Euronly official After Hours soccerball thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Won an accum on yesterdays matches, now tempted to put all €7 of it on a Austria and Portugal double today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Hungover as f**k and Dissapointed for the team they played some great stuff in the first half, Hendrick was very unlucky with his brilliant shot that hit the post, he played very well, Hoolohans goal was brilliant but put the spkike up the swedes to actually do something. Felt sorry for Clarke. Larsson the simp trying to claim the own goal then all the Swedish players went to celebrate with Ibrahimovic. Awful pity Harry Arter is injured, he'd be that extra bit of class to give the team a bit more edge.
    Italians were brilliant last night, we have a good chance against Belguim as long as we don't show them too much respect and give them too much space, Kevin "cant look up to give a pass" De Bryune will probably be benched after that last night for Yannick Carrasco which could be a big concern for us

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,560 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Hopefully the lads have looked at Belgiun and realised they could be there for the taking.
    Get at them early and rattle them.

If Italy beat Sweden they will be almost certainly group winners, so they might give their squad players a run out against us and hopefully we can get at them,

But feck that. Let's just beat Belgium and send the 'heirs apparent' home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

CFlat wrote: »
    Does anyone know what day and what time are we playing Belgium?

Off the top of my head, here's what I can remember of the fixtures list that I briefly read last week.
    Tuesday, June 14:
    Group F, Austria v Hungary (1700BST, Stade de Bordeaux)
    Group F, Portugal v Iceland (2000BST, Stade Geoffroy Guichard, St Etienne)

Wednesday, June 15:
    Group B, Russia v Slovakia (1400BST, Stade Pierre Mauroy, Lille)
    Group A, Romania v Switzerland (1700BST, Parc des Princes, Paris)
    Group A, France v Albania (2000BST, Stade Velodrome, Marseille)

Thursday, June 16:
    Group B, England v Wales (1400BST, Stade Bollaert-Delelis, Lens)
    Group C, Ukraine v Northern Ireland (1700BST, Stade de Lyon)
    Group C, Germany v Poland (2000BST, Stade de France, Paris)

Friday, June 17:
    Group E, Italy v Sweden (1400BST, Stadium de Toulouse)
    Group D, Czech Republic v Croatia (1700BST, Stade Geoffroy Guichard, St Etienne)
    Group D, Spain v Turkey (2000BST, Stade de Nice)

Saturday, June 18:
    Group E, Belgium v Republic of Ireland (1400BST, Stade de Bordeaux)
    Group F, Iceland v Hungary (1700BST, Stade Velodrome, Marseille)
    Group F, Portugal v Austria (2000BST, Parc des Princes, Paris)

Sunday, June 19:
    Group A, Romania v Albania (2000BST, Stade de Lyon)
    Group A, Switzerland v France (2000BST, Stade Pierre Mauroy, Lille)

Monday, June 20:
    Group B, Russia v Wales (2000BST, Stadium de Toulouse)
    Group B, Slovakia v England (2000BST, Stade Geoffroy Guichard)

Tuesday, June 21:
    Group C, Ukraine v Poland (1700BST, Stade Velodrome)
    Group C, Northern Ireland v Germany (1700BST, Parc des Princes)
    Group D, Czech Republic v Turkey (2000BST, Stade Bollaert-Delelis)
    Group D, Croatia v Spain (2000BST, Stade de Bordeaux)

Wednesday, June 22:
    Group F, Iceland v Austria (1700BST, Stade de France)
    Group F, Hungary v Portugal (1700BST, Stade de Lyon)
    Group E, Italy v Republic of Ireland (2000BST, Stade Pierre Mauroy)
    Group E, Sweden v Belgium (2000BST, Stade de Nice)

Saturday, June 25:
    Last 16, Runner-up Group A v Runner-up Group C (1400BST, Stade Geoffroy Guichard, St Etienne)
    Last 16, Winner Group B v Third place in Group A/C/D (1700BST, Parc des Princes, Paris)
    Last 16, Winner Group D v Third place in Group B/E/F (2000BST, Stade Bollaert-Delelis, Lens)

Sunday, June 26:
    Last 16, Winner Group A v Third place in Group C/D/E (1400BST, Stade de Lyon)
    Last 16, Winner Group C v Third place in Group A/B/F (1700BST, Stade Pierre Mauroy, Lille)
    Last 16, Winner Group F v Runner-up Group E (2000BST, Stadium de Toulouse)

Monday, June 27:
    Last 16, Winner Group E v Runner-up Group D (1700BST, Stade de France, Paris)
    Last 16, Runner-up Group B v Runner-up Group F (2000BST, Stade de Nice)

Thursday, June 30:
    Quarter-final 1, (2000BST, Stade Velodrome, Marseille)

Friday, July 1:
    Quarter-final 2, (2000BST, Stade Pierre Mauroy, Lille)

Saturday, July 2:
    Quarter-final 3, (2000BST, Stade de Bordeaux)

Sunday, July 3:
    Quarter-final 4, (2000BST, Stade de France, Paris)

Wednesday, July 6:
    Semi-final, Winner Quarter-final 1 v Winner Quarter-final 2 (2000BST, Stade de Lyon)

Thursday, July 7:
    Semi-final, Winner Quarter-final 3 v Winner Quarter-final 4 (2000BST, Stade Velodrome, Marseille)

Sunday, July 10:
    Final (2000BST, Stade de France, Paris)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Won an accum on yesterdays matches, now tempted to put all €7 of it on a Austria and Portugal double today.

