Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Head Shave For Chernobyl!!! Join Me!!!

• 12-05-2003 6:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭

As you may well know, I'm going to shave off all my long lovely locks for Chernobyl Aid Ireland next month...

Now, I'm trying to make a bit of an event of this, and I call on you, the denizens, and flatulent peons of boards to aid me in my great and holy quest.

JOIN ME!!!!

FOR FREEDOM!!!

And baldness...

So, I'm asking for as many people to join me on the day, and get a free haircut!

The longer/scruffier/silly the hair you have, the better!

WHO'S WITH ME!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Señor Juárez

nobody, apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

I AM!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I've done it before and I'd do it again...

...depending on date and venue you can count me in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

YAY!

IN YOUR FACE, MARCLAR!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

had you gotten my before last wednesday I might have been convinced to wait, but my afro is gone and you're only too sorry I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Originally posted by Bard
    I've done it before and I'd do it again...

...depending on date and venue you can count me in!

Isn't your head already shaved? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Repli
    Isn't your head already shaved? :rolleyes:

Not quite.

Got a #2 all round the last time I went to the barbers. It's grown to #3 length since then.

"Completely bald" is still a noticeable difference in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭ThrAx

Goe ken! I doubt I could be convinced to do it, unless u get me drunk at the time and shave my head whether I liek it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭hells angels

I'd love to when is it on????

No Im not goin to i've changed my mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Flup, woulda joined in only just recently got me hair cut. Wasn't too long, only bout 10", but I've still got a cold neck :(

If you're looking for sponsors though, I'll throw a tenner your way if you're gonna post before/after pics :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I'm pretty bald anyway, since I shave my ceann with ye olde Sensor excel every three days....

but... I'd be up for not shaving for a week or so.... just to shave the head to raise some Chernobyl cash.

I'm going to break one of the 65,535 commandments of the interweb and cross link this thread in Green Issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Señor Juárez

well fair nuff if you're all gonna do it. make sure to post up before and after pics in this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

Im actually rich enough already, but thanks for the effort n all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

As i said if u shave your entire head and face i pledge €100 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Patman

Anyone who shaves their head just leaving the Komplett logo or the name Komplett on their head will get a serious reward... Email me with a pic! :)

(And no, I won't do it myself... Been there, done that...)

(And yes, I am serious.)

Ok, you're on, Patman!
    I'll do it!

Got a ****load of stuff from Komplett not so long ago, and pretty damn happy with the gear, so I've no problem dropping the name, or very well shaving it into my head.

Like I said though, this isn't happening for another month, so I'll try and get a few before pics in there in plenty of time...

But what kinda reward are you on about?
    Like a shiny new Monitor/Graphics for myself or some megapiles of cash for the sponsorship?
    Both, I hope! :D

Ok, so while I have room on my head, anyone else want to give in a huge lump to get their logo/name on my head?! I'll leave it there untill it grows out, and not be a jerk and just take pics and shave a bit more. That's a good few days worth of advertising on MY HEAD at least! Who's up for it?

Here's a pic of me (Right) that's somewhat recent.

DSCN0650.jpg

I've a lot of hair to give up for charity, so you're REALLY getting your money's worth of hair.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Well, fair play to ya, Ken! :)

/me waits for someone to Photoshop your image before you really get it shaved! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ThenComesDudley

when you doing it? , i might although me hair isnt very long.
    but in a month it be longer. Gimmie info on it please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

I cannot wait to see these pics.
    I also have a fear of going bald before my time, and therfore will not be touching a lock of my precious hair.

Jesus! Stop asking when it is!!!

It'd some time next month.

If I had a more specific date, I'd give it to you!

When I have a date, I'm sure enough there'll be a stick/announcement.

*BUMP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

I'd be up for it. I only have an Inch of afro (Afro, as in what you saw in those 70's films - seriously thick and curly), but since its for a good cause.

ill put a pic of me head up soon
    the before one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

NNOOO!! dont do it!! you'll look like a giant baby!!! hair is great!!!

