Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Links to the 1980's

• 10-03-2003 3:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭

Popular demand dictates we have a sticky containing links to 1980's retro sites (cheers to Bateman for suggesting it).

Here are my initial suggestions:

Authentic Retro Crap for sale in this Ebay shop -

http://www.stores.ebay.co.uk/retromuseum

Looking for info. on that obscure 80's TV show only you remember? Try these guys -

http://www.memorabletv.com/

Are you bored at work? I'm never bored in my fulfilling job but if I was I might kill time playing 1980's quizzes here -

http://www.funtrivia.com/dir/2268.html

Keep adding them as you find 'em! :D

The 1980's were diggy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ozpass

Well, I was counting on being able to move Pigman II and Blitz Molloy's posts from this thread but it appears my vBulletin skillz aren't up to it, so here are their suggestions:

Blitz_Molloy suggests:

www.x-entertainment.com
    It's popup heavy these days and the archive with the really good old stuff is offline but its still quite fun. Very american but inventively written none the less.

Pigman II recommends:

http://www.yesterdayland.com/ EDIT - Link is dead as of 14/4/2003.
    I think http://www.yesterdayland.com/ is an excellent retro site. Lots of info on the toys / cartoons of the 80's but also covers stuff like movies, pop music and arcade machines of the time too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Gaz

http://www.80snostalgia.com is great for old 80s tv shows

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Here's a good one...

Fast Rewind - Classic 80's Movies

Also, yesterdayland.com is dead R.I.P.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭chopster

...one i came across on my travels in the pursuit of eternal happiness.....:p

http://www.inthe80s.com/

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Sun 101FM, broadcast "All 80's, All the Time" on 101.3MHz in Dublin, http://www.sun80s.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pink Bunny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭lukeUCD

check this out for all those 80 cartoons

www.80scartoons.net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Okie

I found a few that might come in handy...

The Virtual Toy-Chest

and

Tv Theme-World

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

http://www.theoldcomputer.com/Libarary's/tv_adverts_summary.htm

^ Ultra cheesey 80's computer adds!!!

Edit: Sorry the link doesn't parse well here, so you'll have to copy & paste it I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

You could spend days lookin at this site. Its got everything!!:

http://www.tv-ark.org.uk/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Lozjm

• Registered Users Posts: 5,280 ✭✭✭Ardent

Anyone have a copy of that email that was doing the rounds a few years ago?: "TV - The Bunny Carr Years".

Sheer brilliance! The stuff you forget over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

dinoridersseries1back.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Maggie Thatcher

Found this one, under construction it seems.
    1980schild.gifhttp://www.1980schild.com

Found it. This brings back memories!

Part 1:

