say that. The current panel is reminiscent of past underage teams. Backs who aren't great In possession and don't deliver good ball and a lot of lovely, skilful forwards who struggle to win their own ball.

Of course, what do we do to rectify this problem? We build an unnecessarily large stadium with only one training pitch for a "centre of excellence". It's madness. When county board delegates try to discuss a strategic plan about underage Cork hurling they get shutdown (see the last board meeting).

Grueller mentions club hurling and schools hurling and that too is a contributing factor. The schools hurling seems to be slowly improving again but that will take time to trickle up. The standard of club hurling and the lack of bite in senior championship is very noticeable. It's been consistently mentioned here by posters. In saying that, and for the posters who say we should savage the current panel, there isn't exactly a rake of lads producing huge performances in club hurling. The panel we have is broadly the best we have.

That's one side of it and largely to do with Frank and matters external to the current panel.

Equally though, this panel have enough quality to comfortably beat Wexford as they showed last year. They didn't show up today and that's been a recurring theme of this panel for the last 3/4 years. Inconsistency. Highs (Clare last year, winning Munster the year before etc.) and bad bad lows (Wexford, Galway and Tipp in the last three years).

A lot of posters were negative coming into championship and the quiteness of this thread I think reflected a large part of that. However I don't think I was alone in not expecting the result today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Waternut

rebeve wrote: »
    SeaFields wrote: »
    At one stage a Wexford sub came on and gave Lehane a belt of a shoulder. Lehane stepped back. That moment defined where Cork hurling is right now.

Depressing stuff. I don't think calling for Kingstons head or any player in particular either will solve things. There's something fundamentally wrong.

Frank , there I said it .
    Add your reply here.
    Blaming Frank is a complete cop out. Any time there is an issue in Cork its blame Frank. Now I'm not saying he is not some of the problem but Cork hurling has realistically been in trouble since the mid 2000's. When was the last all ireland? JBM got ye to a final in 2013 which merely papered over the fact that Cork were in serious trouble for five or six years before that. Now here is my issue with everyone blaming Frank because in my opinion it comes down to the clubs. Why are the clubs in Cork not producing Joe Deanes, Sean Og's or the likes of the O'Conner's anymore? There should be a plethora of young lads who grew up watching the likes of the above players and watching them win all irelands and wanting to follow in their footsteps. Success breeds success, but where are these young lads? Now, you can have one or you can have a hundred fields for Cork panels to train on but the making of a player, particularly in hurling, is at underage with the club. Frank may be some of the problem but ultimately the clubs have to step up, start producing and be more competitive themselves.

Waternut wrote: »
    Add your reply here.
    Blaming Frank is a complete cop out. Any time there is an issue in Cork its blame Frank. Now I'm not saying he is not some of the problem but Cork hurling has realistically been in trouble since the mid 2000's. When was the last all ireland? JBM got ye to a final in 2013 which merely papered over the fact that Cork were in serious trouble for five or six years before that. Now here is my issue with everyone blaming Frank because in my opinion it comes down to the clubs. Why are the clubs in Cork not producing Joe Deanes, Sean Og's or the likes of the O'Conner's anymore? There should be a plethora of young lads who grew up watching the likes of the above players and watching them win all irelands and wanting to follow in their footsteps. Success breeds success, but where are these young lads? Now, you can have one or you can have a hundred fields for Cork panels to train on but the making of a player, particularly in hurling, is at underage with the club. Frank may be some of the problem but ultimately the clubs have to step up, start producing and be more competitive themselves.
    They didn't magically become incapable of producing players, the fact that it's a problem across the whole county implies that the problem is wth the underage structures, and therefore ultimately the county board, and therefore frank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

They didn't magically become incapable of producing players, the fact that it's a problem across the whole county implies that the problem is wth the underage structures, and therefore ultimately the county board, and therefore frank.

How did the club's ever produce a Joe Deane or a Brian Corcoran? Or the O'Connors?

I would love for someone to explain to me how the county board can be blamed for Cork losing yesterday to a team that doesn't have the same quality players as them.

Come down to Waterford and take a look - the development squad system is shyte - no director of hurling... but clubs and primary schools are producing intercounty hurlers and all stars in places where 20 years ago no one could hold a Hurley properly. It's all down to the club's - no-one is going to come in and do it for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Simply put Frank has a stranglehold on all things Cork GAA for donkeys years

He has influenced or controlled all the major decisions involving appointment & management of teams and more importantly the funding. For an intelligient man He has not had the vision, OR THE DESIRE, to see how the game has evolved and has held Cork Back with a ruthlessly stubborn belief that he knows more than anyone else

And now we are living with the results of it.

He is a manipulative bully and loves the sound of his own voice. THose who threatened his position or authority in the past have over time been alienated from the ranks

I would think his legions of supporters aare dying off or the sickening realisation may be dawning in them he is,not the messiah after all.

But sadly I dont see it changing anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

People on the outside simply don't get that that we don't Keep him in power he keeps himself!! He can't be fired. It's a job for life or until he decided to go himself, which will be when his number is up and not before. Farcical in the extreme but that's the way it is. There is no way he will leave of his own accord. And with the stupid cronies he has built up around him over the decades in charge , that will not change!!

Could you expand on this please?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Could you expand on this please?

Apparently, when he took charge 45 years ago he had a stipulation put in that he could not be fired hard to believe but he is still there. But he has built up such a bunch of followers around him at the top table that no one would even challenge him anyway!

