Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

have you ever been on tv?

• 30-03-2003 9:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭

not just part of a big crowd like at an ireland match mind, but actually been interviewed on the street or even coming out of court or something......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Ian Dempsy said hi to me on the Den. My Cousin played a Red Headded doctor in Fair City last week. Eh..... Yeah I was on TV3 News at 6 once talking about underage drinking and they were interviewing me and stuff. It was so cool they said they would block our faces but they didnt. My father wasnt impressed becasue half of ireland heard when/ how much / what and where I drink. I was 17 at the time. 5th year at the garage in templeogue village

if i could get a screenie id love too. It Had me and then below my face "UNDERAGE DRINKER"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭Zukustious

Back in the day, I was on the R.T.E's Happy birthday malarky. I was never notified and sued the uncle who put me on it. I doubt that really counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

i was an extra in a film once (Frankie Starlight)

sadly i was on PopTV on tnag when i was younger too :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Mystic Fibrosis

Let's see...

I was on Echo Island in the quiz once...
    And I did some ads as gaeilge for RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

i was on sky news once :D cant remember the name of the program, but i was sitting in front of a pc, playing snake no doubt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I was on TV at a funeral...

And talking about the underage drinking also...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

I was on crimeline meself a few times
    Cought robing a shopp a gunpiont
    and a few ATM MAChines

ehhhhhhh thats all i can think of right n ow ill post more later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I was in an advert for "Milko" in Greece, I was swaying my long locks like a goon and tapping my shoes like an epilectified bonkerman. I was also in some Scottish program about Scotland St. school. We dressed up in Victorian clothes and wrote with chalk on a slate. Interesting huh, wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

way way back long time ago I was on the dentv program show. There where going around ireland to shops and They setup this big yellow chair that was pointed to this camera. U have to sit on the chair to tell one joke Other week later it was on dentv. But I did not see it (fs) other people did. it be cool now if I can find it.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Hehe, I was on the megaleet Pets Corner or something of that sort name on Echo Island donkeys years ago.

Also, on juniour cert night I could be seen galavanting around behind the tv3 cameras at the rds.

(I think its tme for Shinji to recount his tale of woe from "The Den" a few years back ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Im in the video for the 4th Dimension dance tune ,recorded in the point a few yeras ago.

Anyone has that crappy song on video please send it to me :D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

I once got interviewed for TV3 when a Chinese delegation was visiting Dublin, they were interviewing people outside Dublin castle asking their opinion on it.

So the interviewer asked me something along the lines of “how do you feel about the Chinese delegation being here seeing as they’ve such a bad history of with human rights etc etc.”

I looked straight into the camera and said “yes”.

I thought it was funny but the interviewer was not impressed and I got a quick “listen don’t waste our time” and that was the end of my airtime.

I was really worried they were going to show it that night as a piss take at my expense but luckily it was never aired (to my knowledge).

So yes to answer your question I was on TV once as a kid on some RTE show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Originally posted by Grimes
    It Had me and then below my face "UNDERAGE DRINKER"

lol :D

I was on TnaG when i was younger. On the show "Huidi" or hugo as they call it in english, u know that little elf fella wit the games? Anyways i kicked ass i that game...

O yeah! I was on 2TV for about 3 seconds. There was this thing on about what celebrities looked like. I was walking down grafton street and bribed me with a free pen to say "Emma Bunton looks like a cat". I thought nothing of it but, my god... I didnt think any1 ever watched that program!! The slagging i got...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭karma kabbage

back in the good auld days when i was a wee young one (about 11 ah reckon) i was on the 'make me smile' thingy they used to show on the den. i gotta paint stuff.

it was lotsa fun and stuff but needless to say just as ray was announcing my name on tv... the damn power went out!!!

bloody figures!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I was on Scratch Saturday, RTE's Saturday morning kids show in the late 80's (remember that?). Myself and a couple of friends did a 'Video 8' for them and it was shown, along with an interview of us, on the show.

