Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cyder ?

• 19-04-2003 12:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭

was having some cans the other day the name was "somthing somthing somthing CYDER - i checked the rest of the can and not once was it spellt cider....does this mean its not infact cider ? or are they just being funky with the spelling ?

[edit]**** maybe this should be in food/drink section....[eidt]
    so ehh move it if u wish :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

In The Simpsons they have 'Malk' which is Rats Milk, you could be dealing with something equally dodgy here M8.;) ;):)
    It could be something to do with the Cydor spyware maybe they can load spyware in to cans now, if thats the case 'THEY' own you now:ninja:
    Seriously it sounds a bit mad alright where did you get it?

Red

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Malk, now with Vitamin R!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

It is probably foreign stuff that the place that sold you it bought for less cost than Irish/British made cider,most probably from a country with lower alcohol taxing.Wouldnt be suprised if the taxman here was never informed of the import and sale;)
    Alot of places are doing this kind of thing now.
    Alot of the cheaper takeaways and work canteens etc are selling south african and slovakian coke,and Dutch 7 Up.The coke is alright,if tasting maybe slightly different for some reason,but the 7 up from abroad is a bit sh1tty.It is also sold in cans with a green different to the ones made here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

well whatever it is it added 3 inchs onto meh shlong so i advice any of yea to try it ...

[plz not i do NOT work for "cyder"]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

So...we're up to a whole 4 inches now....

Couldnt resist :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

If it doesnt have "Bulmers" written on it fraid its not Cider.

hmmmmmmmmmm pint bottles of bulmers !!!!!!!!!!

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Originally posted by The Gopher

Alot of the cheaper takeaways and work canteens etc are selling south african and slovakian coke,and Dutch 7 Up.The coke is alright,if tasting maybe slightly different for some reason,but the 7 up from abroad is a bit sh1tty.It is also sold in cans with a green different to the ones made here.
    German fanta is manky. My local takeaway in carlow sells it. Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Yeah foreign coke, fanta et al are just like piss. Thought i was getting a great deal when i bought 3 700ml coca colas for €2, the bigger size turned me on tbh, but it actually tasted like death. So the moral is buy genuine irish coke none of this fancy imported crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

i think we're allowed use E-number additives here they are not on the continent, maybe thats why they taste manky.
    Red Lemonade for example, isn't available anywhere else because the colourant is carcenegenic.

rar mystery of the cyder:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Originally posted by KdjaC

obviously never had proper english country cider before then? much much tastier (and a hella lot stronger).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Some quick googling found me this
    http://www.rhynecyder.com/
    Apparently it's just the old english way of spelling 'cider' ;)

dammit repli...u ruined the mystery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

The real question is, what were you doing drinking cider in the first place. The most rotten drink of all.

obviously never had proper english country cider before then? much much tastier (and a hella lot stronger).

Woodpecker red is the best english cider and on the bottom it has "Made in Clonmel, Ireland" also has 14%

Bulmers own everything and that Olde English is piss as well as most English beer in pubs.
    German Appple Weiss is also piss reminds me of Vinegar.

Bulmers is the nicest i have tasted and me drinks a lot of cider:D

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭YoungNastyMan

Stay away from any cider, 9 pints of that stuff will have you pukeing from your arse.

( o )
    o
    O

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Bulmers Vintage Cider is da r0x0rs tbh! ;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Strongbow has to be the nicest cider I've ever had in my life!

well i cant stand bear...so cider is next best :)

Bulmers make Strongbow also ,which is 2nd best Cider methinks :)

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭YoungNastyMan

test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Strongbow is my favourite cider, Bulmers comes in a close 2nd. no ice please

anyone drink Bulmers for the continent, Magners. i bought a bottle in Spain a few years ago and it didn't taste right at all. it was feckin pricey too :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Stonehouse is best.

Dirt cheap, and strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

large bottle of cider, pint glass with loads of ice and a sunny beer garden! its like a wet dream, heaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

Magners and Bulmers are exactly the same. The same stuff goes in the bottles. I used to work there.

PS: Never drink straight from the bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Stephen
    German fanta is manky
    Probably Fanta lemon, not Fanta orange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

You'd think seeing the Bulmers factory would put me off Bulmers and/or Strongbow.....but god no!

If you drive by you can see a big pile of apples on the floor outside.....bleerrghh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Sangre
    If you drive by you can see a big pile of apples on the floor outside.....bleerrghh
    It's OK, my brother supplies the filters to remove all the ukky bits. This was a problem when he had a load of old filters in the backseat of the car when he was stopped by the Garda. :)

Cider makes me urinate more than any other alcoholic drink. Sometimes as frequent as every 30 - 45 mins, which is bloody hell in a 1hr 30min taxi journey home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Cider is disgusting.. cheap cider is even worse
    Whatever happened to cidona.. THAT was a nice drink

Cidona is manky. Its just like bulmers but i can just about tolerate bulmers as its getting me pished.

btw seen it in tesco yesterday.

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    which is bloody hell in a 1hr 30min taxi journey home.
    Fookin hell! An hour and a half!? Why don't you go somewhere closer to drink?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    Stonehouse is best.

Dirt cheap, and strong.

That stuff tastes like puke as a result of a few experiences which involved getting a crate of that stuff. Coke tastes like vodka sometimes aswel. I usually get coke just for mixing cuz that stuff is acid.

