Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SLA - Players Chatroom

• 09-06-2003 5:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭

okey dokey folks
    this is were we all get to meet have a good old waffle about the game sofar,

if you want to ask questions about settings, charachters or anything in SLA universe ask them here, anything you want to say out of charachter say it here.

if you like the game and story sofar let me know
    if you dont..................................................................... ok let me know too and i'll try to up the tempo or lower the tempo

seriously all feedback is welcome and im grateful for it. if the game is crap let me know and tell me whats wrong with it and i'll try to fix it

ive only DM'ed 3 or 4 games of SLA before so you'll have to bare with me ok i will try to make this a good RPG as best i can

Thanks guys

the game begins on thursday the 12th of June at 18:00GMT sharp
    so i'll cya then.

there will be a seperate thread for it so watch this space

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭tank

Excellant cant wait to get started,

roll on thursday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

Great. Better go put a reminder in my mobile :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

indeed it would be a very good idea to set an alarm in my mobile to remind me of thursday too as im the one posting the game turn :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭FlashBang

just a short note: there is no friend of mine joining up. I think you mixed me up with someone else. I'm reading the documents you sent me as I write this (not simultanously of course). I'll probably reply to your mail with my character-infos before tonights NWN-session starts.

cya in game :)
    - Flash

no probs take your time i have to go off line at 8pm (finish work) so if you dont have it mailed to me by then no worries i'll take a look at it tomorrow

not sure who asked me about the other players wanting to join!!
    oh well going mad in my old age i guess!!!

the only two threads we really need are the game turns one and the SLA players chatroom the rest are merely for info

maybe the mods could sticky those two and not the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I updated your main post so it links off to all the other threads. If the story is kept up the thread will stay bobbed up in the list.

I don't make these threads sticky, instead find the links in the main thread (as below)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&postid=947812#post947812

Oh yea, I'm not kidding when I say I rarely read my PM's, so sorry if there was any delay in doing this.

Sweet thanks Hobbes
    no worries the game hasnt started wont until thursday and i'll keep the storyline board upto date as possible

I could proably get a mate of mine to play aswell she a big gamer too like RPG's i'll ask her see what she says,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Specky

Fan-blinkin-tastic!!

Can't wait to get on with it now.

I too must remember not to be off doing anything unimportant like...erm...eating thing or whatever at the allotted time.

Hmmm...wonder if I can find myself an appropriate hat to wear to remind myself when I'm in character..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

/me grins as only a Brian waster can.

Just a few things i forgot to mention

The good news is there are 6 of ye now

2 brain wasters
    1 shaktar
    1 Human
    1 Stormer

and still one undecided

they way the game will start (its easier this way) is that all 6 of you will be in a squad (we'll say for the sake of argument that you all knew each other from SLA op's training)

and the 6 of you are together at the start of the game (even though i havent quite got the charachters generated just yet)
    that way we can all start gaming at the same time and i dont have to think of a way of writing charachters in (damn it will start raining OP's in a minute)

anyone else that joins from this point on will have to wait until i can write them into the game but the 6 of you guys

Thead
    Specky
    Tank
    Dhakar (think i got that right)
    Squall
    and Flashbang

are first in line to play tonight you guys can post turns up here if you like (so long as you let me know what races you are)

This bits for the brain wasters:

one more thing i forgot to mention to the brain wasters
    thead already knows this but when you want to use an ebon ability it takes a whole turn to activate it so if you were to try to use the healing ability in game turn 4 (for example) it wont take effect until game turn 5 etc

comabt works out a little differently but its the same idea whatever ebon ability you try to use wont take effect until the next comabt turn

also you have to concentrate while trying to use the ability so you cant be running away or trying to do something else you must spend the whole turn gathering up the enegry for it to work

hope that made sense

game starts 6pm tonight see ya there

A human???

How did THAT get in our squad?

It certainly wasn't MY friend in training....must have been the training school gimp or something...

now now specky play nice.

if you like that you'll love the other chose D's picked an ebon
    one thing I will not tolerate in anyway shape or form is player killing ok, you can kill whatever you want in SLA so long as there not a player, (of course that doesnt stop you cutting the P!*s out of each other remember at the end of the day your all on the same team)

so i can imagine the fun thats gonna happen between the ebon and brain wasters!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

/me hides from all the nasty Brain Wasters...

