Euronly official After Hours soccerball thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I'm watching BBC News 24 and .... wait for it ... the French riot police are provoking the English fans so they can use tear gas! I'm not joking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Scary scenes. Fuelled to the gills with booze and whatever else they could do anything

I remember a few of my mates were over at the Euro's in Poland. When they got back we were quizzing about what the craic was and was there even a bit of trouble.

They said there was one occurrence when two Irish lads started hitting each other a few smacks in one of the fan areas. Two seconds later the boys were surrounded by a couple of hundred odd Irish fans pointing and shouting at the clowns.

"YOU'RE NOT IRISH! YOU'RE NOT IRISH! YOU'RE NOT IRISH!"

I know it's a minority but the English really do "Lout" better than any other nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Buddy of mine is down in Marseilles for the match. He says there is no trouble and everyone is nice and friendly. Wonder if he went to Nice by accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Marje

Just saw BBC news, looks like 1 or 2 fans got serious enough injuries. Hopefully there won't be any trouble during or after the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Playing this match in a tough working class port city like Marseille was a recipe for disaster. If it was played somewhere more refined like Lille, Nantes or Bordeaux with a small city centre the police could have contained the violence.
    Too late now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Ah shyte, the England - Russia match is on feckin' TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Ah shyte, the England - Russia match is on feckin' TV3

Terrible channel although Souness can be good. What is the point in UTV Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Playing this match in a tough working class port city like Marseille was a recipe for disaster. If it was played somewhere more refined like Lille, Nantes or Bordeaux with a small city centre the police could have contained the violence.
    Too late now.

Marseille is a rough city. Even 20 years ago it was rough. The Russians have a big problem with hooligans too so it doesn't sound good. There is a real genuine threat of terrorism during this, so the last thing the French police need is to have to deal with drunken idiots. Plus Putin may use this as an excuse to invade Europe. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Collie D wrote: »
    Terrible channel although Souness can be good. What is the point in UTV Ireland?

Yea I like Souness, I remember when he first appeared on RTE during the world cup in 2006. The look on his face when he realised he was allowed to rant away like Dunphy and Giles and slate players was priceless. He looked like a prisoner being released from a dungeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Collie D wrote: »

Haven't watched it once since it came into existence....seems I only ever watched ITV for the football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,567 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Yea I like Souness, I remember when he first appeared on RTE during the world cup in 2006. The look on his face when he realised he was allowed to rant away like Dunphy and Giles and slate players was priceless. He looked like a prisoner being released from a dungeon.

Aye, remember that, as he was brought in for the England games, and usually, pundits (on British TV) are allowed do nothing other than praise the brave English warriors!!

Dunphy made a particular rant, reeming the English players and Souness loved it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Everything else aside, I've a feeling this will be a good match

Have TV3 even got a HD version yet? It's like the Craggy Island of broadcasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I have TV3 HD, it looks suspiciously non-HD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

C'mon Russia ya Commie bastids! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Is this whole "go team" thing with the ref/officials a new thing in every match or just the ones I've seen

Are these Russian normal colours ? They look slightly odd.

They spent a fortune on new HD sets and staging. Probably not enough left for Full HD cameras :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Marje

timthumbni wrote: »
    Are these Russian normal colours ? They look slightly odd.
    The colour of England's socks look odd as well, could be my tv though.

Marje wrote: »
    The colour of England's socks look odd as well, could be my tv though.

Nah, there's definitely some sort of mad pink hue to them

I reckon it's the LED lights used in the stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Come on Russia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Can't hear the trumpet band that follows Engerland all over the globe, must still be outside rioting

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

TV3 (3HD) picture is **** , I have seen better on Periscope :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Come on Russia

Yeah, come on Russia....

Home to so many Irish players who have played in the Russian Premiership over many decades ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Come on Russia

Hoping for an exciting 10-10 draw and both sets of fans going home early so the rest of us can enjoy it in relative peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

buried wrote: »
    Can't hear the trumpet band that follows Engerland all over the globe, must still be outside rioting

Don't know how true it is but I heard the English FA didn't apply for their permit in time for them to be able to bring instruments into the ground

Come on Russia

I pity the fool........

Rooney's playing horrid well for the little time he's had on the ball so far

Lovely volley there and he's positioning himself well. Nobody else seems capable of feeding him the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Nah, there's definitely some sort of mad pink hue to them

I reckon it's the LED lights used in the stadium

No, it's just a ****ing awful kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

England should be at least 3 up russia are a poor side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,492 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Yeah they do have HD but you have for pay for it via a subscription only. UTV Ireland HD has the same problem as well.

I wouldn't care about TV3 anyway as I'm watching ITV HD now for tonight's game.