If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Euro 2016 - Group E - Belgium vs Ireland, 2 pm, RTE & ITV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,787 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

crushproof wrote: »
    Me? I'm looking forward to going to Lille to enjoy the craic with best supporters in the world, who are currently doing the country proud. Win or lose, we're having a good time

Help an old lady across the road, mend a puncture, buy a Belgian a Stella Artois, and then kiss an Italian on both cheeks and wish them all the best for Wednesday ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭irishchris

Spurs and Liverpool ???? Hazard Courteois and players in average Premier League sides? The top clubs in Europe are Barcelona, Munich Real Madrid. I dont see many Belgians there unless Spurs are a top European side now??!

I knew people would big up Belgium, we were appalling in every aspect and made them look good

I think de bruyne would walk into any top European side. Bayern were after him from Wolfsburg but city stole him with their 50 mil. Vermalen plays for Barcelona. I don't think a lot of world talent has looked good so far in the euros. Ronaldo for example was invisible for Portugal, Muller in first game was very poor. But that does not stop them being top top talent. Just means they haven't clicked together as a group in this tournament YET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

We all expected to be beaten, let's be honest, but the performance was very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Here we go just like 4 years ago

Its not the FAI's fault clubs like Monaghan and Athlone spend above their means. The thread on here about that has all the info , not too many blaming the FAI there

I would be more worried about the FAI handing O'Neill another contract before this tournament, so we have to watch this turd football for another few years

The FAI are not investing the resources they have properly. The winners of the league only get 100,000, yet that leech Delaney gives himself 350,000 a year. That is just plain and simply wrong. It shows a lack of care to try and build a team.

How can our teams in our own domestic league move forward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

De Bruyne was **** today. He kept losing the ball. Overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭Ardent

Harsh criticism of McCarthy. A yard in the difference for that second goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,666 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Realistically the structure in Ireland is not geared towards producing top level international players. Underage is in poor standard and revolves around hoofball and getting the ball to the biggest and strongest lad up front. The LoI is generally ignored and scoffed at by fans and media alike. And then we wonder why our national team is in disarray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,120 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I would be more worried about the FAI handing O'Neill another contract before this tournament, so we have to watch this turd football for another few years

Who would you hire to take the shackles off Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭mikeym

Terrible match.

Get rid of Clark and McCarthy.

We won't beat A weakened Italy side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,379 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

This is it now. This is our nation's footballing future and getting to the Group stages of tournaments and getting hammered by good teams is all we can hope for. We saw it four years ago and we're seeing it now.

When you rely on other countries to develop your footballers and have a football association which abdicates all responsibility for creating and developing players this is what you get. When the FAI washes their hand of grassroots football and the domestic league, this is what we get. So we better get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Ardent wrote: »

HARSH?!?! He was shocking today. Should be sent home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭crushproof

Ally Dick wrote: »
    crushproof wrote: »
    Me? I'm looking forward to going to Lille to enjoy the craic with best supporters in the world, who are currently doing the country proud. Win or lose, we're having a good time

Help an old lady across the road, mend a puncture, buy a Belgian a Stella Artois, and then kiss an Italian on both cheeks and wish them all the best for Wednesday ?
    Sounds like a right good plan. Is this Italian a bit of a looker?
    I'm a realist, as someone else mentioned, the Italian second team would be us. Maybe we can snatch a draw by being ultra defensive, but then the armchair fans would be giving out yards that we didn't attack attack attack. I'll admit I hate the hoofball tactics but our options are so limited that we really don't have much else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

Every single one of your posts has been negative. Nobody likes a whinger.

We just got battered in appalling display of negative football, and you come on expecting back slapping and positivity ?Give your head a shake ffs

This mindless positivity is mind boggling from some. Its a shame the team and management couldnt play with the same positivity instead of lieing down and embarrassing ourselves in front of Europe once again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Benimar

Not at all. 2 basic mistakes a man of his experience should not be making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭Ardent

The knives are out in the RTE studio

rob316 wrote: »
    Oh we are talking about world class players now, ya know there is an in between and Ireland are still nowhere near that level. Your ignorance on this matter really is astounding

You havent a clue pal or you cant read, the post I quoted says Belgium have loads of players with Europes top clubs. They do not unless you consider Spurs and Liverpool top clubs.

I dont really care either way, we seen what they were against Italy. They are no great shakes but go on keep your head in the sand. Its more about the negativity we displayed on the pitch today, Belgium didnt have to play well at all

The knives are out in the RTE studio

Talking a load of rubbish. They haven't focused on the main issue, we don't have the players. Dunphy mentions Roy Keane and how great it would be to have him. There isn't any world class players or even great players coming out of this country anymore and we need to focus on why that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭sniperman

if it were a drinking competition,we would win hands down every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

That match has made me want to buy a Hyundai and drive it into a big wall

shut t f up. kilkenny hurling team, rugby team, ruby walsh, cork womens team.

the man is a broken incoherent record.

A ranter and raver of the highest order and very very classless individual

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Mec27

Yeah they are talking nonsense, we were **** but we were **** because we aren't as good, Witsel is more athletic, more dyanmic and better than mccarthy it has nothing to do with concentration and nothing they do in abbotstown is going to change it.

edgecutter wrote: »
    The FAI are not investing the resources they have properly. The winners of the league only get 100,000, yet that leech Delaney gives himself 350,000 a year. That is just plain and simply wrong. It shows a lack of care to try and build a team.

How can our teams in our own domestic league move forward?

I agree, but I think some of the clubs need to stop spending more than they have as well. They are many problems with Athlone like Monaghan before them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 AdolfEngIand

We just got battered in appalling display of negative football, and you come on expecting back slapping and positivity ?Give your head a shake ffs

This mindless positivity is mind boggling from some. Its a shame the team and management couldnt play with the same positivity instead of lieing down and embarrassing ourselves in front of Europe once again

Alright, pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

Ally Dick wrote: »

Its nice to be nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,379 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I agree, but I think some of the clubs need to stop spending more than they have as well. They are many problems with Athlone like Monaghan before them

If the clubs stop spending more than they have that the league no longer exists. The clubs have no support from the FAI and it costs them money to actually enter the league with only the top two teams making anything from 'prize money', which is a fraction of what Delaney pays himself.

This is it now. This is our nation's footballing future and getting to the Group stages of tournaments and getting hammered by good teams is all we can hope for. We saw it four years ago and we're seeing it now.

When you rely on other countries to develop your footballers and have a football association which abdicates all responsibility for creating and developing players this is what you get. When the FAI washes their hand of grassroots football and the domestic league, this is what we get. So we better get used to it.

In a nutshell.

Clubs will run into difficulty and what has happened at the two clubs mention was poor management. Yet, the FAI has to focus on improving he league here. Extra winnings for all he clubs could mean building up the youth teams, sending young coaches out to get their UEFA badges and improving their fortunes in Europe.

Mec27 wrote: »
    Yeah they are talking nonsense, we were **** but we were **** because we aren't as good, Witsel is more athletic, more dyanmic and better than mccarthy it has nothing to do with concentration and nothing they do in abbotstown is going to change it.

To produce a better standard of player in this country, junior soccer needs to be demilitarized and reformed. Get rid of the Mourinho wannabes with their barking orders and get people who will nurture love of the game from early on. Football is an art and children need to be given a canvas. Dominic Foley said it correctly when he pointed out that there could be 30 kids to 1 football with his local club.

That was a good article from him.

That is sad to hear. GAA and IRFU are better run then the FAI