Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Brother 4

• 01-05-2003 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭

Are you sick of BB or looking forward to it? Just read an article on the Examiner site about the next BB (starting the end of may).

http://breaking.examiner.ie/text/story.asp?j=23761696&p=z376y94x&n=23761994&x=
    The new Big Brother house was unveiled today as producers announced they were taking the show back to basics.

There will be no more gimmicks designed to divide the housemates, like last year’s prison-style bars and rich/poor divide. Instead the 12 contestants will get a “warm and cosy” new house and be encouraged to get along with one another.

The house in Elstree Studios, Herts, has been totally revamped since last year to give it a more intimate feel. Designers have ditched the garish colours and created a “cocoon” environment with muted tones and round edges.

The garden has also been overhauled with a bigger lawn and a cedarwood arbour where the housemates can sit and relax. Show chief Phil Edgar-Jones said: “This year Big Brother is going to be much more simple.

“The house is cosy because we wanted to create a warmer and more intimate feel. We wanted the housemates to live in a more natural and friendly environment.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

its like a car crash,

A big sick and disturbing to look at, but you know you're going to end up looking at it at least once....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I won't be watching it, its run its course.

The first series was the only authentic BB, now anyone who goes on it, knows what to expect.

Its crap, it should disappear !!!! and all reality tv shows along with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

Originally posted by Panda
    its like a car crash,

A big sick and disturbing to look at, but you know you're going to end up looking at it at least once....

I know I'll be a saddo watching it, there's no point saying that I wont, cos I know I will......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Originally posted by SprostonGreen
    I won't be watching it, its run its course.

The first series was the only authentic BB, now anyone who goes on it, knows what to expect.

Its crap, it should disappear !!!! and all reality tv shows along with it.

Actually it had been running on some forgein stations long before C4 got there hands on it bro. I to doubt Ill be watching as those kind of shows just bore me to tears tbh. The one thing I do hope for that Davina ****ing McCall wont be involved in it at all as she really grates on my nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭a bientot

If you can't wait until August then follow the

'nice people' 's adventures in the villa in the south of France....
    Ophelie Winter has joined the twelve Europeans for the week-end....

http://www.toploftstory.com/nice-people/

(official site www.nicepeople or www.nicepeoplef1 )

Your comments welcome on society/languages/French section of boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

the dutch one was a little better - lots more chicks walking around in thongs and getting amourous with their housemates.

yes I will watch and then go and tear my skin off with the guilt and rage for being sucked in AGAIN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Some more info and pics of the new house here: http://bigbrother.digitalspy.co.uk/displayarticle.php?id=3479
    • BBLB is moving to Channel 4
    • New "Nominations Uncut" show on E4
    • Davina is still in it :(
    • BB Interactive on Sky Digital - 4 screens - 2 live and 2 with highlights.
    - Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I thought Ch4's Eden was so much better than BB.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Originally posted by TmB

[*]BB Interactive on Sky Digital - 4 screens - 2 live and 2 with highlights.
    [/list]- Dave.

I wonder if the interactive option will work in ROI this year as it didnt work here last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

Get my gun honey....I'm going huntin......why o Lord...why?
    there must be someting in the Geneva covention against this sort of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Ill probably get sucked into it again. Hopefully therell be a babe or two to make it bearable :)

Anyone saying "why are they running it again" clearly has no concept of audience figures and ratings:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by Dustaz
    Anyone saying "why are they running it again" clearly has no concept of audience figures and ratings:)

The man speaks sense ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

which do you think was the best bb??,
    there's been like five but my favourate was the second bb.
    all the celebraty ones were crap

Probably the first, but i sorta warmed to kate and the geordie lad last year.

byte

Well I see Channel Four have started using the Big Brother "eye" as advert breaker.

Starts 23 May! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ManWithThePlan

I still have visions of Jade's jiggling, flabby arse as she shouts 'AM I MINGIN??!'

Yes Jade.. you are. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

I watch it less each year. But that's just it - I still end up watching it. I think the second year was better.

Watching it is one thing, but how many people are actually gonna pay to watch the live streams on the net?

And how many people watch it but say they don't!

BTW, Panda, you got it spot on.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

everybody always says not that ****ing big brother again on the tv, but after amonth or so you will be watching it again, just to see what it is like.eventhough it is crap yu will still be watching it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭pauldeehan

Originally posted by Dustaz

Yeah, goddamn general public! Mindless sheep the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

great!!! i dont think , las year i nearly kicked the screen in on the tele , when me sister was lukn at it , fukn hell colud thet think of anything stupider?
    a load a boring bastards locked in a house feedin chickens!oh hell yea thumbs up , great entertainment , well worth the rise in the price of a tv license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by OLDYELLAR
    well worth the rise in the price of a tv license.

Unless RTE have suddenly bought a part of Channel 4, I don't think your license fee has much to do with it... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

The main reason I watched it last year was because Kate whatsherface was in it. She really was a nice girl, well mannered well spoken and the perfect lady. And of course very easy on the eye. (apart from when she was playing drinking games).