> Well lads - it's finally here. The one you've been waiting for. A
    > tribute to the Golden Age of Television in Ireland (c.1978-1988)
    >
    > TV in Ireland - The Bunny Carr Years
    >
    > "Saint Vincent de Paul can help people like Gus" (Ould fella with a
    > beard in a flasher jacket and a pair of sandals. He also had dirty
    > toenails).
    >
    > HARP "The sound of the Curlew" "Sally O'Brien and the Way she might
    > look at ya". Jaysus - she was lovely. It was "so hot you could fry an
    > egg on the stones out here. If ya had an egg. And you could
    > certainly sink a pint of Harp....... If ya had a pint of Harp".
    >
    > HB Vanilla "There's your Grandad when he was just a bit older than you
    > are now. They used to take me down to Hazelbrook Farm (probably to
    > milk the cows on child labour and provide a bit of slap & tickle on
    > the side for the local farm animals). They gave me a great big bowl
    > of ice cream (well deserved). Straight from the Dairy the Ice Cream
    > came". "Did it taste as good then?" "The very same. HB Vanilla has an
    > old fashioned quality that NEVER changed".
    >
    > "Ahhhhh. That's Bass".
    >
    > Cornetto: Justa one Cornetto, Geev it dto mee, Deeleeshass Ice Cream,
    > Of Italy. Oh daarleeng, Forgeeve me please, O-pen zee door, Throw down
    > zee keys. (She's a leetal upset about sometheeng - but she soon be
    > eating outta my hand).
    >
    > The Stephen Roche Ads: Remember Stephen Roche (at the heighth of his
    > short lived cycling success) selling Bank accounts. "You can be a
    > winner too. Open a bank of Ireland Account and you get a free signed
    > poster and a reflective arm band". Then he went into an Italian
    > Restaurant and asked for a Galtee Cheese Sandwich. His wife must have
    > been some lazy bitch if he had to go to a restaurant to get a sanger
    > for his lunch. "Who want a cheese-a sand-a-wich! I give you a
    > cheese-a sand-a-wich!........I give a you the besta Galtee Cheese-a
    > Sand-a-wich you ever tasted!
    >
    > "Get out o' that saddle Stephen - get outta that saddle son. Just keep
    > those pedals turnin' - and ya have the damn thing won". Poor ould Sean
    > Kelly though. The only thing he ever won was the Tour of Spain and
    > the Nissan Classic . Then in 1988 he had to retire from the Spanish
    > race early 'cos he'd a boil on his arse. God love him. He thought
    > everything was "Super" . (Pronounced Sthooper).
    >
    > Deoderant Ads:
    >
    > Hands up - if you use Right Guard, Hands Down - if ya don't.
    >
    > Insignia's got everything - shampoo to shower gel, deoderant and
    > aftershave - a one all-over smell, So try insignia, Create a buzz not
    > a hum.
    >
    > Four Seven Eleven, Cool as can be like champagne on your skin.
    >
    > RADION Washing Powder: "Poo Daddy your shirt smells!"
    >
    > SHAMPOO:
    >
    > -Head & Shoulders - I didn't know you had dandruff -I don't (now stop
    > routing around in my f@ckin <mailto:f@ckin ' bag ya nosey bitch!)
    >
    > Wash and Go "Use shampoo AND conditioner? Take TWO bottles into the
    > shower? Put my clothes on after I'm finished? Not me! I just want to
    > wash my hair and go".
    >
    > "Ya do the Shake N Vac, And put the freshness back, Ya do the Shake N
    > Vac, And put the freshness back. When your carpet smells fresh, Your
    > room does too, So every time you vacuum, Remember what to do.....
    > ......Ya do the Shake N Vac, And put the freshness back, Ya do the
    > Shake N Vac, And put the freshness back.
    >
    > The Pretty Polly Ad where the blonde one in the car replaces the fan
    > belt with a nylon stocking.
    >
    > SOUP ADS:
    >
