Mass shooting in Orlando Nightclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Grayson wrote: »
    I have no idea what you're trying to say. The sentence makes no sense.

You can't? Looks like an autocorrect error, but I can still work it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

I agree with you on this - but the problem for me is that this regular muslim community don't seem to do enough to distance themselves from the radicals.

They should be out marching on the streets with banners saying "Not in our name " ..etc

Did many Catholics do that in the north when the IRA murdered folk ? Did many Americans do that when they invaded Afghanistan and Iraq under false pretences ? Do travellers do it when there's a traveller riot ?

Only a small minority will usually criticise "their own".

Edit : Fair play to this man though

http://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/orlando-nightclub-massacre/omar-mateen-s-father-apologizes-after-orlando-pulse-massacre-n590821

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Literally the only example people use. Also, Breivik has called Jesus "pathetic" and does not identify as a Christian.

If you go a bit further afield, you have examples of Christian extremists elsewhere in the world.

http://heavy.com/news/2015/12/anti-balaka-christian-extremism-terrorism-central-african-republic-car-africa-mass-muslim-islam-execution-behead-murder-mass-grave-genocide-uncensored-youtube/

I'm not saying that the quantity of events is anywhere on par with Islamic extremism, but the above poster's comment about Christians not being involved in killing is incorrect.

That's the problem right there, unless your a licenced hunter and require a rifle you have no business with a weapon.

And by all accounts the gun was one that no-one on the planet should ever need or use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

o1s1n wrote: »
    If you go a bit further afield, you have examples of Christian extremists elsewhere in the world.

http://heavy.com/news/2015/12/anti-balaka-christian-extremism-terrorism-central-african-republic-car-africa-mass-muslim-islam-execution-behead-murder-mass-grave-genocide-uncensored-youtube/

I'm not saying that the quantity of events is anywhere on par with Islamic extremism, but the above poster's comment about Christians not being involved in killing is incorrect.

I agree, but as you say, it's absolutely nowhere on a par with Islamic extremism. Yet people try their hardest to ask as though they're a comparable threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Literally the only example people use. Also, Breivik has called Jesus "pathetic" and does not identify as a Christian.

Lord's resistance army is usually a popular one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Well the main thing they have in common is they are mostly Republicans. Not a surprise. I'm not sure how you can ascertain someone's religious beliefs from their name though?

I'm fairly sure you can find out via google.
    Have we found any Muslims yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

I don't see the point in discussing with you when you are outright lying about what you wrote two pages ago...

You're a bit precious, aren't you? I wrote that ISIS see all non Muslims as legitimate targets. You replied with some report saying that ISIS have targeted 'only' 60 countries.
    What's your point? Are you trying to point out that ISIS would only kill non Muslims from those 60 countries? You are wrong. They specifically and repeatedly state that all infidels (non Sunni Muslims) are targets.
    Don't be getting your panties in a twist and calling me a liar.

my friend wrote: »
    You're quoting WBC and related feeds with a few Islamic ones too, in no way representative of 99.9% of USA

If you want to stoke a sexuality war, help yourself but at least be informed and be honest

It is astounding the efforts people will make to pretend there is not an issue with blatant homophobia among sections of the U.S. Christian Right. A powerful cabal that is intent on rolling back any gains made and introducing unworkable but harmful legislation - and sadly in some cases succeeding.

Islam did not introduce homophobia to the U.S. - it was there all the time.

At least be honest about that.

scream wrote: »
    I really don't think that you do. I'm really very puzzled by the LGBT communities embrace and defence of Islam, given that their religion calls for the extermination of LGBT people. It's a religion of hate that oppresses women, refuses to see them as equal to men and would happily annihilate every LGBT person on the planet.

The murderer was a religious fanatic, known to the FBI for years, he drove for 2 hours to target a club full of LGBT people, he had a bomb strapped to himself and 50 people are dead, 53 injured and yet STILL the LGBT community are supporting Muslims. People are waking up to what the West is importing and given that so many Islamic terrorist attacks have been carried out by the offspring of Muslim migrants it is quite clear that Muslims are not only not integrating, they are unable to cope with life in the Western world.

I do not want a bigger Muslim community in Ireland, I saw what it was like in the UK. Perhaps you should visit one of the 50 Muslims countries and see if you still feel that people's concerns about Muslims is ''fear mongering'' There are none so blind as those that will not see.

If I 'embraced' Islam I would be Muslim. Which I am not.
    I have many many issues with Islam just as I have with the other two Abrahamic religions but in the same way I do not think all RC clergy are child abusers I do not think all Muslims are terrorists.

What I am is someone who grew up in a society where homosexuality was at best frowned upon and at worst a sick justification for murder.
    What it always was was a thing to be feared.
    What it always was was reason to discriminate, bully, intimidate.

Fear mongering and lies.

We fought every step of the way to wrench first legal protection and then equality and we haven't forgotten who we had to fight. It was priests preaching from the pulpit or a pope who claimed if we got married it would lead to the destruction of humanity.

And now you are surprised that the LGBTI Community recognise fear mongering and lies when we see them and say not in our name?

Guess you had to have lived it to understand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Straight Edge Punk

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    LGBTI Community

What the hell does the I stand for?? How many letter is this community going to use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

He was born in America.

I am saying the Muslim community in Orlando invited an Iranian speaker who has openly called for gays to be killed.

My apologies.

What the hell does the I stand for?? How many letter is this community going to use?

Not my job to educate you.
    Especially when you can't even ask nicely.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Not my job to educate you.
    Especially when you can't even ask nicely.

I can't keep up anymore. I thought it was LGBTA

Michah wrote: »
    A terrorist organisation releases a kill-list of Florida residents via encrypted channels and calls for lone wolves in Florida to act, a guy who's been on an FBI terrorism watchlist proceeds to kill people in response, he declares that he's committing this act in allegiance with the terrorist organisation who have been calling for the attacks, he Allahu Ackbars throughout and martyrs himself at the end, the terrorist organisation commends his martyrdom, and reaffirms that the organisation is responsible for the attack.

But it had nothing to do with ISIS or Islam.......
    I wasn't denying that it was Islamic terrorism (I'm the last person you'd see standing up for them), but was just pointing out that they do claim responsibility for everything. In this case it's very obvious that it was them.

I can't keep up anymore. I thought it was LGBTA

Technically it's LGBTQI.
    We do it to annoy your community.

Cienciano wrote: »
    /r/news is now one of the most pointless subs. I unsubscribed

They definitely messed up by censoring the discussions heavily. Hence all the crap with /r/the_donald.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

MadYaker wrote: »
    Anyone know if the gun/guns he used were legally purchased and owned by him?

I think Florida is one of those states where it's easier to acquire a gun legally than illegally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Isn't GSM (Gender (and) Sexual Minorities) the new all-inclusive acronym?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Who was it?

My 1st guess would be that jihadist apologist "Dr." Ali Selim ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

I agree with you on this - but the problem for me is that this regular muslim community don't seem to do enough to distance themselves from the radicals.

They should be out marching on the streets with banners saying "Not in our name " ..etc

And in a sense I agree with you. I don't think anyone will deny Islam doesn't have a problem of extremism. However there are many factors that have gone into fostering it. Including the Wests involvement. I also think Muslim communities in the West have a role to play in preventing extremism from developing within their communities.

What I do know is that there are Muslims in Ireland and that is not going to change. Creating an us verses them attitude, fear mongering and spreading hate is not going to help the situation. The gay community have been victim to that in the past and certainly myself and many other gay people do not appreciate being used to spread that kind of fear mongering. Especially when you recognise those people as previously deny homophobia exists in the West or who's actions or attitudes actively feed into that homophobia.

I'll check out the leaflets in the gay lobby and see if there is an update on acronyms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

My 1st guess would be that jihadist apologist "Dr." Ali Selim ..

Tbh I've not seen a single source on that other than a tweet by Niall Boylan, so I'm not confident that actually happened.

I've already claimed that for phone networks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Did many Catholics do that in the north when the IRA murdered folk ? Did many Americans do that when they invaded Afghanistan and Iraq under false pretences ? Do travellers do it when there's a traveller riot ?

Only a small minority will usually criticise "their own".

Edit : Fair play to this man though

http://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/orlando-nightclub-massacre/omar-mateen-s-father-apologizes-after-orlando-pulse-massacre-n590821

Maybe not in the north - but Irish people did.

His father was a taliban supporter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Isn't all this 'my community' or 'your community' talk putting up walls or a barrier. A bit like how some communities like some Muslim communities have this barrier and fail to integrate.
    It is one reason Islamic extremists choose to attack a gay nightclub, a Jewish kosher supermarket or Jewish building, blow up Catholic churches in places like Nigeria, kill Coptic Christians in Egypt, crucify Christians in Syria, blow up trains to attack people in general, attack cafes, attack music venues, attack hotels, attack holiday locations, blow up planes.
    These terrorists see themselves as being separate and different to the rest of society. They see it as their community and cut off from the rest of society.

Isn't GSM the new all-inclusive acronym?

If so it doesn't have great coverage ;)

Feck! Beaten to it!

Maybe not in the north - but Irish people did.

His father was a taliban supporter

His father is an Afghani Taliban supporter and harsh critic of Pakistan.
    His father supports one group of Muslims in a long running border dispute with another group of Muslims.

Much like most of the victims of Islamic fundamentalists are Muslims.

But let us not let facts get in the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭skinny90

http://youtu.be/qBlwxqqAprQ

I think it's worrying that this guy was in the news just two months ago more or less stating that gays should be killed