An ebon????!!

So we're going to have the human bleeding and getting hurt and blundering around and the ebon wailing and moaning and "trying to get in touch with their inner selves" or whatever it is that they do with themselves....

Kill the human? Wouldn't waste the ammo and wouldn't blunt my blades....besides I've seen what colour humans are on the inside, they die too quickly to be any fun...

...well at least we'll have a couple of experts in the sqad if we get called upon to do any flower arranging or interior decorating...phaaa!!

thats the spirit specky thats exactly what i like to hear

as an FYI to everyone there are bonus experience for people staying in charachter like specky the more you make me laugh the more Exp you get

just as a side note to anyone thats never played SLA before brain wasters are an arrogant race (as if you havent guessed already) so expect the two brain wasters to be giving lip through the whole game (just dont pi*s em off to much or you may find your hair on fire) :D

well my approach to the game is simple

i dont really have the intellegence to think around problems and im dead meat on my own so you tell me what to hit and i'll hit it.

if it needs hitting im yer man.......or woman.......or whatever

actually that reminds be since stormers are biogenetic do they have....you know.......

Ahhh....now I see.....the human is along as Tank's sex toy....

Like I said, training school gimp.

...no offence tanky!

Well actually tank you dont have any at all so......
    so stormers are neither male or female there just a big mass of mussle that you really dont want to p*ss of by pointing out that they dont have any genetals

WHAT!!!! i dont have b@lls!!!

oh man that sucks!! well then i the only advantage is that when i get a kick between the legs and dont flinch that will look kinda cool

none taken specky!! :cool:
    were not all blessed with brains that can make people explode but i do get some satisfaction in that i can tear your head off and use it as a bowling ball for one round before im ripped apart by whatever nasty ability you cast the round before :D

your the brains im the braun that suits me down to a tee :)

Do i trust all me squad mates?

Need to know this as part of me honour code thing.

Gash Fishs (one on each hand)

(Picture this like a gauntlet you wear with retractable wolverine steel claws)

Cool!! :D

Squall thats actually up to you?

if you dont trust them you can still work with them you just dont have to give your life for them its entiry up to you?

since this is the first Live mission you've all worked on id proably tend to say no. they have to earn your trust (at least thats how i play my shaktar)

out boys and girls weer just a little under 25mins before the game starts so just some ground rules

we start at turn 1 (REALLY!!! i'd never have guessed)

1 everyone gets to post before we move onto to turn 2 etc the faster people can post the faster the game goes
    im easy so we can play as fast or as slow as you want

2 if your going away on vacation or can make posting for some reason then PM me and let me know how long you'll be gone for i'll take over your charachter for the duration of your abesence (i'll try to keep him alive) :D really i will.

3 you only get one post per turn (one action) so be REAL careful what you say and do once you hit the "submit reply" button and its on the form that it thats what your charachter is going to do

4 dont bully the local populas of SLA that much its not there fault there plebs

5 (this is the cheesey bit) MOST importantly have fun thats what this is all about after all

Well tank, at least we won't have to help get you laid....unlike the human.... ;)

I look forward to seeing the results of your work...I have a lot of admiration for the pure kill. Unfortunately I myself occassionaly feel compelled to mame....just to get my way, you understand....

Trust? Now there's a concept...I feel a one-ness with my brother and sister brainwasters, a one-ness that only one who has been betrayed by their own flesh and blood can truly feel. I expect those around me to do their jobs, I accept their competence despite the obvious frailties some possess, coming as they do from puny under-races (eyes fixing on the small fleshy one), but trust is probably a little beyond anyone in these difficult times...

Sry lads have to leave early. Unexpected dinner out(damn sister and her merit 1)

Will post later if i need to. If needs be Alien please play my character

Sry.

...and I thought this club was going to be "exclusive"!

Look at all the Frothers!

Didn't think they'd let them in here....

uh-oh...look out I think the human's getting drunk...he may puke soon.

I see everyone is being itself again...

I am also very pleased to see that I'll be working with absolute professionals *looks at brain-wasters* who really SEEM to know what they're doing.

Actual missions will show the individual values of each team-member, I suppose. Until then, everything is pretty much speculation.

While I know that some people are not exactly happy about the current team-constellation, there is nothing we can do about it. Of course, you might consider... uhhh... "readjusting" the squad, but I think everyone knows where that will land you...