    > McDonnells Soup: "If I gave it to my fella he'd be jumpin' 'round the
    > garden - ah ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!"
    >
    > McDonnells Slim-A-Soup: "Stir to the left, stir to the right - Now
    > let's taste it...... The creamy rich taste you've been longing for,
    > Fourty calories that taste li-ike mo-ore. Arm up - head back - More!
    > More! More! More! You got it made with McDonnell's slim-a-soup".
    >
    > Hot Cup: Working on Building a Building Site Get no Suntan just for
    > spite Erin Hot Cup Special Perks you up, Like no other cuppa, no other
    > cuppa, no other cuppa, can!
    >
    > Cookeen: "Give 'em a lift, Give 'em a lift, Give 'em a lift - mmmmmmm
    > Cook-eeeeeeen" (Any time you took a bite of something baked with
    > Cookeen you'd float up off your chair. I thought I was Superman).
    >
    > Stork: -How many Candles for this big birthday? -HELEHVAN!!
    >
    > Popular thirst quenchers of the 80's: Um Bongo Kia Ora Moonshine
    > Robinsons Lemon Barley Water Robinsons Orange Barley Water Liga C
    > Complan (for Grannies and pregnant women)
    >
    > -WHERE'S MY LIGA!!! -Children these days - so demanding.
    >
    > Bugsy Malone does Easi-Singles: "Easi Singles Slices, With that touch
    > of Class, Individually Wrapped (WRAPPED!) From 'Foist' to Last. 8, 12,
    > 'Twe-enny, There's always Ple-enny. It's Golden Vale, You've got it
    > so, Fill it! Top it! Grill it! Bake it! TAKE it! Take it, Take it.
    > Golden Vale Easi Singes, Eeeeazy.
    >
    > Chocolate Bars:
    >
    > The Yorkee ad with the guy in the Truck.
    >
    > "The Bounty hunters, are here, they're searching for paradise". (Three
    > divers swim out of the sea onto a tropical island, remove their wet
    > suits to reveal three white bikinis and three golden tans. Mmmmm).
    >
    > "Catch it if you can on the outside it's chocolate, Underneath the
    > chocolate are - Krispies!"
    >
    > "Cadbury's Wispa. Bite it and believe it". (Mel Smith and Griff Rhys
    > Jones).
    >
    > "Rowntrees Lion Bar. Bite it! Crunch it! Chew it!
    >
    > "When I promised the lads I'd give 'em a lift, I forgot you need
    > petrol in cars, So when I got to the garage and filled 'er up, Then I
    > filled the lads with Mars. A Mars a day, helps you work rest and play
    >
    > Kit Kat: "It's a biscuit!" "It's a bar!" "It's a biscuit!" "It's a
    > bar!" "It's a biscuit!" "It's a bar!" "It's a biscuit in a bar!" or
    > "Ya can't sing, ya can't play, you look awaful. Snap! Pause. "You'll
    > gow a long wye" (Terry from Eastenders)
    >
    > M&M's melt in your mouth not in your hands.
    >
    > CHIPS ADS:
    >
    > McCain oven chips: "Take a chip. Hold it up. Give it a pinch. Smile.
    > Pinch another. Lick your lips. Now take a bite. McCAIN!!
    >
    > CRISP 'N' DRY: Hey - what's today? Thursday! Hope it's a Friday,
    > That's a crisp 'n dry day, any day can be a Friday, when you fry with
    > crisp.... 'n Dry.
    >
    > Liberty! Equality! Freedom and Choice! And WRANGLER JEANS!!
    >
    > THE AD FOR THE INTRODUCTION OF THE METRIC SYSTEM: Guy in hardware shop
    > - "Could ya show mae a meethar?" Young fella in corner shop - "Hi.
    > Can I buy a leethar o' lucozade?" Man in maternity ward -
    > "Congratulations. Your wife has given birth to a t'ree kilo dawthar".
    >
    > How successful that ad was in the implementation of the metric system.
    > Just the other day my sister gave birth to a 9 pound baby, so we
    > headed down to the pub for a couple of pints and walked about a mile
    > and a half back to the house. I'm 6 foot tall with a 32 inch waist,
    > my car does 30 miles to the gallon and I got a couple of inches taken
    > off my hair last week.

