Euronly official After Hours soccerball thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Yeah, coz Ireland never ever do that.

Remind me how Ireland got on against Australia in the semi final, they were guaranteed to get to?

Sorry Fratton, I'm still figuratively laughing right in your face over England embarrassing themselves against Iceland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Sorry Fratton, I'm still figuratively laughing right in your face over England embarrassing themselves against Iceland.

So you are one of these ones who hate England (and their football team) more than you love the Irish team. Well done. Did the republic not go out at the same stage?? The Irish inferiority complex is alive and kicking with you by the sounds of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

timthumbni wrote: »
    So you are one of these ones who hate England (and their football team) more than you love the Irish team. Well done. Did the republic not go out at the same stage?? The Irish inferiority complex is alive and kicking with you by the sounds of it.

Where did he say he hated England more than loved Ireland and who are the republic?

You can enjoy a teams failure but still enjoy your own teams success's to a greater extent.

Where did he say he hated England more than loved Ireland and who are the republic?

You can enjoy a teams failure but still enjoy your own teams success's to a greater extent.

The republic are the Republic of Ireland. That's what Fifa and myself call ya. What's the problem horse?

Grand so.

Never heard the country being called that before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Bit of a headfcuk though when you have a load of Irish Chelsea/Liverpool/United fans loving Engand failing because English football is so overrated but rating the collection of English league(s)/England nurtured footballers playing for Wales.

Felt for Iceland tonight. Shows how really hard it is to do a Greece. The big teams will stutter all through the tournament and just do enough until they kick in. Hopefully Wales can do over Portugal.

Grand so.

Ya must have led a wee sheltered life so.......

No.Just most people call the country Ireland.

Grand so.

You never heard the term "republic of Ireland" before? Jesus wept.

Not sure where you got that from to be honest but if it makes you feel better about yourself, work away.

You never heard the term "republic of Ireland" before? Jesus wept.

No.

Just Ireland.

Not sure what thee republic of Ireland means to be honest.

Not sure where you got that from to be honest but if it makes you feel better about yourself, work away.

What does "with away" mean mate?

It's a spelling error. I corrected it. But again, if pointing out autocorrect mistakes makes you feel better about yourself...

No.

Just Ireland.

Not sure what thee republic of Ireland means to be honest.

A serious question. Have you really never heard the term "the Republic of Ireland" before????

That would be very weird. You may not agree with it but you bound to fecking realise that ther are 2 countries/states in the island of of Ireland.

A serious question. Have you really never heard the term "the Republic of Ireland" before????

That would be very weird. You may not agree with it but you bound to fecking realise that ther are 2 countries/states in the island of of Ireland.

There is one country and one quasi state like region on the island but one is called Ireland and one is called Northern Ireland.

Ok yah. Very good dingus..... Very humorous .......... Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,417 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Give it a lash Jack
    Never ever, ever say no
    Ireland! Ireland! Republic of Ireland!
    Rev it up and here we go!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Grand so.

Bet you never heard the word 'disingenuous' either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Marje

Teenage fan picked to collect Irish fans medal from Mayor of Paris
    A football mad teenager with a disability has been chosen to receive a medal on behalf of Irish fans at Euro 2016.

Jamie Monaghan (17) from Togher, Co Louth, has been supporting the Irish side all his life and attended all of our games at the tournament.

“I feel so honoured. I am going over to Paris on Thursday and staying over there for the night. We don't know what is happening yet until tomorrow,” he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,589 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

They should have a 3rd/4th place play off now it's 24 teams.

That game is usually a cracker at the World Cup as they don't really have nothing reply to lose, and therefore can go balls out and be very entertaining!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Arghus wrote: »
    Give it a lash Jack
    Never ever, ever say no
    Ireland! Ireland! Republic of Ireland!
    Rev it up and here we go!

It's pronounced "Ra-Pub-A-Lick"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

That game is usually a cracker at the World Cup as they don't really have nothing reply to lose, and therefore can go balls out and be very entertaining!!

you gotta be kiddin its a game neither team want to play

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

And they should have played the Italy-Germany match again the next day, until one of them wins on the field...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

fryup wrote: »
    you gotta be kiddin its a game neither team want to play

Yeah but we get to see the Apres Match lads doing the analysis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Apres Match has really gone badly downhill, or at least has played out it's role in my opinion - that RTE are still hammering on with it would be like if the Mourinho/Rooney "You're on Setanta Sports" still running.

I like the idea of a lighthearted elementl, but I just think they would do well to say goodbye to Rosenstock & co, and look for something a little new and different.

Billy86 wrote: »
    Apres Match has really gone badly downhill, or at least has played out it's role in my opinion - that RTE are still hammering on with it would be like if the Mourinho/Rooney "You're on Setanta Sports" still running.

I like the idea of a lighthearted elementl, but I just think they would do well to say goodbye to Rosenstock & co, and look for something a little new and different.

Woah woah...Rosenstock has nothing to do with apres match. They are the only decent comedy rte has produced in decades, you can't blame them for sticking with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

There does not seem to be a lot of hype in the UK press for Wales.

If it was the England team who made it to the semi-final we would have wall to wall coverage of everything from the type of soil used on the pitch to what Joe Hart's granny uses to cure her verruca.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Now this is a homecoming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its their italia 90, hope they enjoy the moment

nice people, they deserve it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Have only seen one episode of Après Match this tournament and thought it was dire. But to associate Mario Rosenstock with it?!

Generally have always thought impressionists were one trick ponies and it wasn't even a funny trick but Après Match has entertained over the last couple of decades