Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Always remember Frankie Boyle on Mock the Week about the cost of London 2012.

"£20 billion? For that they could have just written 'F*CK OFF GERMANY' on the Moon!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,425 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

gutenberg wrote: »
    Looking forward to watching the swimming - it's not a sport that's on TV much at all. Want to see how Michael Phelps does at his fifth Olympics (he qualified for Sydney at age 15), and whether Katie Ledecky will win her projected 5/6 gold medals. Woo! The drugs aspect does bother me a little, but I think swimming hasn't *as* big a problem with it as some other sports (doubtless I'll be proved wrong in the future, but still...).
    Recently I saw a list on the top 10 Irish Olympians ever. Michelle Smith wasn't even mentioned! 3 golds and a bronze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭gutenberg

Recently I saw a list on the top 10 Irish Olympians ever. Michelle Smith wasn't even mentioned! 3 golds and a bronze.

There is an interesting little online documentary series called something like 'Unknown Olympians' or similar, and Michelle Smith is the subject of one of them. It talks about how despite winning that many medals, she doesn't make lists like the one you mentioned, and the curious story behind it all. I was only 6 years old when Atlanta was held, but I find it fascinating in a way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

As a viewer you take the drugs issue for granted, as in most athletes do intentionally take some form of banned substances and it doesn't really affect your enjoyment. You want to see the best performances...world record times, lifts and distances.

As an athlete if you're clean I can imagine that the feeling of competing against others who you know or suspect to be doping must be infuriating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It's too much!!

Defo. I used to live with someone that would watch Cornation street, fair city, brookside, emmerdale farm, eastenders, etc every night. It was the most depressing nonsense ever, anytime I came into the room this crap was always on. I would imagine she is still single sitting on a couch somewhere gorging herself in the misery that they provide to justify that her life is not so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Zaph wrote: »
    Oh and the gymnastics and synchronised swimming because they're sh*te.

Synchronised swimming is rubbish but the gymnastics are superb. Watching those feckers jump and tumble three times in the air, before landing and doing it again is amazing. Watching someone run fast for ten seconds is boring. The 4*100 is much more entertaining.

I'll watch a fair bit of the Olympics. And definitely the basketball if RTE has the same commentator, "RAZZLE DAZZLE!" "All the way to the HOOP!"
    The drugs aspect does bother me a little, but I think swimming hasn't *as* big a problem with it as some other sports (doubtless I'll be proved wrong in the future, but still...).

You are wrong! Phelps was caught smokin' a bong, not too sure that should be a problem though, outside of things like shooting, and archery. I don't think there's any sport in the world that isn't rife with PEDs. In fairness to cycling, they're doing a huge amount to address it after a lot of internal, and public pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

everlast75 wrote: »
    The Olympics is only on every 4 years - as are the Euros, as is the World Cup.

Us males have to contend with soaps, 2 hours a night, EVERY night :)

Should have found partners you have something in common with so. Ah well.

Winter Olympics ftw.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    You are wrong! Phelps was caught smokin' a bong, not too sure that should be a problem though, outside of things like shooting, and archery. I don't think there's any sport in the world that isn't rife with PEDs. In fairness to cycling, they're doing a huge amount to address it after a lot of internal, and public pressure.

Is marijuana considered a PED now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Is marijuana considered a PED now?

It's proscribed, and if found in your system you'll be banned and stripped of medals. I don't know if the rules distinguish between being not allowed because something is performance enhancing, or just because it's not allowed. I doubt it would enhance performance in every sport. I don't think traces of alcohol (as opposed to be smashed) is against the rules in most sports. But like I said in things like archery and shooting, where having a steady hand is vital alcohol is considered a PED. Because a small amount of alcohol will stop small shakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

Looking forward to watching the swimming - it's not a sport that's on TV much at all. Want to see how Michael Phelps does at his fifth Olympics (he qualified for Sydney at age 15), and whether Katie Ledecky will win her projected 5/6 gold medals. Woo! The drugs aspect does bother me a little, but I think swimming hasn't *as* big a problem with it as some other sports (doubtless I'll be proved wrong in the future, but still...).

