Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan2 wrote: »

Some fellas have a want.

Not a misprint. For those with a bad mind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

whelan2 wrote: »

Don't agree with that at all.
    More like 95% of the time whinging about milk price to anyone who'll listen. And other 5% backslapping each other on how great ye are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

More like 95% of the time whinging about milk price to anyone who'll listen. And other 5% backslapping each other on how great ye are.

Sure with all the whinging and back slapping dairy farmers do we havnt time for much else ,unlike sum who have nothing better to do than be an annoying fooker on Internet forums like this .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

whelan2 wrote:
    I do not spend 95% of my time thinking about cows not in heat , do you ?

According to Mrs kowtow I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,788 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

kowtow wrote: »
    According to Mrs kowtow I do.
    Family would come first here , then farm, there's more to life than cows/farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

We can whinge, backslap, worry about cows in heat and fill a bulk tank all at the same time. It's called multi tasking.

Which is why God made dairy farmers the day after he made cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ted_182

How is breeding going for everyone? Six weeks up here tomo, submitted 100% heifers in 14 days and 92% of cows in 22 days, unfortunately only 50% of heifers held and looking like around 51-52% of cows holding, pretty crap really :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

As my late father would say, those that can, do.

Those that can't spend all day on internet forums b!tching about those that can:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

ted_182 wrote: »
    How is breeding going for everyone? Six weeks up here tomo, submitted 100% heifers in 14 days and 92% of cows in 22 days, unfortunately only 50% of heifers held and looking like around 51-52% of cows holding, pretty crap really :/

we hav a gud few repeating as well,was the heat the last few weeks a factor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,788 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

ted_182 wrote: »

Were the heifers synchronised?

whelan2 wrote:
    Were the heifers synchronised?

Yep half synchronized after 9 days

Henwin wrote:
    we hav a gud few repeating as well,was the heat the last few weeks a factor?

I dunno, i would have felt that would have helped more than anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

Scanned heifers. Only 65% of heifers held to first seve. I assume 75% would be a target or would it be closer to 80.
    Disappointed as heifers weighed very well at MSD and were fed Selenium and Iodine in water.
    Half came in naturally and other half got synchronised after 10days.
    Any thoughts or what figures are lads on here achieving with conception to first serve with heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Get down off the cross will ya!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Down in Cork you'd be known as a langer.

http://youtu.be/1m9SsNxbZxM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

kowtow wrote: »
    We can whinge, backslap, worry about cows in heat and fill a bulk tank all at the same time. It's called multi tasking.

Which is why God made dairy farmers the day after he made cows.

He doesn't like Sunday work though which is a bit of an anomoly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭6270red

Has it been a tough week covering our silage pits you poor bollox... Did you get a nice splash of tyre juice in the face? Come on tell us why your so unhappy??
    Did your brother get the cows?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Mod: There will be no third day resurrection. A pattern of consist trolling and an inability to get his point across civilly have led to this.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

K T will kill some d groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Rain finally back :):):) need to get some fert asap. Is it too risky getting urea??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

That's what I'll be spreading this week anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

milkprofit wrote: »
    K T will kill some d groups
    How do u mean,? half joining and half not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

The neighbour getting on well with a 50:50 mix of dairynuts and rolled barley in the parlour. 175e for the rolled barley at the min, so it's a decent saving over 250e for the nut. Anyone else do anything similar? I'd be using pig feeders against the neighbour who has Orby feeders with a loft and no augers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Timmaay wrote: »
    Rain finally back :):):) need to get some fert asap. Is it too risky getting urea??

If ye got as much rain as we did fire away. I put out 18-6-12 on Sat across the whole farm buthad no compound out before now. I would have no hesitation about urea if that's what was needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

Timmaay wrote: »

Urea Def. ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,996 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Got some flat bits too.. a hundred cow hobby farm just 70 km from auckland ... a snip at 1.25 million..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Was up that direction last week for a wedding, some pretty interesting country up there. 18 degrees in the middle of winter! 700,000 for a 100 cow farm, she would be pretty handy run, easy life. Tempting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

C0N0R wrote: »
    Was up that direction last week for a wedding, some pretty interesting country up there. 18 degrees in the middle of winter! 700,000 for a 100 cow farm, she would be pretty handy run, easy life. Tempting!

What's land sales like out there?
    Down or up in value or is there many coming on the market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Just a quick reminder for any Kerry suppliers who wish to contest the lack of a 13th payment this year, the closing date for receipt of forms authorising the solicitors to contest the case on your behalf is next Monday, 20th of June.

Contact the solicitors Terence F. Casey & company in Killarney for forms or your local director should have them also.

I have a spare form here also if someone needs one, PM me and I can pass it on to you.