Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your overall favourite rpg

• 01-03-2003 12:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭

This might have been more suited to role playing but nah... I prefer this board. Sorry if i missed one, these are ones that i know are good/popular, dont expect ultima 3 and 3/4: lord whatever saves the day.

Your favourite rpg... 46 votes

FF7
    0% 0 votes
    FF6/3
    47% 22 votes
    Phantasy star 4
    2% 1 vote
    Chrono trigger
    2% 1 vote
    Zelda ( snes one)
    10% 5 votes
    Zelda (n64)
    13% 6 votes
    Secret of mana
    13% 6 votes
    Breath of fire 3
    6% 3 votes
    shining force1/2
    0% 0 votes
    Terranigma
    4% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

gwan teh zelda...as far as role playing goes FF 7 is prolly beter but i juz lurve zelda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

I do love zelda and ff7 was "good" but i think chrono trigger pulls them both off...

Meaning it has all the little things of zelda and has the brilliance of ff7. If have never played i suggest u get urself a snes emulator!

I must rephrase that.

It has the loveable parts of zelda eg the start with "fairy cam"
    And the dramatic depressing serious storyline of ff7

Best snes graphic you'll see to boot! Kinda makes me wanna.... /me blows dust of snes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Out of that lot, FF7.... I'd have gone for FFX was it an option though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭Zukustious

Final Fantasy sucks. Terranigma is by far the greatest game ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭*NemesiS*

FF7 > * tbh and ya know it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭TheAlmightyArse

Not to be a pretentious wee twerp, but I will be. ;)

There ain't no role playin' in them games! Especially Zelda! Great games, all of them - at least the ones I've played - but no actual role playing!

Especially Zelda, consarnit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

no D&D rpg games...?
    or mmorpg games...?

I decided to leave those out. I was aiming at console gaming... and zelda, I was just waiting for some1 to point that out! I was low on brains when making this poll. I still dont know how u can claim the rest of those games aint rpg's. If you want to look closely at the meaning of RPG, every game is one if you think about it. Well not every game but a huge amout of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Ryo Hazuki

Jaguar? Chrono Trigger is the best. Amazing use of snes technology. FFVII is a very close second, Its hard to choose between the two.
    I was low on brains when making this poll

Again, Jaguar?

Originally posted by Ryo Hazuki
    Jaguar? Chrono Trigger is the best. Amazing use of snes technology. FFVII is a very close second, Its hard to choose between the two.

Again, Jaguar?

Whos this jaguar fella? methinks it was an old console b4 my time, nes being my 1st

I also whole heartedly agree with that, zelda is good but shouldnt really even be there and terranigma was excellent, but again not a true rpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

Originally posted by Rnger
    Whos this jaguar fella?

dont worry it will become apparent when you see more polls on these boards. the atari jaguar is the no opinion opinion in each poll. the origins of it are best answered in the newbie faq board.

now back to the poll.

Final Fantasy 7 is head and shoulders above the rest.

but why no xenogears, final fantasy x, or chrono cross(better than trigger, way darker imho)?

Originally posted by DiscoStu
    but why no xenogears, final fantasy x, or chrono cross(better than trigger, way darker imho)?

Cuz im a freakin moron!! every question im asked from now on will be answered with that... Last time i make a poorly informed poll! iv never even heard of xenogears :p
    I also heard ffX is rubbish, guess not, ive never played it except the demo. same wit cross, heard it woz pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭TheAlmightyArse

I decided to leave those out. I was aiming at console gaming... and zelda, I was just waiting for some1 to point that out! I was low on brains when making this poll. I still dont know how u can claim the rest of those games aint rpg's. If you want to look closely at the meaning of RPG, every game is one if you think about it. Well not every game but a huge amout of them.

Hmmm.

Generally, I only really consider games where the player can choose their own approach to how they solve problems, how their character interacts with other characters, how their character develops, and generally how much of a sway they have on the way the game progresses.

Basically, exp points plus levelling up plus fantasy world does not equal playing a role. As such, I don't think you really can have an RPG unless there's other people involved, since a CPU doesn't have the flexability or interface to cope with any given decision on the part of a player.

You can tell I'm a pen and paper nerd, can't you? :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,395 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Theres no D+D games or western rpgs because they're all pure shoit!.

Final Fantasy is the daddy although everyone mentioned should be played through by everyone.

P.S. You forgot Grandia in the poll.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,395 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

And if you have actually played Xenogears well it isn't all that good. The cutscenes are far to long and theres not enough gameplay. It's brilliant but has far too many flaws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ManWithThePlan

Zelda (SNES version) is my favourite by far.
    It's probably the game i've spent the most amount of hours on.

Fawkin brill. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

secret of mana > chrono trigger > ff7 > *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Shining Force - best RPG I've ever played, only RPG to come close was FF7 and Baldurs Gate2. The combat system was oen of a kind, never seen anything similar, and the storyline was good, albiet cheesy at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

FF7... felt more involved in the story-line than any other RPG I've played.
    Kind of game you wish you'd never played just so you could experience it again.

tbh i havent played all these games you speak of... I only had a snes and n64 so i never played shining force, p*4, balders gate , xenogears, grandia.