There are way too many swimming events though. They ruin the start of the Olympics for me.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    It's proscribed, and if found in your system you'll be banned and stripped of medals. I don't know if the rules distinguish between being not allowed because something is performance enhancing, or just because it's not allowed. I doubt it would enhance performance in every sport. I don't think traces of alcohol (as opposed to be smashed) is against the rules in most sports. But like I said in things like archery and shooting, where having a steady hand is vital alcohol is considered a PED. Because a small amount of alcohol will stop small shakes.

In Phelps's case, I believe he was suspended for 3 months, but didn't lose any medals, and his suspension by USA Swimming was on the grounds that he was a bad example to younger athletes, and he had a responsibility as a role model, rather than because marijuana is a PED. I imagine it depends on the sport as to whether it's considered a PED - I imagine it would hinder reaction times, for example, but obviously it assists muscle relaxation, so.... Interesting about archery & shooting though! :)
    There are way too many swimming events though. They ruin the start of the Olympics for me.

We'll have to agree to disagree on that one! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

jester77 wrote: »
    Defo. I used to live with someone that would watch Cornation street, fair city, brookside, emmerdale farm, eastenders, etc every night. It was the most depressing nonsense ever, anytime I came into the room this crap was always on. I would imagine she is still single sitting on a couch somewhere gorging herself in the misery that they provide to justify that her life is not so bad.

I'd rather watch that than 3 football matches per day plus all the before and afters shows on each talking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I used to watch the Boycott games of the 80's and early 90's but not bothered any-more as most of the controversy is based on twit-ter and face-puke comments

Yes will be watching alright. Love the Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,712 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Will watch bits of it if I think of it, like the gymnastics and diving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,947 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

gramar wrote: »
    As a viewer you take the drugs issue for granted, as in most athletes do intentionally take some form of banned substances and it doesn't really affect your enjoyment. You want to see the best performances...world record times, lifts and distances.

As an athlete if you're clean I can imagine that the feeling of competing against others who you know or suspect to be doping must be infuriating.

While it irks me to know that a lot of athletes are getting away with taking drugs and that it tarnishes too many athletes by association, I can watch the Olympics and completely separate drugs from sport in that moment.

As someone said, that 100m final in '88 was exhilarating. It was 55 hours later the news broke about Johnson and it's been called the dirtiest race in history...but at that moment in time it was 9.79s of unadulterated excitement.

I love the Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The opening ceremonies are amazing, London 2012 was just out of this world

I watched the first 20 minutes and it bored me to detah.Ended up watching a great film instead called The Rainmaker, directed by Franics Ford Copolla and starring Dany De Vito and Matt Damon.I'd recommend watching it instead of any opening cermony.

gramar wrote: »
    Do people fancy Ireland's chances for gold in hurling this year?

No.Kilkenny will beat them.

Thats because she cheated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,499 ✭✭✭✭Caoimhgh1n

I only watched the volleyball last time, I didn't even know the rules. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

I was just browsing to see how many medals Israel got in last summers Olympics. Their population is twice that of the republic of Ireland so I figured they might have gotten twice as many medals. Well it turns out that for Ireland`s 2 medals, Israel won a whooping 47 medals. Fair play to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I was just browsing to see how many medals Israel got in last summers Olympics. Their population is twice that of the republic of Ireland so I figured they might have gotten twice as many medals. Well it turns out that for Ireland`s 2 medals, Israel won a whooping 47 medals. Fair play to them!

Welcome to 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Are you sure?

If I'm reading this wikipedia page right it's 47 participants, 2 medals.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Israel_at_the_Olympics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

maudgonner wrote: »
    Are you sure?

:D:D:D:D
    :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

:D:D:D:D
    :pac::pac::pac:

It was two bronze as well, putting them below Ireland on the medal table. :pac:

But fair play to Israel nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

maudgonner wrote: »
    Are you sure?

Well thats the thing with wikipedia, anyone can insert anything they like but presumably that didn`t happen in this case.

So! Ireland sent 80 athletes to Israels 47 yet Israel won just as many medals for half the cost. I guess that means Israel is twice as good as Ireland.