The one i hated the most was alison, especially after she admitted to pissing in shower.

No doubt ill watch it again this year. Or maybe ill tune in e4 to channel 20 or something so ill never come across it :)

CHief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

speaking of Kate whatsherface i never knew she presented RI:SE on Channel 4. she is such a pleasure to look at first thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

blaaargh, is she not just a ten-a-penny orange faced slag :)

still hit it i guess :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

thats not her on rise at least not anymore, thats some different bird. I saw today that big brother is starting on the 23rd of may- the same day as the matrix reloaded opens- is channel4 ****ing stupid or something??

Originally posted by parasite
    blaaargh, is she not just a ten-a-penny orange faced slag :)

still hit it i guess :rolleyes:

hitit.gif

byte

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    speaking of Kate whatsherface i never knew she presented RI:SE on Channel 4. she is such a pleasure to look at first thing :)

Kate Whatsherface has been there about a month or so. She replaced Edith Bowman, whom I preferred as a presenter.

Originally posted by weemcd
    thats not her on rise at least not anymore, thats some different bird

it was definately her this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

have to say that the continental versions of BB is far more interresting to look at then this tame uk-irish version.

Netherland and Belgium versions have some sexual encounters, hidden amateur gems really :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Yup Katie is fiiiiiiine, I would deffo hit it, prolly tune in to BB4, I'd only be lying to myself if I said I wont, like many other people it would seem.

It is starting next friday night at 10 on channel 4, here we go again tabloids will have a field day when this start again. so they can print more rubbish :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I watched the show intensly last year so I'll probably tune in at some point this time round to check it out. I definetly won't be watching the first few weeks as that usually just a lot of 'getting to know you' chit-chat crap which I can do without. I'll probably start tuning in around the first eviction and if the character mix is unworthy (as it was in 2001) I'll kick the show to the kerb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Ye know whats gonna happen. Christ, not again, its starting this Friday! Shrug...3 weeks later we'll all be bigging up or dissing each character in the show down the local. Oh she's fine, yer one with the blings is a bitch, yer man with the big head is a sac, the guy with the face is a funny fúcker etc etc etc

I know I'll tune in (not religiously) to see what's going on and stuff. Hey football season's over, what else are we gonna talk about ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Oh God, please no.

The only way I'd watch Big Brother is if the producers turned it into a Battle Royale style show, complete with D-list celebrities who annoy the hell outta me getting killed in hilarious ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

the dutch one looked better from the clips i seen of it a couple of years back i think it was..

fights breaking out, ppl getting it on, ppl being thrown out of the house etc.. british one just always seemed pretty damn tame in comparison afterwards

ive watched it at times when there is nothing else on, that or when it was late on at night and as said, there was nothing else on, and they were doing drinking games etc on e4... apart from that it just kinda annoyed me..

davina is indeed one very annoying woman, they shoulda let that skinhead guy do it this year (that dermot guy that was on BBLB last year i think?) he would be a better presenter imo

and yes Kate does indeed do RI:SE on c4 in the mornings, was off ill all week last week and having to get up early to phone in sick i was watching her every morning... so it was definately her.. and yes she is indeed hot ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

can't wait to see it but I hope there's more under the duvet action this time around. rather disappointing last series.

i wouldn't bet on anything much. the ITC would have a fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

Originally posted by Chief---
    The main reason I watched it last year was because Kate whatsherface was in it. She really was a nice girl, well mannered well spoken and the perfect lady.
    CHief.

Perfect lady? HAH!!!

She was such a manipulative slut :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

The Sun yesterday had 'exclusive' pics of the 12 contestants. Interesting mix of people...... obviously the sun couldn't do much more than speculate what the people were actually like, eg. "this guy looks boring" or "this girl looks like a maneater".

- Dave.

Originally posted by Pigman II
    . I definetly won't be watching the first few weeks as that usually just a lot of 'getting to know you' chit-chat crap which I can do without. I'll probably start tuning in around the first eviction

Yeh, the first couple of weeks is usually pretty annoying. Its only when they start to get drunk on a regular basis and they are sick of each other it gets good.

its not for me, its for my friend

his email address is dustaz AT boards DOT ie

As i said, its a friend...he er, just uses the same nick as me.

Honest.

did anybody see big brother tonight, what do you think,,crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

the only good thing in it is hush and what a werid name.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 729 ✭✭✭popinfresh

Yeah, 4th time around it's just recycled crap. There seems to be a lot of Indians in it. Still though we'll probably be hooked soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Yup, with the "quality" of the housemates this year, it has the potential to be the worst one ever.
    Good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

well, they nearly all look pretty good, so no doubt I'll end up tuning in to see if they're in the hot tub :)

already 6 ppl want one of 'em out. that was a good twist tonight. they're all younger this year which could be a good thing.

as usual, there's at least one gob. and she's got one of the most annoying accents ::rolleyes: (she was the one who had to tell the others to keep the noise down :D)

It is what it's.