Part 2

> THE NATIONAL SAFETY ADS:
    >
    > "Where's Grandad?". He's obviously in the f@ckin <mailto:f@ckin '
    > river seeing as you left his chair teetering on the edge and the
    > stereo on full blast so he'd have to get up and try and turn it off.
    > Where there's a will there's a way.
    >
    > "Do you hear Brian?". "Ah yeah - here he is inside this barrel of
    > water. The noisy little bollix. Let's cover the thing over in
    > chicken wire so he'll never get out. That'll shut him up".
    >
    > The child lying down face first in the paddling pool with his feet
    > hanging out over the edge. "Remember - it's possible to drown in only
    > a few inches of water".
    >
    > "John - Did ya put the cat out?". Poor ould John. He wasn't too
    > bright at all at all. Not only did he let his cigar fall onto the
    > cushion and then onto the carpet, he also let the television overheat
    > and had to pour a vase of water into it (could have been electrocuted
    > - but that's a different ad altogether). He didn't think to put the
    > spark guard on the fire (feckin' eejit - sure everyone knows to put
    > the spark guard on), he didn't close all the doors before he went to
    > bed, he forgot (AGAIN) to put the fookin' cat out, and last but not
    > least - he married that fat lazy ould bitch "Maura" and let her walk
    > all over him. The first nineties man.
    >
    > Electricity: The guy who got electrocuted by his drill 'cos he plugged
    > the wires directly into the sockets in the wall without a plug
    > (Iiijitt). Then the poor arsehole who tried to save him and got killed
    > when he touched him. (A bigger Iijitt). The kid who climbed up a pylon
    > to retrieve his frizbee.
    >
    > "Ooh me Achin' Back!"
    >
    > Hearing Protection: The guy who didn't wear hearing protection at
    > work. When he went down to the pub to listen to a comedian and all he
    > could hear was a squeaky mumble. (I personally used to find the
    > squeaky mumble quite funny myself. I thought it was part of the
    > comedy).
    >
    > Physical Fitness: How about the poor fat oul' cow who just wasn't
    > quite "fit enough to be in time to catch that bus". I always thought
    > she wore too much make up. It made her look cheap. You didn't have to
    > be super fit like "The Carrolls and the Treacys" though. You just had
    > to be able to catch that bus.
    >
    > "Oh me Achin' Back!"
    >
    > Water Safety: The family at the beach who did just about everything
    > wrong. They didn't wait an hour before going swimming, they went into
    > the water with tyres and lie-lows and they didn't wear suncream.
    > Admittedly suncream's a bit of waste of money when you go to the beach
    > in Ireland but Irish people have been known to lie out all day in
    > attempt to get burnt even when the sky is black and it's pissing rain.
    >
    > Rabies: "Rabies Kills. Agonisingly!" (Followed by a picture of a guy
    > in a hospital bed with a big gash in his arm and saliva all around his
    > mouth. He personified being killed agonisingly). Always inform the
    > local authorities "if you see a dog being smuggled in or coming ashore
    > illegally.
    >
    > Vigilance!
    >
    > Will keep rabies....
    >
    > Out of Ireland!"
    >
    > The nightie and the number: "IS-148. Sounds like a Robot doesn't it.
    > But if it doesn't have this IS-148 - don't buy it. Otherwise the
    > nightie could go up in smoke - and your child with it". I wonder how
    > many youngfellas in the country tried to put that to the test and
    > managed to set their sisters on fire. That foxy little young one in
    > the ad tried to put it to the test by God . Putting her hairbrush over
    > the fireplace and then playing with a box of matches. "Kids are
    > divils. But sure wouldn't ya die if anythin' happened to them".

