What was the best concert you were ever at ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

The first Castlepalooza in Charleville Castle in Offaly....2006.

Just.brilliant!

First Foo Fighters concert was my first gig, November 95, SFX Dublin, quality...

The first Homelands, and the first 1 day Electric Picnic were well up there also... :)

More recent years, QOTSA and NIN were the best live acts I've seen in the last decade or so, lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Neutral milk hotel in vicar street was something else

I was there too and it was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I'm honestly wondering are some people trolling here....

For me, Prince (all Dublin gigs, wasn't here for Cork)
    Depeche Mode 1993, 2006, 2009, 2013 (all The Point)

I'll be shot if I say any DJs I guess....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's a toss up between The Hooters and The Levellers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

LordSutch wrote: »
    Ian Dury & the Blockheads, The Grand, Clapham, 1990 ish . . .
    Pink Floyd, Wembly Stadium - London 89'
    Roger Waters @The Aviva, Lansdowne Rd, a few years ago.

Roger Waters at the point in 2011... was asked at the last minute... started to realise it was "that wall" thing when I arrived... was about 30 feet from the stage... amazing!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I'm honestly wondering are some people trolling here....

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

Suas11 wrote: »
    I was there too and it was brilliant.

I was at jeff's solo gig in vicar st a year or 2 before hand and it was great but NMH were just electric. Never thought I would get to see them live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Suas11 wrote: »
    Why?

It's pretty obvious if you read the full thread. I know it's all subjective....but....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Top 2

Leonard Cohen (any or all of them, Kilmainham, O2 London, O2 Dublin, Lisadell take your pick.

David Bowie - Milton Keyes 1983

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

valoren wrote: »
    Radiohead at Punchestown in a tent during the Kid A tour, Oct. 2000.

Loved it.

That was possibly the coldest I've ever been in my life. Cracking gig though.

Top three for me, in no particular order:

Radiohead - Olympia 1996
    David Byrne - Ambassador 2002
    Arcade Fire - The Point 2010 (with the added bonus of Vampire Weekend as support)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 Snarky Puppy

Steely Dan, Hammersmith Apollo, London 2009.
    Stone Temple Pilots, Olympia 2010.
    Sting & Paul Simon, 3 Arena 2015.
    Pearl Jam, Point Depot 1996.
    Pavement, Red Box, 1997.
    REM, Slane 1995.
    Bela Fleck & The Flecktones, Vicar St 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

PTH2009 wrote: »
    3. Rush- 3arena may 2011- unreal show, one of the best live bands around, performed for just over 3 hours and done the whole Moving Pictures Album. First time playing in Ireland too

I was at that, always had a passing fondness for Rush, it wasn't that great a show, unless you were a balding pointdexter, in which case it looked like fanboy heaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Best 5

Metallica twice at the RDS in 2003 & again in 2006 I think. Great band live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

I reckon I've probably forgotten the really best gigs ;) But from what I can remember...

The Smiths Nov 1984 SFX - Throwing copious amounts of foliage up on stage, lads snogging each other, blood in the sinks, obligatory stage invasion - what a gig, what a setlist! http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/the-smiths/1984/sfx-centre-dublin-ireland-bd7d55e.html

Morrissey Nov 2009 National Stadium - 18 Years after playing his first ever solo gig in the same venue (which was dreadful!), Moz returns to play what was for me his best ever Irish solo gig (and I've seen them all I think). Venue was jammed, everybody into it, side songs like Ganglord made sense for the first time in a live context, gorgeous gig. http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/morrissey/2009/national-stadium-dublin-ireland-1bd72534.html

U2 Dec 2015 3Arena - I think it was December anyways, far and away the best arena presentation I've ever seen (which possibly reflects the fact I don't do many pop arena gigs, maybe they are all as good as this). First saw U2 in Leixlip Castle in 1980, and from there through The Point to various Croker gigs, their ability to constantly refresh their live act is astonishing.

Two special mentions:

Casiotone For The Painfully Alone May 2009 Arena DreiRaum, Vienna - With the Donkeys I think, where I fell in love with this song :- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SY5runs0Rcw (That's a version with The Donkey's)

Electric Picnic, Sunday evening, 2013 - Looking at the stage times now I am wondering if I dreamt this, but... I drifted away from the Artic Monkeys and slowly walked back to my tent. On the way home I stopped 3 times and caught :
    - Robert Plant doing Whole Lotta Rosie
    - David Byrne doing Road To Nowhere
    - Billy Bragg doing A New England

You have to love festivals for moments of serendipity like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Phibsboro wrote: »
    I reckon I've probably forgotten the really best gigs ;) But from what I can remember...

