Euronly official After Hours soccerball thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

CFlat wrote: »
    As long as they keep cool, that's the most important thing.
    They're Icelanders. So cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

They're really pulling an England on it.

Harte must have jelly in his arms. Very soft goal to let in.

You just couldn't script it better (if the result holds). The English media have been hyping the team relentlessly, as always, while always ready to tear them asunder (or more likely find an individual scapegoat, I'm guessing Joe Hart this time, to become the national hate figure), and in the meantime the absolute arrogance about playing Iceland has been hilarious this last few days from analysts on BBC. You had them already discussing how to beat France. It is exactly the kind of hubris that no nation in football does quite like they do, and it is exactly what you want to hear, because it means the hilarious flame out from a major competition can't be too far away.

I just think that while that part of the script is fairly normal (but it's a joke that has never ceased to be funny), it's just so much better this week, after they've fcuked everyone over with Brexit, to see them possibly going out to a bunch of lads that even the most devoted football fan couldn't pick out a police line up, from a country with a population the size of Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

Alli the scummer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

FFS....I said to herself I might watch the 2nd half....end up missing 3 goals!!!

leavingirl wrote: »
    Alli the scummer

Bad form to be lowering themselves to that stuff against lads who probably all have summer jobs when football is out of season.

Alli the scummer

Bad form to be lowering themselves to that stuff against lads who probably all have summer jobs when football is out of season.
    I heard the goalie wrote one of Iceland's Eurovision songs a few years back. I'm not joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I think England will pull it back, but oh this is fun. I think its the Escape to Victory shirts that are inspiring Iceland this tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,570 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Harte must have jelly in his arms. Very soft goal to let in.

You know the international football tournament has really kicked off when an England keeper has an absolute Howler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

I seriously doubt if England don't win this game but the arrogance of some of the British commentary as Realt says above has been shocking. Ferdinand was on last night and he dismissed Iceland like they were sh1t on his shoe and just a formality.

It would be nothing short of hilarious if they beat old blighty this evening.

God save our queen or good save our team

I seriously doubt if England don't win this game but the arrogance of some of the British commentary as Realt says above has been shocking. Ferdinand was on last night and he dismissed Iceland like they were sh1t on his shoe and just a formality.

It would be nothing short of hilarious if they beat old blighty this evening.

It was Ferdinand's comment in particular I was thinking of, but it was just an extreme version of how all of the English analysts were thinking. It's invariably one of the foreign analysts on the panels that have to remind them that Iceland were their next opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,342 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

I know SFA about soccer but I thought these Icelanders were supposed to be part-timers/fans of the Premier League.. hard to tell which are the multi-millionaires and which the minnows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That chants they have is deadly. It's like something you'd hear during a battle in GoT

jojofizzio wrote: »
    I know SFA about soccer but I thought these Icelanders were supposed to be part-timers/fans of the Premier League.. hard to tell which are the multi-millionaires and which the minnows...
    The geysers are in white

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

The sound of vikings going into battle.

That chants they have is deadly. It's like something you'd hear during a battle in GoT

They probably made it up when the whole country was outside the prime minister's house making him resign, or calling for the bankers to get the clink a few years ago. Would be fairly intimidated if I heard that outside my bedroom window.

Oh diddums @ Rooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

Its ITV commentary at half time for me to see what the reaction is!

Did the fans boo them?

Wonder what Mrs Vardy makes of this

The sound of vikings going into battle.

They're all descended from a mix of Norsemen and Irish. And there's some stunners in the crowd (nice work Dirty Dave on camera 4), they must have taken the best of our lot over back in the day...

What's not to like about them?

Did the fans boo them?

Course they did!

The geysers are in white

Are the geysers not in blue and the geezers in white??:confused::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

More than half of the female population of Iceland have Irish DNA markers.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/why-people-in-iceland-look-just-like-us-1.1104676

More than half of the female population of Iceland have Irish DNA markers.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/why-people-in-iceland-look-just-like-us-1.1104676

Well obviously that's where they get their good looks;)

People can accuse me of being small minded not wanting England to win but when you hear people like Rio ferdinand, who never played in a European championships himself, say arrogant and smug things like following you cannot but go ahead and root for the opposition:

To get Iceland, who have just sat back all tournament and defended on the edge of their box is a far better proposition to play against,' said BBC pundit Ferdinand, having composed himself after the news had filtered through.

People can accuse me of being small minded not wanting England to win but when you hear people like Rio ferdinand, who never played in a European championships himself, say arrogant and smug things like following you cannot but go ahead and root for the opposition:

To get Iceland, who have just sat back all tournament and defended on the edge of their box is a far better proposition to play against,' said BBC pundit Ferdinand, having composed himself after the news had filtered through.

What a knob. They've scored in every game so far, which is more than can be said about ingerlund

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I have to laugh at the arrogance of the English. Hopefully Iceland win and it'll quieten them down a bit. But of course it'll be all the manager's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

That Icelandic chant reminds me of the German tribe at the start of Gladiator...

What a tackle that was. As good as a goal in that situation