Part 3

> THE ROAD SAFETY ADS:
    >
    > The guy who used to paint the yellow boxes on the road and got pissed
    > off 'cos everybody drove into it and caused a traffic jam.
    >
    > "Hey! After him!" The 3 boyos cycle along the road like Dublin's
    > answer to the Hell's Angels. A car stops short of flattening one of
    > them. Mike Murphy Speaks: "Where do ya think you're goin'. Have ya no
    > sense. Ya'll get killed if ya keep on cycling like that!" Lucky? Yes
    > this time. Smart? Definitely not. (Safety on your bike ad).
    >
    > The one where the "experienced" driver spotted the feet of the little
    > girl in the red sandals (mmm) under the parked caravan as she was
    > about to run out onto the road.
    >
    > Dangerous Parking: The guy with the beard who parked his truck (lorry)
    > on the corner and headed off to bed to read a book. Then he heard a
    > crash outside and threw his book on the floor, tossed back the sheets
    > and ran out to see what happened. "Remember: You don't have to be
    > sitting in your vehicle to cause an accident"
    >
    > Drunk Driving: The guy in the pub sitting in front of a glass of
    > whiskey. He's about to take a drink when the barman holds up his keys
    > in front of him and warns him of the perils of drinking and driving.
    > He asks him does he really want to take that drink. The punter sees
    > sense and says "See ya later lads. I'm driving!". I wonder how long
    > that pub stayed in business with a barman like that.
    >
    > " If you don't walk sober................your feet are killing you".
    >
    > The ad where they compared Drink Driving to loading 2 big red bullets
    > into a shotgun.
    >
    > The safe cross code. Remember 1. Look for a safe place. 2. Don't hurry
    > - stop and wait. 3. Look all around you and listen before you cross
    > the road Remember. 4. Let all the traffic past you. 5. Then walking
    > straight accross you. 6. Keep watching. That's the safe cross code.
    > That's the safe cross code. KNOW! THE! SAFE! CROSS! CODE! Know the
    > code!
    >
    > "Too close to da rode. You'll get - ROLLED OVER" (Judge)
    >
    > "Ya hook around the other car!" (Ever tried it. Bloody dangerous I'll
    > tell ya. God bless roundabouts).
    >
    > Last - but not least: "Send your money to me. Bunny Carr" (The
    > magnificent television presenter - Bunny Carr)
    >
    >
    > ----
    >
    >
    > ---- --
    >
    > Now Look back nostalgically at....
    >
    > THE PROGRAMMES
    >
    > The Foreign Gems:
    >
    > Chopper Squad
    >
    > The Gemini Man (The guy with the digital watch that could make him
    > disappear)
    >
    > The Rockford Files
    >
    > 3-2-1 Contact
    >
    > A Country GP
    >
    > Electric Company
    >
    > Mystery Island
    >
    > Catweasel
    >
    > Worsel Gummage
    >
    > Sale of the Century with Knickerless Parsons
    >
    > Silver Spoons (with Ricky Schroder)
    >
    > Different Strokes
    >
    > Sons and Daughters
    >
    > The Beachcombers
    >
    > The Edison Twins
    >
    > The Flying Doctors
    >
    > Little House on the Prairie
    >
    > Little House - A New Beginning (Sequel to Little House on the Prairie)
    >
    > Heidi
    >
    > North and South (with Patrick Swayze)
    >
    > The People's Court (with Joseph P. Wapner)
    >
    > Battle of the Planets
    >
    > Curious George
    >
    > Peter Cottontail & the Fables of the Green Forest
    >
    > George of the Jungle
    >
    > Jabber Jaws (Cartoon about a shark with false teeth)
    >
    > The Smurfs
    >
    > The Snorks (Like the smurfs except they lived under water and used to
    > breathe through a snorkel growing out of the top of their heads)
    >
    > MT USA with the late Vincent Hanley
    >
    > Battlestar Galactica
    >
    > Space 1999
    >
    > Stingray
    >
    > V
    >
    > Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea
    >
    > The Time Tunnel
    >
    > The Voyagers (Another Time Travel series)
    >
    > Hotel
    >
    > The Colbys
    >
    > The Late Late Breakfast Show (All fun and games until someone snuffs
    > it)
    >
    > Jim'll Fix It
    >
    > The Donny and Marie Show (with Donny and Marie Osmond)
    >
    > Various Theme Songs and Intros:
    >
    > Fourty Coats: "When ya find you're in a fix, send for Fourty Coats.
    > When you've just been hit for six, send for Fourty Coats. Think twice
    > or maybe three times, before you eat your hat, There's things you just
    > can't remedy by sweeping 'neath the mat".
    >
    > Supergran: "Stand back Superman, ice man spider man, batman and Robin
