Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Anyone else able to divine for water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Pigeons, wolves, turtles, sharks and many more can pick up the weak magnetic fields

it seems to be worn down to next to nothing in us , all it does is affect your visual threshold

The human visual threshold depends on direction and strength of a weak magnetic field.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12942272

bit of craic anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Look I try to understand as much as I can and all I wanted to know is why two wires which I hold very loosely pointing forward and when I cross over the water pipe and electric cable underground going to the pumphouse the wires come together.
    That's all. I read on tff that some people put them in plastic biros and it works and I will try that next and see. You have to question everything and learn from it.

just try walking ahead and ask the wires to cross then point strIght ahead and see what happens. I did and the wires crossed which is why I think it has more to do with the mind than magnetic fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭onrail

Look I try to understand as much as I can and all I wanted to know is why two wires which I hold very loosely pointing forward and when I cross over the water pipe and electric cable underground going to the pumphouse the wires come together.
    That's all. I read on tff that some people put them in plastic biros and it works and I will try that next and see. You have to question everything and learn from it.

My understanding is that in this case:
    1. The wires are very finely balanced.. Even the most miniscule movement would set them to move.
    2. You walk over a pipe which you know is there.
    3. Subconsciously you expect the wires to move.. This causes very slight twitches which consciously you aren't aware of.
    4. These miniscule twitches cause the finely balanced writes to move

So to you the wires are moving of their own accord.. In reality they're not.

onrail wrote: »
    1. The wires are very finely balanced.. Even the most miniscule movement would set them to move.
    3. Subconsciously you expect the wires to move.. This causes very slight twitches which consciously you aren't aware of.

So how do you explain finding a hidden object that you don't know where it is? The rods will point you in the direction of the object and cross when you come to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭onrail

Sam Kade wrote: »
    onrail wrote: »

So how do you explain finding a hidden object that you don't know where it is? The rods will point you in the direction of the object and cross when you come to it.
    Has there been any one of the first timers on here who can do this with 100% accuracy in a blind test? All the linked controlled experiments have shown they can't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,522 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Sam Kade wrote: »

No one explains it because it simply doesn't happen. Show a single bit of proper proof and I am all ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Water John wrote: »
    There are some phenonema we still don't understand. A lot of spoofers but a % are genuine.
    The naysayers looking for scientific proof would have given Einstein a very hard time and agreed with imprisoning Galileo.

Rubbish point about Einstein etc as these were proper scientists and proved their theories with hard science facts. Putting them in a sentence with dividers and lads with hazel sticks wandering round a field is just insulting to science in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,332 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Brian, Einstein was basically a civil servant in the patent office. He proposed a theory in two books.

Are we saying now that Einstein wasn't one of the greatest scientists that the world has seen ??
    Yes he dropped out of college and worked in the patent offices, but that doesn't detract from his brilliance. Somehow equating him with dividers is an embarrassing comparison to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,332 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Brian, absolutely Einstein, one of the greatest minds of all time. It is you who is setting the burden of proof required.
    I'm just applying that burden to Einstein. I'm neither saying I believe or disbelieve the dowsing phenonomen.
    I always keep an open but relatively sceptical mind.

Brian, absolutely Einstein, one of the greatest minds of all time. It is you who is setting the burden of proof required.
    I'm just applying that burden to Einstein. I'm neither saying I believe or disbelieve the dowsing phenonomen.
    I always keep an open but relatively sceptical mind.

The thing is Einsteins theories have stood up to scrutiny, they were based on sound theories that were mathematically correct at the time, further scientific process has reenforced them.
    Divining is based on nothing but faith and chance. I've nowhere seen anything that would come close to a sound theory on how it might work. I've seen nothing from any sort of scientific review online other than its based on luck and chance. Until I see something to the contrary I'll keep divining and dowsing filed away with the immaculate conception.

_Brian wrote: »
    The thing is Einsteins theories have stood up to scrutiny, they were based on sound theories that were mathematically correct at the time, further scientific process has reenforced them.
    Divining is based on nothing but faith and chance. I've nowhere seen anything that would come close to a sound theory on how it might work. I've seen nothing from any sort of scientific review online other than its based on luck and chance. Until I see something to the contrary I'll keep divining and dowsing filed away with the immaculate conception.

Did you ever try it?

No one explains it because it simply doesn't happen. Show a single bit of proper proof and I am all ears.

Try it for yourself, it isn't rocket science to try it then get back to us with the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I'll stick up a video for ya 2mora, Brian.