Anyone know what I mean about the weird tastes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Samara

Mmm, Bulmers, sweet sweet nectar :p Had Magners in Amsterdam and I reckon it tastes exactly the same, it was draft mind you, which is never ever ever as nice as the old pint bottle or can!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Repli
    Whatever happened to cidona.. THAT was a nice drink

Something happened to it?

It's still on sale in pubs and supermarkets from what I can see...

I sell it meself, here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

kdjac

more like if it has bulmers on it is it NOT cider. more like cidona and vodka. it is a nice drink but it is not proper cider.

cider should be bone dry, most bulmers drinkers hate real cider. just like budweiser drinkers hate real beer. go to england and get some real stuff. try thatchers. most is crap here. stonehouse (british) is good. my favorite irish is devils bit which should appeal to the bulmers drinkers too since it still has the unfermented twang to it.

magners is bulmers. made in ireland too.

"Magners and Bulmers are exactly the same. The same stuff goes in the bottles. I used to work there.

PS: Never drink straight from the bottle."

nobody asked why not?
    i presume it is the old rats piss on bottles story. or is it the sinners ice?

i am always lectured on the mouldy apples bulmers use. usually by beer drinkers who seem to think the barley is picked by virginal angels who are sterilized by the lord himself. in reality rats are pissing on all the barley too, after they have drunk the apple juice

cyder is another spelling like whisky and whiskey.

like Gaymer's Olde English Cyder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

The barley is distilled to make drink isn't it? While the apples are just left there to ferment so it doesn't really matter if the barley's got rat piss on it does it?

I hate cider everytime I take a sip of it I get flash backs to being 14 and throwing up in a bush.

barley isnt distilled for beer. maybe youre thinking of whiskey which is really distilled and aged unhopped beer. beer has the same % rats piss as cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I drink Cider with Blackcurrent....

Mmmm.... Nummy! Nummy!

Goes down a bit too easy sometimes....

the drink I mean....

Originally posted by Amz
    I drink Cider with Blackcurrent....

Mmmm.... Nummy! Nummy!

Goes down a bit too easy sometimes....

the drink I mean....
    LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Bulmers is truely the king and overlord of the cider family. I've been drinking the evil pish for 10 years'ish, and continue to do so, despite warnings from so-called doctor type people. Bah. I tried to turn to beer a few times but its just feckin skank. Miller gave me thumpin headaches, Carlsberg and Heineken are just frinkin disgusting to my delicate palette. Bud is for little children. An ice-cold pint bottle of Bulmers in a pint glass with loadsa ice on a warm summers morning/afternoon/evening/night is the dogs.

Is it ok to drink straight from the can? :eek:

Originally posted by Space_Coyote
    Bulmers is truely the king and overlord of the cider family. I've been drinking the evil pish for 10 years'ish, and continue to do so, despite warnings from so-called doctor type people. Bah. I tried to turn to beer a few times but its just feckin skank. Miller gave me thumpin headaches, Carlsberg and Heineken are just frinkin disgusting to my delicate palette. Bud is for little children. An ice-cold pint bottle of Bulmers in a pint glass with loadsa ice on a warm summers morning/afternoon/evening/night is the dogs.

Is it ok to drink straight from the can? :eek:

what warnings did people give you? bulmers is the king of psuedo-ciders. rats piss on bottles and cans and thats the only warnings i have ever got

Bulmers has a high Ulcer ratio ,the more you drink the more likely you are to have Ulcers it rips your stomach apart.
    But tastes good so feck it :D

English Cider is too dry for me liking ,some nice ones Woodpecker red being about the best and even then from bottles.
    English beer on tap is muck dunno how anyone can drink it Bulmers pints aint the best either but Large pint bottles are the nicest beer imo.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

Ah 2.60 for 2 and a half liters of srumpy jacks. Then black current beer and a helping of ginger ale. The suger rush alone is worth it.

Ah so white.

So 7.5%

Ah im SO cheap! :D

Bulmers has a high Ulcer ratio ,the more you drink the more likely you are to have Ulcers it rips your stomach apart.
    But tastes good so feck it :D

English Cider is too dry for me liking ,some nice ones Woodpecker red being about the best and even then from bottles.
    English beer on tap is muck dunno how anyone can drink it Bulmers pints aint the best either but Large pint bottles are the nicest beer imo.

kdjac

i think bulmers varies more than guinness pints from pub to pub. some good some crap. what i cant stand is barmen who pour a perfect brimming pint of bulmers and then tip some out and put a head on it! no head on cider you fools

originally posted by rubadub
    what warnings did people give you? bulmers is the king of psuedo-ciders. rats piss on bottles and cans and thats the only warnings i have ever got]
    For the reasons KdjaC gave above. Stomach ulcers. That probably goes for nearly all ciders I'd say, it's so acidic, that's why only superhuman megapeople can drink it. ;)
    My stomach is in ribbons from years of Bulmers abuse. But it was damn worth it i tell ya. Bulmers on tap is really easy to drink, it goes down like a pair of knickers with no elastic. But you have to ... whats the word ... relish and savour a pint bottle of pure bliss.

i love that bulmers ad "which are you type a or type b".

i am waiting for them to show "type c" the guy who skulls 3 flagons in the field. mmm aged in PET.

what offies have flagons anymore? i know they had them behind the counter in tescos for years and they wouldnt sell them to young people

Well theres a Londis down the road from me and they've always sold flagons - Bulmers, Devils Bit, Linden Village ... etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Big Lads

cowboys are more like injuns with arrows