    > too, There's no contest for BA Baroccus - I've got a match for you,
    > She makes them look like a bunch of babies, she's got more bottle than
    > you and I has, Watch out. Look out. For Supergran".
    >
    > Follyfoot Farm: "Down in the meadow where the wind blows free, The
    > wind blows free at the lightning tree, Dreams come true when you want
    > them to, If you want them to then it's up to you. Li-ightning Tree."
    >
    > The Ballad of Biddy and Miley: "And her hair shone red like the valley
    > of the Rho-one, Her skin was white as the light upon the snow. How can
    > I forget the morning that I met her, Where the side of the hill meets
    > the by-road to Glenroe"
    >
    > Ould Miley forgot to mention that the subject of his song actually
    > looked like the side of the hill that meets the by-road to Glenroe.
    >
    > The Greatest American Hero: "Looked like a light I never knew then, It
    > hit me from out of the blue, Breakin' me out of the spell I was in,
    > Makin' all of my wishes come true" Da d' da d' da, DA d' da d' d' da
    > "Believe it or not, I'm walking on air, I never thought I could feel
    > so free-ee-ee, Flyin' away on a wing and a prayer, Who could it be.
    > Believe it or not, It's just me."
    >
    > "Mork calling Arse-N. Come in Arse-N"
    >
    > HART to HART: "Meet my boss - Jonathan Hart. Self made millionaire.
    > This is his wife - Jennifer. She's Goyjiss. She's on goyle who knows
    > howda dtake care of herself. By the way - my name is Max. I dtake
    > care of the both of 'em. Which ain't easy. 'Cos when they
    > met.........it was MOYDAH!!".
    >
    > The HULK "Mr Magee. Don't make me angry. You wouldn't like me when
    > I'm angry.
    >
    > Buck Rogers in the 25th Century: "The year is 1987 and NASA launches
    > the last of America's Deep Sprace Probes. In a Freak mishap, Ranger 3
    > and its pilot - Captain William "Buck" Rogers, Was blown out of its
    > trajectory, into an orbit which froze its life support systems. An
    > orbit which was to return Buck Rogers to Earth....... Five Hundred
    > Years Later............." (And then the song......) "Far beyond this
    > world I've known, Far beyond my time. What kind of world am I going to
    > find? Will it be real or just all in my mind?" (Beautiful). (Like
    > Wilma in her white jumpsuit).
    >
    > "Well you know my name is Simon, And the things I draw come true, All
    > the witches take me take me over, High on the ladder with you"
    >
    > The Bosco Years: Knock knock. Open wide. See what's on the other
    > side. Knock knock. Any more. Come with me through the magic door.
    >
    > See ya soon, Goodbye goodbye, That's all we have time for today, We'll
    > be back again, good bye good bye. And remember now - You're the tops!!
    >
    > Gregory Grainneog (the hedgehog), Sile Seilde (the snail), Charlie
    > Crann (the tree) and Rory Rabbit (the Rabbit) and Fiachra Frog (the
    > Frog). Ollie Ostrich, Percy Penguin and Bruce Kangaroo. Times the
    > Tide. Seamus and Sheila Mac Spud The Tongue Twister Twins Barbara,
    > Marian, Grainne, Phillip, Frank, David, Jonathan, Paul and numerous
    > other school teacher types with dark curly hair, pale skin,
    > moustaches, hairy arms and pink dungarees.
    >
    > "Stop the Lights!" (Qucksilver - Hosted by the magnificent Bunny Carr)
    >
    > The Greatest TV Teams Ever:
    >
    > Ponch and John.
    >
    > Dempsey and Makepiece
    >
    > Phones and Yoyo
    >
    > Starsky and Hutch
    >
    > Cagney and Lacey
    >
    > Hardcastle and McCormack
    >
    > Simon and Simon
    >
    > Michael Knight and KITT
    >
    > David Banner and the Incredible Hulk
    >
    > Biddy and Miley
    >
    > Paul Daniels and "Dibbie" Magee
    >
    > George, Bungle and Zippy
    >
    > Olivia Tracy and Michelle Rocca
    >
    > Johnny Logan and Linda Martin
    >
    > Charlie Haughey and Garret Fitzgerald
    >
    > Gay Byrne and Himself
    >
    > Lance and Martin
    >
    > North and South
    >
    > Huckleberry Finn and Injun Joe
    >
    > Jump the Gun (Ireland's Eurovision Entry in 1988)
    >
    > Kermit the Frog and Miss Piggy
    >
    > Benji, Zax and the Alien Prince
    >
    > Jonathan Hart and Jennifer Hart
    >
    > Pigs in Space
    >
    > Ernie and Bert
    >
    > Big Bird and Mr. Snuffelophigas
    >
    > Super-Grover
    >
    > The Hardy Boys (but if you were experiencing transmission problems in
    > the Mullaghanish area you may have had to make do with Nancy Drew)
    >
    > Anne Redmond and Bunny Carr