I was also interviewed by RTE News regarding the terrible state of the railway service in Dublin at the time - standing in Connolly Station with a camera pointed at me saying 'yeah yeah, I'm going to be 2 hours late AGAIN getting home this evening, it's a bloody disgrace', etc. etc.

Oh, and there's a bit in an old RTE ad for their rugby coverage that shows a fan in the crowd waving a flag over his head madly... I think that was me.

My aunt was the TV star in our family, appearing in Bosco, Glenroe and a few other things. My youngest brother was an extra in 'The Butcher Boy' (he was one of the kids in the dormitory). My Dad was on TV a few times when he was involved in politics. 'Nuff said!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I was on BBC News 24 after Manchester United won the League in '99. There was three others doing the interview. I didn't get to see any of it though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've been on about ten times on various quiz shows. Yeah, you know the ones :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

I was once on a documentry they did for angels lap dancing club aired about 2 years ago what a great day free beer and free lap dances .

It was very funny watching myself and a mate getting a private dance on tele

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭hells angels

ozzy rule's football last year...face in the crowd..i got my 5 SEC of fame

I was on the RTÉ nine o clock news, or rather my Wellies were squelching through a mucky field on one of the wettest summers ever.
    I was also done a few moons ago by a candid camera crew walking by the sports centre in UCD.
    They told me that they were testing the effects of the passing cars on the remote control of a toy airplane, and asked me to operate the remote.
    The blood thing of course went wild, and chased me across the field, as the bástard with the real remote control was hiding behind the hedge:D
    mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Was on some documentary a giid few years back after my sister died of cot death. It was more my mom+dad that got interviewed while i sat beside them. Was 5 or something. They asked me some simple questions :p

cant for life of me remember the name of the show tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Mr. Fancypants

Was in the audience of one of the awful Sean Moncrief chat shows a while back. The closing credits had the band playing the YMCA and the whole audience had to do the dance. Unfortunatly the cameraman must of had some sort of attraction to me, as for almost the whole credits it was just me on screen doing the dance.

Still have to live that one down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

I was in the audience on University Challenge a few years ago. Not much of a claim to fame huh? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

I played on Echo Island with a band I was with about 5/6 years ago, 'twas good craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭artvandelay

I was on scrap saturday, TWICE!!, not sure if kevo was on it then or not

You weren't paying much attention, were you? Scrap Saturday was Dermot Morgan's political satire radio show. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

i was on 2phat few years ago.... jeez ray d'arcy is small, and zig and zag aren't real........ i was gutted!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

I was on the Yes/No Game Show on the Den with Ray Darcy. It was like 8 years ago and I have horrid memories of it. So embarrassing. We were forced to do irish dancing, traumatised, I was. I should sue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Littletinyman

I do be presentin' rapih shows over de years such as "Fizzy Quiz" and "Stream" inanyway. I do be not thinkin yous are gonna guess who I am inanyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by the Guru
    I was once on a documentry they did for angels lap dancing club aired about 2 years ago what a great day free beer and free lap dances .

It was very funny watching myself and a mate getting a private dance on tele

Not half as funny as watching the rushes as the editor of the programme :) (i was there that day too btw :) )

Small world, i did the Make Me Smile programmes that were mentioned earlier as well.

I will never let myself appear for any lenght of time on de'tele since i know what a bunch of cnuts editors are :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Pimp Ninja

Originally posted by Bard
    I was on Scratch Saturday, RTE's Saturday morning kids show in the late 80's (remember that?). Myself and a couple of friends did a 'Video 8' for them and it was shown, along with an interview of us, on the show.

Did that too...

Also was on the 9 O clock news with Dick Spring when he was giving out Peace Ribbons (read: White Aids Ribbons) on the top of grafton St A couple of years ago. The Interviewer wanted our comments on what we thought of his incentive.

We were a bit stoned at the time, and weren't fully aware what was going on, so we were damn opinionated about the complete rip off of the aids ribbon.

I still have it in my wallet to this day, that was about 6 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

I was on the Joke box about 10 years ago, it was such a quality outlet for humour.