Am I the only person who thinks when the hear some1 say "ff7 is the best ever!", its seems like theyve never played any other rpg before? I just can't imagine that being the best game/rpg ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

FF7 loses my vote because of one thing that caused me extreme mental anguish for about a year.... the golden chocobo. i know exactly how to do it but ****ing hell its suck a ****ing frustrating process

any way SNES Zelda is teh w1n!

Originally posted by nesthead
    FF7 loses my vote because of one thing that caused me extreme mental anguish for about a year.... the golden chocobo. i know exactly how to do it but ****ing hell its suck a ****ing frustrating process

any way SNES Zelda is teh w1n!
    I never bred a golden choco, hehe, I beat ruby weapon with hade's (think its hade's, if not try all the summons, 1 gets it) which paralyse's him then its just easy casting for the next 30mins killing him, tadaa, free goldie. Then use the KotR to kill emerald weapon :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Originally posted by Pugsley
    I never bred a golden choco, hehe, I beat ruby weapon with hade's (think its hade's, if not try all the summons, 1 gets it) which paralyse's him then its just easy casting for the next 30mins killing him, tadaa, free goldie. Then use the KotR to kill emerald weapon :)
    Id like to know which version of the game you played :) Hades only took Ruby out of the game for 3/4 turns max, and without a more complicated strategy by that stage you would have been left with only one character to beat him with... I would have thought Ruby was practically impossible without KOTR or cheating, so Im either impressed by your skill or I think your lying :)

Call me a cynic, youd be right.

A

omnislash, auto phoenix, lv99, master summons and some hella powerful magic with a hell of a lot of luck might do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

My fav. (console) RPG isn't listed there. ShadowRun on the SNES. It captured FASA's rpg of the same name perfectly. It was dark, it was moody, and it was DAMN bloody long and good. Even the music suited the game down to a tee.

Bar that, all PC stuff for me - Fallout, BG, etc.

omnislash, auto phoenix, lv99, master summons and some hella powerful magic with a hell of a lot of luck might do the trick.
    Still wouldnt be enough. Even with titanium steel alloy luck. Powerful magic or not, the limit to damage is 9999. Ruby and Emerald pack a million HP each, so you need to be able to use a good few multi-hit combos in succession. It might work if you could have Cloud, Barrett and Cid performing limit breaks repeatedly, but this is impossible, even with mime. You could do it with one character, but it wouldnt be enough. Auto phoenix (Final Attack + Phoenix) will only work as many times as you have levelled up both materia, and you need the MP to cast it. You cant get the Master Summon without either A) Having KOTR or B) Beating Emerald Weapon (dont even think about trying until you have KOTR...).

A

Dont bother with omni slash against ruby weapon, only does 800 or so a hit usually (albiet i was using lvl 60 chars). btw - as for using hades to take him out, use it once, attack once or twice, then wait until he starts moving (paralyse wears off) and then just cast it again instantly,only takes an hour or so :rolleyes: faster than getting a goldy tho.

ps: ruby has 1mil hp, emerald has 750,000, but ruby is easier I find, paralyse and the fact that emeralds stomp thing attack (cant remember name) does 1111 damage to all chars in your party per materia carried, so if you have 9 pieces of materia per char - all go bye bye, mega hard to fight against.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Phantasy Star 4. As polished as any Final Fantasy game but far more challenging with better character development.

Zelda is only an RPG in the most loose sense. Far more of an action adventure.

Of the games that aren't mentioned I'd just like to give Landstalker a thumbs up. It's an isometric action/platforming/puzzle RPG with the best dialogue of any game I've played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Neverwinter Nights?
    Baulders Gate II?
    Icewind Dale 2?
    Neocron?

Hes already mentioned that hes talking about console RPGs Hobbes. As far as Im concerned, this is fair enough, as the two are entirely different genres.

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭*NemesiS*

Ok here we go

1)
    Phoenix + final attack takes 180 mp and it only gives u back 1/4 life when ur resurrected, if you pair final attack with life2 then equip mega all it only takes 100 MP + gives u back your full HP (this is just a back up plan incase you make a mistake and he kills you)

Recommened characterss are cloud, barret and Cid (multi-hit limits)

materia

Cloud -
    Demi linked with quadra magic (at least level 2)
    W-Magic
    Mega-all (at least level 2)

Cid -
    Reflect linked with All
    Mime

Barret -
    Mime
    Underwater Materia

DO NOT equip any other materia at all so as emeralds super attack won't kill!

Ok make sure you have omni-slash with cloud and have it ready before you enter the fight

Start by having Cid cast reflect on everyone
    Now cast demi twice (W-magic) on your own party! (when you cast a spell on your entire party and you reflect it onto one enemy it will hit him three times.)
    By casting demi with quadra magic twice and using the reflect trick you will deal 24 demi's to weapon
    Then its just a matter of miming it with barret and cid (thats 72 altogether and 720,000 damage) :D
    Repeat this again and he should have well under 100,000 hp left (Demi can't kill) Then just use any one of the three limits and there you go :)

btw i didn't come up with this a mate of mine did, he is literally a ff7 god, he has all three main chars stats at 255, he has wrote his own ff7 hints n tips guide and its almost 25 a4 pages long, im gonna get it off him and post it up here as im sure it would be appreciated and hopefully would get him some credit, he also has a way of beating emerald weapon in TWO attacks!!! but he won't tell me how, its a mad combination of materia and stuff but he said he wants to keep this one to himself. He's spent an insane amount of time playin it, but hey thats him :p If any of ye would be intrested in gettin the guide im sure he'd give it to me to post it up, let me know lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Have to agree with Lemming on this one. Shadowrun's a class act from start to finish.