Part 4

> HOMEGROWN TALENT:
    >
    > Youngline
    >
    > Wanderly Wagon with O'Brien, Godmother, Judge, Mr. Crow, Colm Coinin,
    > Sneaky Snake and the mice in the window garden.
    >
    > Superstars: Declan Burns (Kayak canoist) - Chin up Record holder .
    > Captain Gerry Loftus - Squat Thrust Record Holder Eoghan "The
    > Bomber" Liston - Couldn't get his fat arse over the wall in the
    > obstacle course. Vinnie Becker - No one Remebers him 'cos he was ****e
    > - but me Mom used to know him. He'd freckly arms. I remember that.
    >
    > Fourty Coats Lovely Assistants: Sofar Sogood. Slightly Bonkers (Now
    > plays Leo's Girlfriend in Fair City). The Cat - "Spooky". The
    > Whirligig Witch - aka - The Woman in the Fire Safety Ad............
    > The Pickaroony (The guy who use to live in a dump). Today Tonight
    >
    > Anything Goes: Aongus McAnally and his different colour shoes. Mary
    > "Make and Do" Fitzgerald - who always had something at hand that she
    > prepared earlier 'cos she'd generally make a balls of whatever she did
    > live. Dave Heffernan - who cried real tears when Phillo Lynott snuffed
    > it. Cathy who never shut up about how great the Phillipines were.
    >
    > The Clock: The blue clock with the yellow dots for numbers that used
    > to come on the telly 15 minutes before Anything Goes started. I
    > remember watching that for 2 hours one morning when nobody told me
    > that Anything goes had finished for the Summer. Sad.
    >
    > Derek Davis when he used to read the News. (He was pretty fat even at
    > this early stage).
    >
    > Pat Kenny when he used to read the news.
    >
    > Veer-Wyn-Jones when he used to read the news.
    >
    > Don Cockburn when he used to read the news.
    >
    > Charles Mitchell when he used to read the news.
    >
    > Richard Crowley when he used to read the news.
    >
    > Anne Doyle when she used to read the news??
    >
    > The alleged illicit affair between Newcasters Anne Doyle and Richard
    > Crowley.
    >
    > Sunday Night at the Gaiety with Brendan Grace in his Tiger-skin
    > jacket: "Noel Keelihan take us away!"
    >
    > Maureen Potter being funny (obviously well before my time).
    >
    > Dempsey's Den when Zig and Zag and Dustin didn't wear any clothes.
    >
    > Garda Patrol "A set of nested tables was stolen from a 3 bedroomed
    > house in Skreenarinky. We don't actually have a photo of the nested
    > tables in question, but we have a photo of a different set of nested
    > tables that look like this (cue photo). If you have any information
    > about these (or any other crimes that we are currently unaware of)
    > please contact your local Gardai".
    >
    > Jo-Maxi
    >
    > Pat's Hat.
    >
    > Pat's Chat.
    >
    > Pat's Spider. Murphy's Micro Quiz-M (With Mike Murphy) "Sylvester -
    > S'il vous plait."
    >
    > Rapid Roulette (with Murray and Maxi) "Leave the Table"
    >
    > Anois 'is Aris
    >
    > Trom agus Eadrom (with Liam O Murchu)
    >
    > Caoga (with SBB)
    >
    > SBB in a Shu* (with SBB)
    >
    > Scaoil Amach an Bobail*n (with SBB & Cynthia Ni Mhurchu)
    >
    > Radharc
    >
    > Barry McGuigan vs Pedroza (Hip Hip Hurray!!)
    >
    > Barry McGuigan vs Steve Cruz (Ah Shyte!!)
    >
    > Ireland's Eye (with Frank Hall and Hugh Leonard)
    >
    > Daybreak LA (during the 1984 Olympics - with Michael Lyster. They used
    > to teach the Dance steps to Michael Jackson's 'Thriller' day by day).
    >
    > Saturday Live
    >
    > The Kidnapping of Don Tidy (Supermarket Magnate)
    >
    > The Kidnapping of Shergar
    >
    > Screen Test (Talent Competition with Mike Murphy)
    >
    > Where in the World (with Marty "Giz a Kiss" Whelan)
    >
    > Where in the World (with Theresa "Giz a Personality" Lowe)
    >
    > Access Television (With the Fat Ciana Campell).
    >
    > Evening Extra (With the Fat Ciana Campell)
    >
    > 12 to 1 (With the Fat Ciana Campell and Marty "Giz a Kiss" Whelan)
    >
    > Auntie Poppy's Storytime (with the Fat Auntie Poppy)
    >
    > Head 2 Toe (With the Fat Pat O'Mahony and the Fat Barbara McMahon)
    >
    > Faces and Places (with the Fat Kathleen Watkins)
    >
    > Davis at Large (With the Fat Derek Davis)
    >
    > Live at Three (With the Fat Derek Davis and the Fat Thelma Mansfield)
    >
    > Play the Game (With the Fat Derek Davis, the Fat Ronan Collins and the
    > Fat Twink).
    >
    > Late Entry: The Fat Jonathan Philbin Bowman.
    >
    > Last but not least: "Going Strong" with the magnificent slim and
    > slender Bunny Carr
    >
    >
    > ----
    >
    >
    > ----
    >
    > The Quiz (All answers backwards):
    >
    > Q.What was the Dog's name in Hart to Hart. A (backwards): yaweerf
    >
