Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭spillcoe

Horse84 wrote: »
    And it's that very attitutude that has us on a never ending downward spiral.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

spillcoe wrote: »
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/no-cork-crisis-says-new-hurling-development-chief-407731.html

Am I being too cynical in thinking that newly-appointed national hurling development manager Martin Fogarty isn't going to be too worried about Cork hurling as a Kilkenny man? Anyone who has seen the Cork team play over the past few years and coupled with the lack of underage success could be in no doubt that there is a crisis in Cork hurling.

Reads like a langer
    sadly hell have plenty company

Kkenny like rest of country laughin at us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,353 ✭✭✭zetecescort

If he was asked specifically about Corks situation all he had to say was that we are outside his remit.

Saying there is no crisis only gives Frank and the rest something to throw in Kevin O'Donovans face the next time he speaks out

Minors going well so far, leading 1-12 to 0-12, 5 min into 2nd half

1-13 to 0-15, 45min

Tipp after turning it around, 2 up with 10 left

Need a goal, Tipp 4 up with 3 plus injury time left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

All over, lost by 5 pts. Someone needs to do something about this bollocks. Absolutely disgraceful.

Tipp 0-23 Cork 1-15 FT. Cork went 6 ahead after 3 or 4 min of the 2nd half yet lose by 5. Outscored 14-3 for the remainder of the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Tipp 0-23 Cork 1-15 FT. Cork went 6 ahead after 3 or 4 min of the 2nd half yet lose by 5. Outscored 14-3 for the remainder of the match.

No but it's fine with a population like ours we'll always come good.... And the new stadium, think of the lovely new stadium, that's what's important here. Fair play to tipp fully deserved it tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

the mentality of those involved is the problem including the dev squads. I know of a player who is up there with the very best of his age but because of his soccer involvement was not considered as part of the u16 dev squad. stone age thinking for relics that exist in the CCB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,618 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Is the match tomorrow at Pairc ui Rinn sold out ,no more tickets being sold on tickets.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

slingerz wrote: »
    the mentality of those involved is the problem including the dev squads. I know of a player who is up there with the very best of his age but because of his soccer involvement was not considered as part of the u16 dev squad. stone age thinking for relics that exist in the CCB

Not saying I agree or disagree with the stance taken and of course not familiar with the details, but what you are describing is far far from stone age thinking and is actually a very very new and modern thinking. Tipperary minor hurling management have taken a similar stance and players were forced to choose before the year started. The training and commitment involved in any sport at the top level is so great now that juggling more than one simply means you will never reach your full potential at any of them.

The real question is when should that decision be made, many felt in Tipp minor was too young and that only after U21 should a guy make the final decision but Liam Cahill also had many who backed him, U16 does seem a little premature but as I said above I don't know the details.

The Cork team to play Kerry in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Final on Sunday 3rd July has been announced as follows

Cork Team
    1. Mark White (Clonakilty)
    2. Alan McCarthy (St Finbarrs)
    3. Aidan Browne (Newmarket)
    4. Liam O'Donovan (Clonakilty) Vice Captain
    5. Tadhg Corkery (Cill na Martra)
    6. Nathan Walsh (Douglas) Captain
    7. Rory O'Driscoll (Garnish)
    8. Jack Ryan (Ballymartle)
    9. Sean Ryan (Ballinascarthy)
    10. Sean O'Sullivan (Mitchelstown)
    11. Colm O'Callaghan (Eire Og)
    12. Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven)
    13. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
    14. Mark Buckley (Dohenys)
    15. Kevin O'Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
    Subs
    16. Kevin Mc Mahon (Kilshannig)
    17. Sean Minihane (Ilen Rovers)
    18. Jason Twomey (Eire Og)
    19. Gearoid O'Donoghue (Ballincollig)
    20. Cathal Foley (Kilmichael)
    21. Shane O'Driscoll (Glanmire)
    22. Cathal O Mahony (Mitchelstown)
    23. Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown)
    24. Darragh Moynihan (Ballydesmond)

best of luck to all, we could do with some positive results given the week so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭The White Feather

The common thread in a lot of these results for Cork are two things (In my humble opinion!)

1. Seems to be periods where everyone switches off for a while.In the football against Tipp it was at the start. Giving away a big lead and then getting going.Under 21 hurling seemed close then there is a lull and Cork seem to be a few points behind all of a sudden.
    2. Then coming out the wrong side of close games. We just are not getting over the finish line in any of these important games.

If someone is not from Cork or not that into following everything, looks at a game, it seems like we are close but just unlucky on the day.Like that Martin Fogarty article. He seems to think, well we are in the mix so everything is ok here.But its not, as we seem to be unable to get over the line in anything at the moment.

When Cork doesn't win anything from minor upwards, people lose interest as the sad truth is that everyone loves a winner! My 2 nephews were playing football and hurling but gave them up to play Rugby instead. I asked them why and they said in Rugby we win games (meaning Munster and Ireland) whereas for Cork they think we don't win anything. They are very young so maybe thats harsh but that's the way they feel. Hopefully its just them but if thats replicated with others, its not a good sign!

We have no divine right to win anything though so it needs people in Cork GAA to step up and get the job done. From on the pitch to a co-ordinated plan from teens to Senior, The CCB need to put in a proper system and plan.