So, while real cooperation would probably be too much to ask for, lets just use the power put in those little... differences... for something better... like actually doing some missions, kicking some ass, and most of all: earn some ****ing cash and gain some reputation. Right now EVERYONE of us is a nobody. I don't know about you ppl, but I'm planning on my own house and some nice guns for my private collection. And you can't live without cash either!

So, are we (at least temporarily) working together or not?

edit:
    OOC-question: wait a sec. Is this now for the chatting inside the club? or still just general chit-chat not directly related to the current actions in the turn-thread? Clarification please :)

ooooOOOOOOoooooooo.......(clasp imaginary handbag to chest)

You talk big Flash, I just hope you can live up to the talk....I have faith in the Academy, so I presume if they let you pass they must have taught you something.

Now all you have to do is remember what you've been taught when the rest of us are relying on you to do your job.

...and maybe one day we can all come stay in your nice little house, and you can cook fairy cakes and maybe crochet some little doilies or something.......OK OK...where's your sense of humour??

OOC - I'm taking it that this is "character building chit chat", small talk that may be taking place in the club but outside of the plot.

The kind of chat that will define the relationships between the group members.

...that's my take on it anyway, the boss may have some other ideas perhaps.

Anyway, hat back on.....

The human is right.

There is no honour in fighting amongst ourselves. There is strength in unity.

Well we'll worry about honour when "Trigger" accidentally blasts one of us with a HEAP shall we?

Mean time, we're not going to be working together at all if we don't get some work...

This club makes me sick! Who knows who you're mixing with in here...the sooner I can find someone with a bit of clout around here and find us some action the better.

Typical! The ebon and the human sit around chitty chatting and drinking while the rest of us do all the work...

Relax!

The all-out-front method not always gives best results. First thing to do is to find someone who actually looks like he could have work for us. There is no use nagging and pissing off some high-ranking people who don't even give out missions.

Oh, and by the way, you might consider hiding your utter disrespect for humans for a bit as most of the high-ranking suits in here are probably human. You don't want to piss em off... neither do we!

Originally posted by FlashBang

edit:
    OOC-question: wait a sec. Is this now for the chatting inside the club? or still just general chit-chat not directly related to the current actions in the turn-thread? Clarification please :)

its actually for both. you can be in or out of charachter here
    in the chtroom its for anything really. And Id rather you argue here about the missions than on the game turns posts thread because that would mean your actually arguing in front of your superiors and all your class mates (which doesnt really look professional) where as here in the players chatroom we'll just assume your all arguing over the coms system (yes you all have a coms system to talk to each other)

to answer your question (and to make it less confusing) well just say that this is an out of charachter chatroom but if you want to stay in charachter be my guest (it makes things more fun anyway)

Dragging her gaze from the other operatives sitting at the bar, Spirit turns around to face the familiar voice beside her.
    Allowing herself a slight grimace, she replies to the human, "I'm like those guys in the same way that you are. We're part of a team and when the time comes we'll just have to hope that everyone pulls together..."
    Spirit trails off as her com interuppts with some more chatter from the blood wraiths. "human baiting" she thought to herself with the beginnings of a grin, these next few weeks could be alot more interesting than she had thought...

Originally posted by Drakar
    Dragging her gaze from the other operatives sitting at the bar, Spirit turns around to face the familiar voice beside her.
    Allowing herself a slight grimace, she replies to the human, "I'm like those guys in the same way that you are. We're part of a team and when the time comes we'll just have to hope that everyone pulls together..."
    Spirit trails off as her com interuppts with some more chatter from the blood wraiths. "human baiting" she thought to herself with the beginnings of a grin, these next few weeks could be alot more interesting than she had thought...

shouldnt this be in the game turn post??? since you are talking in charachter to drakar?

so were gonna post all chatting while in charachter in here or in the SLA turns board?

the super-official chat goes into the turns-thread (only one post per turn thou) and the in- and out-of-character chat about just about anything goes here... I think...

OOC: Hrm, I thought this was covered by what you said above. My post is just building on the character, not 'doing' anything in particular. I presume the one post per turn rule prevents us from writing further IC posts before the GM replies on the other thread... It seemed to be established that this thread can take IC chat posts. Maybe I'm missing something?

ooc: well, I've played a few forum- and IRC-rpgs by now. We solved this problem by creating lots of fora. In the non-mission sections you could move around and talk as much as you want. Only the mission-sections (basically everything where combat took place or could take place) were held in turns.