The Smiths Nov 1984 SFX - Throwing copious amounts of foliage up on stage, lads snogging each other, blood in the sinks, obligatory stage invasion - what a gig, what a setlist! http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/the-smiths/1984/sfx-centre-dublin-ireland-bd7d55e.html

Morrissey Nov 2009 National Stadium - 18 Years after playing his first ever solo gig in the same venue (which was dreadful!), Moz returns to play what was for me his best ever Irish solo gig (and I've seen them all I think). Venue was jammed, everybody into it, side songs like Ganglord made sense for the first time in a live context, gorgeous gig. http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/morrissey/2009/national-stadium-dublin-ireland-1bd72534.html

U2 Dec 2015 3Arena - I think it was December anyways, far and away the best arena presentation I've ever seen (which possibly reflects the fact I don't do many pop arena gigs, maybe they are all as good as this). First saw U2 in Leixlip Castle in 1980, and from there through The Point to various Croker gigs, their ability to constantly refresh their live act is astonishing.

Two special mentions:

Casiotone For The Painfully Alone May 2009 Arena DreiRaum, Vienna - With the Donkeys I think, where I fell in love with this song :- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SY5runs0Rcw (That's a version with The Donkey's)

Electric Picnic, Sunday evening, 2013 - Looking at the stage times now I am wondering if I dreamt this, but... I drifted away from the Artic Monkeys and slowly walked back to my tent. On the way home I stopped 3 times and caught :
    - Robert Plant doing Whole Lotta Rosie
    - David Byrne doing Road To Nowhere
    - Billy Bragg doing A New England

You have to love festivals for moments of serendipity like that :)

I'm sure Robert Plant was on the Saturday before Bjork.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

Roger Waters The Wall in the O2 back in 2011. Nothing had, or ever will I think, come close to that show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Hans Zimmer, the Point, 2016.

The man himself was a gent, and genuinely hilarious, his music was fantastic and the orchestra and musicians/singers were top notch. Some show.

The last few notes of Time at the encore were played in absolute dead silence from the crowd. Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Cardiacs Marquee Club 1987
    Pearl Jam ULU 1992

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Nathan Carter Inis Fest

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Olishi4 wrote: »
    The Flaming Lips really put on a great show. I had never heard of them and they were supporting Bob Dylan in Kilkenny. They took about 20 people from the audience on stage and dressed them up as aliens and they just stood on stage dancing. There were these huge party popper things exploding from the stage and the lead singer at one stage went out into the crowd in this kind of hamster bubble thing :)

It was mad because there was all that and then Bob Dylan came out and just sat in the corner on his piano. He was still good but said nothing to the crowd where as The Flaming Lips were so interactive.

Totally agree. Dylan was shìte, but the Flaming Lips, and Violent Femmes who also supported were the only thing that made it avoid being a total waste of time. Same as you, I'd not really known of them before, but they were awesome!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Phibsboro wrote: »

that is one hell of a setlist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Noise Annoys

The Beatles at Candlestick Park, 1966.
    Jimi Hendrix, Isle of Wight, 1970.
    Led Zeppelin, LA Coliseum, 1975.

:D Oh, how I wish...

Anyway, the real ones:

David Bowie, Olympia, 1997
    AC/DC, O2, 2009
    Iggy Pop, HQ, 1999 (post MTV Awards show)
    Leonard Cohen, Kilmainham, 2008
    The Pixies, National Stadium, 1990*

*I actually can't remember much about that at all, but I just thought I'd put it in to make younger fans of the band jealous. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

AC/DC in the Aviva last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭jharr100

Ac dc Wembley 2000
    Iron Maiden earls Court 2000
    Rory gallagher CIT 1993
    David bowie men arena 2003
    Page / plant 1998 the point (i had a backstage pass)

Couldn't pick just 3 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Another one for Rammstein in Dublin. How good that gig was is indescribable.

Honourable mentions for Muse (supporting Ash) down in the showgrounds in Cork in 2001, just before they released OoS, and the Manics playing the Holy Bible in its entirety in the Olympia about two years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Ozzy in McGonagle's in '91 for me. Was a bit of come back show for him to coincide with the release of No More Tears and I think he had just done a year in rehab maybe or something. Anyway it was magic. Felt totally surreal to be in such a small venue and yet such a huge act. We were right at the stage and even though the place was tiny, he made it feel huge. Place was absolutely jammers. I remember one of his daughters (maybe Aimee) threw buckets of water on us. It wasn't even the summer but it felt like it was. Wish there was footage of it somewhere.

Best Springsteen gig is hard to choose but if I had to pick one I'd say the RDS in '99. Was pretty much a E-Street reunion gig after all his solo exploits for the previous decade. Atmosphere was electric.

The two Top Hat Metallica gigs back in '88 were also amazing gigs. I was flung out of the Gresham that day for sneaking into the bar and walking up to Kirk and asking him for an autograph. He was drinking with Glenn Danzig and both told the security to leave me be, the fcukers didn't though. Understandable what with me only being 14 and all and wearing a sleeveless denim with a Metal Up Your Ass backpatch. Got all their autographs on our tickets later on as they left though. Top day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

Bruce in Thomond Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭leinsterdude

Homelands in Mosney, circa 1998 or so.......mad day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

The Lemonheads in Whelans some time in the early 2000s. Got right up the front right under Mr. Dishy himself, Evan Dando!