If a club voiced opinions against him,call of a sudden they would not get championship games at their ground and any issues with their club would not be treated 'fairly' in some cases, trying to get matches put off etc it's a joke of a situation, dictatorship in its finest form.

JesusRef wrote: »
    How did the club's ever produce a Joe Deane or a Brian Corcoran? Or the O'Connors?

I would love for someone to explain to me how the county board can be blamed for Cork losing yesterday to a team that doesn't have the same quality players as them.

Come down to Waterford and take a look - the development squad system is shyte - no director of hurling... but clubs and primary schools are producing intercounty hurlers and all stars in places where 20 years ago no one could hold a Hurley properly. It's all down to the club's - no-one is going to come in and do it for you

Well, yeah, like I say I'm not from Cork so I'm not privy to what's going on down there. I'm certainly not going to argue that the clubs can wash their hands of anything, but regarding your first question, they produced those guys a long time ago, clearly the game has moved on, and they haven't. But that is a collective problem.

I would also point out that we aren't really at cross purposes here. The county board IS the clubs. They are the same thing. All this stuff about Murphy being unsackable is codswallop, if the will was there he would be gone but nobody has the will to shift him along. That doesn't mean Frank is totally to blame, but it does point towards the lack of collective accountability. Definitely laying the blame on the players or management, at this point, would be a complete cop out on everyone's part down there.

Ah, I dunno, wish I hadn't started posting here simply because, as is clear, I'm not in a position to know what's wrong. But it's frustrating from an outsiders point of view. Especially as a Kilkenny man it's a strange thing to find yourself wishing Cork were stronger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

Cork are the Rebels, no?

Apparently, when he took charge 45 years ago he had a stipulation put in that he could not be fired hard to believe but he is still there. But he has built up such a bunch of followers around him at the top table that no one would even challenge him anyway!

What I don't understand is how this stipulation survived the new rules the GAA brought in a few years back limiting the time that someone can stay in a single position on any county board. And all I have ever heard when I ask is, "ah sure that's Frank". It's not really good enough to be honest.

blackcard wrote: »
    Cork are the Rebels, no?

I think you will find that the players did strike, and strike again, Frank is still in charge. Surrounded by yes men, carefully chosen down the years, nothing happens in Cork gaa unless Frank wants it to. The clubs need to rise as one ....but that has never happened, so I don't think it ever will.

Whatever rules came in recent years you can be damn sure Frank made sure he was covered in some way, After all, he is still there.

Lads, I'm on hols in France and the bar is calling me, tired of talking about our ' beloved' Furher au revoir!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,353 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ladies football Munster final - Cork 1-5 Kerry 0-4 HT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Ladies football Munster final - Cork 1-5 Kerry 0-4 HT

They never let us down. Hope they push on and win.

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    They never let us down. Hope they push on and win.

home and dry with a few minutes left, 2-8 to 0-5. Kerry going 26 min of 2nd half before scoring

2-8 to 0-7 FT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Footballers drew Longford away. Banana skin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

DuffleBag wrote: »
    Footballers drew Longford away. Banana skin

Possibly but you'd imagine the win against Monaghan means we shouldnt underestimate them. If we get beat by Longford it really will be the end of the road for alot of these fellas, more so the fellas who have come through in last 2/3 years and been a step back.

True. This has all the hallmarks of that defeat to Fermanagh we had up in Croke Park a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Focusing on the positive, you'd hope the match against Monaghan, whilst a huge boost to Longford, will have taken alot out of them. Very hard to put together another performance after the highs of beting a team of Monaghans ilk, I'd still fancy Cork, even on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,959 ✭✭✭eigrod

If the attitude is right, we will beat Longford handy. If the attitude is like Kildare last year, any team can beat us.

eigrod wrote: »
    If the attitude is right, we will beat Longford handy. If the attitude is like Kildare last year, any team can beat us.

Or like Tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭AnMuinteoirOg

Alan Cadogan and Aidan Walsh are back training with the footballers tonight

DuffleBag wrote: »
    True. This has all the hallmarks of that defeat to Fermanagh we had up in Croke Park a few years back.

I was at that game. It seemed every kick went over the bar for them.

We should beat Longford. It is a tricky tie, but I think they have got their good win out of their system last weekend. Home advantage will make it tougher but we should win by a few points .

It will be interesting to see how the 2 hurlers get on. Cadogan in particular is a nice footballer. Walsh if he is more direct in his play and does not shoot for points could be effective also.

Should make for an interesting game, but we should just about have enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Alan Cadogan and Aidan Walsh are back training with the footballers tonight

Smells of pure panic to me, what does this say about our 'gameplan', do we even have one?
    I wonder how this has been handled with the squad because the knock on with this is that 2 fellas listed on Saturday will now be dropped from the panel, because these 2 aren't coming back to make up numbers.

In fairness, nobody on that football panel is safe of their place, and none of them can complain. They beat a poor limerick side, but lost to an average Tipp side and havent performed in years.

Whatever about Walsh (i dont rate him as a hurler or a footballer), i'm very excited to see the small cadogan play. Especially with Hurley now out for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Walsh will always be a better footballer then hurler. He'll be a great addition to the squad plus cadogan brings pace. If walsh performs our midfield will wipe out Longford. But saying that 1/4 finals is as far as cork go depending on the draw