    > Q.What were Simon and Simon's first names? A. kcir&ja
    >
    > Q.Who were the 3 most famous Charlie's Angels characters (After Farrah
    > Fawcett left)? A. anirbas;yllek;sirhc.
    >
    > Q. Who played those characters? A. noskcaj etak; htims nylcaj; ddal
    > lyrehc.
    >
    > Q.Who was the voice of Charlie? A. ehtysrof nhoj (aka - notgnirrac
    > ekalb).
    >
    > Q. Who was the small fat fella who used to look after the Angels. A.
    > yelsob nhoj.
    >
    > Q. What was the name of the Wizard in the smurfs? A. lemagrag
    >
    > Q. What was the name of his cat? A. lairza.
    >
    > Q. What was the name of the Computer in Murphy's Micro Quiz-M. A.
    > retsevlys
    >
    > Q.Who shot JR? A. netsrik
    >
    > Q. What was Cliff Barnes' Dad's name? A. reggid
    >
    > Q. What was Jock Ewing's middle name? A. parts
    >
    > Q. What famous Hollywood actor played the part of Jason Colby in
    > Dynasty spin-off "The Colbys" A. notseh notlrahc
    >
    > Q. Who were the original presenters of Jo-Maxi? A. elliahcauhb in
    > anoilc; rolal ireg; ydood etteniotna; ycrad yar
    >
    > Q. Who played Ponch and John in "Chips" A. adartse cire; xocliw yrral
    >
    > Q. Who played "Blofeld" in the early bond movies (From Russia with
    > Love and You Only Live Twice). A. ecnasaelp dlanod
    >
    > Q. Who did actually frame Roger Rabbit? A. dyoll rehpotsirhc
    >
    > Q. What were the magician's magic words in Sesame Street? A.
    > sehciwdnas rettub tunaep ala-a
    >
    > Q. What were the names of Charlie's grandparents in "Willy Wonka and
    > the Chocolate Factory" A. egroeg; eoj; anigroeg; enihpeseoj
    >
    > Q. What was the name of the fat bastard in Willy Wonka and the
    > Chocolate Factory" A. poolg vatsug
    >
    > Q. Who played Prince Baron in the 1982 "Flash Gordon" movie? A. notlad
    > yhtomit
    >
    > Q. In the television series "Crossbow", who played William Tell? A.
    > dnalrehtus dlanod
    >
    > Q. What were the names of Magnum PI's 3 buddies A. kcir&ct,sniggih
    >
    > Q. Bonnie Tyler's "I need a Hero" was the theme song for which
    > espionnage television series A. pu revoc
    >
    > Q. Who played Daniel's girlfriend in "The Karate Kid" A. euhs
    > htebasile
    >
    > Q. Who played Valene's brother Joshua in Knot's Landing A. niwdlab
    > cela
    >
    > Q. What were the Hardy Boys Names A. knarf&eoj
    >
    > Q. Who played the Six Million Dollar Man A. srojam eel
    >
    > Q. What was the name of the Six Million Dollar Man A. nitsua evets
    >
    > Q. What was the name of the Bionic Woman? A. sremmos eimaj
    >
    > Q. Who played the Bionic Woman? A. rengaw yasdnil
    >
    > Q. What was Wonder Woman's civilian name? A. ecnirp anaid
    >
    > Q. Who played Wonder Woman A. retrac adnil
    >
    > Q. In the TV series "Nighthawks", what was Blaithin Keavney's
    > boyfriend's name? A. enferb
    >
    > Q. Who thinks Anne Doyle has a lovely bottom? A. yelworc drahcir
    >
    > Q. What was the name of the character played by Frank Kelly in
    > Wonderly Wagon? A. ortsa rotcod
    >
    > Q. Who presented the Eurovision Song Contest alongside Pat Kenny in
    > 1988 A. accor ellehcim
    >
    > And last but not least: Q. Which charity did the magnificent Bunny
    > Carr represent? A. atrog

• Registered Users Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Naos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 darkangel

bring back Beavis and Butthead,are there any DVDs of this gem of a show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭sodiumlightbaby

http://www.remembertheeighties.com

for up to date info on bands from 80's

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

retrojunk.com

it hasn't got everything but what it has are wide, varied and well worth your time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 div5ire

What were Biddy and Mileys' childrens names? Please e-mail me....its killing me...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Sarge wrote:

another uk site....

great stuff but how come there are NO Irish sites for this stuff
    R Logue's TV room with the Wanderly Wagon page hardly counts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 tclawless

Got to ask you where you got that mail. I came up with all that stuff about 6 years ago when I had little to do at work but come up with stuff like that. It sent a shiver down my spine to stumble accross it again so many years later.

I'd love to know the chain that got it to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

http://www.yearsofgold.org.uk/

70s/80s music charts etc.

Mie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Remember all of your favourites. :)

Uk Gameshows Page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭moshpit77