Euronly official After Hours soccerball thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

CFlat wrote: »
    Pity we didn't win but I still think we played well.

I think we played as well as we're going to play, which means that it Sweden had played as well as they can we'd have lost.

We played really well. We may get out of the group if we keep that up. But we won't get too far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I thought we played well, we didn't lose so for me thats goodB-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Good performance overall but still disappointed. I think we have a decent chance against Belgium.

Apparently I'm being too optimistic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Would have been nice to win but we've shown can give Belgium or Italy a game so COYBIG:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A bit of a lost opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

A bit of a lost opportunity.
    Well to be honest I thought they played very well and considering previous games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,345 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I'm pissed off that that's the first result I've got exactly right on BBC's prediction game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not a single shot on target from Sweden!

It's what Trappatoni would have wanted anyway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

[Breaking News] England are getting a new coach.

It's to take them home next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

Disappointing not to get more today but we'll fight on. We may get something from the next two games. This set of players will leave it all out on the pitch, just like every set of Irish players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I blame the lads singing Fields of Athenry at 55 minutes, when we were still ahead

Always doom when that ditty is demonstrated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

RayM wrote: »
    Anyway, good luck to Big Jack and the lads. My prediction is that it'll be a 1:1 draw, with Stapleton scoring the equaliser in the last minute.

No sign of Stapleton (is he injured?), but I predicted the correct result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Well to be honest I thought they played very well and considering previous games

They did play well but I'd worry about where the other points are going to come from. If we'd gotten 3 today we would have set up a real possibility of at least getting one of the best 3rd place qualifying spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,431 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I agree with the sentiment that it was a lost opportunity.

We showed a capability to play good football during the first half. And our goal was a moment of genuine quality. But, once the fear set in, we invited Sweden onto us and there was a sickening inevitability to them pulling level.

It looked like we were going to be sprung back into life after their goal, but the final twenty minutes was poor from us: not much composure and control of the game. How many times did we hit a hopeful long ball up to the forwards, in the off-chance that something might fall for us? It's maddening to watch, because we have players who can play and our goal was a well worked passage of play.

A point is better than nothing, of course, but I'd wonder how we'll perform against the other teams in the group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Arghus wrote: »
    I agree with the sentiment that it was a lost opportunity.

We showed a capability to play good football during the first half. And our goal was a moment of genuine quality. But, once the fear set in, we invited Sweden onto us and there was a sickening inevitability to them pulling level.

It looked like we were going to be sprung back into life after their goal, but the final twenty minutes was poor from us: not much composure and control of the game. How many times did we hit a hopeful long ball up to the forwards, in the off-chance that something might fall for us? It's maddening to watch, because we have players who can play and our goal was a well worked passage of play.

A point is better than nothing, of course, but I'd wonder how we'll perform against the other teams in the group.

That's a good summary.

I thought Ireland looked good up until they scored, then nerves and silly mistakes kicked in.

After Sweden scored they seem to become desperate and resorted to hopeful punts in to the box, against a team that had quite clear aerial dominance.

Ireland always always always bottle it after they score.

It's why I tend to be the only person in the place looking in dread if an 8 minute goal looks likely.

Inanyways. C'mon Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The state of Fellaini's blonde afro

That'll do lads. That'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

Does anyone know what day and what time are we playing Belgium?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Marje

CFlat wrote: »
    Does anyone know what day and what time are we playing Belgium?

This Saturday 18th @ 2pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Belgium you're breaking my heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

That only makes me fancy our chances even more against the Belgians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,431 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'm afraid we could be on the receiving end of a Belgian backlash. Though they looked, for all their quality, a bit disjointed.

Pelle's finish was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

I was thinkin the opposite. Surely the Belgians are going to really get their act together for our game with them on Saturday?

In reply to Suas11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

I had wrongly pinned Belgium as a force to be reckoned with. Seems like they have the individual talents but couldn't make it work earlier. They'll probably be hitting back at us after losing earlier, but whether they can turn the intention in to a performance is the question.

I could see it boiling down to Italy taking top spot comfortably, leaving a dog fight for 2nd and 3rd. Belgium look utterly disjointed, Sweden seem lackluster. Up to our lads to stick at it and grind out the results.

Roll on Saturday, coybig! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

A game we should have won with a bit more nous and experience at this level. But we are still well in there and a result in the other game was a bonus.

But you would have to wonder about some who travel to these games. While I think the writing on the flags issue was overplayed but an understandable complaint having english clubs on Irish tricolours is beyond embarrassing.

Add in fans dressed as leprauchauns and ninja turtles and we are going down the stereotype road again. Here for the craic not to be taken seriously vibe.

It's football at a major tournament not comic con.

Last laugh goes to eamonn dummy who has discovered that Wes Hoolahan can play. The real fans at home knew that a decade ago.

Italy should beat Sweden friday which could set us up nicely for saturday in this inflated tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    A game we should have won with a bit more nous and experience at this level. But we are still well in there and a result in the other game was a bonus.

But you would have to wonder about some who travel to these games. While I think the writing on the flags issue was overplayed but an understandable complaint having english clubs on Irish tricolours is beyond embarrassing.

Add in fans dressed as leprauchauns and ninja turtles and we are going down the stereotype road again. Here for the craic not to be taken seriously vibe.

It's football at a major tournament not comic con.

Last laugh goes to eamonn dummy who has discovered that Wes Hoolahan can play. The real fans at home knew that a decade ago.

Italy should beat Sweden friday which could set us up nicely for saturday in this inflated tournament.

So it's a major tournament when you want to moan about fans enjoying themselves, and it's an inflated tournament when you want to moan about the tournament itself. Grand so. "Real fans" are great craic...

I never knew we had a stereotype of being a nation of teenage mutant ninja turtles.

You learn something new.