National drivers feedback week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

72% of Irish drivers dont know this but if a car breaks down or stalls in front of you,you should beep your horn and wave your arms frantically.

This should help the car start and send them on their way.

This also works in heavy traffic, particularly if you're leaving Dublin on a bank holiday weekend and driving down the quays. The length of the beep is inversely proportional to the amount of cars in front of your that disappear, apparently.

But in all seriousness, the use of motorways is a national embarrassment at this stage. I was driving the m7 to limerick last weekend. I'm I the left lane, miles of road infrint of me. The overtaking lane was jammed with traffic - people totally under using the motorway - and then you had th eejits undertaking, moving up 2 or 3 cars then moving back in. Causing everyone to break hard. This went on for almost the entire journey.

This morning I'm driving south bound on the m50 - some d!ck joins the motorway coming from finglas, without indicating, aggressively overtakes without Indicating, undertakes, weaves them leaves my exit at blanch - completely irresponsible and unsafe driving, putting others needlessly at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Ok drivers. See this?

http://www.ku-ring-gai.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/space_saver_tyre.jpg

It's called a space saver...
    (more like money saver... Honestly, oooohh we saved three kilos of weight, that's a gramme of carbon per kilometre! I do hope no one nullifies it by hauling more than three kilos of stuff around in the car all the time....' but I digress...)

Ahem, now, these are supposed to do very small mileages, getting you home and back to a tyre shop. You know, short distances. They are not for circumnavigating the planet twice with, nor are they designed to last until your next tyre fails and you need to get the vehicle recovered :mad:

Look closer. See those numbers? The 50 is for miles and the 80 is for kilometres. This denotes the maximum safe speed a tyre with about a quarter of the material capacity of a full sized tyre can "safely" (it's not safe, it's never safe, look at the contact patch, the diameter difference, FFS...) carry your car.

So please refrain from overtaking me on the motorway - particularly when I'm pushing the speed limit myself :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    People hogging the fast lane.
    carzony wrote: »
    No such thing as fast lane..
    Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    There is, they have them in places like Dublin. Couldn't believe it either until I saw them for myself.

The correct terminology is 'Audi lane'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

McGruber wrote: »
    You know what the Priest meant.

The zoom zoom lane....overtaking lane.

I came off the M50 at Carrickmines today, got halfway up the slip road and I was greeted by an aul one driving down it.

Not the first time its happened either, idiot.

Overtaking is a term that means moving out, getting past and then moving back in.

That's why the term "fast lane" gets objected to; it's not a lane that you're meant to stay in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

it's not a lane that you're meant to stay in.

It is if you're going faster than all the other cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

My husband rarely uses just indicators. He might use them the odd time, but when he does he literally puts it on for a second and turns it off again. He thinks the driver behind is psychic. It drives me bananas, I get so angry!! I've started indicating for him when im in the car.

We never argue, except when we're in the car and he just assumes other drivers know where he's going!!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I have noticed that 4/10 drivers do not indicate on roundabouts. Is this a new thing?

A new thing? Have you been driving around roundabouts with your eyes closed? Or half of those that do indicate haven't a notion what they're indicating for. Only today I was in the left lane coming up to a roundabout as I was coming off at the second exit. At the last minute the car ahead of me indicated to go right, so naturally I presumed that they were going to turn right while sticking to the left lane, and probably somehow manage to cause chaos in the process. But no, after the first exit they correctly indicated to come off at the second, and probably congratulated themselves for indicating so well at a roundabout after they'd left it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Ah lads yiz need some cake to calm yiz down, ye mad road ragers

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

PandaPoo wrote: »
    My husband rarely uses just indicators. He might use them the odd time, but when he does he literally puts it on for a second and turns it off again. He thinks the driver behind is psychic. It drives me bananas, I get so angry!! I've started indicating for him when im in the car.

We never argue, except when we're in the car and he just assumes other drivers know where he's going!!

My girlfriend, when changing lane gets really mad than no one lets her merge except her method is to wait for space, then indicate then merge. She just expects cars to know she needs the room before the indication starts....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

The general quality of driving in the country is dropping, it's now a case of whether you can actually get to your destination safely without any incident of some sort, be it tailgating, being cut off, no indicators, a phone being used, misuse of overtaking lane, the list goes on.

I don't proclaim to be the world's best ever driver but would consider myself safe, courteous and use common sense.

Regular driving tests (every 5 years possibly) need to be introduced, along with dedicated sections of the test for motorway and night driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

PandaPoo wrote: »

Your husband may be an excellent chap in many ways but if he dosnt use his indicators properly he is a dangerous driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

RayM wrote: »

Nope.

You're meant to use it to overtake and then pull back in.

If you had a non-stop line of cars for a mile, closely spaced, then I'd agree a little; but too many people view it as a lane to sit in, which was my point.

Speaking of which - another pet hate of mine is someone going above the speed limit coming up behind you and attempting to force you to complete your manoeuvre quicker, or speed up just because they want to break the limit (or get you pulled by a squad while using you as a shield).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭Allinall

Women never let you out

True that.

Haven't had a pint in weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

The only time you don't indicate when entering a roundabout is if you are taking the second exit.

I wouldn't indicate for the first left either though... in case I want to change my mind like!
    Also if I do turn left I like seeing the angry face of the pleb who could have moved off 3 seconds earlier.... that's 3 seconds of his life I took right there.. I am a God:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

My girlfriend, when changing lane gets really mad than no one lets her merge except her method is to wait for space, then indicate then merge. She just expects cars to know she needs the room before the indication starts....

YES!!! Oh god it's such frustrating isn't it!?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

RayM wrote: »
    Take a trip to Italy sometime. They drive fast there. But even on rural dual carriageways they will pull out, overtake and pull in straight away even if it means they have to do it again in 10 seconds time.

On many threads here is been said you can spot Irish drivers miles away because they hog the overtaking lane when there are empty lanes beside them.

IMHO the NRA could have saved hundreds of millions if the keep left unless overtaking LAW was enforced. Instead all that money spent on widening roads to three lanes resulted in an unused extra lane on the left that people like me use, because it's faster when the muppets start jockying in the outer lanes, and because you can bail into the hard shoulder if there's a problem ahead.