Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Rang a lad on done deal today, add was up about 4 days. Anyway he didn't pick up and rang me back shortly. When I enquired about what he had for sale....very indignantly he says "ah sure they sold the day I put up the add" and hung up on me, now tell me I'm good but Christ how was I to know they were sold. Why can't lads take down the add when sold and save us all the bother:mad::mad:
    Chill out. Don't take it personally.
    Not everyone is au fait with the internet. He maybe an older peron who relied on a neighbour to post the ad on Donedeal.
    I have posted many ads on Donedeal for neighbours that wouldn't have a clue about the interweb :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    How to fit a lot of wool into a smallish lorry :D
    If you hung around you'd of seen them trying to squeeze more into a trailer
    Plus good thing they got loaded before the rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

we used to roll the fleeces very tight making the rope etc and you could fit some weight into a pack, about a third more than a loose roll...but its hard enough to keep up with the shearers now.

and once wool leaves the farmer's possession it falls under waste regulations so the truck probably serves 2 purposes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Base price wrote: »
    Chill out. Don't take it personally.
    Not everyone is au fait with the internet. He maybe an older peron who relied on a neighbour to post the ad on Donedeal.
    I have posted many ads on Donedeal for neighbours that wouldn't have a clue about the interweb :)

Bp, I'm always chilled out:D .....until I get peed off:D ah look I understand just wasn't in the mood today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Bp, I'm always chilled out:D .....until I get peed off:D ah look I understand just wasn't in the mood today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Two nights ago we had a fox attack. Three hens taken and a rooster. This morning, went up to feed animals to find two piglets. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,420 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Two nights ago we had a fox attack. Three hens taken and a rooster. This morning, went up to feed animals to find two piglets. :)

That's the ying/yang of farming life just there.

We got two rescue kittens for the girls, have them in the garage and they're settled well and nice wee things.

Only problem is now I think the youngest might be allergic, serious sneezing, stuffed nose and itchy eyes. She does get a bit of hayfeever but surely pollen would be low right now ??

Will be a serous disappointment if she has to restrict access or worse if they have to go :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

_Brian wrote: »
    We got two rescue kittens for the girls, have them in the garage and they're settled well and nice wee things.

Only problem is now I think the youngest might be allergic, serious sneezing, stuffed nose and itchy eyes. She does get a bit of hayfeever but surely pollen would be low right now ??

Will be a serous disappointment if she has to restrict access or worse if they have to go :(
    Pollen can be bad at times in the last few days.

Myself and the eldest lad suffer a bit from it but I find it worse after checking fences.

But I'm very sniffly today and you wouldn't imagine much pollen out with rain and clouds.

Hopefully she is not allergic to them.
    http://www.met.ie/forecasts/pollen.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Odelay

I get hay fever, the summer snot fest has just started. Usually around this time, remember getting caught out with it badly during the leaving cert:(

I don't understand where it comes from, as I understand it was never heard of in my parents time. I was brought up on a farm too and four out the six of us raised there get hay fever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Odelay wrote: »

I don't understand where it comes from, as I understand it was never heard of in my parents time. I was brought up on a farm too and four out the six of us raised there get hay fever.

one of my fathers cousins has bad enough hay fever, has had it all his life and is into his 70s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Odelay wrote: »
    I just wonder were your parents raised on milk from their own farm and your generation raised on pasteurised milk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Odelay

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I just wonder were your parents raised on milk from their own farm and your generation raised on pasteurised milk?

I'd say nail on the head there and my wise mother in her 70s would agree. While she did not know much about pasteurisation, she reckoned it was because we were drinking milk that was from any part of the country and not the locality. We had fresh milk collected in a can from a neighbour until I was five, then the neighbour retired and it was milk from them bag yokes and later cartons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I'm not sure that can be the reason for hay fever?

I know one person who would have had milk from the tank and who get a touch of hay fever...

But even if I didn't I'd still say the reason for hay fever is that you didn't drink milk from the tank is going a bit too far... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I remember reading something about the correlation of increased hay fever symptoms and drinking raw milk. I think it was something about the levels of asthma were much lower in kids that had grown up on raw milk.
    My father gets it very bad but I'd very rarely find it bothering me. Loads of my cousins have asthma though, but myself and my brother don't. I always put that down to growing up in a house with no central heating though, even now I'd find myself getting a cough or dry eyes if I was in a house with oil heating on all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Kovu wrote: »
    I remember reading something about the correlation of increased hay fever symptoms and drinking raw milk. I think it was something about the levels of asthma were much lower in kids that had grown up on raw milk.
    My father gets it very bad but I'd very rarely find it bothering me. Loads of my cousins have asthma though, but myself and my brother don't. I always put that down to growing up in a house with no central heating though, even now I'd find myself getting a cough or dry eyes if I was in a house with oil heating on all the time.

But was it the raw milk? Or was it a country vs urban thing? Or like you say a central heating thing?

The only way to see would be through large statistical analysis I suppose, and I dunno if the data exists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

It's a big thing in America to feed raw milk to kids if they have asthma. There are studies, one of which says
    A recently published study of over 8,300 children in rural parts of continental Europe found a significant reduction in asthma development of 41% for raw milk drinkers. They were also half as likely to develop hay fever as those who drank shop bought or boiled milk. This research has linked the benefits to whey proteins in the milk which are destroyed in the process of pasteurisation (1).
    but I'd take some of those statistics with a pinch of salt, a lot appear to be published with a singular aim in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,416 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Come on Iceland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

whelan2 wrote: »
    Come on Iceland

Tidy goal.

Kovu wrote: »
    My Mam is the same as you. When growing up the temperature in our house would be low in the Winter with the bedrooms just above freezing point ;)
    I hate it when a bedroom is warm and stuffy like they are in hotels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Base price wrote: »
    My Mam is the same as you. When growing up the temperature in our house would be low in the Winter with the bedrooms just above freezing point ;)
    I hate it when a bedroom is warm and stuffy like they are in hotels.

Have to have a window open to sleep regardless of the tempature.
    Normally have 3 quilts during winter to make up for it :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Have to have a window open to sleep regardless of the tempature.
    Normally have 3 quilts during winter to make up for it :o.

Quilts? What is it 1986?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Muckit wrote: »
    Quilts? What is it 1986?

Duvets then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

goats milk supposed to be very good for asthma

Absolutely, and increased antibiotic use in kids, over sterilisation of all surfaces where parents are afraid to let kids get a bit dirty.

Indeed, herself is a nutritionist and her take on that is that most people just get access to raw goats milk and the fact that it's not pasteurised is the key, she reckons raw cows milk would do the trick too.

My sister got a goat for milk and her sons asthma cleared up almost instantly. No more inhalers needed or anything, quite a result and the only work was someone had to hand milk the goat.

My eldest brother suffered badly with asthma and eczema as a child. When visiting my grandparents every weekend we use to come home with 4 or 5 pints of goats milk for him.
    I read somewhere that honey from local bees is also good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Indeed, herself is a nutritionist and her take on that is that most people just get access to raw goats milk and the fact that it's not pasteurised is the key, she reckons raw cows milk would do the trick too.

My sister got a goat for milk and her sons asthma cleared up almost instantly. No more inhalers needed or anything, quite a result and the only work was someone had to hand milk the goat.

I always used to sustitute soya milk for cows milk when asthma would get bad...always improved it and easier sourced than a goat.

rangler1 wrote: »
    I always used to sustitute soya milk for cows milk when asthma would get bad...always improved it and easier sourced than a goat.
    No problem sourcing goats in Ireland :)