BUT, I doubt we're allowed to open 20 threads here :p

Originally posted by Drakar
    OOC: Hrm, I thought this was covered by what you said above. My post is just building on the character, not 'doing' anything in particular. I presume the one post per turn rule prevents us from writing further IC posts before the GM replies on the other thread...

your absoutly right Drakar you can say what you like in here in our or out of charachter here as you said its just "charachter building" and there's nothing wrong with that the one post per turn rule is just to avoid utter chaos on the Sla turns thread as i started something like this before and it turned crazy with all the chatting going on your couldnt really follow the story to well with all the chatting thats why this is a chat room feel free to say what you like in or out of charachter here

if everyone is ok with that?

Yep that cool with me seems fine

Sorry about the confusion as if you havent already guessed im new at all this role playing thing (espically online)

(SPOT THE NEWBIE STOP THE NEWBIE) :D

DM-talk:

ok, I got a problem about my turn now. What am I currently equipped with? Am I in my standard non-combat outfit (light body-armor, AM-pistol)? Or are weapons not allowed in there?

Am I there with my "car" (or whatever is used to drive/fly around at that time)? Where is my appartment or whatever I'm currently living in?

Heads up all of you

DM-talk:

Q: What am I currently equipped with?
    A: You are all currently equiped with all your weapons from your charachter sheet. and extra equipment

Q: Am I in my standard non-combat outfit (light body-armor, AM-pistol)?
    A:your in your body armour (ebons are prementantly fused to there ebon suits they cannot be removed so ebons are always in armour) unless you want to take off your body armour (as you all have a spare change of clothes) if you want to do that tell me

Q: are weapons not allowed in there?

A: As you are SLA ops your are allowed carry firearms pretty much anywhere your all currently SCL (security clearance level) 10 if you needed to go to an area that was for SCL 8 for example you might have to remove your weapons

Q: Am I there with my "car" (or whatever is used to drive/fly around at that time)?
    A: yes if have a car or bike on your charachter sheet assume that you arrived in it (its parked outside)

Q: Where is my appartment or whatever I'm currently living in?
    A: you are all currently in downtown mort all your appartments are uptown i'll send a descpirtion of mort to you if you like of all the different parts on mort

Hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

hmmmmmmm

a shatar , guess i can work with one of those , they are easy to deal with one you understand thier honour code and can twist it to your needs.

Stormers , handy wall of muscle to stand behind or to rip open things .
    But who much can you trust something grown in a vat.
    Recently they have seemed to have more pseronaily maybe this one will be that evolved

a human well handy for dealing with no hopers human civilains ( if there is suh as thing as a civy on mort ) that flinch at anything slightly differnt or better evolved then them selves and i hear this one like blowing stuff up.

an ebon great alll teh fun of lectures on compassion and waiting while it looks at the pretty reflection of a neon light in a fricking puddle. Any pity crap for that creature and it will have to severaly pity it's self.

another with talents like mine well we will see how the waster truns out in the wash. ust cos you have charred lids dont make you a friend of mine .

It would seem a friend of Squalls would like to join the game so ive sent him a sheet

he'll be joining the Squad which bring the numbers up to 7
    if anyone wants to join and i get the numbers up to 10 i might split you guys up into two teams two squads of 5 maybe

it will be interesting trying to DM to teams at the sametime cos i think a squad of 10 is a bit silly

since your the current team you get the choise you guys want a massive squad of 10 or 2 teams of 5 tis your choise!!

right folks im off home for the weekend

i'll try to post again on boards during the weekend but nearly all my posting is done at work as i dont have regular access to the net at home.

i'll try saturday afternoon to come online and see and if everyone's posted i'll go ahead and put up the next game turn

if not we'll see ya all monday

Well I hope you all have your own transport...no-one gets on my bike but me

ooc: do you have the bike on your char-sheet or is it standard-equipment?

OOC - yes, I got the bike along with all my other stuff....don't tell me you're expected to get the bus!!!?? ;)

...well I guess you'll at least get a free bus pass...

ooc: D'OH!

edit: can anyone give me a ride?