Quiet YOU!

also Nesthead ive seen your head why dont you come along?

If/when you do it (the Komplett thing) I would have to have full rights to use the pic in any form of marketing be it on the web or on paper. You might end up famous! :p So try keeping the amount of other logos to a minimum. It'd be cool to have your head with the logo alone with the text "Dedicated customer" or something under it...

Now; name your price. Feel free to drop me a line per email. :)

[edit]Also if possible use only Komplett. (Without the .ie.) That way we can use it in all Komplett countries. :) [/edit]

Originally posted by Patman
    use only Komplett.

I'm sorry, I read that a different way to what you meant at first. ;)

As for my price...

Hmm...

How ridiculous can I get here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

is it only one person allowed to shave the logo on their head or can more?

I'd be glad to get the logo or name on my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Jam

I might shave my head in the name of Chernobyl and Komplett, be a story to tell the grandkids someday. :)
    -Jam

I've been discussing this with the marketing manager and I've had a great time explaining the importance of this marketing stunt to him.

I've actually been allowed to use some marketing funds on this, but not much, so the more people joining in, the less for every person I'm afraid...

Perhaps this is a good solution: Everyone who does it, email me a pic (good quality, high resolution). We'll decide on the best ones and those will receive a price. We may end up giving everyone something though. It all depends really...

I'm excited! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

any chance you could tell me what we'd be getting for this? I really really like my hair y'see, and it'd take a nice GeforceFX 5800 Ultra 128DDR and a stick of 512DDR to make me consider it... :p

but think of what you'll earn, not every day a 15yr old will offer to do this :|

And do we just have to put "Komplett" in it or do we have to have that computer logo on it aswell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

I already shaved :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

Yep - I Jumped the Gun and Got it shaved yesterday. Will do it again in 3-4 weeks time if that's when the Shave Day is :)

Nice one Patman.

But dont forget who's shaving off the most hair here! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Jam

Patman,
    For those that participate in the gimmick, you could always give a 'XEuro off you next purchase' voucher thing. Just a thought.
    -Jam

*bump*

*bump*

I'm looking for a person, to design a "2€ perline" sponcorship sheet for this event, to spice up interest in boards
    Please include this pic, and the Date 21st of June

Dscf0101.jpg

Good Luck

Hey, 6... We're not looking for a €2 per line... It's more of an 'Anything you want' per line.

I've been told some peeps are going to give me large sums of money for this... What are we to do, sell loads and loads of lines to one person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭nosmo

I just came in on the second page of this thread, but you DO know this does really sound like you're dealing coke?
    ;P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

yes dose sound like coke now that u mention it ... pepsi is much better ken ill give ya a tennor .. wp gl ... ya mad yoke ... dont forget to get komplett.ie shaved in there .. well done

jesus ... ken with no hair ... what is ur mom going to think ? what is god going to think ?

the world is comming to a end i know it now

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    Hey, 6... We're not looking for a €2 per line... It's more of an 'Anything you want' per line.

Grand, but if people want to donate more (see below) they get more chances to go into the draw, unless they dont want to.
    Originally posted by AngelWhore
    I've been told some peeps are going to give me large sums of money for this... What are we to do, sell loads and loads of lines to one person?

If people want to donate large sums, then ya. Unless you want to go for a book of tickets option instead of a X€/line one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

I've convinced myself to join your insane head shaving escapades, time and date permitting.

The event will take place in Sally Longs on the 4th of July at around 11Pm.

Prizes are as follows,
    A Digital Camera, Sponcored by Komplett.ie
    A DVD player
    and a portable TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭BoobeR

Cant wait to see AngelWhore bald, and all the rest of ye :D
    Hope you raise a lot of money ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I shall be there, galwaylan works out nicely tying into it etc. That and sally's is my old home how could I miss it!

OK, so I've seen AngelWhore's shave... Are there anyone else? :)