Its the joke box, its just for kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

i was on a few tv shows, acting like not kiddie shows :D and err a movie or 2 !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

was on the Workz when ever that was on tv with the primary skool.

part o the question answering team :D

[and yes...we DID win...quiet easily tbh. my teacher said I was special and gave me a slurprise after the show...]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

w00t!
    I'm going to join the Echo Island gang here.
    I wasn't on it, but rang them up asking a question to some actress from The Snapper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

Originally posted by Kaimera

[and yes...we DID win...quiet easily tbh. my teacher said I was special and gave me a slurprise after the show...]

Remeber the works catchphrase- Are you laughing???? God Mary Kingston is maaaaaaaaad

Originally posted by exiztone
    w00t!
    I'm going to join the Echo Island gang here.
    I wasn't on it, but rang them up asking a question to some actress from The Snapper.

so twas just YORE voice that was on da telly then?

thats like the voice over guy saying "Look! thats me on the telly...no not the good looking guy...THE VOICE" :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by invincibleirish
    not just part of a big crowd like at an ireland match mind,

err, any how... I was on TV at an all Ireland football match years ago and I was told I was on the news at witnness.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    I was on the Joke box about 10 years ago, it was such a quality outlet for humour.

Its the joke box, its just for kids.

Were you laughing? It was the Joke Box which said that or was it something other then that just on The Den (or just den or Den TV or what fecking ever)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭artvandelay

scrap saturday was an irish kids program on saturday mornings, a few years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 AngelAine

I was on T.O.T.T, Talent on the Telly on Den TV with Dustin and co. It was great craic, I sang "I've had the time of my life" from Dirty Dancing with my sister....

I was also on "Its a Family Affair", a dodgy Irish quiz show presented by Dara O' Briain. Got such abuse being on it, wasn't worth the fame at all...:D . Didn't even win the star prize of a Ford Fiesta!

Other than that I was on telly for some play about the famine I was in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Man U babe

Originally posted by Kaimera

So was I, bout 8 years ago.

Originally posted by artvandelay

Scratch Saturday, man. Seriously.

Originally posted by Man U babe
    So was I, bout 8 years ago.

on a all girlz team?

against a all guyz team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I was on CyberStream on the DEN (about 3 years ago) and on QuizStream (also 3 years ago and on DEN)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

dont think ive ever been on telly proper like, in crowds at the races and footy and shtuff. Me oul lad and uncles were on 'Where In The World' when Marty Whelan did it. Marty was talkin to the oul boy for 5 minutes about some sheet or other. Anyhoo, the oul lad wanted to hear what he said when we watched the episode on tv but the rest of us were just breakin our sheets laughing for the whole thing. Class :p

They won £180 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Sev

I was a "stunt" extra in that "Sunday Bloody Sunday" movie with PHB and Provost, which meant I was essentially an extra, but I got paid more because I threw rocks at soldiers and they fired blank rounds at us all day, gassed us, and hosed us with them riot disperal water guns, and when they stormed the barracades I had to run like the beejaysus cos they came after us with rifles, battons and stuff.

Fun fun fun.. anyhow if you watch the movie, you should see me in it at some stage when James Nesbit, the dude from Cold Feet, im told, approaches one of the barracades and I shout, "UP THE RA".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Amnesiac_ie

I used to work as a local reporter on Echo Island
    *CRINGE*
    Longest servign one though. Still have photocopy of my first "wage"... a hologrammed cheque form Montrose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I was on TG4 news a while back, when the minister for the marine visited the MRI in NUI,Galway. I was pretending to be a proper scientist fiddling about with seaweed. I was the guy with a really long fringe tucked behind one ear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭TenLeftFingers

Originally posted by artvandelay
    Yeah, it was Scratch Saturday (scrap was the radio shpw with Dermot Morgan). I did a few 'magic tricks' with Mary Kingston the fox :P

Was on the late late Toy Show @ the age of 13ish singin a song. That's all I'm saying!