I used my paddy power freebet on the ireland draw. Delighted that it won. :)

Greedy me put the winnings on a Belgium win. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

buried wrote: »
    Hungover as f**k and Dissapointed for the team they played some great stuff in the first half, Hendrick was very unlucky with his brilliant shot that hit the post, he played very well, Hoolohans goal was brilliant but put the spkike up the swedes to actually do something. Felt sorry for Clarke. Larsson the simp trying to claim the own goal then all the Swedish players went to celebrate with Ibrahimovic. Awful pity Harry Arter is injured, he'd be that extra bit of class to give the team a bit more edge.
    Italians were brilliant last night, we have a good chance against Belguim as long as we don't show them too much respect and give them too much space, Kevin "cant look up to give a pass" De Bryune will probably be benched after that last night for Yannick Carrasco which could be a big concern for us

Yeah larson is now on the list. Between that and getting whelan booked when the ref wasn't even looking at the challenge.

A punchable face.

Bizarrely the worst thing we did yesterday was score that goal, it could have lost us the game in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭dasdog

What a goal, what could have been. I'd have been happy with a draw before the game so no complaints. Italy mean business they were excellent. Don't lose the next (It'll be tough), Italians already through when we play them and just maybe. Great tournoir so far.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Looking forward to catching some of the Portugal V. Iceland game.
    I put a tenner on the outside chance of Sigurdsson getting the golden boot. 200/1.

Great performance here by Hungary against another hyped opponent, fair play to them

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

buried wrote: »
    Great performance here by Hungary against another hyped opponent, fair play to them

Absolutely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Marje

Getting fed up hearing all the talk about Ronaldo

Iceland to win :D

(I can dream..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

It's Ronaldo time....can he do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭signostic

every players surname of the Iceland team ends in son including the subs...only odd one out is the manager who is Lars Lagerback, a surname I kinda like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

signostic wrote: »
    every players surname of the Iceland team end son including the subs...only odd one out is the manager who is Lars Lagerback, a surname I kinda like...

Lagerback isn't Icelandic that's why. Co manager with a Icelandic dentist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

every players surname of the Iceland team ends in son including the subs...only odd one out is the manager who is Lars Lagerback, a surname I kinda like...

The Icelanders have an app that you can use when chatting up or dating someone so you can check if you're related, which is apparently a common enough problem that they made a dating app for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The Icelanders have an app that you can use when chatting up or dating someone so you can check if you're related, which is apparently a common enough problem that they made a dating app for it.

They should make one for Clare.

Actually, forget that, they wouldn't use it.

Pepe looking for another 'Golden Diving Board trophy' to add to his collection

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

I have just checked my app and I can't ride you because I just realised you're my sister.

Is there anyone left at home in Iceland minding the oul place?

Grandeeod wrote: »

I'd say its oh, so quiet.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

They don't actually have surnames as such. They just go by one given name and use the father's name to distinguish them from others with the Sam name. The Swansea guy's name is just Gylfi for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭signostic

Grandeeod wrote: »

our army should commandeer 2 ryanair planes and invade the island tonight....would be our first conquest ever...
    on the other hand there may not be much in any of their banks...but still more than is in ours..

WooooooooooohoooooooooooooooooYessssssss

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

They don't actually have surnames as such. They just go by one given name and use the father's name to distinguish them from others with the Sam name. The Swansea guy's name is just Gylfi for example.

Think you can choose your mother's name too,
    Heidar Helgusson is named after his mother I think. Women have dotti or something at end of their name to signify daughter.

Edit dottir Google informs me.

our army should commandeer 2 ryanair planes and invade the island tonight....would be our first conquest ever...
    on the other hand there may not be much in any of their banks...but still more than is in ours..

Invade now, just for the women!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Icelandic surnames (male) are patronymic, so if Gylfi Sigurdsson had a son called Peter his full name would be Peter Gylfisson or something similar

"Dottir" is used in similar fashion for girls names generated from their mother's first name.

I know it's an awful childish thing to say but any team Ronaldo is on, I'm supporting the opposing team.

He's such a douche.

C'mon Iceland!

Should be red card for Pepe. This referee is a galactico fanboi d!ck

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Ronaldo....goes down easier than a Mexican hooker.