Never understand the western fascination with Japanese rpg's. The nonsense plots and constant backing and forthing to gain XP's never appealed to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Am I the only person who thinks when the hear some1 say "ff7 is the best ever!", its seems like theyve never played any other rpg before?
    Yep, think you are ;)
    I'm not a major RPG nutter, but I've played my share of 'em... there again I did say "than any other RPG I've played", so I'm not proclaiming it the greatest RPG of all time.
    Legend of Zelda and Secret of mana come a close 2nd and 3rd, with FF8 lagging way behind, ranking below FF5, but still above PSO.
    I can see your point though, FF7 was so highly acclaimed/publicised in its time that even people who weren't really into RPG's gave it a go... just goes to show how good it is. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Justice

cause i never played any of the above i voted for FF6/3.

i only ever played pen + paper and PC RPG's.

how does console Rpgs compare to PC RPGs

Theyre completely different, unless its just a port.

I personally dont like PC RPGs much at all, the only one I ever got very involved in was Neverwinter Nights.

A

Fallout 1 and 2. Go out and buy them now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Chrono Trigger easily, but i accept the fact the FF7 brought RPG to the non RPGies.

But CT is really unbelivable

Fallout 1 and 2. Go out and buy them now!
    Err no. From what ive heard of them, they embody almost everything i hate in a game.

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ozpass

Final Fantasy 7 is my favourite off that list, but in fairness I haven't played most of the others.

My all time favourite RPG (despite its enormous flaws) is Morrowind.

Originally posted by Asuka
    Err no. From what ive heard of them, they embody almost everything i hate in a game.

A

you will pay in the next life for that :)

whats wrong with a non linear adult orientated game where adult orientated dosent mean low brow cheap semi porn antics but situations and scenarios that reasonably well written and intelligent and are not really suitable for childern?

No level 15 bard mages with the tinwhistle of ganglion +3 in that one, just hk g11s, shotguns, sniper rifles and chainsaws.

do you not want to have the opportunity of being the nice guy and saving a town from a band of mutants and be a hero or slaughter everyone instead and be feared where ever you go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Divine Divinity

FF7

A

Ummm .. and what have you heard about them?

***, Fallout 1 was phenominal. Fallout 2 was a bit of a letdown by comparison from a storyline point of view for the most part, although it DOES have its moments.

The beauty of the Fallout games was that you can do what you want in the game but at the end you'll get smacked across the face with the repercussions of what you've done. Also aided by the fact that they are dark and gritty and captured the feel of a post-apocalyptic world, and you don't need a turbo-nutter-ninja-b*stard PC spec to run them well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Is Grim Fandango a role playing game?

If it is it's my favourite.

If it isn't it's still my favourite.

whats wrong with a non linear adult orientated game where adult orientated dosent mean low brow cheap semi porn antics but situations and scenarios that reasonably well written and intelligent and are not really suitable for childern?

No level 15 bard mages with the tinwhistle of ganglion +3 in that one, just hk g11s, shotguns, sniper rifles and chainsaws.

do you not want to have the opportunity of being the nice guy and saving a town from a band of mutants and be a hero or slaughter everyone instead and be feared where ever you go?
    No, i just think the game sounds shit.

A

No, i just think the game sounds shit.

A

Your VERY big loss then .....

Indeed :) But if you people are going to spoil my fun by not being provoked and writing even more 4-page treatises on why Fallout is such an excellent game, then Ill explain more reasonably: it just doesnt sound like my sort of game at all. For me, NWN was the exception rather than the rule; Ive hated every other D&D based, and PC based, RPG Ive ever played. Based on this, and the fact that I know what I like (ive been told by a number of people why Fallout is so good, and a number of their points embody the things which I dont personally like about RPGs), I decided to let it be my loss, if it is so :)

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

Diablo II is fantastic! same with Diablo 1...

FF7 just goes on and on and i never really cared what happened but i did like FF8, i thought it was a welcome change to the pure bordem of FF7

Hes already mentioned that hes talking about console RPGs Hobbes. As far as Im concerned, this is fair enough, as the two are entirely different genres.

A

mmmm Pie :p

Originally posted by DapperGent
    Is Grim Fandango a role playing game?

If it is it's my favourite.

If it isn't it's still my favourite.

It's an adventure game, not an RPG.

Adventure game - Runs like a story in which the player has no control over the characters stats (character may get stronger or new items, but player never controls it).

For example.

Quake 2, Unreal2: FPS, Adventure.
    Deus Ex, System Shock 2: FPS, Role playing game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭D nominater

What do you do if Jaguar is an actual real option?