To back up this idea, I bring in Jamie Wall! :D

He recently tweeted the following on whats happening
    https://twitter.com/Jamwall7/status/748628375271510017
    https://twitter.com/Jamwall7/status/748628688124674048
    https://twitter.com/Jamwall7/status/748629028563714048
    https://twitter.com/Jamwall7/status/748629354817724416
    https://twitter.com/Jamwall7/status/748629636293218304
    https://twitter.com/Jamwall7/status/748629952052994048
    https://twitter.com/Jamwall7/status/748630219414773760
    https://twitter.com/Jamwall7/status/748630735607705601

A full article about this was in the independent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

1. Anthony Nash
    2. Mark Ellis
    3. Damien Cahalane
    4. Killian Burke
    5. Cormac Murphy
    6. Christopher Joyce
    7. William Egan
    8. Aidan Walsh
    9. Bill Cooper
    10. Seamus Harnedy
    11. John Cronin
    12. Conor Lehane
    13. Alan Cadogan
    14. Patrick Horgan
    15. Luke O'Farrell

16. Patrick Collins
    17. Conor O'Sullivan
    18. Michael Russell
    19. Stephen McDonnell
    20. Lorcan McLoughlin
    21. Mark Coleman
    22. Daniel Kearney
    23. Darragh Fitzgibbon
    24. Brian Lawton
    25. Dean Brosnan
    26. Shane Kingston

More of the same by the looks of it. Now the bench.... in fairness. Its great he including u21s, but Darragh Fitzgibbon is like a rake. The jersey will be hanging off him and he'll be mangled if he comes on. Dean Brosnan wasnt good enough 4 of 5 years ago when he was u21 and playing fitz so why would he be good enough now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Lads I don't know fogartys job description but I think his focus being on getting hurling played more widespread in the County is fair enough.

I know it's frustrating when you see the County setups the way they have been for 10+ years but to be fair Cork's problem is exactly that. The level of participation across the County and the resources the board have mean that progression and development should be driven internally. If Cork can't get that right, then you can't expect others to start jumping in too sort it for them. The raw materials are there.

Also All he said was he didn't see a crisis in Cork. Fair enough from an outside point too, it's only 3 years since they almost won an all ireland. And I know they JBM got the best out of them, and they are facing into an indefinite barren spell. But I don't think he said there'll be no work with development officers in Cork, or they are not welcome to consult him etc. They simply aren't his priority and I think that is exactly how it should be.

win is a win but the performance was poor enough overall, over half the game with an extra man and the game was level with a few minutes to go.

Cadogan was outstanding. not sure is it management or players not reading the game but how there wasn't a lot more ball played into his corner a mystery when he was doing wreck. Might be harsh but the rest were average enough I felt. Lots of soloing into trouble, misplaced passes, poor touch, not winning ball from rucks, you know the usual for this team.

Good to move on but we need a massive improvement

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

A win is a win but Christ almighty that cork team would do your fúcking head in!!

Cadogan and Horgan playing very well and countless aimless balls in go wide. Shooting from such a distances is madness considering they were playing well and against 14, it's no wonder we had so many wides.

And that absolute madness of short puckouts with 3 to go and only a point up....what's more stupid than that? Dublin got possession inside our 21 and should have scored. What did Cork do? Short puckout again 2 mins later. I cannot understand that stupidity, simply drive it 90 yards away from your goal would be a much better option.

Lehane has somehow gone backwards. Might be an idea to give him the frees to get him into a game, he is a good enough free taker, take some pressure off hoggie aswell.

Harnedy also was way off his best.

We were wasteful and a bit clueless at times , but we won. Nice to be able to comment on a Cork win, makes for a nice change.

Looking forward to the draw on Monday.

meant to add also that Dublin deserve massive credit for battling like they did, could have sneaked the win and few would have argued with it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

As a neutral it wasn't a bad game to watch but think Dublin would have just about won it if they had 15. Chris Bennett will make a fine player. So much talent in corks forward line and one day they will click but harnedy and lehane look short of confidence. I won't name them but 2 of your defenders are not up to intercounty level. There has to be better defenders in Cork surely. Best of luck in the next round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Might get roasted for this but for me I think Nash is a big problem in this team also. He'd at least 2 brutal puck outs there at a point in the second half where it could've gone either way. Collins for me deserves a chance as he's more accurate with his puck outs. One more thing on Aidan Walsh, to me he's not a half back, he's a wing forward at best and possibly a midfielder. He was caught several times in the first half where his recovery speed going backwards just isn't there takes him too long to get turned. To me he's a better puck out option, and he's better running towards goal imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Well done. Our fellas kept fighting to the end, so couldn't ask for more. Best of luck for the rest of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭lukin

Cork county board have a bit of a dilemma now if the hurlers get drawn against Limerick as well. The footballers have already been drawn to play Limerick and it's been said that if the hurler's draw them on Monday morning the CCB want to make it a double-header in Cork. The footballers are due a home game by Limerick as the last time we played them it was played in the Gaelic grounds. However Pairc Ui Rinn wouldn't be able to take the crowd for a double-header (in my opinion).
    To complicate matters further it is the hurler's turn to go to Limerick as we played them in Cork the last time (2014 Munster final).

Minor footballers lost 3-14 to 3-8, Kerry pulling away in the final 10 minutes

I hear Pa O'Call has been training with the seniors since the 21 game. In line for a place on the bench saturday perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,449 ✭✭✭big_drive

Didn't pat Ryan say the exact opposite yesterday, that he has NOT been involved with the seniors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭lukin

I have a couple of stand tickets for Saturday I don't need. PM me if you want them. They are going for nothing.

big_drive wrote: »
    Didn't pat Ryan say the exact opposite yesterday, that he has NOT been involved with the seniors?

Where did he say that? I heard differently

Edit: Nevermind just saw the Echo rag.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Since when did the echo become a rag?