Quite something, never seen or heard of it done with eggs before. Bit of fun and breakfast, better than hazel rods any day ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Just if people want to try that out.
    Am I right in saying that you are using freshly laid fertilised eggs?

Just if people want to try that out.
    Am I right in saying that you are using freshly laid fertilised eggs?

Gotta 1/2 doz of eggs in lidl.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Gotta 1/2 doz of eggs in lidl.....

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,283 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The stuff those free-range hens pop out of their cloacae! They were free-range, weren't they? :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,343 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Best not mention anything about geopathic stress testing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

so that's what it's called.
    My father used to say the old people watched the animals ; cattle, horses ,sheep etc,and liked to build on land these animals favoured for resting.
    I took it with a pinch of salt at the time , but maybe there was something in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,522 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Ley lines? Yeah, best say nothing about that nonsense either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I remember seeing this done with a pendulum on a hand drawing of a layout of an area. It was years ago. I was just along for the ride so to speak but a friends parents were having some sort of problem inside the house because of an underground steam. No idea what exactly needed doing but it required heavy construction in the end. Anyway they needed to pinpoint the exact place to dig for the problem and the construction person couldn't find it so recommended a man in Carlow, apparently the best diviner in the country. So day trip off to Carlow to see him.
    It was really interesting to watch him work. First he got them to draw a rough outline of the room layout of the house and used his pendulum over that and isolated the room and the line at fault. Then he went over that general area on bigger more exact house plans with the pendumulm and drew out the route of the stream and he did isolate the exact perfect spot for the main part of the work to be done as it turned out.

He seemed to be maybe a farmer, he didn't ask any questions really or care about the exact structural problem, whatever he came up was a result of pure instinct it seemed. I was a kid but was amazed at exactly how accurate it turned out to be
    It felt like there was definitely something in it.

I remember seeing this done with a pendulum on a hand drawing of a layout of an area. It was years ago. I was just along for the ride so to speak but a friends parents were having some sort of problem inside the house because of an underground steam. No idea what exactly needed doing but it required heavy construction in the end. Anyway they needed to pinpoint the exact place to dig for the problem and the construction person couldn't find it so recommended a man in Carlow, apparently the best diviner in the country. So day trip off to Carlow to see him.
    It was really interesting to watch him work. First he got them to draw a rough outline of the room layout of the house and used his pendulum over that and isolated the room and the line at fault. Then he went over that general area on bigger more exact house plans with the pendumulm and drew out the route of the stream and he did isolate the exact perfect spot for the main part of the work to be done as it turned out.

He seemed to be maybe a farmer, he didn't ask any questions really or care about the exact structural problem, whatever he came up was a result of pure instinct it seemed. I was a kid but was amazed at exactly how accurate it turned out to be
    It felt like there was definitely something in it.

This is the best fella yet..
    He doesn't even need to come to the site, just a rough sketch and away he goes swinging his plumb.. bingo !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

https://youtu.be/1Wprr9TYUwo

I don't really know which side of the fence I'm on. Interesting at the same time. I'll probably get it done sometime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

This is the best fella yet..
    He doesn't even need to come to the site, just a rough sketch and away he goes swinging his plumb.. bingo !!

I've seen this method used to find a variety of things off a map (pics etc used)

There would be a lot of dead ground as its called around here and used to find missing/injured/missing animals etc

Done to such a scale that could actually be scientifically tested/trialled

Would love to see it done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭flutered

how were the wells found back in the day, when they had only shovels to dig with, yet most springs were found under a dept of 30 feet

Springs are where groundwater discharges at the surface. Use your eyes to find springs.
    known hereabouts as rouge springs, they work best during wet weather

Precisely. Numerous people use diving to find water flowing in pipes, most of which will be less than 2m depth. Divining for groundwater in bedrock is unrelated.

Sure unless you go drilling in places were the wires didn't cross then you don't know that it works? And who has a spare couple of grand to do this. Why you would place infrastructure and spend money based on two wires crossing.

In most cases you will find water but not in appreciable quantities. Leave the rods at home and spend 5 minutes on the Geological Survey of Ireland Website looking for signs of damp ground, look at the geology and look for shallow rock, faults, and read the Groundwater Body description of the local area. All very informative and factual information to help you place a borehole.

Ask the local well drillers, if they don't know the local geology then find a local driller that does.
    which were not advailable for most of the time frame of mankind